Skagway ATTRACTIONS See all

White Pass and Yukon Railroad

Taking a ride on the narrow-gauge White Pass and Yukon Railroad is a fun way to see spectacular historic scenery from a train inching up steep tracks that were carved out of the side of the mountains. A number of routes take you through White ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 23 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

jillmblackstock

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

The tour was amazing! Our guide was very knowledgable and entertaining. It was the highlight of our trip to Skagway. We would definitely recommend it! Thank you Klondike Tours!

Doing what: White Pass Deluxe Tour from Skagway

Kathy E

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Fantastic Experience beautiful drive! Our tour guide, Joe was fantastic. We saw some parts of Alaska and learned some great history. I had forgotten a lot about History and the Gold Rush until it all came flooding back in his narrative. What a beautiful place to visit, and a great way to see it

Doing what: White Pass Deluxe Tour from Skagway

Allison E

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

amazing experience, 100 recommend!

Doing what: White Pass Deluxe Tour from Skagway

Charles K

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

We were fortunate enough to get Boston Joe as our Driver/Guide. Joe was full of fascinating historical information and great stories of the area. The tour covered the downtown, Gold Rush Cemetery, Liarsville, White Pass Summit and more. We stopped at waterfalls, overlooks and the famous Alaska Sign. Joe even proved his worth as a great photographer. This tour was way cheaper than the one offered through the cruise line and the small bus allowed for quick loading and moving about. This is a definite must do when in Skagway!

Doing what: White Pass Deluxe Tour from Skagway

Bill M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Great tour. Our tour guide was great. He was very knowledgeable and you can tell he really likes his job. I highly recommend this tour.

Doing what: White Pass Deluxe Tour from Skagway

Carol C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

It was a wonderful tour. The scenery was absolutely breath taking and the tour guide did a fantastic job.

Doing what: White Pass Deluxe Tour from Skagway

Dan S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

We thoroughly enjoyed every minute of this excursion, and it was well worth the modest fee. Joe, our driver and guide, was fantastic! -his stories were enjoyable and helpful, he narrated during the entire journey to White Pass and back. Best of all, Joe seems knowledgeable and authentically inspired by these natural surroundings... and he loves being around and helping people. The bus was very comfortable, it was not crowded in our case, and we stopped often for great pictures!

Doing what: White Pass Deluxe Tour from Skagway

Donna B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

This tour was very good. It was nice to see some out of the way things such as the old cemetery and to hear stories from the bus driver of interesting history and historical people from the area. Thanks for the memories. Donna

Doing what: White Pass Deluxe Tour from Skagway

Arthur D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

The guide was very knowledgeable and friendly and made a lot of photo stops. It was a very comfortable way to see some of Skagway and I think it was very worthwhile.

Doing what: White Pass Deluxe Tour from Skagway

Gregory B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

It was good to be in a van not a train with a knowledgable guide, so we could stop many times for historical sites and also for the chance animal sighting.

Doing what: White Pass Deluxe Tour from Skagway

den01

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

It was a great experience especially being a clear and sunny day.

Doing what: Bennett Train Journey on the White Pass Rail

Karen S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

The tour was great the staff on board are a credit to the company helpful with information about all aspects of the tour

Doing what: Bennett Train Journey on the White Pass Rail

Richard B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

This was a magical experience. We were in the last car with a balcony on back. The ship tour would have put us in one of the middle cars. We were able to go outside on the ride and see AMAZING sights. I highly recommend this tour.

Doing what: Bennett Train Journey on the White Pass Rail

Susan L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

A well presented and interesting tour, the food at Bennett was very good and the scenery magnificent.

Doing what: Bennett Train Journey on the White Pass Rail

MELANIE O

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2016

This tour was amazing!

Doing what: White Pass Deluxe Tour from Skagway

Nasser A

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2016

Great Work by our guide, he knows the area very well. He is knowledgeable and also a poet. Very disciplined as well :

Doing what: White Pass Deluxe Tour from Skagway

PamAndy United States of ... 

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2016

This was a great tour. Good communication via email days prior to our trip and we were able to check in the day of just to confirm. Bus was cozy and roomy with lots of windows to see the amazing view. I wasn't a fan of stopping to go gold panning but it was a short time to wait and they had a restroom there. Beautiful scenery and our tour driver had a good sense of humor and was very knowledgable about the area. Many photo ops along the way. Yes, we even got to see a black bear at the Alaska/Canada border. She didn't seem to care much for us so we got really good photos . A little cold as you go up in elevation but again, the scenery is beautiful and you want to be outside. Being a warm coat. Great way to get out of the tourist area and really hear and see history and beauty. Recommend!

Doing what: White Pass Deluxe Tour from Skagway

Carroll S

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2015

Great guide, informative.

Doing what: White Pass Deluxe Tour from Skagway

dhudson52

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2015

this tour exceded all expectations it was good value for the money I'm glad we did the road tour vs the rail tour we saw much more our tour guide added a definite plus to the tour

Doing what: White Pass Deluxe Tour from Skagway

Amelia G

3 star rating: Worth doing
September 2015

The tour was ok but we were left waiting for the bus that never came....we were at the pickup location for more than one hour but when the bus came they by pass us and never pick us up. Thank God there was a Good Samaritan who drove us to their office and we catch up with the tour bus.

Doing what: White Pass Deluxe Tour from Skagway

Viator Account

3 star rating: Worth doing
August 2015

The tour guide was friendly and shared a large amount of information with us. We were disappointed at not seeing any animals during the tour.

Doing what: White Pass Deluxe Tour from Skagway

Janet A

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
August 2015

Bus picked us up at the pier as indicated. A family of 5 joined us late...with 3 children, one just a toddler. At each stop, this family was the last to leave the bus and the last to re-board which slowed us down. We saw no wildlife, except in the pictures that were passed around. Lots of good stories by our driver, Joe. Some interesting stops, but I wouldn't do this tour again.

Doing what: White Pass Deluxe Tour from Skagway

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message