Make Skagway your base to follow in the footsteps of the Tlingit people and the gold prospectors who headed off from the port to the Yukon in the roaring days of the 1890s. Tour the 100 century-old wooden buildings of the restored downtown, visit a ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 138 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Pat S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2015

Jaw Dropping Scenery and plenty of camera stops

Doing what: Skagway Shore Excursion: Half-Day Tour to the Yukon Border

james a

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2015

Was amazing, our tour guide was excellent, very informative and knowledgable, great excursion

Doing what: Skagway Shore Excursion: Half-Day Tour to the Yukon Border

John I

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

excellent trip up to the Yukon.Fantastic sights and the driver/guide was excellent.

Doing what: Skagway Shore Excursion: Half-Day Tour to the Yukon Border

Lucy R

3 star rating: Worth doing
October 2015

This was OK. The trail hike was reasonably easy and the float down the river was pleasant.

Doing what: Skagway Shore Excursion: Chilkoot Trail Hike and Float Tour

Jim H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

One of the best tours we have every taken. Loved every minute.

Doing what: Skagway Shore Excursion: Chilkoot Trail Hike and Float Tour

Susan S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

Wonderful guide and great tour. The lunch was excellent--lovely inn.

Doing what: Skagway City and White Pass Summit Tour with Lunch

louiepreacher

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

Another most wonderful tour. My wife and I previously visited Skagway and took a tour so we expected this to be similar. This tour took us not only through Skagway but up to Whitehorse Pass, via a small coach. What made this trip superior to the train which goes to the same place is that the coach stops and we are allowed to get out and take pictures from the side of the road. This tour allowed us to enter into the Yukon of Canada and then visit a wonderful little cemetery that gave us a feeling of what it was like it the olden days. My wife and I would whole heartedly recommend this tour... Our driver was not a local but a young man who was well versed in the area. This tour also provided us with a lunch at the Skagway Inn after our tour and we were most happy with the food there.

Doing what: Skagway City and White Pass Summit Tour with Lunch

Jonquille C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

Really good tour. Our guide, Joe, was excellent. Hike was moderate nice mix of up , down, and flats. Float trip was great, saw Bear, Eagles, seals
Highly recommend

Doing what: Skagway Shore Excursion: Chilkoot Trail Hike and Float Tour

Susan G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

We had a fabulous time. The hike was pretty strenuous, but our guide, Gann Brewer, went out of his way to help. He made the excursion fun and exciting, keeping us safe, yet having fun. On the way back, he pointed out fun facts about Skagway and dropped us off wherever we wanted to go. I would highly recommend the trip.

Doing what: Skagway Shore Excursion: Chilkoot Trail Hike and Float Tour

Kim K

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

This was a great tour. The first mile of the 2 mile hike was a little steep, but our tour guide, Bob, had us take breaks so it wasn't too hard. There were lots of tree roots on the trail to avoid, but Bob showed us where to step to we wouldn't fall. He explained a lot about the rainforest trees and plants. The second mile of the trail was mostly flat and easier, but just as scenic. The float on the river was also very good. Bob showed us how to get into the raft so we wouldn't fall. As we floated down the river he pointed out bald eagles and other wildlife. For a short while we were followed by two harbor seals. So cute. At the end of the trip we got a light snack. The ride in the van to the trail was also scenic and Bob told us more interesting stories about the area. It was a great trip and worth the price.

Doing what: Skagway Shore Excursion: Chilkoot Trail Hike and Float Tour

James C

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2015

good, long bus ride could use another stop along the way

Doing what: Skagway Shore Excursion: Half-Day Tour to the Yukon Border

Dean P

3 star rating: Worth doing
September 2015

There was no a tour of Skagway the city. Would like to of heard more about the city.

Doing what: Skagway City and White Pass Summit Tour with Lunch

Donald S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

The tour was excellent but it was strenuous for my wife who has a knee issue. The guide was the best.

Doing what: Skagway Shore Excursion: Chilkoot Trail Hike and Float Tour

Jack L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

Bob the guide was personable and informative and maintained a comfortable pace on the hike as well as an accomplished raftsman. Enjoyed the narration and tour and would highly recommend.

Doing what: Skagway Shore Excursion: Chilkoot Trail Hike and Float Tour

Nissins USA

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

THE BEAUTY OF NATURE AT ITS FINEST!!! The best sceneries I've seen in my entire life! Jessica JJ was our tour guide and driver -- she's simply awesome! Always volunteered to take our pictures, which she said is part of her job description. : Sure enough, the photos she took of me were brilliant! Thanks to one other reviewer who said that this tour is better than the train ride becoz we get to enjoy each stop: admire the beauty of each scenery and capture the memory via photos. EXCELLENT TOUR WITH JJ!!!

Doing what: Skagway Shore Excursion: Half-Day Tour to the Yukon Border

Kelly V

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

Lots of stops to enjoy the many beautiful views in British Columbia. Well worth the money. We wanted to see what we could while we were there. Thanks to Heidi, our guide, who rocks! How many visitors are as lucky to get a tour from an Iditarod racer?

Doing what: Skagway Shore Excursion: Half-Day Tour to the Yukon Border

den01

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

We thoroughly enjoyed the forest walk and float down the river.

Doing what: Skagway Shore Excursion: Chilkoot Trail Hike and Float Tour

Brian B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

This was our most favorite tour on our Alaska cruise. Was able to get my elderly mother on the raft along with my kids. All 9 of us took this slow gentle river ride, we saw 2 bald eagles on the tree where their nest was, another one was further up the river. This was as scenic as I imagined. A very worthwhile excursion. I highly recommend this one.

Doing what: Skagway Shore Excursion: Scenic River Float Tour

Cheryl B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

Our guide JJ knew what she was talking about! Very informative and pleasant and took the time to answer any questions we had about each place we stopped. I would take this trip again, not like the Viator whale watching in Juneau where it was a big loss in time and money!

Doing what: Skagway Shore Excursion: Half-Day Tour to the Yukon Border

Myrna K

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

Very enjoyable with a knowledgeable guide who stayed with us on the hike and float trip. It's good to get some exercise after the feasting on a cruise ship.

Doing what: Skagway Shore Excursion: Chilkoot Trail Hike and Float Tour

stuarttabb

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2015

loved our young guide - a budding Grizzley Adams. the hike was rigorous enough. Raft trip was fine - not much to see everything we saw was spectacular but didn't need to be rafting to see it

Doing what: Skagway Shore Excursion: Chilkoot Trail Hike and Float Tour

Gordon T

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2015

We thoroughly enjoyed our tour guided by Brooke hope we remembered her name correctly. She was knowledgeable, helpful and lots of fun. She displayed great skill on the float portion of the tour, and we felt it was worth the time and money. We would recommend this tour to friends.

Doing what: Skagway Shore Excursion: Chilkoot Trail Hike and Float Tour

David B

3 star rating: Worth doing
August 2015

The hike was enjoyable and our guide seemed very knowledgeable especially about mushrooms!. We would have enjoyed a longer float -- of course, that would mean a longer hike!

Doing what: Skagway Shore Excursion: Chilkoot Trail Hike and Float Tour

Donald G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

Bob was our guide. He was informative about the history of the town of Skagway as we drove through it pointing out good places to shop, eat, and do. He gave us a wonderful history lesson as we hiked the trail and had us ready to react appropriately when we saw a bear. Sadly we never did see that bear. The scenery on the trail was amazingly beautiful. And to think we hiked early June with only some of the plants beginning to peek out and ferns just showing some early fronds. I would love to take this hike again in late June or early July to see the changes in this temperate rain forest. There might be more bugs then and we really didn't see any.
The float boat trip back was fun but cold but that's just the way it was. My boots evidently had holes in them so my socks got wet. Might want to bring an extra pair if it's a cold day.
All in all my husband and I really enjoyed the excursion and would highly recommend it to anyone who wants to walk in the same steps as the gold rushers or who enjoys beautiful green forest. It really was exceptionally beautiful.

Doing what: Skagway Shore Excursion: Chilkoot Trail Hike and Float Tour

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message