Skagway ATTRACTIONS See all

Skagway Cruise Port

Nowadays Skagway is a scenic Alaskan cruise port, but 100 years ago it was the rough and ready gateway to the gold fields of the Klondike. The gold-era history is tangible in Skagway, where downtown’s restored buildings form part of the Klondike ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 321 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

A well presented and interesting tour, the food at Bennett was very good and the scenery magnificent.

Doing what: Bennett Train Journey on the White Pass Rail

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

We were met at the cruise ship by a friendly lady who instructed us where to pick up our tour bus and the name of our driver guide (Kevin) who was equally friendly, efficient and very knowledgeable about all aspects of the tour. We were given interesting information, shown lovely scenery and he definately went the extra mile. My Husband and I would highly recommend this tour. Skagway and its surroundings are a great place to visit. We did not do the optional gold panning aspect of the tour.

Doing what: Skagway Shore Excursion: White Pass Summit Excursion with Optional Gold Panning

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

So glad we booked this tour with Viator and not the ship. I've been to Alaska four times, and don't remember seeing this much scenery on a tour. Our guide, John, was loaded with personality and information, and lots of fun. He didn't rush through the tour and stopped at every possible place for photo ops. He was one of the best tour guides I've encountered. Loved the museum. I've never seen that many large animals exhibited in one place and it was incredible. Enjoyed petting the sled puppies. The lunch was good. We saw a black bear off the highway probably less than 30 feet from the bus. Never saw one that close up. The scenery was spectacular. The tour was well worth every penny.

Doing what: Skagway Shore Excursion: Full-Day Tour of the Yukon

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

This tour was amazing!

Doing what: Skagway Shore Excursion: Full-Day Tour of the Yukon

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

This was the best tour of our trip. Tyler, our guide, was very knowledgeable. He explained the different
eco systems and told us a lot of history of the area. An unexpected side hike to a beautiful waterfall was a real treat. I have never taken the train that everyone raves about but I think going by coach and being able to stop and get out and see the wonders of the area trumps a 3+ hour train ride anytime.
Barb and Jim

Doing what: Skagway Shore Excursion: White Pass Summit and Skagway City Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

Great experience. The dog sled was awesome since the owner was our guide. She is an actual iditorod champion. The views were awesome although somewhat foggy but thats the time of year and no fault of the tour.

Doing what: Skagway Shore Excursion: Full-Day Tour of the Yukon

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

It's great to get off the boat and get your feet on the ground....and we got out feet on the ground! Quite a hike!Somewhat challenging for a true novice but not overly so. The walking stick that was provided was great help especially after all the rain. Our guide Nate was delightful. Really glad we chose this as our side trip in Skagway.

Doing what: Skagway Shore Excursion: Chilkoot Trail Hike and Float Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

Great tour. Our tour guide Jessica did a wonderful job. She was very outgoing and very knowledgeable. She was very informative and gave us plenty of photo opportunities. I highly recommend this tour! The price was fantastic and worth every penny and then some! She took pics of me and my wife standing in front of both the "Welcome to Alaska" and "Welcome to the Yukon" signs!! I will definitely consider doing this tour on my next cruise to Alaska!

Doing what: Skagway Shore Excursion: Half-Day Tour to the Yukon Border

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

This tour was amazing!

Doing what: Skagway Shore Excursion: Full-Day Tour of the Yukon

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

We had a great time on this tour. Our guide was very friendly and knowledgeable and made stops with awsome scenery. When we compaired our experience with people who took other tours we went further and made more stops. This is a tour I will do again the next time I'm there.

Doing what: Skagway Shore Excursion: Half-Day Tour to the Yukon Border

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

Our tour of the Yukon was guided by bus driver, John. He made the tour 10 times better than it would have been without him. The tour itself was scenic and informative and although the wildlife was hiding and too shy to have their photo taken, John filled our group in on history, culture with a few funny stories added for good luck. Fellow travellers took similar trips but did not recall the interesting time that our group was privy to. I suggest that if you don't try this tour then I have wasted my time writing this review. An added good feature of this tour is that there were only a small number of participants which made it more personal. I would rate this as a must do whilst in Skagway. Remember to ask for John as your driver.

Doing what: Skagway Shore Excursion: Full-Day Tour of the Yukon

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

informative and nice tour guide.

Doing what: Skagway Shore Excursion: White Pass Summit and Skagway City Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

My husband and I were on a cruise around southern Alaska and stopped at Skagway. We saw this excursion to Jewell Gardens and signed up to go. It was such a great day at the gardens. The lesson we had with Travis was such a delight. We each made a beautiful glass ornament for our garden back home and learned quite a lot about the entire glass blowing process. We capped off our day by dining at the small cafe at the garden and ate a lovely lunch there. Most of the produce was grown at the gardens. I had a terrific bowl of chicken rhubarb chili. Delish!

Doing what: Skagway Shore Excursion: Glassblowing Lesson at Jewell Gardens

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message