Skagway ATTRACTIONS See all

Klondike Gold Rush National Historical Park

The Klondike is synonymous with the gold rush days of the late 19th century, when the frontier settlement of Skagway exploded from a population of just two to 20,000 in a mere 10 years. The Klondike Gold Rush National Historical Park protects the ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 38 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

My wife, Julie, and I loved this tour. The hike was perfect and Jim the guide was a fount of information and knowledge. It was great to learn the fauna that was edible and that which could kill you. Jim gave us samples along the way as he pointed out interesting facts along the trail. Julie has had surgery on both feet and we are approaching 50. The hike was the perfect degree of difficulty for us along with the 65ish grandmother that was in our party of 6. Jim's aid, Michelle, was a delight to work with and she cared very tenderly for an older hiker who was with us. Between the two guides, we were regaled with all matter of facts, culture, and customs. We were made to feel like we were just out for a hike with good friends enjoying a day on the trail. After completing our two hour hike we floated down the river and were able to come withing a few feet of a Bald Eagle sitting in a tree just feet away from her huge nest. The shore side snack after the float was a treat too. Smoked salmon, juice and crackers were a perfect end to a wonderful experience. THANKS To ALL The CREW!

Doing what: Skagway Shore Excursion: Chilkoot Trail Hike and Float Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

Great experience! I was afraid the beginning of the hike would be too steep for my eight year-old, but she did really well. It was a gorgeous hike with such lush and dense landscapes. I felt like we were in a magical forest. I would do this again!

Doing what: Skagway Shore Excursion: Chilkoot Trail Hike and Float Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

Bob was an excellent tour guide, very knowledgeable of the area. The hike had a couple steep parts but nothing the average person couldn't handle. The rafting was fun. We saw a couple bald eagles and lots of bear skat but no actual bears. I would definitely recommend this tour and getting it through viator saved some money over getting it through the cruise line.

Doing what: Skagway Shore Excursion: Chilkoot Trail Hike and Float Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

We were collected as arranged by Jim our guide for the trip. Jim gave a us information about the area whilst driving to the start of the trail. Jim was very knowledgeable about the area, flora and fauna he had been a Guide/ranger for the National Parks Service. We had a group of 8 with mixed ability. The hike was 2 miles with some short steep sections on forest tracks. The pace was set by the slowest person, there was no rush and lots of interesting information shared about the history of the route relating to the Gold Rush period.
We walked to the start of the rafting float and were provided with wellington boots and buoyancy aids and instruction about getting into and out of the raft and other safety information. The float was gentle and scenic with more information shared about the area. at the end of the float we had some light snack of smoked salmon and cheese and biscuits and water.
Really enjoyed the trip, interesting information, light exercise, saw Bald Eagles, bear scat- no bears.

Doing what: Skagway Shore Excursion: Chilkoot Trail Hike and Float Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

This by far was the best excursion that we took in Alaska, the only thing that I would say is this is not for the casual walker, the hiking portion was much more difficult than the information indicated, I live in Florida and walk regularly but this was much more treacherous. The float was so worth the effort it was beautiful and so peaceful absolutely loved it!!

Doing what: Skagway Shore Excursion: Chilkoot Trail Hike and Float Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

We had a great time. We took this excursion while our cruise ship was stopped in Skagway for the day. Don't waste your money booking the one through the cruise lines. This one is the best and it'll save you a few dollars. Our guide Nate was super. Really knew his stuff and you can tell he really loves his job. The hike isn't for everyone as it does go up a pretty steep hill. Other than that it was a very enjoyable hike and float. The highlight was catching a glimpse of a brown bear as we floated down the river. If you are looking to get close to nature than skip the train and tour busses and take this tour.

Doing what: Skagway Shore Excursion: Chilkoot Trail Hike and Float Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

The rainforest was super-green and lush. Gorgeous. The first half of the hike was very up and down, had to watch my step a lot. But the forest was beautiful. Our guide, Jesse, was great. Very knowledgeable and courteous. We were able to stop and take pictures many times, which I liked. The float down the river was a bit cool and sprinkly but enjoyable. We saw a couple of eagles' nests. Everyone who helped us was courteous.

Doing what: Skagway Shore Excursion: Chilkoot Trail Hike and Float Tour

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2014

Very experienced guide provided . We were picked up from the cruise dock and interesting spots along the route were highlighted.
Bob was a bit "crusty" around the edges and somewhat abrupt but it added to the rustic charm of the whole experience.

Doing what: Skagway Shore Excursion: Chilkoot Trail Hike and Float Tour

3 star rating: Worth doing
July 2014

Bob, our guide, was terrific. He was helpful throughout the hike and was very knowledgeable about the trail and all things Alaska. The excursion is certainly worth doing, but parts of it, especially in the early going, can be quite strenuous. The day was a bit rainy so the trail was slippery in spots. Watch out for the roots! The float part was great, but both my wife and I were a bit disappointed in its brief duration. If you're ready for an adventure, then give this excursion a try.

Doing what: Skagway Shore Excursion: Chilkoot Trail Hike and Float Tour

3 star rating: Worth doing
June 2014

Beautiful hike and float. Only those who can walk a steep incline should attempt. NOT for elderly or out of shape as discovered by 3 ladies we were grouped with. Guide very nice and full of information but he stopped every few feet to talk which became frustrating. We wanted to hike not talk.

Doing what: Skagway Shore Excursion: Chilkoot Trail Hike and Float Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

Excellent! Family of four. Hiked uphill a bit, but all good. Definitely not a hike to bring the older folks though. The guide was great and very informative. We felt comfortable and safe. Viator Rocks!

Doing what: Skagway Shore Excursion: Chilkoot Trail Hike and Float Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2013

Guide knew so much about the area and was so laid back. The hike was great and so was the float back.

Doing what: Skagway Shore Excursion: Chilkoot Trail Hike and Float Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2013

This was a very enjoyable hike. There were some steep spots but it was very beautiful. Saw many bald eagles and a porcupine. Our guide "Sid" was very knowledgeable about the area.

Doing what: Skagway Shore Excursion: Chilkoot Trail Hike and Float Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2013

Great experience, guide Sid was extremely informative ,friendly and attentive

Doing what: Skagway Shore Excursion: Chilkoot Trail Hike and Float Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2013

The trip was very good. Our guide did an excellent job explaining the points during the hike into the start of the float. She was gave very good answers to the children in our group about the nature along the trail. The float down the river was also good and informative. I highly recommend this trip. The hike in over the start of the Chilkoot through the forest indicates the type of trail the early Miners experienced.

Doing what: Skagway Shore Excursion: Chilkoot Trail Hike and Float Tour

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message