Singapore is a treasure trove of World War II sites and memorials, a poignant testament to the harship and cost of war. The 'Gibraltar of the East,' Singapore fell to the Japanese on February 15, 1942 in the largest surrender of British-led ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 161 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Jenny

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Helena was a very interesting tour guide and I really appreciated her knowledge and explanations of the Fall of Singapore in 1942 and in particular the aftermath suffered by not only the Australian and other Allied forces, but also the impact on the people living in Singapore. Learning about what happened at Changi Beach and in the PoW camps should be very important to us all and touring the Changi Museum helped in increasing our awareness of the terrible suffering of those interned in these camps during WW2. Thank you for a very valuable history lesson.

Doing what: Changi WWII War Trail and Museum Tour

Jenny

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Nancy was an excellent guide and this tour is a very worthwhile experience. Thank you for helping me understand not only Australia's involvement in the Battle of Singapore but also the other Allied forces involved and that of the Singapore people. The tour of the Battle Box the underground command centre constructed under Fort Canning was very good, followed by the comfortable bus trip to Kranji War Memorial. We had been there the day before for the Anzac Day Dawn Service but seeing the memorial again at a quieter time with a smaller group gave us more time to walk amongst the graves and reflect upon reading the headstones with the added advantage of being able to ask questions of Nancy. This tour is the perfect compliment to the Changi WW2 War Trail and Museum Tour, so I recommend both tours if you are in Singapore long enough.

Doing what: Singapore 1942 Battlefield Tour

Kathy D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Excellent and very moving. The war memorial Changi prison 10/10

Doing what: Singapore Round-Island Tour with Changi Prison, Kranji War Memorial and Bright Hill Temple

Anne

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2016

Really interesting morning. Tour was exactly how it was described - found it quite moving finding out what happened during WW2. Wui Wui, our Guide, was brilliant! She certainly knew her stuff, any question asked was answered and didn't feel rushed. The Tour ended at Changi War Museum, where you could stay and see the displays in more detail, however, I felt that Wui Wui covered everything so well. The bus takes you back to the MRT station where they pick you up from. If you have the time - go and see

Doing what: Changi WWII War Trail and Museum Tour

Joyce G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2016

This was a fantastic tour and well worth the money. The lady who did the commentary was wonderful. Her knowledge of Singapore was comprehensive. She spoke clearly and slowly so that she could be understood. Each time we made a stop we were given plenty of time to look around. The Kranji war memorial was moving Although we could not go into Changi Prison itself, we were able to look around Changi Chapel and Museum. This was very interesting. We were given the opportunity to stay at the Gardens by the Bay or return to our hotel. Lunch was provided at a local Chinese restaurant on the coast facing Malaysia. It was delicious. We would recommend this tour.

Doing what: Singapore Round-Island Tour with Changi Prison, Kranji War Memorial and Bright Hill Temple

Stephen D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

Fantastic day filled with history, information and reflection. Great way to find out some of Singapore's war history and to see around this amazing island.

Doing what: Singapore Round-Island Tour with Changi Prison, Kranji War Memorial and Bright Hill Temple

Judy C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

Our guide was knowledgeable and was able to teach us lots about Singapore's history during the war. The Kranji War Memorial is a very moving place to visit. Highly recommend it as a way to give honor to those who died in the war.

Doing what: Singapore 1942 Battlefield Tour

Derrick C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2015

Truly the forgotten war. Tours like this are sorely needed. Very informative and interesting. Highly recommended

Doing what: Changi WWII War Trail and Museum Tour

Patricia S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

Fantastic guide, Maggie, was a fountain of knowledge about everything from politics to housing! Very interesting lady. The tour was vary good. First visit was to a monastery where an actual cremation was taking place in the crematorium below. We learned about burial and death customs for the different religions and nationalities that make Singapore their home. The Kranji war museum was interesting as was Changi museum. Lunch was excellent and well worth the money. We ran out of time at Gardens by the Bay so we didn't get to enjoy this part of the tour for more than 30 minutes due to tardy people on the bus. A great tour, worth doing.

Doing what: Singapore Round-Island Tour with Changi Prison, Kranji War Memorial and Bright Hill Temple

Veronica C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

Excellent trip around the island. We thought timings may have been a little tight but actually worked well. The guide was very informative. Changi Prison Museum and the Kranji Memorial are extremely moving. The Gardens at the Bay are stunning we spent 3 hours there without any trouble. The tour price only allows for the outside gardens but it is well worth S28 to go inside the different domes.

Doing what: Singapore Round-Island Tour with Changi Prison, Kranji War Memorial and Bright Hill Temple

Warwick M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

My husband and I were so impressed with our tour with Carol. We were so lucky to only have 6 in our group 4 Aussies and 2 Kiwis and so she tailored the tour to what we wanted to hear and do. We could have spent almost 1 day listening to her and browsing through the museum, instead of the 3 hour visit. My husbands father was a POW in Changi prison so being able to visit these areas, see the chapel although not the original,wander through the museum, listen to the stories was a very moving and quite emotional experience. Being able to pay our respects also was so very important. The staff even printed out my husbands fathers war history and details whilst he was imprisoned. There was so much to appreciate and we could have stayed longeras it was we didnt return back to Pasir Ris station till almost 6pm. It is an easy MRT trip to the meeting place and dont be anxious if you wondering if you are at the right point for meeting your tour guideliterally stand at the steps at Exit B and she/he will be there around 2.00pm. Thank you Carol for an unforgettable experience.

Doing what: Changi WWII War Trail and Museum Tour

Susan A

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

Fantastic tour would recommend this to anyone going to Singapore. Really great to see how they honour the war dead.

Doing what: Singapore Round-Island Tour with Changi Prison, Kranji War Memorial and Bright Hill Temple

Bettine H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

This was an excellent tour with a very informative guide who gave us time to take in the various sites we visited. This was particularly important for the visit to Kranji War Memorial

Doing what: Singapore Round-Island Tour with Changi Prison, Kranji War Memorial and Bright Hill Temple

Gregory J E

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

A great tour, revealing all the suffering of war at Changi and surrounding areas! Our guide Wina was first class giving us insights into the cruelty, suffering and even some of the humour of the POWs while in captivity. She presented with some humour and had a vast knowledge of the tragedies that occurred , with a little personal history of her own families involvement! I would highly recommend this tour, our only wish was to have spent more time in the museum!

Doing what: Changi WWII War Trail and Museum Tour

a_smith1303

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Very informative tour. The tour guide Foo is very well informed and interesting. The war stories are very moving.

Doing what: Singapore Round-Island Tour with Changi Prison, Kranji War Memorial and Bright Hill Temple

Gary F

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Thoroughly enjoyed this tour.It was quite emotional for me as my step father had been captured in Singapore in WW2 and had been a P.O.W in Changi and Railway for 3 years! Our tour guide Wui Wui was excellent and her knowledge of Changi history was excellent !! Would highly recommend this tour !!!

Doing what: Changi WWII War Trail and Museum Tour

catherine

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

Very informative and a great introduction to Changi and Singapore in the war years. Well worth the visit.

Doing what: Changi Chapel and Museum Half-Day Tour from Singapore

Gaye F

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

Thankyou for such a wonderful tour. Special thanks to our guide Sharul. Very rewarding tour.

Doing what: Changi WWII War Trail and Museum Tour

OZYMIKE2 Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

This is a great tour of Singapore,we saw a large temple,had lunch by the water and the guide was great.The war memorial was a very good lesson about war,We saw a very big temple had lunch by the water and our guide was fantastic.I recommend this tour when you go to Singapore,the Gardens by the bay are spectacular.The indoor gardens under the domes are also something to marvel at,all in all a great tour by a great company Take some water with you as it gets very hot n humid..Michael from Sydney Australia.

Doing what: Singapore Round-Island Tour with Changi Prison, Kranji War Memorial and Bright Hill Temple

Janet W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

Guide was good and my husband was able to find his Aunts record of imprisonment in Changi during the war.
Also went to a beach where a lot of locals were killed and visited the edge of the airstrip and a big gun emplacement.

Doing what: Changi WWII War Trail and Museum Tour

Dan M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

I took my 26 year old son Tom on this tour.

The tour was very interesting and well done.
The tour guide told several stories about people during and after the war.

This made the tour easier to relate to.
I highly recommend

Dan Moore
Melbourne
Australia

Doing what: Changi WWII War Trail and Museum Tour

Joan C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

This was a really lovely tour. The visit to Kranji War Memorial was especially moving. Changi Prison should actually be said to be the museum not the prison which is still in use as a prison!! We has a lovely luncha dn the gardens by the bay was a lovely end to the day. The guide was really good and he was very knowledgable about all the places. I would recommend this tour to anyone visiting Singapore.

Doing what: Singapore Round-Island Tour with Changi Prison, Kranji War Memorial and Bright Hill Temple

susan g United Kingdom

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

Very knowledgeable guide. Had a nice day. Kranji war memorial and Changi museum were moving and fascinating. Could have done with more time at Changi as there are lots of artifacts and a lot to read. Lunch was good and we also enjoyed the temple. Gardens on the Bay were stunning. Perhaps could have done without seeing every public housing development on the island but it was a very good introduction to Singapore and gave an insight into how people live today as well as to the historical context.

Doing what: Singapore Round-Island Tour with Changi Prison, Kranji War Memorial and Bright Hill Temple

Lynn K

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2015

Excellent pick up and tour. The lunch was very good and we learned a great deal. We found the war memorial respectful and moving.

Doing what: Singapore Round-Island Tour with Changi Prison, Kranji War Memorial and Bright Hill Temple

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message