Skagway ATTRACTIONS See all

Skagway Cruise Port

Nowadays Skagway is a scenic Alaskan cruise port, but 100 years ago it was the rough and ready gateway to the gold fields of the Klondike. The gold-era history is tangible in Skagway, where downtown’s restored buildings form part of the Klondike ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 486 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

randy.swing

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

Enjoyed every staff member we met with this company. Our driver/guide, Brooke, was terrific. This was one of 3 Viator excursions we booked in Alaska. The pace, interaction, van, etc. were all just right.
As a traveler, you may be struggling between riding the train and going by van. I picked the van because we could stop often and take pictures and have a personal guide/driver. BTW - it was cheaper and longer than the train trip! It was exactly the right decision for my wife and me. We were often up higher than the train tracks and so had better views. At stops we could look close at plants and could walk on snow - not possible on the train. When we spotted a bear, the driver turned around to let us take pictures the bear was a safe distance away. This excursion was a highlight of our Alaska trip.

Doing what: Skagway Shore Excursion: Half-Day Tour to the Yukon Border

Linda P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

Everything about this trip was wonderful. Our leader, Brook, was so informative and pleasant. She kept a good pace for our small group. Would recommend.

Doing what: Skagway Shore Excursion: Chilkoot Trail Hike and Float Tour

Robert W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

Beautiful country with a great guide

Doing what: Skagway Shore Excursion: Half-Day Tour to the Yukon Border

Cheryl F

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

The glass blowing demonstration was fun and informative.

Doing what: Skagway Shore Excursion: Jewell Gardens Tour and Glassblowing Demonstration

Carole K

4 star rating: Recommended
May 2016

Brooke our guide did a great job and it was sunny all good. Dave

Doing what: Skagway Shore Excursion: White Pass Summit and Skagway City Tour

Joyce P

4 star rating: Recommended
May 2016

Good tour for the money..JJ was enthusiastic except for 'you know'' and 'like' used often. Would use Viator again. Thank you

Doing what: Skagway Shore Excursion: White Pass Summit and Skagway City Tour

Desiree H

4 star rating: Recommended
May 2016

It was a great experience overall. The food was delicious. The performance was entertaining. Panning for gold was a little difficult at first but the employees were eager to lend a hand. The camp setting was picturesque. The only disappointment was that there was no malamute. I know the description says women OR the dog...so it wasn't a guarantee. The driver was kind, funny, and helpful with my mom's power scooter.

Doing what: Skagway Shore Excursion: Liarsville Gold Rush Camp, Gold Panning and Salmon Bake Combo

veza

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2015

a must see if you happen to be in Juneau. Tourist guide is very knowledgable and funny at the same time.for the price i paid is very practica l for a whole d or a 7 hour or so tour

Doing what: Skagway Shore Excursion: White Pass Summit and Skagway City Tour

Pat S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2015

Jaw Dropping Scenery and plenty of camera stops

Doing what: Skagway Shore Excursion: Half-Day Tour to the Yukon Border

james a

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2015

Was amazing, our tour guide was excellent, very informative and knowledgable, great excursion

Doing what: Skagway Shore Excursion: Half-Day Tour to the Yukon Border

Joy M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2015

Awesome day! Wonderful tour guide - great job Brooke! BC, Yukon and Skagway Alska all in one day. Plus dog sledding! Great value!

Doing what: Skagway Shore Excursion: Full-Day Tour of the Yukon

Marilyn M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2015

It wad beautiful and fun

Doing what: Skagway Shore Excursion: Full-Day Tour of the Yukon

Douglas K

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2015

Great tour guide. There were no short cuts. Guide stopped at every place of interest. Pick-up and drop-offs at beginning and end of the tour were easy to make. Viator hired a great local company for this tour. I've done viator tours in the past They were all excellent.

Doing what: Skagway Shore Excursion: Full-Day Tour of the Yukon

Jodi C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

Awesome excursion! Our guide Mike was very knowledgeable and funny with a great laid back attitude! This was one of the best excursions I have ever taken and I would highly recommend it to anyone visiting Skagway.

Doing what: Skagway Shore Excursion: Full-Day Tour of the Yukon

YANG W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

Very good experience. Lots of fun. We saw bear and rainbow on the way. Yukon camp is a nice place for family fun.

Doing what: Skagway Shore Excursion: Full-Day Tour of the Yukon

John I

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

excellent trip up to the Yukon.Fantastic sights and the driver/guide was excellent.

Doing what: Skagway Shore Excursion: Half-Day Tour to the Yukon Border

Rusty J

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

We enjoyed the tour very much, would do it again.

Doing what: Skagway Shore Excursion: Liarsville Gold Rush Camp, Gold Panning and Salmon Bake Combo

georgehicks897 United States of ... 

4 star rating: Recommended
November 2015

Nice tour! Great tour guide/driver. Lots to see and lots of laughs. Fair price. Recommended.

Doing what: Skagway Shore Excursion: White Pass Summit and Skagway City Tour

Toshihiro H

4 star rating: Recommended
November 2015

If you want to enjoy the scenery, this tour can be alternative choice other than train. You may stop at several spots on the way to the pass.

Doing what: Skagway Shore Excursion: White Pass Summit and Skagway City Tour

WAYNE L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

Great bus tour. Our driver/tour guide, Tyler, was great. Stopped often for pictures and had an excellent knowledge of the route. Great lunch in Carcross, YT. Talked to people who took the train and they were not happy that it did not go to Carcross. Got back to Skagway in lots of time to get on the ship. 2 hours

Doing what: Skagway Shore Excursion: Full-Day Tour of the Yukon

Stuart B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

great trip, beautiful scenery and Mike, our guide, made the whole experience that much better. Very enjoyable and worthwhile

Doing what: Skagway Shore Excursion: Full-Day Tour of the Yukon

Jennifer H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

We had a lovely driver who was very knowledgeable.It was quite a varied tour covering a cemetery,The White Pass and the fascinating Skagway.

Doing what: Skagway Shore Excursion: White Pass Summit and Skagway City Tour

sue.short

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

You could tell how much our guide loved this place. She made it a story as she talked about this beautiful place so glad we did it a small group and lots of laughs. Thank you

Doing what: Skagway Shore Excursion: White Pass Summit and Skagway City Tour

Niladri B

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2015

It was incredibly beautiful. The emerald lake with its many hues and shades of green and blue was really pretty.

Doing what: Skagway Shore Excursion: Full-Day Tour of the Yukon

Frederick B

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2015

This tour was a lot of fun, and in many ways a better experience than the much more expensive rail excursion. We were met promptly when we got off the boat, found the rest of our group, and headed out on the Whitehorse Highway. After a quick orientation of the town, we stopped to wander through the Tim Burtonesque gold rush era cemetery. Then we headed up over the White Pass, hearing stories of the early settlers and stopping at picturesque points along the way. It was a great way to spend the day and to get to know more about this beautiful area. After the tour we took our guide's advice for lunch, getting a great fish and chips and craft beer at a local brewpup before heading back to the ship.

Doing what: Skagway Shore Excursion: White Pass Summit and Skagway City Tour

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message