• USD ($)
  • English
Make Skagway your base to follow in the footsteps of the Tlingit people and the gold prospectors who headed off from the port to the Yukon in the roaring days of the 1890s. Tour the 100 century-old wooden buildings of the restored downtown, visit a ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 76 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

This by far was the best excursion that we took in Alaska, the only thing that I would say is this is not for the casual walker, the hiking portion was much more difficult than the information indicated, I live in Florida and walk regularly but this was much more treacherous. The float was so worth the effort it was beautiful and so peaceful absolutely loved it!!

Doing what: Skagway Shore Excursion: Chilkoot Trail Hike and Float Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

We had great weather to view the Yukon, and our tour guide made the whole trip!!!!! Def worth every penny we spent!

Doing what: Skagway Shore Excursion: Half-Day Tour to the Yukon Border

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

We had a great time. We took this excursion while our cruise ship was stopped in Skagway for the day. Don't waste your money booking the one through the cruise lines. This one is the best and it'll save you a few dollars. Our guide Nate was super. Really knew his stuff and you can tell he really loves his job. The hike isn't for everyone as it does go up a pretty steep hill. Other than that it was a very enjoyable hike and float. The highlight was catching a glimpse of a brown bear as we floated down the river. If you are looking to get close to nature than skip the train and tour busses and take this tour.

Doing what: Skagway Shore Excursion: Chilkoot Trail Hike and Float Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

It was wonderful. So glad we did this instead of the train. I cannot express myself in words just how great this was.

Doing what: Skagway Shore Excursion: Half-Day Tour to the Yukon Border

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2014

Very experienced guide provided . We were picked up from the cruise dock and interesting spots along the route were highlighted.
Bob was a bit "crusty" around the edges and somewhat abrupt but it added to the rustic charm of the whole experience.

Doing what: Skagway Shore Excursion: Chilkoot Trail Hike and Float Tour

3 star rating: Worth doing
July 2014

If it had not been for the very nice humorous driver/guide, I would have been very disappointed in this excursion. It was raining most of the way up to the Yukon border so we didn't stop anywhere. He just drove and drove while giving us some information of the surrounding area. We finally pulled over on the side of the road to see a small black bear, but the guide must've been on a tight schedule because he didn't give us time to take photos from the van (the bear kept disappearing behind a rock). We finally stopped for a potty break but there was nothing to see at this location except for the portable potties. Our second stop was at the sign saying we were entering the Yukon. We then drove back to Skagway. Don't waste your money on this one.

Doing what: Skagway Shore Excursion: Half-Day Tour to the Yukon Border

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
July 2014

Communication is expected from the pre-paid user of the trip to confirm pick up time a day in advance. This however, does not apply with Off-Road Jeep Adventures. We were picked up 45 minutes late with no notification that this would eventuate. We had to follow up personally to be informed there was a problem with the earlier tour. When queried on pickup, was informed that "office person was new....". Sorry, respect and communicaton is expected from supplier as well as user. Consequently we missed another tour planned for that afternoon because Off-Road Jeep Adventure was late.

Doing what: Off-Road Jeep Adventure in Denali National Park

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

We had a great tour of the interior of Alaska and Canada. The "high point" of our trip was on the top of Jubilee Mountain, which gave us a great view of the mountains, valleys and lakes of the Yukon Territory

Doing what: Skagway Shore Excursion: Private 4x4 Yukon Adventure from Skagway

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

We enjoyed our trip with Heidi who made it very interesting. She is a school teacher which loved to tell us all about Alaska which she lived all her life in Alaska. Very very good tour

Doing what: Skagway Shore Excursion: Half-Day Tour to the Yukon Border

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

Great trip and good information

Doing what: Skagway Shore Excursion: Half-Day Tour to the Yukon Border

3 star rating: Worth doing
June 2014

Beautiful hike and float. Only those who can walk a steep incline should attempt. NOT for elderly or out of shape as discovered by 3 ladies we were grouped with. Guide very nice and full of information but he stopped every few feet to talk which became frustrating. We wanted to hike not talk.

Doing what: Skagway Shore Excursion: Chilkoot Trail Hike and Float Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

Small BOUTIQUE TOWN. THE TOUR IS OUTSTANDING.

Doing what: Skagway Shore Excursion: Half-Day Tour to the Yukon Border

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

Small BOUTIQUE TOWN. THE TOUR IS OUTSTANDING.

Doing what: Skagway Shore Excursion: Half-Day Tour to the Yukon Border

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

very good guide made trip enjoyable - great scenery and stopped to see several interesting sites along the way. Good trip for older adults and small children.

Doing what: Skagway Shore Excursion: Half-Day Tour to the Yukon Border

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

Excellent! Family of four. Hiked uphill a bit, but all good. Definitely not a hike to bring the older folks though. The guide was great and very informative. We felt comfortable and safe. Viator Rocks!

Doing what: Skagway Shore Excursion: Chilkoot Trail Hike and Float Tour

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message