Skagway ATTRACTIONS See all

Skagway Cruise Port

Nowadays Skagway is a scenic Alaskan cruise port, but 100 years ago it was the rough and ready gateway to the gold fields of the Klondike. The gold-era history is tangible in Skagway, where downtown’s restored buildings form part of the Klondike ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 277 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

Great tour, our guide was so informative. Would recommend it to anyone going there.

Doing what: Skagway Shore Excursion: White Pass Summit and Skagway City Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

The trip was awesome and our guide, John was fantastic! Loved it!

Doing what: Skagway Shore Excursion: Private 4x4 Yukon Adventure from Skagway

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

It was a great tour. I would higly recomend it.

Doing what: Skagway Shore Excursion: Full-Day Tour of the Yukon

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

My wife, Julie, and I loved this tour. The hike was perfect and Jim the guide was a fount of information and knowledge. It was great to learn the fauna that was edible and that which could kill you. Jim gave us samples along the way as he pointed out interesting facts along the trail. Julie has had surgery on both feet and we are approaching 50. The hike was the perfect degree of difficulty for us along with the 65ish grandmother that was in our party of 6. Jim's aid, Michelle, was a delight to work with and she cared very tenderly for an older hiker who was with us. Between the two guides, we were regaled with all matter of facts, culture, and customs. We were made to feel like we were just out for a hike with good friends enjoying a day on the trail. After completing our two hour hike we floated down the river and were able to come withing a few feet of a Bald Eagle sitting in a tree just feet away from her huge nest. The shore side snack after the float was a treat too. Smoked salmon, juice and crackers were a perfect end to a wonderful experience. THANKS To ALL The CREW!

Doing what: Skagway Shore Excursion: Chilkoot Trail Hike and Float Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

Great experience! I was afraid the beginning of the hike would be too steep for my eight year-old, but she did really well. It was a gorgeous hike with such lush and dense landscapes. I felt like we were in a magical forest. I would do this again!

Doing what: Skagway Shore Excursion: Chilkoot Trail Hike and Float Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

Bob was an excellent tour guide, very knowledgeable of the area. The hike had a couple steep parts but nothing the average person couldn't handle. The rafting was fun. We saw a couple bald eagles and lots of bear skat but no actual bears. I would definitely recommend this tour and getting it through viator saved some money over getting it through the cruise line.

Doing what: Skagway Shore Excursion: Chilkoot Trail Hike and Float Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

Excellent! Candy our driver was prompt and engaging. She was great! The bus was comfortable and clean. The sights were what we had hoped to see. Thank you!

Doing what: Skagway Shore Excursion: White Pass Summit and Skagway City Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

We were collected as arranged by Jim our guide for the trip. Jim gave a us information about the area whilst driving to the start of the trail. Jim was very knowledgeable about the area, flora and fauna he had been a Guide/ranger for the National Parks Service. We had a group of 8 with mixed ability. The hike was 2 miles with some short steep sections on forest tracks. The pace was set by the slowest person, there was no rush and lots of interesting information shared about the history of the route relating to the Gold Rush period.
We walked to the start of the rafting float and were provided with wellington boots and buoyancy aids and instruction about getting into and out of the raft and other safety information. The float was gentle and scenic with more information shared about the area. at the end of the float we had some light snack of smoked salmon and cheese and biscuits and water.
Really enjoyed the trip, interesting information, light exercise, saw Bald Eagles, bear scat- no bears.

Doing what: Skagway Shore Excursion: Chilkoot Trail Hike and Float Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

Good food and entertainment. Everyone worked very hard to make this tour a good experience. Same tour that the ships use just a better rate with viator.

Doing what: Skagway Shore Excursion: Liarsville Gold Rush Camp, Gold Panning and Salmon Bake Combo

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

The tour guide Candy was patient informative and kind!

Doing what: Skagway Shore Excursion: White Pass Summit and Skagway City Tour

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2014

This is a great tour for its value. It's really a scenic tour along the areas that border Canada and US with a chance to get off of your coach, take pictures and admire the great views. It's relaxing and quite informative.

Doing what: Skagway Shore Excursion: Half-Day Tour to the Yukon Border

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2014

The tour director, Heidi Suttot, was very knowledgeable and friendly. We learned a lot about the history, lifestyle and geography of the entire area. A safe driver and always willing to take pictures at all the scenic stops. Lunch was wonderful as was the visit with the sled dogs and to the zoo.

Doing what: Skagway Shore Excursion: Full-Day Tour of the Yukon

3 star rating: Worth doing
August 2014

If you want to experience the ruggedness of the area more fully, the train would be your best choice. Having said that, our bus tour guide did an excellent job - very informative; stopped often for great pictures; added in Soapy Smith cemetery and a falls in Skagway which was also very interesting. He also offered to take pics of tour folks next to the "Welcome to Alaska" sign. Might be good to let folks know that the good bathroom near the start of the tour is the one to use as the "facilities" at the summit are breath-taking (this was not a good thing!) A lady from another tour missed her bus at the cemetery and our guide gave her a ride back to town and attempted to help her meet up with her group....much appreciated act of kindness.

Doing what: Skagway Shore Excursion: White Pass Summit and Skagway City Tour

3 star rating: Worth doing
August 2014

Enjoyed this trip bus journey to summit was good amd Skagway a lovely little town.

Doing what: Skagway Shore Excursion: White Pass Summit and Skagway City Tour

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
August 2014

Overall experience was okay. After the buffet there was a lot of down time before the actual show which of course meant time to look through the gift shop but nothing else. Panning for gold was too short. Would have been nice to let the kids have a couple of "pans" rather than just one turn.

Doing what: Skagway Shore Excursion: Liarsville Gold Rush Camp, Gold Panning and Salmon Bake Combo

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message