The Postojna Cave system is Slovenia's most popular tourist attraction, and within an instant of arriving, it is clear why. The cave, formed by the Pivka River, is a 20 km (12.5 mi) long karst cave, and is the most visited cave in Europe. Enter a ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 67 Reviews Add your review

Certiļ¬ed reviews by travelers like you.

Anonymous

Anonymous

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

We took this tour with my mother and we had the best time ever. Our tour guide, native from Ljubliana, was extremely knowledgeable and kind. She answered all my questions ( I had many!) and as my mother did not speak English, she has been really nice trying to speak slowly to her. Also, she did not feel well and she stayed with her while we where in Predjama Castle. The castle is astonishing, from outside and from insite, and the caves.. what to say, AMAZING! everything is perfectly organised, guides are really nice and the cavern is magnificent, can't describe with words, you have to go.

Doing what: Predjama Castle and Postojna Cave Tour from Ljubljana

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

This review was long overdue and I only have nice things to say about this tour. Guide was excellent!! So much knowledge about the places we went to and even while on the road we got bits of infos of the country or just about anything i had asked of him. Will definitely recommend this tour and tour operator to friends who by seeing all my lovely photos now want to go to Slovenia.

Doing what: Predjama Castle and Postojna Cave Tour from Ljubljana

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

An excellent tour. Predjama Castle has a fabulous setting high on the cliff. The Postojna Cave was superb and a must see for anyone in the area. The size of the caverns was incredible and the train ride into the cave a highlight.

Doing what: Predjama Castle and Postojna Cave Tour from Ljubljana

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

Two great sights in this half-day trip. Our guide, Nate, was friendly, fun and very knowledgeable. Predjama Castle is beautiful and so unique. The Caves are fantastic. Just be sure to bring along some pants and a long-sleeve shirt or jacket. It gets pretty cold down there...especially on the little train.

Doing what: Predjama Castle and Postojna Cave Tour from Ljubljana

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2015

The tour to the caves and the castle was worry free thanks to our guide Vladimir. We were picked up from our hotel on time and the van was comfortable for all the passengers. The drive to the Postojna cave from the city center was about 45 min. We were told the history of Ljubljana and also of the caves on the way. Once we got there, Vladimir told us exactly what we could expect from the Postojna tour and where and when we stood be meeting. The castle tour was conducted by Vladimir and even though there is not much to see in the castle he kept it interesting with his dry witty sense of humor. The best part of the castle is its view from the outside. We got a short tour of the caves near the castle as well. We had 45 min after each of the tours to wander around the gift shops or get something to eat. It was little over 7 hr trip so the time was appreciated. If you don't want to rent a car and want to see both the cave and the castle, the tour is a good option. It is a 20 min drive from the cave to the castle so walking is a bit too long and taking a taxi back and forth is expensive. This option worked out the best for us and the guide made it interesting.

Doing what: Best Postojna Caves and Predjama Castle Tour from Ljubljana

3 star rating: Worth doing
July 2015

This was different than depicted in description. English tour of cave was too large a group and we couldn't hear what guide was saying. Make sure you get headphones with guide if you go. Caves are pretty incredible to see.

Doing what: Predjama Castle and Postojna Cave Tour from Ljubljana

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Do not miss the chance to visit Predjama Castle. Our tour guide was excellent and the trip is worth every penny and minute. The visit to the caves was just as impressive, although I suggest that information be provided regarding the need for warmer clothing once you enter the caves.

Doing what: Predjama Castle and Postojna Cave Tour from Ljubljana

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

The tour of Postojna caves was a highlight of holiday and is a must, must see as these are the best caves in the world. Small group tour with a very good guide/driver. Highly recommend this tour if in Slovenia. Do not miss.

Doing what: Best Postojna Caves and Predjama Castle Tour from Ljubljana

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

The tour has been great! We have seen very interesting and beautiful places. The guide Vladimir has been great as well. He has told historic issues with a good sense of humour, which has been quite interesting and fun. Thank you! Highly recommend.

Doing what: Best Postojna Caves and Predjama Castle Tour from Ljubljana

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2014

Postojna Caves and Predjama Castle are very interesting places. Our guide Wladimir is a very nice person and his job was very well done.

Doing what: Best Postojna Caves and Predjama Castle Tour from Ljubljana

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2014

It was a one-to-one guide. Lana is very informative throughout the trip on Slovenia and also on the castles. Provided very clear instruction on where to go for the cave guide (as she was not able to join inside the cave tour) and where to meet up later.

Doing what: Best Postojna Caves and Predjama Castle Tour from Ljubljana

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

Fascinating places. I've never visited such long spectacular caves before and what a good idea to have an open air train running through them. Take a warm jacket though because the temperature in there is 10 degrees (all year around). I loved Predjama Castle too, made even more interesting by our legendary and entertaining guide, Vladimir.

Doing what: Best Postojna Caves and Predjama Castle Tour from Ljubljana

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

The tour guide is very friendly and informative.
He told us a lot of history about the Predjama Castle.
And Postojna Caves just amazing.

Doing what: Best Postojna Caves and Predjama Castle Tour from Ljubljana

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

Our guided tour of Postojna Caves and Predjama Castle was fantastic. Our guide Vladimyr promptly picked us up from our hotel in Ljubljana and immediately made us feel welcome in Slovenia by sharing a bit about himself and why he chooses to lead these tours. He ensured we got the most of our tour and was incredibly knowledgeable about the Caves, Castle, and Slovenia in general. We had a great time and highly recommend visiting this tour for ease, learning, and fun.

Doing what: Best Postojna Caves and Predjama Castle Tour from Ljubljana

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

Fantastic trip and Lattimer (hope the spellings correct) was so informative. Incredible vac eps and castle. A must see.

Doing what: Best Postojna Caves and Predjama Castle Tour from Ljubljana

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

The caves are spectacular and the castle is very interesting. Vladimir was a very good guide. He gave enough interesting information without bombarding you with it.

Doing what: Best Postojna Caves and Predjama Castle Tour from Ljubljana

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

We rate this tour as 5*. We had Vladamir for our guide and seriously you should ask for him. He has a great sense of humour and so much information about the castle as he accompanied us up to the top.
We highly recommend both places and with Viator.
The caves were the most amazing we had visited, and we have seen a few in our travels, certainly not to be missed.

Doing what: Best Postojna Caves and Predjama Castle Tour from Ljubljana

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

Fantastic tour of caves and castle. Tour guide was very friendly and informative

Doing what: Best Postojna Caves and Predjama Castle Tour from Ljubljana

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

Lana, our guide, was fabulous. Full of information about the caves, the castle, and Slovenia in general.

Predjama Castle is such a delight. It is one castle that really is just like the travel brochure photos you see of it. When you first see it and the way it is positioned inside the cave, it looks like so ething out of a hollywood movie set. But it is very real, and a total step back in time as you walk through it.

The Postojna Caves are incredible. There are no words to adequately reflect their size and beauty. A visit to these caves is an absolute must when you visit Slovenia. They will leave you in awe of mother nature and the beauty she can create.

Doing what: Best Postojna Caves and Predjama Castle Tour from Ljubljana

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2014

We were so pleased we booked this side trip while in Ljubljana.
The guide/driver was very diligent in making sure we got the most out of the experience.

Doing what: Best Postojna Caves and Predjama Castle Tour from Ljubljana

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2014

Excellent tour, very worthwhile and the tour guide is very knowledgeable. Breathtaking views and definitely a lot of photo opportunities! Our tour guide, Vladimir, even brought me an extra jacket to keep me warm for the tour in the Postojna Caves as the temperature there can get down to as low as 8 degrees Celsius. I definitely recommend this tour if you are in Slovenia.

Doing what: Best Postojna Caves and Predjama Castle Tour from Ljubljana

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2014

The Postojna caves were amazing, I would totally recommend seeing them. Predjama Castle was also very impressive and interesting. Our Viatour guide was friendly and well informed, and the tour pick-up was punctual.

Doing what: Best Postojna Caves and Predjama Castle Tour from Ljubljana

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message