Skagway ATTRACTIONS See all

Skagway Cruise Port

Nowadays Skagway is a scenic Alaskan cruise port, but 100 years ago it was the rough and ready gateway to the gold fields of the Klondike. The gold-era history is tangible in Skagway, where downtown’s restored buildings form part of the Klondike ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 342 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

Amazing trip.food sucks but trip was well worth it. Must do. And cheap for what you get.

Doing what: Skagway Shore Excursion: Full-Day Tour of the Yukon

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

This was a great tour. The guide was willing to stop for photos and actually turned the van around to see a bear near the road. He was very informative and funny.

Doing what: Skagway Shore Excursion: White Pass Summit Excursion

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
May 2015

Greg, our guide, was boring and long winded. Seeing the city from across the river did not give me much insight to the city. Talking about the college, school and old military base while standing in a parking lot was not a very nice setting. The next stop was at small National Park with totem poles. More time was spent describing the plant life and salmon which were not present at this time then actually walking down the totem trail. On the way to the Fortress of the Bears we stopped by the water but by this time I had no interest in what Greg had to say. The Fortress of the Bears was a small non profit preserve for rescued bears that were eventually sent to zoos. The 10 donation was part of the tour price.
The van was not easy to get in and out of.
This was the worst tour I have ever been on and definitely not worth the 62.50.
The

Doing what: Skagway Shore Excursion: White Pass Summit Excursion

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

Had a good time and tour was great and well worth it..

Doing what: Skagway Shore Excursion: Half-Day Tour to the Yukon Border

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

Fantastic trip, we had a great guide/host - Tyler. His knowledge of the area was excellent, he was thoughtful and offered us great photo opportunities.
The dog sleding was fun and would have liked more time with them.
All in all excellent excursion and made extra special by seeing a black bear on the side of the road.

Thanks Tyler for making our day

Doing what: Skagway Shore Excursion: Full-Day Tour of the Yukon

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

Can't remember the guides name, but he reall was very very good. An excellent day that wasn't to be missed. The information given was first class and the scenery spectacular

Doing what: Skagway Shore Excursion: Half-Day Tour to the Yukon Border

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

This was an excellent tour and Mike our guide deserves special mention for his friendly manner and entertaining stories. The colour of the trees in the Autumn enhanced the trip.

Doing what: Skagway Shore Excursion: Full-Day Tour of the Yukon

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

The whole day was an amazing experience from start to finish. We were swiftly picked up and taken to lots of different viewing spots on route through the Yukon. The tour drivers are very witty and knowledgable. Well worth it for the views

Doing what: Skagway Shore Excursion: Full-Day Tour of the Yukon

Adriana D
Cayman Islands

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

The tour was really good, the tour guide was great he did the six hour tour pleasant one, we enjoyed a lot as it was a small group and we made a few stops for a beautiful pics. The coach vas very comfortable as well, my favorite part was feeding and petting the goats and huskies.

Doing what: Skagway Shore Excursion: Full-Day Tour of the Yukon

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

Nice experience made much more special by driver John! Ask for him when
taking the Skagway shore excursion.

Doing what: Skagway Shore Excursion: Full-Day Tour of the Yukon

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

We had an awesome time! Our guide was great and she took us to the best spots. I highly recommend this tour.

Doing what: Skagway Shore Excursion: Half-Day Tour to the Yukon Border

Christine D
Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

The scenery was breathtaking and the guide was amazing

Doing what: Skagway Shore Excursion: Full-Day Tour of the Yukon

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

It was excellent. Our guide Owen was very knowledgable and was aware of participants fitness levels. We saw a bear which was very exciting and the guide handled the situation in a very professional manner. I thoroughly enjoyed it.

Doing what: Skagway Shore Excursion: Chilkoot Trail Hike and Float Tour

stormco
United States of America

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2014

We loved it. This tour allowed me and my husband to see a place that is "rarely seen" ... Yukon Pass ! It's such a beautiful place. We came 3rd week of Sept. 2014. The Leaves on the trees were already changing colors. So the mountain side looks like gold! Our guide was awesome! She was so knowledgeable about the place. We also did the Dog sled activity, so cool!

I highly recommend this trip!

Doing what: Skagway Shore Excursion: Full-Day Tour of the Yukon

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2014

The bus picked us up at the pier and tooks us to Liarsville....bus driver was telling us about skagway on the way there...had all the salmon we wanted and they had other side dishes...saw a show and then went panning for gold...nice trip

Doing what: Skagway Shore Excursion: Liarsville Gold Rush Camp, Gold Panning and Salmon Bake Combo

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2014

It was a good trip to enjoy the beautiful sights of alaska and canada. The food was good at our stop.Our driver was fun and very informative. Over all a great deal for the price. we were told how lucky we were to see a moose, black bear, and a goat all on the same trip. We had all weather condition from snow to sunny

Doing what: Skagway Shore Excursion: Full-Day Tour of the Yukon

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
October 2014

The tour guide (John from Utah) was wonderful and very informative about the area toured. The food at our lunch stop was poor. The bbq chicken was a skinny leg quarter, cold hard roll, slimy cold slaw and cheap wooden fork to eat with. You couldn't even use the fork to spear the chicken. Rustic building with a few heaters in the rafters. The bathrooms were right along the style of roadway gas stations, no hot water or soap in the one I visited. The dog sled kennel was a joke. The "puppies" were almost a year old and I felt sorry for them they were so skinny. The tour bus was comfortable and the guide excellent but I would not do again based on the lunch stop.

Doing what: Skagway Shore Excursion: Full-Day Tour of the Yukon

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
October 2014

Having done a similar tour last year with a different tour company we were looking for something different. This did not meet our expectTions of what we had done previously with Alaska Coach Tours who offered so much more. Regret not repeating their tour. Our guide sniffed all the time Nd this came across in the microphone.

Doing what: Skagway Shore Excursion: Full-Day Tour of the Yukon

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

A well presented and interesting tour, the food at Bennett was very good and the scenery magnificent.

Doing what: Bennett Train Journey on the White Pass Rail

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

We were met at the cruise ship by a friendly lady who instructed us where to pick up our tour bus and the name of our driver guide (Kevin) who was equally friendly, efficient and very knowledgeable about all aspects of the tour. We were given interesting information, shown lovely scenery and he definately went the extra mile. My Husband and I would highly recommend this tour. Skagway and its surroundings are a great place to visit. We did not do the optional gold panning aspect of the tour.

Doing what: Skagway Shore Excursion: White Pass Summit Excursion

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

So glad we booked this tour with Viator and not the ship. I've been to Alaska four times, and don't remember seeing this much scenery on a tour. Our guide, John, was loaded with personality and information, and lots of fun. He didn't rush through the tour and stopped at every possible place for photo ops. He was one of the best tour guides I've encountered. Loved the museum. I've never seen that many large animals exhibited in one place and it was incredible. Enjoyed petting the sled puppies. The lunch was good. We saw a black bear off the highway probably less than 30 feet from the bus. Never saw one that close up. The scenery was spectacular. The tour was well worth every penny.

Doing what: Skagway Shore Excursion: Full-Day Tour of the Yukon

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

This tour was amazing!

Doing what: Skagway Shore Excursion: Full-Day Tour of the Yukon

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

This was the best tour of our trip. Tyler, our guide, was very knowledgeable. He explained the different
eco systems and told us a lot of history of the area. An unexpected side hike to a beautiful waterfall was a real treat. I have never taken the train that everyone raves about but I think going by coach and being able to stop and get out and see the wonders of the area trumps a 3+ hour train ride anytime.
Barb and Jim

Doing what: Skagway Shore Excursion: White Pass Summit and Skagway City Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

Great experience. The dog sled was awesome since the owner was our guide. She is an actual iditorod champion. The views were awesome although somewhat foggy but thats the time of year and no fault of the tour.

Doing what: Skagway Shore Excursion: Full-Day Tour of the Yukon

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message