Make Skagway your base to follow in the footsteps of the Tlingit people and the gold prospectors who headed off from the port to the Yukon in the roaring days of the 1890s. Tour the 100 century-old wooden buildings of the restored downtown, visit a ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 93 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

The trip was awesome and our guide, John was fantastic! Loved it!

Doing what: Skagway Shore Excursion: Private 4x4 Yukon Adventure from Skagway

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

My wife, Julie, and I loved this tour. The hike was perfect and Jim the guide was a fount of information and knowledge. It was great to learn the fauna that was edible and that which could kill you. Jim gave us samples along the way as he pointed out interesting facts along the trail. Julie has had surgery on both feet and we are approaching 50. The hike was the perfect degree of difficulty for us along with the 65ish grandmother that was in our party of 6. Jim's aid, Michelle, was a delight to work with and she cared very tenderly for an older hiker who was with us. Between the two guides, we were regaled with all matter of facts, culture, and customs. We were made to feel like we were just out for a hike with good friends enjoying a day on the trail. After completing our two hour hike we floated down the river and were able to come withing a few feet of a Bald Eagle sitting in a tree just feet away from her huge nest. The shore side snack after the float was a treat too. Smoked salmon, juice and crackers were a perfect end to a wonderful experience. THANKS To ALL The CREW!

Doing what: Skagway Shore Excursion: Chilkoot Trail Hike and Float Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

BEAUTIFUL hiking trail and very scenic and relaxing rafting float.
Loved it!! Great guide:) let us take our time and enjoy the scenery.

Doing what: Skagway Shore Excursion: Chilkoot Trail Hike and Float Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

Great experience! I was afraid the beginning of the hike would be too steep for my eight year-old, but she did really well. It was a gorgeous hike with such lush and dense landscapes. I felt like we were in a magical forest. I would do this again!

Doing what: Skagway Shore Excursion: Chilkoot Trail Hike and Float Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

Our tour guide,Owen,was excellent....knowledgeable as well as helpful. Chilkoot trail was beautiful but the first part of hike a little more rigorous than expected. The raft trip back was good and we were well outfitted to stay dry.

Doing what: Skagway Shore Excursion: Chilkoot Trail Hike and Float Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

Our tour guide,Owen,was excellent....knowledgeable as well as helpful. Chilkoot trail was beautiful but the first part of hike a little more rigorous than expected. The raft trip back was good and we were well outfitted to stay dry.

Doing what: Skagway Shore Excursion: Chilkoot Trail Hike and Float Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

Bob was an excellent tour guide, very knowledgeable of the area. The hike had a couple steep parts but nothing the average person couldn't handle. The rafting was fun. We saw a couple bald eagles and lots of bear skat but no actual bears. I would definitely recommend this tour and getting it through viator saved some money over getting it through the cruise line.

Doing what: Skagway Shore Excursion: Chilkoot Trail Hike and Float Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

We were collected as arranged by Jim our guide for the trip. Jim gave a us information about the area whilst driving to the start of the trail. Jim was very knowledgeable about the area, flora and fauna he had been a Guide/ranger for the National Parks Service. We had a group of 8 with mixed ability. The hike was 2 miles with some short steep sections on forest tracks. The pace was set by the slowest person, there was no rush and lots of interesting information shared about the history of the route relating to the Gold Rush period.
We walked to the start of the rafting float and were provided with wellington boots and buoyancy aids and instruction about getting into and out of the raft and other safety information. The float was gentle and scenic with more information shared about the area. at the end of the float we had some light snack of smoked salmon and cheese and biscuits and water.
Really enjoyed the trip, interesting information, light exercise, saw Bald Eagles, bear scat- no bears.

Doing what: Skagway Shore Excursion: Chilkoot Trail Hike and Float Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

This was one of our favorite days during the cruise portion of our Alaska Adventure. Our guide, Owen, was knowledgeable, friendly, and made subtle accommodations for members of our group who were experiencing difficulty with the steep terrain. This excursion truly gave us a sense of what the early miners might have experienced on this historic trail.

Doing what: Skagway Shore Excursion: Chilkoot Trail Hike and Float Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

Wish we had done the full day, ur staff was great. Thanks for a great tour.

Doing what: Skagway Shore Excursion: Half-Day Tour to the Yukon Border

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

It was outstanding. The guides were very pleasant and knowledgeable and extremely professional!!! The scenery was beautiful and my family enjoyed it tremendously

Doing what: Skagway Shore Excursion: Chilkoot Trail Hike and Float Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

This was a great trip. The highlight was seeing a bear cross the road. The guide was great.

Doing what: Skagway Shore Excursion: Chilkoot Trail Hike and Float Tour

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2014

This is a great tour for its value. It's really a scenic tour along the areas that border Canada and US with a chance to get off of your coach, take pictures and admire the great views. It's relaxing and quite informative.

Doing what: Skagway Shore Excursion: Half-Day Tour to the Yukon Border

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2014

Driver was very pleasant, but wish we could have gone a bit further to at least get a snack or a bite to eat.
We have visited Skagway before and found the experience to be OK

Doing what: Skagway Shore Excursion: Half-Day Tour to the Yukon Border

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
August 2014

We booked this tour with another couple, who were our traveling companions on our Alaska Adventure. We looked forward to enjoying their company in a jeep such as the one in the picture above, and we also looked forward to seeing the kind of scenery shown in the same picture. Unfortunately, our jeep broke down in a mud hole (possibly man-made) on a trail without any scenic views. Without going into detail, we saw no wildlife, no scenery, and ultimately, my husband and the couple with whom we were traveling were separated into three other jeeps with people that we did not know. In addition, another of the jeeps also overheated, but was luckily resuscitated by a guest who was an auto mechanic. We made it to the "snack location", where we saw yet another jeep which had broken down from a previous tour. By this time, so much time had been wasted during the breakdown that we were forced to return home so that one of the families would not miss their train connection from Denali.

We returned on the same trail, but the adventure did not end there. As we were returning to the tour base camp, yet another jeep was being hauled off to Fairbanks for repair. It is no wonder that there was not a contingency plan for extra jeeps in case there was a breakdown. Once we arrived at the base camp, we were whisked back to the Princess Wilderness Lodge.....my husband was in one van, and I was in another. This "adventure" cost us and our traveling companions a total of $580. It was not my favorite day in Alaska.

Doing what: Off-Road Jeep Adventure in Denali National Park

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message