Skagway ATTRACTIONS See all

Klondike Gold Rush National Historical Park

The Klondike is synonymous with the gold rush days of the late 19th century, when the frontier settlement of Skagway exploded from a population of just two to 20,000 in a mere 10 years. The Klondike Gold Rush National Historical Park protects the ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 76 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Marnie Thao N

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Great great hike! Beautiful forest and a great light workout to counter the inactivity on the cruise. It was breathtaking at every corner and our tour guide Sam is super knowledgeable about not only the area and its history but also about the vegetation in the forest. He was so excited about nature and made the hike a memorable one.

Doing what: Skagway Shore Excursion: Chilkoot Trail Hike and Float Tour

David J

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Our tour guide, Gann, was very patient and knowledgable. He made the tour interesting and safe at all times. Speed was limited by the slowest person in the group, which was too slow for us. Overall though the best tour on our cruise.

Doing what: Skagway Shore Excursion: Chilkoot Trail Hike and Float Tour

melinda1az

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

We absolutely loved our excursion! Brooke was a wealth of knowledge and opened our eyes to the beauty and serenity of Alaska. Thanks so much for everything!

Doing what: Skagway Shore Excursion: Chilkoot Trail Hike and Float Tour

Steven H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

We went hiking at every port in Alaska. We could have skipped the others. Brooke was by far the most knowledgeable guide we had on our trip.We learned a ton about the native plants and their uses. This was a true hike not just a dirt path through the woods. The final float down the river to enjoy the beautiful scenery was a terrific way to finish. This excursion was our favorite outing of our entire time in Alaska.

Doing what: Skagway Shore Excursion: Chilkoot Trail Hike and Float Tour

Lisa E

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Becca was a great guide-very knowledgable about the flora and fauna.

Doing what: Skagway Shore Excursion: Chilkoot Trail Hike and Float Tour

Linda P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

Everything about this trip was wonderful. Our leader, Brook, was so informative and pleasant. She kept a good pace for our small group. Would recommend.

Doing what: Skagway Shore Excursion: Chilkoot Trail Hike and Float Tour

Lucy R

3 star rating: Worth doing
October 2015

This was OK. The trail hike was reasonably easy and the float down the river was pleasant.

Doing what: Skagway Shore Excursion: Chilkoot Trail Hike and Float Tour

Jim H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

One of the best tours we have every taken. Loved every minute.

Doing what: Skagway Shore Excursion: Chilkoot Trail Hike and Float Tour

Jonquille C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

Really good tour. Our guide, Joe, was excellent. Hike was moderate nice mix of up , down, and flats. Float trip was great, saw Bear, Eagles, seals
Highly recommend

Doing what: Skagway Shore Excursion: Chilkoot Trail Hike and Float Tour

Susan G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

We had a fabulous time. The hike was pretty strenuous, but our guide, Gann Brewer, went out of his way to help. He made the excursion fun and exciting, keeping us safe, yet having fun. On the way back, he pointed out fun facts about Skagway and dropped us off wherever we wanted to go. I would highly recommend the trip.

Doing what: Skagway Shore Excursion: Chilkoot Trail Hike and Float Tour

Kim K

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

This was a great tour. The first mile of the 2 mile hike was a little steep, but our tour guide, Bob, had us take breaks so it wasn't too hard. There were lots of tree roots on the trail to avoid, but Bob showed us where to step to we wouldn't fall. He explained a lot about the rainforest trees and plants. The second mile of the trail was mostly flat and easier, but just as scenic. The float on the river was also very good. Bob showed us how to get into the raft so we wouldn't fall. As we floated down the river he pointed out bald eagles and other wildlife. For a short while we were followed by two harbor seals. So cute. At the end of the trip we got a light snack. The ride in the van to the trail was also scenic and Bob told us more interesting stories about the area. It was a great trip and worth the price.

Doing what: Skagway Shore Excursion: Chilkoot Trail Hike and Float Tour

Donald S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

The tour was excellent but it was strenuous for my wife who has a knee issue. The guide was the best.

Doing what: Skagway Shore Excursion: Chilkoot Trail Hike and Float Tour

Jack L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

Bob the guide was personable and informative and maintained a comfortable pace on the hike as well as an accomplished raftsman. Enjoyed the narration and tour and would highly recommend.

Doing what: Skagway Shore Excursion: Chilkoot Trail Hike and Float Tour

den01

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

We thoroughly enjoyed the forest walk and float down the river.

Doing what: Skagway Shore Excursion: Chilkoot Trail Hike and Float Tour

Myrna K

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

Very enjoyable with a knowledgeable guide who stayed with us on the hike and float trip. It's good to get some exercise after the feasting on a cruise ship.

Doing what: Skagway Shore Excursion: Chilkoot Trail Hike and Float Tour

stuarttabb

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2015

loved our young guide - a budding Grizzley Adams. the hike was rigorous enough. Raft trip was fine - not much to see everything we saw was spectacular but didn't need to be rafting to see it

Doing what: Skagway Shore Excursion: Chilkoot Trail Hike and Float Tour

Gordon T

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2015

We thoroughly enjoyed our tour guided by Brooke hope we remembered her name correctly. She was knowledgeable, helpful and lots of fun. She displayed great skill on the float portion of the tour, and we felt it was worth the time and money. We would recommend this tour to friends.

Doing what: Skagway Shore Excursion: Chilkoot Trail Hike and Float Tour

David B

3 star rating: Worth doing
August 2015

The hike was enjoyable and our guide seemed very knowledgeable especially about mushrooms!. We would have enjoyed a longer float -- of course, that would mean a longer hike!

Doing what: Skagway Shore Excursion: Chilkoot Trail Hike and Float Tour

Donald G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

Bob was our guide. He was informative about the history of the town of Skagway as we drove through it pointing out good places to shop, eat, and do. He gave us a wonderful history lesson as we hiked the trail and had us ready to react appropriately when we saw a bear. Sadly we never did see that bear. The scenery on the trail was amazingly beautiful. And to think we hiked early June with only some of the plants beginning to peek out and ferns just showing some early fronds. I would love to take this hike again in late June or early July to see the changes in this temperate rain forest. There might be more bugs then and we really didn't see any.
The float boat trip back was fun but cold but that's just the way it was. My boots evidently had holes in them so my socks got wet. Might want to bring an extra pair if it's a cold day.
All in all my husband and I really enjoyed the excursion and would highly recommend it to anyone who wants to walk in the same steps as the gold rushers or who enjoys beautiful green forest. It really was exceptionally beautiful.

Doing what: Skagway Shore Excursion: Chilkoot Trail Hike and Float Tour

Kathryn F

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

Owen, our tour guide, was fabulous. It was obvious he enjoyed what he did and was highly knowledgeable and patient with the kids in our group. He was professional and very good with all of the different plants and berries along the way. Company appeared well-organized and was timely. Highly recommend

Doing what: Skagway Shore Excursion: Chilkoot Trail Hike and Float Tour

Melissa G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

Our guide, Bob, was amazing. He was so knowledgeable, helpful, friendly and ask around awesome! He looked like an old sourdough which only added to the experience, lol. Thanks for a great trip!

Doing what: Skagway Shore Excursion: Chilkoot Trail Hike and Float Tour

Robin D

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2015

For anyone who has hiked before, this is a pretty mild hike. But the the scenery was spectacular. The float portion was fun nice and easy float, no rapids, but we were disappointed that we didn't see much wildlife. The tour guide was very informative and pleasant.

Doing what: Skagway Shore Excursion: Chilkoot Trail Hike and Float Tour

Donald O

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2015

The hike was well organised by an excellent amiable guide called Ghan, who took account of all the different walking abilities of the group. He gave an insight into the original trail and explained about the forest environment on the way. The rubber boat ride was fun too and a good way to return to the minibus. The group size was good. One small disappointment was the snack at the end of the tour, maybe a little more could have been offered. Otherwise it would have been 5 star. Highly recommended by our group of 4 adults.

Doing what: Skagway Shore Excursion: Chilkoot Trail Hike and Float Tour

Ellen C

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2015

This I would say is a moderately difficult hike, only the first fifteen of minutes or so being difficult. Beautiful scenery, very knowledgeable tour guide. The float is quite uneventful and my young teen was very much over it within the first ten minutes.

Doing what: Skagway Shore Excursion: Chilkoot Trail Hike and Float Tour

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message