Make Skagway your base to follow in the footsteps of the Tlingit people and the gold prospectors who headed off from the port to the Yukon in the roaring days of the 1890s. Tour the 100 century-old wooden buildings of the restored downtown, visit a ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 157 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

David G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

This tour, run by Frontier Tours, was really good. We saw magnificent scenery and made numerous photo stops. T -Bone, our driver, was friendly, humorous, well informed, and made the trip a lot of fun. Would highly recommend this tour.

Doing what: Skagway Shore Excursion: Half-Day Tour to the Yukon Border

Alison K

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

This tour was wonderful. 7 Bears and 1 Caribou!! And 1 wonderful guide named Mike!!!!
Mike told us wonderful stories, gave us many photo opportunities and stops and best of all, we saw bears!!!! The weather was perfect - sun shining, blue sky, wonderful reflections. A truly memorable day.

Doing what: Skagway Shore Excursion: Half-Day Tour to the Yukon Border

Marnie Thao N

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Great great hike! Beautiful forest and a great light workout to counter the inactivity on the cruise. It was breathtaking at every corner and our tour guide Sam is super knowledgeable about not only the area and its history but also about the vegetation in the forest. He was so excited about nature and made the hike a memorable one.

Doing what: Skagway Shore Excursion: Chilkoot Trail Hike and Float Tour

Orndorff R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

T-bone was our tour guide and he was very knowledgeable and informative. The wild life was incredible and we saw a total of nine bears.

Doing what: Skagway Shore Excursion: Half-Day Tour to the Yukon Border

hlopez06

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Super tour!!! We had Patrick and he was a great guide providing information as we went through town and onto White Pass Summit. When we spotted a bear, he slowed down so we could take pictures and was attentive to all our needs. He is someone who has fallen in love with the area and explores on his own. The information he provided went beyond the tour. Lunch was okay, although we did not receive any information about the restaurant as we had hoped. We did have an option to order off the menu instead of the food items that were part of the tour. They gave us a dollar amount to work with. Would recommend the chowder - one of the best we've had. Service at the restaurant was good. Would recommend this tour and be sure to ask for Patrick.

Doing what: Skagway City and White Pass Summit Tour with Lunch

David J

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Our tour guide, Gann, was very patient and knowledgable. He made the tour interesting and safe at all times. Speed was limited by the slowest person in the group, which was too slow for us. Overall though the best tour on our cruise.

Doing what: Skagway Shore Excursion: Chilkoot Trail Hike and Float Tour

melinda1az

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

We absolutely loved our excursion! Brooke was a wealth of knowledge and opened our eyes to the beauty and serenity of Alaska. Thanks so much for everything!

Doing what: Skagway Shore Excursion: Chilkoot Trail Hike and Float Tour

Steven H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

We went hiking at every port in Alaska. We could have skipped the others. Brooke was by far the most knowledgeable guide we had on our trip.We learned a ton about the native plants and their uses. This was a true hike not just a dirt path through the woods. The final float down the river to enjoy the beautiful scenery was a terrific way to finish. This excursion was our favorite outing of our entire time in Alaska.

Doing what: Skagway Shore Excursion: Chilkoot Trail Hike and Float Tour

Lisa E

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Becca was a great guide-very knowledgable about the flora and fauna.

Doing what: Skagway Shore Excursion: Chilkoot Trail Hike and Float Tour

Jennifer B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Wow! If you don and #39;t want to take the train this is the best alternative. Our guide was great - a local and so knowledgeable! Scenery was beautiful- make sure you have a water bottle to fill with fresh mountain water, and a camera to take lots of beautiful pictures. We even saw a black bear!

Doing what: Skagway Shore Excursion: Half-Day Tour to the Yukon Border

Glenda A

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2016

Excellent tour. We saw some of the most awe inspiring scenery you can imagine and we did see two bears on the side of the road. The guide was very informative and entertaining. A trip well worth the time and money. Beautiful!!!!

Doing what: Skagway Shore Excursion: Half-Day Tour to the Yukon Border

eahneman4704

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2016

Driver was friendly, knowledgeable, and accommodating throughout.

Doing what: Skagway Shore Excursion: Half-Day Tour to the Yukon Border

bearcatjon

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2016

It was very scenic and well directed by our driver. Got to see quite a bit and not many dull moments.

Doing what: Skagway Shore Excursion: Half-Day Tour to the Yukon Border

Dr_R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

Enjoyed every staff member we met with this company. Our driver/guide, Brooke, was terrific. This was one of 3 Viator excursions we booked in Alaska. The pace, interaction, van, etc. were all just right.
As a traveler, you may be struggling between riding the train and going by van. I picked the van because we could stop often and take pictures and have a personal guide/driver. BTW - it was cheaper and longer than the train trip! It was exactly the right decision for my wife and me. We were often up higher than the train tracks and so had better views. At stops we could look close at plants and could walk on snow - not possible on the train. When we spotted a bear, the driver turned around to let us take pictures the bear was a safe distance away. This excursion was a highlight of our Alaska trip.

Doing what: Skagway Shore Excursion: Half-Day Tour to the Yukon Border

Linda P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

Everything about this trip was wonderful. Our leader, Brook, was so informative and pleasant. She kept a good pace for our small group. Would recommend.

Doing what: Skagway Shore Excursion: Chilkoot Trail Hike and Float Tour

Robert W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

Beautiful country with a great guide

Doing what: Skagway Shore Excursion: Half-Day Tour to the Yukon Border

Wickster

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

Wonderful tour. Tour guide from Frontier was vey exciting and informative. He enthralled with his stories about coaching girls' basketball in Scagway, AL. We encountered many forms of wildlife including a porcupine and a black bear.
Frontier was amazing after we had ship problems which caused us to change the date of our excursion.
Trip to the Yukon border was a Kodak moment.

Doing what: Skagway Shore Excursion: Half-Day Tour to the Yukon Border

Marilee G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

We booked our Alaska shore excursions thru Viator, rather than the cruise line and saved money and hassles. This was our favorite tour of the trip! Our guide, Brooke, was amazing and so friendly and knowledgeable about the area. We saw amazing, gorgeous scenery and got to stop often for taking photos. There was a nice bathroom break at the spectacular Yukon Suspension Bridge. We got much better value than the folks that took the Yukon train ride.

Doing what: Skagway Shore Excursion: Half-Day Tour to the Yukon Border

george B

3 star rating: Worth doing
May 2016

Tour did not go at 8.45 as promised , set off at 11.00.

Went up to Yukon instead of having lunch.

All very good.

Doing what: Skagway City and White Pass Summit Tour with Lunch

Pat S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2015

Jaw Dropping Scenery and plenty of camera stops

Doing what: Skagway Shore Excursion: Half-Day Tour to the Yukon Border

james a

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2015

Was amazing, our tour guide was excellent, very informative and knowledgable, great excursion

Doing what: Skagway Shore Excursion: Half-Day Tour to the Yukon Border

John I

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

excellent trip up to the Yukon.Fantastic sights and the driver/guide was excellent.

Doing what: Skagway Shore Excursion: Half-Day Tour to the Yukon Border

Lucy R

3 star rating: Worth doing
October 2015

This was OK. The trail hike was reasonably easy and the float down the river was pleasant.

Doing what: Skagway Shore Excursion: Chilkoot Trail Hike and Float Tour

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message