• USD ($)
  • English

Skagway ATTRACTIONS See all

Klondike Gold Rush National Historical Park

The Klondike is synonymous with the gold rush days of the late 19th century, when the frontier settlement of Skagway exploded from a population of just two to 20,000 in a mere 10 years. The Klondike Gold Rush National Historical Park protects the ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 28 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

Excellent! Family of four. Hiked uphill a bit, but all good. Definitely not a hike to bring the older folks though. The guide was great and very informative. We felt comfortable and safe. Viator Rocks!

Doing what: Skagway Shore Excursion: Chilkoot Trail Hike and Float Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2013

Guide knew so much about the area and was so laid back. The hike was great and so was the float back.

Doing what: Skagway Shore Excursion: Chilkoot Trail Hike and Float Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2013

This was a very enjoyable hike. There were some steep spots but it was very beautiful. Saw many bald eagles and a porcupine. Our guide "Sid" was very knowledgeable about the area.

Doing what: Skagway Shore Excursion: Chilkoot Trail Hike and Float Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2013

Great experience, guide Sid was extremely informative ,friendly and attentive

Doing what: Skagway Shore Excursion: Chilkoot Trail Hike and Float Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2013

The trip was very good. Our guide did an excellent job explaining the points during the hike into the start of the float. She was gave very good answers to the children in our group about the nature along the trail. The float down the river was also good and informative. I highly recommend this trip. The hike in over the start of the Chilkoot through the forest indicates the type of trail the early Miners experienced.

Doing what: Skagway Shore Excursion: Chilkoot Trail Hike and Float Tour

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2013

Great trip with Nate. The hike was very beautiful and doable for most fitness levels and the float down the river was breathtaking. My only request would be to advise people to use bug spray. The mosquitos were vicious!

Doing what: Skagway Shore Excursion: Chilkoot Trail Hike and Float Tour

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2013

We really enjoyed this tour. Our guide was Andy and he was great!! He was both informative and a pleasure to be with. Would certainly recommend this tour.

Doing what: Skagway Shore Excursion: Chilkoot Trail Hike and Float Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2013

Great hike and laid back raft trip!

Doing what: Skagway Shore Excursion: Chilkoot Trail Hike and Float Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2013

This was the best excursion! We really felt like we were experiencing the Alaskan rainforest close up and personal! It was so beautiful and our tour guide, John, was knowledgeable and friendly. The float back down the river was scenic and relaxing after the fantastic hike. I have already recommended this trip to friends and will continue to do so in the future! Many thanks for the wonderful experience!

Doing what: Skagway Shore Excursion: Chilkoot Trail Hike and Float Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2013

What a thrill to hike the beginning of the historically so significant Chilkoot Trail! Our guide, Andy, was so informative and such a skillful hiker and river pilot. His courtesy and awareness was so important guiding a group of mainly 60 years + adventurers.

Doing what: Skagway Shore Excursion: Chilkoot Trail Hike and Float Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2013

Excellent tour. We had a very knowledgeable guide.

Doing what: Skagway Shore Excursion: Chilkoot Trail Hike and Float Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2013

Good pick-up, friendly and very informative guide. Was able to answer all our questions regarding flora and fauna along the route. Excellent!

Doing what: Skagway Shore Excursion: Chilkoot Trail Hike and Float Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2013

Although the day was overcast, cool with light showers we had a fantastic hike. Our guide was very knowledgeable and looked after us well. It was just amazing to think that we walked on part of the trail which was the main route to the Klondike during the gold rush era, although back then the path would have been 100 times worse. Our float trip was great and we were fiting out with all the necessary equipment. We aware that you probably will get a bit wet from sitting on the edge of the raft.

Doing what: Skagway Shore Excursion: Chilkoot Trail Hike and Float Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2013

Great way to see the surrounding area of Skagway. The guide was very informative and entertaining

Doing what: Skagway Shore Excursion: Chilkoot Trail Hike and Float Tour

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2013

A very enjoyable tour with two enthusiastic and friendly young men. The walking part was very good but the river float not quite as enjoyable as river very low and not a particularly scenic part of the river.
However the guides were very thorough and helpful and explained everything carefully.

Doing what: Skagway Shore Excursion: Chilkoot Trail Hike and Float Tour

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message