Skagway ATTRACTIONS See all

Skagway Cruise Port

Nowadays Skagway is a scenic Alaskan cruise port, but 100 years ago it was the rough and ready gateway to the gold fields of the Klondike. The gold-era history is tangible in Skagway, where downtown’s restored buildings form part of the Klondike ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 529 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

David G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

This tour, run by Frontier Tours, was really good. We saw magnificent scenery and made numerous photo stops. T -Bone, our driver, was friendly, humorous, well informed, and made the trip a lot of fun. Would highly recommend this tour.

Doing what: Skagway Shore Excursion: Half-Day Tour to the Yukon Border

Trent C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

We did the Skagway Whitepass Tour as far as Emerald Lake by bus with Brooke as the driver/guide. Loved the scenery and the commentary was second to none. So personable and knowledgeable on the countries, customs, flowers, fauna, wildlife... We had a wonderful day...picked up on time Frontier Tours and dropped off at a choice of locations to suit us. The tour was booked through Viator with Frontier Tours directly and not through the cruise line on board ship. From the comments of other ship passengers, I would say we certainly got one of the best tours and at a significantly lower price than on the cruise line itself. Every stop on this tour created new memories.hated for it to end!Thanks Frontier Tours and Brooke.

Doing what: Skagway Shore Excursion: Full-Day Tour of the Yukon

Robert W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

We found th e tour to b e excellent. Our tour guide, Brooke, was a delight. We totally enjoyed the entire day.

Doing what: Skagway Shore Excursion: Full-Day Tour of the Yukon

Ian M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

This tour was a good day out. The scenery was great, though the overcast day dampened things. Lunch was just ok, but the mounty museum and the wildlife centre was most interesting. The musher dogs were fascinating to watch and ride them if you wish at 30.....not for me!

Doing what: Skagway Shore Excursion: Full-Day Tour of the Yukon

Alison K

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

This tour was wonderful. 7 Bears and 1 Caribou!! And 1 wonderful guide named Mike!!!!
Mike told us wonderful stories, gave us many photo opportunities and stops and best of all, we saw bears!!!! The weather was perfect - sun shining, blue sky, wonderful reflections. A truly memorable day.

Doing what: Skagway Shore Excursion: Half-Day Tour to the Yukon Border

frost.pd

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

This tour was fantastic. Our guide, Beverly, was very knowledgeable and friendly. She gave us plenty of opportunities to stop and take photos. I would highly recommend this tour.

Doing what: Skagway Shore Excursion: White Pass Summit and Skagway City Tour

David B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Great sights with very knowledgable guide - even got yo see a bear really close up!!!

Doing what: Skagway Shore Excursion: White Pass Summit and Skagway City Tour

Gary W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Enjoyed this shore excursion very much. Mike the tour guide was very entertaining.

Doing what: Skagway Shore Excursion: Full-Day Tour of the Yukon

Marnie Thao N

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Great great hike! Beautiful forest and a great light workout to counter the inactivity on the cruise. It was breathtaking at every corner and our tour guide Sam is super knowledgeable about not only the area and its history but also about the vegetation in the forest. He was so excited about nature and made the hike a memorable one.

Doing what: Skagway Shore Excursion: Chilkoot Trail Hike and Float Tour

Lorelle M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

The best tour we have done. Mike has to be the best tour guide we have had on any tour. Leaving Skagway to the Yukon was incredible. The information Mike gave us was fantastic. He had a wonderful personality and made the day so enjoyable.
We saw brown and black bears on the way and Mike stopped for some great pic's. Carcross was so interesting with may animals and a great museum.
Lunch was included and we ate outside in a wagon.
Emerald Lake is stunning, scenery at every turn. We went in late May and had fantastic weather.
So much to see and do on this tour.
It is a must do!!

Doing what: Skagway Shore Excursion: Full-Day Tour of the Yukon

Orndorff R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

T-bone was our tour guide and he was very knowledgeable and informative. The wild life was incredible and we saw a total of nine bears.

Doing what: Skagway Shore Excursion: Half-Day Tour to the Yukon Border

Petr United Kingdom

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Absolutely amazing - especially the Yukon Canadian part - including the fabulous lunch and dog-farm with its impressive museum - really beautiful trip. Even better if you have guide and driver Brook she is fabulous !!! I would do it again and again! The best trip on out entire cruise holiday.

Doing what: Skagway Shore Excursion: Full-Day Tour of the Yukon

Mara V

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

I booked this excursion as my mom had been to Skagway before and loved it but had not seen the White Pass Summit. This was my first time to Skagway so had not seen either and was looking forward to it. Thanks to JJ for making it great!
We were impressed with Frontier Excursions and Adventures from the start and JJ made us feel valued and comfortable. She clearly loves Skagway and her job and wants everyone else to enjoy Skagway as much as she does.
We know time did not permit but had it done we would have loved to have seen and learned more of the town in the town.

Doing what: Skagway Shore Excursion: White Pass Summit and Skagway City Tour

Christina L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

J.J. was Great!!! She was so knowledgeable and friendly. She was willing to stop anywhere if we asked. She stopped so we could get pictures of a baby bear that was eating by the side of the road. She was so friendly and took pictures for everyone so they could have a picture of themselves by the Alaska sign even though she was freezing because she forgot her coat. We really enjoyed this tour because of her. Thanks J.J.!!!

Doing what: Skagway Shore Excursion: White Pass Summit and Skagway City Tour

Linda S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

I really liked this tour. The tour guide was very knowledgeable and friendly. He worked hard to give us some personal experiences. Small group so it was like a private tour. I would recommend this to my family and friends.

Doing what: Skagway Shore Excursion: White Pass Summit and Skagway City Tour

Keith M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Our guide Tyler T-Bone really made this excursion! He lives in the area so he was able to provide local knowledge throughout the trip. During each stop he offered to take photos for everyone. We booked the 8AM trip which I would highly recommend! We were ahead of all the large tour groups so we were the first to each stop! We were even able to catch a few bears along the way.

Doing what: Skagway Shore Excursion: Full-Day Tour of the Yukon

grandmacott

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

We had a wonderful time on our tour. Our guide was not only knowledgeable but very friendly and willing to answer all of our questions. When we saw the bear he stopped and waited for as long as we all wanted to get good pictures! He even played with the kids in the snow. We all had a great time and I recommended this tour to my sister who is coming up next week! Thanks for hiring great drivers!!

Doing what: Skagway Shore Excursion: White Pass Summit and Skagway City Tour

mjowilson

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Tabitha was our tour guide. She had the friendliest disposition and was so knowledgeable about the area. She knew the best places to stop for pictures and was more than glad to take pictures of my husband and I. Beautiful scenery in a comfortable van. We saw a bear on the roadside eating and she actually turned the van around and we went back and sat and watched the black bear enjoy dandelions. A wonderful tour and well worth the time and money spent.

Doing what: Skagway Shore Excursion: Full-Day Tour of the Yukon

Angelina P United States of ... 

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Excellent tour. Tomas is great!

Doing what: Skagway Shore Excursion: White Pass Summit and Skagway City Tour

David J

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Our tour guide, Gann, was very patient and knowledgable. He made the tour interesting and safe at all times. Speed was limited by the slowest person in the group, which was too slow for us. Overall though the best tour on our cruise.

Doing what: Skagway Shore Excursion: Chilkoot Trail Hike and Float Tour

Maria Belen C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Could not agree more with the reviews that made me decide to get this tour

Doing what: Skagway Shore Excursion: White Pass Summit and Skagway City Tour

melinda1az

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

We absolutely loved our excursion! Brooke was a wealth of knowledge and opened our eyes to the beauty and serenity of Alaska. Thanks so much for everything!

Doing what: Skagway Shore Excursion: Chilkoot Trail Hike and Float Tour

Jayanta R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

We had a wonderful trip ! All stops were just amazing and picturesque. Our driver/guide Mike was a very jubilant person and was very helpful. Weather also helped us... Not too cold... Very little rain. Highly recommended!!!

Doing what: Skagway Shore Excursion: Full-Day Tour of the Yukon

Benjamin S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

This tour was one of the highlights of our Alaska vacation! And it was the most affordable. We saw 3 bears and beautiful scenery. Our guide/driver T-Bone Tyler was great. He was both informative and fun and you could tell he genuinely wanted us to have a good trip. After my husband mentioned I was disappointed about not being able to get my passport stamped at the airport in Canada, Tyler made a stop for me to get a stamp. In my opinion, this tour is a must-do in Skagway.

Doing what: Skagway Shore Excursion: Full-Day Tour of the Yukon

Steven H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

We went hiking at every port in Alaska. We could have skipped the others. Brooke was by far the most knowledgeable guide we had on our trip.We learned a ton about the native plants and their uses. This was a true hike not just a dirt path through the woods. The final float down the river to enjoy the beautiful scenery was a terrific way to finish. This excursion was our favorite outing of our entire time in Alaska.

Doing what: Skagway Shore Excursion: Chilkoot Trail Hike and Float Tour

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message