Slovenia ATTRACTIONS See all

Predjama Castle

Over 700 years old, this incredible castle is unique in every way. Home to the infamous rebel knight Erazem of Predjama in the 15th century, this Renaissance castle sits in the mouth of a cave on a 123 meter (40 foot) high cliff. The interior ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 74 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Azrena I

3 star rating: Worth doing
January 2016

Kind of dissapointing bcos not much narrating from tour guide/driver for this tour

Doing what: Predjama Castle and Postojna Cave Tour from Ljubljana

anirban

3 star rating: Worth doing
January 2016

It was a nice short half day trip. Postojna cave was amazing and so was Predjama Castle. Our guide was very informative. This trip is highly recommended. The price of the tour is a bit high compared to a half day trip but that has nothing to do with Viator as all other tour companies are charging the same money.

Doing what: Predjama Castle and Postojna Cave Tour from Ljubljana

s.cronin

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2015

We had a nice small group, our guide was very informative and helpful. Would definitely recommend this tour plenty of time given to see everything.

Doing what: Predjama Castle and Postojna Cave Tour from Ljubljana

Barbara W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2015

This is a first rate trip. The caves are absolutely amazing. Definitely a must see.

Doing what: Predjama Castle and Postojna Cave Tour from Ljubljana

Ellen H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

This was one of the highlights of our stay in Ljubljana. However, the weather was not cooperating and it rained throughout the day. I think there should have been another guide in english for our group which was rather large. We did enjoy the day.

Doing what: Predjama Castle and Postojna Cave Tour from Ljubljana

Karen S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

We had an excellent tour guide who was extremely knowledgable about the sites we visited.

Doing what: Predjama Castle and Postojna Cave Tour from Ljubljana

zaikang l

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

It was great. We had a really wonderful time. The driver was on time and helpful. We recommend potential visitors to use the service you provided.

Doing what: Postojna Caves and Predjama Castle Tour from Ljubljana

Anonymous

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

We took this tour with my mother and we had the best time ever. Our tour guide, native from Ljubliana, was extremely knowledgeable and kind. She answered all my questions ( I had many!) and as my mother did not speak English, she has been really nice trying to speak slowly to her. Also, she did not feel well and she stayed with her while we where in Predjama Castle. The castle is astonishing, from outside and from insite, and the caves.. what to say, AMAZING! everything is perfectly organised, guides are really nice and the cavern is magnificent, can't describe with words, you have to go.

Doing what: Predjama Castle and Postojna Cave Tour from Ljubljana

Maria Antonia S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

This review was long overdue and I only have nice things to say about this tour. Guide was excellent!! So much knowledge about the places we went to and even while on the road we got bits of infos of the country or just about anything i had asked of him. Will definitely recommend this tour and tour operator to friends who by seeing all my lovely photos now want to go to Slovenia.

Doing what: Predjama Castle and Postojna Cave Tour from Ljubljana

chris

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

An excellent tour. Predjama Castle has a fabulous setting high on the cliff. The Postojna Cave was superb and a must see for anyone in the area. The size of the caverns was incredible and the train ride into the cave a highlight.

Doing what: Predjama Castle and Postojna Cave Tour from Ljubljana

Kelly M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

Two great sights in this half-day trip. Our guide, Nate, was friendly, fun and very knowledgeable. Predjama Castle is beautiful and so unique. The Caves are fantastic. Just be sure to bring along some pants and a long-sleeve shirt or jacket. It gets pretty cold down there...especially on the little train.

Doing what: Predjama Castle and Postojna Cave Tour from Ljubljana

SRIDEVI E

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2015

The tour to the caves and the castle was worry free thanks to our guide Vladimir. We were picked up from our hotel on time and the van was comfortable for all the passengers. The drive to the Postojna cave from the city center was about 45 min. We were told the history of Ljubljana and also of the caves on the way. Once we got there, Vladimir told us exactly what we could expect from the Postojna tour and where and when we stood be meeting. The castle tour was conducted by Vladimir and even though there is not much to see in the castle he kept it interesting with his dry witty sense of humor. The best part of the castle is its view from the outside. We got a short tour of the caves near the castle as well. We had 45 min after each of the tours to wander around the gift shops or get something to eat. It was little over 7 hr trip so the time was appreciated. If you don't want to rent a car and want to see both the cave and the castle, the tour is a good option. It is a 20 min drive from the cave to the castle so walking is a bit too long and taking a taxi back and forth is expensive. This option worked out the best for us and the guide made it interesting.

Doing what: Postojna Caves and Predjama Castle Tour from Ljubljana

cassady495

3 star rating: Worth doing
July 2015

This was different than depicted in description. English tour of cave was too large a group and we couldn't hear what guide was saying. Make sure you get headphones with guide if you go. Caves are pretty incredible to see.

Doing what: Predjama Castle and Postojna Cave Tour from Ljubljana

teresitapedraza

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Do not miss the chance to visit Predjama Castle. Our tour guide was excellent and the trip is worth every penny and minute. The visit to the caves was just as impressive, although I suggest that information be provided regarding the need for warmer clothing once you enter the caves.

Doing what: Predjama Castle and Postojna Cave Tour from Ljubljana

Debra M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

The tour of Postojna caves was a highlight of holiday and is a must, must see as these are the best caves in the world. Small group tour with a very good guide/driver. Highly recommend this tour if in Slovenia. Do not miss.

Doing what: Postojna Caves and Predjama Castle Tour from Ljubljana

sashaaly

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

The tour has been great! We have seen very interesting and beautiful places. The guide Vladimir has been great as well. He has told historic issues with a good sense of humour, which has been quite interesting and fun. Thank you! Highly recommend.

Doing what: Postojna Caves and Predjama Castle Tour from Ljubljana

Ari V

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2014

Postojna Caves and Predjama Castle are very interesting places. Our guide Wladimir is a very nice person and his job was very well done.

Doing what: Postojna Caves and Predjama Castle Tour from Ljubljana

Nicholas Kok Kin W

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2014

It was a one-to-one guide. Lana is very informative throughout the trip on Slovenia and also on the castles. Provided very clear instruction on where to go for the cave guide (as she was not able to join inside the cave tour) and where to meet up later.

Doing what: Postojna Caves and Predjama Castle Tour from Ljubljana

Emma C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

Fascinating places. I've never visited such long spectacular caves before and what a good idea to have an open air train running through them. Take a warm jacket though because the temperature in there is 10 degrees (all year around). I loved Predjama Castle too, made even more interesting by our legendary and entertaining guide, Vladimir.

Doing what: Postojna Caves and Predjama Castle Tour from Ljubljana

sultt_tw

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

The tour guide is very friendly and informative.
He told us a lot of history about the Predjama Castle.
And Postojna Caves just amazing.

Doing what: Postojna Caves and Predjama Castle Tour from Ljubljana

Martin

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

amazing castle and views

Doing what: Postojna Caves and Predjama Castle Tour from Ljubljana

Josh P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

Our guided tour of Postojna Caves and Predjama Castle was fantastic. Our guide Vladimyr promptly picked us up from our hotel in Ljubljana and immediately made us feel welcome in Slovenia by sharing a bit about himself and why he chooses to lead these tours. He ensured we got the most of our tour and was incredibly knowledgeable about the Caves, Castle, and Slovenia in general. We had a great time and highly recommend visiting this tour for ease, learning, and fun.

Doing what: Postojna Caves and Predjama Castle Tour from Ljubljana

Barbara N

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

Fantastic trip and Lattimer (hope the spellings correct) was so informative. Incredible vac eps and castle. A must see.

Doing what: Postojna Caves and Predjama Castle Tour from Ljubljana

Zena R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

The caves are spectacular and the castle is very interesting. Vladimir was a very good guide. He gave enough interesting information without bombarding you with it.

Doing what: Postojna Caves and Predjama Castle Tour from Ljubljana

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message