Skagway ATTRACTIONS See all

Klondike Gold Rush National Historical Park

The Klondike is synonymous with the gold rush days of the late 19th century, when the frontier settlement of Skagway exploded from a population of just two to 20,000 in a mere 10 years. The Klondike Gold Rush National Historical Park protects the ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 47 Reviews Add your review

Certiļ¬ed reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

It was excellent. Our guide Owen was very knowledgable and was aware of participants fitness levels. We saw a bear which was very exciting and the guide handled the situation in a very professional manner. I thoroughly enjoyed it.

Doing what: Skagway Shore Excursion: Chilkoot Trail Hike and Float Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

It's great to get off the boat and get your feet on the ground....and we got out feet on the ground! Quite a hike!Somewhat challenging for a true novice but not overly so. The walking stick that was provided was great help especially after all the rain. Our guide Nate was delightful. Really glad we chose this as our side trip in Skagway.

Doing what: Skagway Shore Excursion: Chilkoot Trail Hike and Float Tour

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2014

The trip was fun but it wasn't the best excursion we did in Alaska.
The trail is much more challenging than described and I am physically fit. We had people in their 60's who had quite a challenge with it.
Bring water you will want it.
Don't wear sneakers

Doing what: Skagway Shore Excursion: Chilkoot Trail Hike and Float Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

My wife, Julie, and I loved this tour. The hike was perfect and Jim the guide was a fount of information and knowledge. It was great to learn the fauna that was edible and that which could kill you. Jim gave us samples along the way as he pointed out interesting facts along the trail. Julie has had surgery on both feet and we are approaching 50. The hike was the perfect degree of difficulty for us along with the 65ish grandmother that was in our party of 6. Jim's aid, Michelle, was a delight to work with and she cared very tenderly for an older hiker who was with us. Between the two guides, we were regaled with all matter of facts, culture, and customs. We were made to feel like we were just out for a hike with good friends enjoying a day on the trail. After completing our two hour hike we floated down the river and were able to come withing a few feet of a Bald Eagle sitting in a tree just feet away from her huge nest. The shore side snack after the float was a treat too. Smoked salmon, juice and crackers were a perfect end to a wonderful experience. THANKS To ALL The CREW!

Doing what: Skagway Shore Excursion: Chilkoot Trail Hike and Float Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

BEAUTIFUL hiking trail and very scenic and relaxing rafting float.
Loved it!! Great guide:) let us take our time and enjoy the scenery.

Doing what: Skagway Shore Excursion: Chilkoot Trail Hike and Float Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

Great experience! I was afraid the beginning of the hike would be too steep for my eight year-old, but she did really well. It was a gorgeous hike with such lush and dense landscapes. I felt like we were in a magical forest. I would do this again!

Doing what: Skagway Shore Excursion: Chilkoot Trail Hike and Float Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

Our tour guide,Owen,was excellent....knowledgeable as well as helpful. Chilkoot trail was beautiful but the first part of hike a little more rigorous than expected. The raft trip back was good and we were well outfitted to stay dry.

Doing what: Skagway Shore Excursion: Chilkoot Trail Hike and Float Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

Our tour guide,Owen,was excellent....knowledgeable as well as helpful. Chilkoot trail was beautiful but the first part of hike a little more rigorous than expected. The raft trip back was good and we were well outfitted to stay dry.

Doing what: Skagway Shore Excursion: Chilkoot Trail Hike and Float Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

Bob was an excellent tour guide, very knowledgeable of the area. The hike had a couple steep parts but nothing the average person couldn't handle. The rafting was fun. We saw a couple bald eagles and lots of bear skat but no actual bears. I would definitely recommend this tour and getting it through viator saved some money over getting it through the cruise line.

Doing what: Skagway Shore Excursion: Chilkoot Trail Hike and Float Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

We were collected as arranged by Jim our guide for the trip. Jim gave a us information about the area whilst driving to the start of the trail. Jim was very knowledgeable about the area, flora and fauna he had been a Guide/ranger for the National Parks Service. We had a group of 8 with mixed ability. The hike was 2 miles with some short steep sections on forest tracks. The pace was set by the slowest person, there was no rush and lots of interesting information shared about the history of the route relating to the Gold Rush period.
We walked to the start of the rafting float and were provided with wellington boots and buoyancy aids and instruction about getting into and out of the raft and other safety information. The float was gentle and scenic with more information shared about the area. at the end of the float we had some light snack of smoked salmon and cheese and biscuits and water.
Really enjoyed the trip, interesting information, light exercise, saw Bald Eagles, bear scat- no bears.

Doing what: Skagway Shore Excursion: Chilkoot Trail Hike and Float Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

This was one of our favorite days during the cruise portion of our Alaska Adventure. Our guide, Owen, was knowledgeable, friendly, and made subtle accommodations for members of our group who were experiencing difficulty with the steep terrain. This excursion truly gave us a sense of what the early miners might have experienced on this historic trail.

Doing what: Skagway Shore Excursion: Chilkoot Trail Hike and Float Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

It was outstanding. The guides were very pleasant and knowledgeable and extremely professional!!! The scenery was beautiful and my family enjoyed it tremendously

Doing what: Skagway Shore Excursion: Chilkoot Trail Hike and Float Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

This was a great trip. The highlight was seeing a bear cross the road. The guide was great.

Doing what: Skagway Shore Excursion: Chilkoot Trail Hike and Float Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

This by far was the best excursion that we took in Alaska, the only thing that I would say is this is not for the casual walker, the hiking portion was much more difficult than the information indicated, I live in Florida and walk regularly but this was much more treacherous. The float was so worth the effort it was beautiful and so peaceful absolutely loved it!!

Doing what: Skagway Shore Excursion: Chilkoot Trail Hike and Float Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

We had a great time. We took this excursion while our cruise ship was stopped in Skagway for the day. Don't waste your money booking the one through the cruise lines. This one is the best and it'll save you a few dollars. Our guide Nate was super. Really knew his stuff and you can tell he really loves his job. The hike isn't for everyone as it does go up a pretty steep hill. Other than that it was a very enjoyable hike and float. The highlight was catching a glimpse of a brown bear as we floated down the river. If you are looking to get close to nature than skip the train and tour busses and take this tour.

Doing what: Skagway Shore Excursion: Chilkoot Trail Hike and Float Tour

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message