Terracotta-colored rooftops and brilliant white building facades line the streets of this picturesque city on the coast of Slovenia. Locals say this tiny town is among the nation’s most beautiful, and despite its small size, Piran is worthy of an ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 9 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Man-Yi W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

Beautiful Skojan caves. Enjoyed the hike to the cave entrance too. Piran is captivating too.

Doing what: Slovenian Coast and Karst Region Day Trip from Ljubljana

Venkat S Lolla India

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

Fantastic experience and had a great time visiting Skocjan Caves and Piran !!!! Guide Mathew was friendly and very helpful.

Doing what: Slovenian Coast and Karst Region Day Trip from Ljubljana

Marisa B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

This was an amazing trip. Our guide Tino? was knowledgeable and personable. I would definitely recommend this trip. Our stay in Piran could have been a little longer, but we covered a lot of ground in one day.

Doing what: Slovenian Coast and Karst Region Day Trip from Ljubljana

Lenin P

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2015

If you are in Slovenia for a really short time and do not drive, I think this is one of the best trips to see the country. The 12/16 Euro ticket for the Škocjan caves is not included though, but it's still a very good deal.
If you're in the caves I'd recommend you to spend more time in the 2nd silent cave, which was a wonderland to me.

All the places we were taken to along the Karst region was lovely and the greatest of all I felt was Piran, when the dark clouds miraculously moved away and we could see the true colours of the Mediterranean town in the glory of the sun. The Lippzaner horses were great as well, and we were lucky to be around them.

One of the greatest highlights of the trip was our Tour Guide - Tine Acimovic. He is a legend in my opinion. I'm sure the other guys might be great too. Tine was genuine and was not one of those over pleasing types, his sense of humor was genuine as well. Most of all, he was an encyclopedia of information, and was happy to answer any of my questions regarding the history of Yugoslavia, and he provided a very neutral and sympathetic view of everyone who struggled through those periods, and this was apart from the tour information.

Doing what: Slovenian Coast and Karst Region Day Trip from Ljubljana

candy wai yee l

3 star rating: Worth doing
September 2015

Piran is an excellent town, beautiful scenary by the sea. We really enjoy it. The beach is a bit rocky for swimming.
The most unpleasant happening for this trip is the tourist guide that we got, she speaks stutter, broken English. The car was parked under the hot sun for hours the parkade actually has lots of underground parking spots.available,so that when we got into the car it was steaming hot,I can hardly breath so my husband opened the window to catch some breath but the lady said either to keep the air conditioner on or open the window but she was driving on freeway , so, my husband can only choose to close the window. We are just steaming in the car, the lady said she turned the A/C to 18 degrees BUT the fan was just MINIMUM, cool air did not go to the back at all, my God!!! she was coughing during the day too, I think if she is sick , she should stay home and not turn the fan to minimum and let her customers steaming like crazy , she is not customer orientated at all, can make the trip so much better if we have a different guide

Doing what: Portoroz and Piran Tour from Ljubljana

Rebecca K

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

We had a wonderful time on this tour and highly recommend it. Piran is very picturesque and there are plenty of lovely restaurants to choose from for lunch during your free time. Our guide Vladamir was excellent, very chatty and knowledgable. The walking tour was optional but i'm glad we chose to do it as he took us down backstreets and showed us sights we most likely would not have seen if we had gone off on our own straight away. The salt fields were also really interesting and all in all it was a great day out!

Doing what: Portoroz and Piran Tour from Ljubljana

Kelly M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

This tour packs a TON into a single day. I liked every stop, though some might think it's too much for one day. Sanda was a wonderful guide...so personable and friendly, and really made sure I was getting the most out of the day. Be sure to pack a swimsuit if you're visiting in the summer and want to make time for a quick dip. I had time for a brief swim in Koper and Piran and the water was fantastic!

Doing what: Slovenian Coast Day Trip from Ljubljana

HIEN V France

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2011

Good tour, good guide. I enjoyed the visit of the sea salt production. Piran is a nice small little town.

Doing what: Portoroz and Piran Tour from Ljubljana

ANNEMARIE M

3 star rating: Worth doing
August 2011

Piran was a very quaint and picturesque town. With gorgeous seafood restaurants selling the most amazing calamari! Not much to see or do in Portoroz although it has a beautiful beach if sun bathing is your thing. We did have some lovely icecream here though!

Doing what: Portoroz and Piran Tour from Ljubljana

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message