• USD ($)
  • English
Singapore is a treasure trove of World War II sites and memorials, a poignant testament to the harship and cost of war. The 'Gibraltar of the East,' Singapore fell to the Japanese on February 15, 1942 in the largest surrender of British-led ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 93 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Denise C
United Kingdom

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

A brilliant day with an excellent guide who knew his history inside and out (and probably back to front!). He was a mind of information. The visit to the Kranji War Memorial was very moving, and the whole area is kept in spit spot condition by the team of hard working gardeners.

Doing what: Singapore Round-Island Tour with Changi Prison, Kranji War Memorial and Gardens by the Bay

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2014

We made our way by taxi from an hotel near Orchard Rd to a local shopping centre near Changi where we met the tour. The taxi ride was inexpensive at about $15 but if you are prepared to use a little more time it would have been easy enough to catch the train. The local train/tube system (MRT) is extensive, cheap and easy to use.
Once there we met up with our guide and were conducted to an air conditioned coach for the tour. There were about 15 people in our group, so not too large.
From there we were taken to the Changi Museum with several significant sites pointed out and explained along the way.
The museum was small but well presented.
From the museum we went to one site of the British artillery batteries for a brief stop, with several other sites pointed out along the way.
Finally we visited Changi Beach, the site of the mass execution of a number of Chinese locals shortly follow my the Japanese occupation.
The tour finished when we were dropped back at the pick up point.
Throughout, the commentary was informative, clear and engaging.
As an Australian visiting Changi in honour of the many Australians who suffered there as POW's during WWII I was very pleased about the sensitivity and knowledge of our guide, Helena.
What I was not expecting was Helena's clear presentation about the impact of the Japanese occupation of Singapore on the general population and the Chinese population in particular.
She also talked about how WWII marked the death knell for British Colonialism in Singapore and Malaysia and finished up with a potted social and political history of Singapore and Malaysia to the present day.
I found the tour as a whole to be a moving tribute to all, military and civilian, who suffered and died during those dark days; and a tribute to this small nation that has pulled itself from the ashes of that tragedy into what appears to be a bright future.
Highly Recommended!

Doing what: Changi WWII War Trail and Museum Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2014

Great tour, covered a good number of items with enough time at all attractions (bar the gardens by the bay - but its the last stop so you can make your way home yourself like we did)
Kranji was amazing, Changi memorial was a good reminder about how bad the war was.
Good commentary with facts all along the way too.

Doing what: Singapore Round-Island Tour with Changi Prison, Kranji War Memorial and Gardens by the Bay

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2014

Very interesting.our guide,krish,was really informative and we learned a lot about singapore both past and present.
The war memorial and changi were well worth the visit and the lunch was good.
Overall this is a tour that should not be missed

Doing what: Singapore Round-Island Tour with Changi Prison, Kranji War Memorial and Gardens by the Bay

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2014

This was a great way to see the scope of the actual country of Singapore not just the city. I had no idea what they suffered in
WWII. The War Memorial was very moving. The Gardens by the Bay - breath taking.

Doing what: Singapore Round-Island Tour with Changi Prison, Kranji War Memorial and Gardens by the Bay

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2014

This was a great tour!
Our guide Phillip was incredibly knowledgeable and his personal stories about his parents war experiences brought something else to the tour. He is also did amazingly well dealing with a difficult customer . Id highly recommend this tour to other coming to singapore

Doing what: Singapore Round-Island Tour with Changi Prison, Kranji War Memorial and Gardens by the Bay

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2014

This was a great tour!
Our guide Phillip was incredibly knowledgeable and his personal stories about his parents war experiences brought something else to the tour. He is also did amazingly well dealing with a difficult customer . Id highly recommend this tour to other coming to singapore

Doing what: Singapore Round-Island Tour with Changi Prison, Kranji War Memorial and Gardens by the Bay

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2014

The guide was very friendly and funny. He made the tour a great experience. The locations were quite comprehensive and told the story of the Island during World War Two very well. Would recommend this to anyone wishing to learn more about the history of Singapore.

Doing what: Singapore Round-Island Tour with Changi Prison, Kranji War Memorial and Gardens by the Bay

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2014

Excellent. The pick up and drop off went off without a hitch. We enjoyed a really informative commentary by our guide. The Kranji War Cemetery and Changi Memorial were very moving. The Buddhist Temple, simply spectacular and the lunch provided was really delicious.
Really terrific day for first time visitors to Singapore!

Doing what: Singapore Round-Island Tour with Changi Prison, Kranji War Memorial and Gardens by the Bay

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

This was a really big day, the tour was very good. The highlight for me was definatly the War Memorial. It was beautiful.

Doing what: Singapore Round-Island Tour with Changi Prison, Kranji War Memorial and Gardens by the Bay

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

One of the best tours ever. The informative guide (Helena) really made this tour. She had an insight into the feelings and understanding of the times. Look forward to another tour with Helena.

Doing what: Changi WWII War Trail and Museum Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

This was an extremely interesting and moving tour. Although it rained for part of the day it didn't seem to matter or affect where we went and what we saw. The Kranji War Memorial was very solemn and touching. Gardens By the Bay was great, although we didn't have too much time there. Would do it all again.

Doing what: Singapore Round-Island Tour with Changi Prison, Kranji War Memorial and Gardens by the Bay

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

This was an extremely interesting and moving tour. Although it rained for part of the day it didn't seem to matter or affect where we went and what we saw. The Kranji War Memorial was very solemn and touching. Gardens By the Bay was great, although we didn't have too much time there. Would do it all again.

Doing what: Singapore Round-Island Tour with Changi Prison, Kranji War Memorial and Gardens by the Bay

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

This was an extremely interesting and moving tour. Although it rained for part of the day it didn't seem to matter or affect where we went and what we saw. The Kranji War Memorial was very solemn and touching. Gardens By the Bay was great, although we didn't have too much time there. Would do it all again.

Doing what: Singapore Round-Island Tour with Changi Prison, Kranji War Memorial and Gardens by the Bay

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

This was my first opportunity for a Viator tour and I'm so glad we did. It was an outstanding way to have a very complete tour of the whole island of Singapore. We originally signed up for the tour since we wanted to see the Kranji War Memorial and museum but it is much, much more. The bus went all around the island, into and through - very thorough. We found out all about the history, including WW II, the people, industry, retirement system, housing, road system, current events, -- you name it, we learned it. Great guide. I highly recommend this tour and will go out of my way to take another Viator tour in the future.

Doing what: Singapore Round-Island Tour with Changi Prison, Kranji War Memorial and Gardens by the Bay

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message