Ravello is a tiny village, with only about 2,500 permanent residents, but it has a history and cultural life that belie its size. The Romans founded the city in the 6th century, escaping the barbarians and no doubt appreciating the lovely views ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 23 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

We asked for a less expensive room in our Sorrento hotel so we could splurge on this private tour. We are glad we did. After reading the reviews,and knowing we would feel sick on a bus on those winding roads, we decided to request Rosario to drive us along the Amalfi coast.. We elected not to have a tour guide as we were toured out by then and relished the quiet and slower pace. Rosario was prompt picking us up at our hotel, kind, a gentleman, a very safe driver and very personable and comfortable to be with. He was a perfect balance between allowing us our space and providing us with interesting information as we drove along. Rosario knew to stop at key points for photo taking and, as he did with those before us, suggested a restaurant between Ravello and Positano that had very flavorful food. We enjoyed our meal overlooking the coast and under 100year old lemon trees. Of the 3 towns we visited, Amalfi, Positano and Ravello, we enjoyed Ravello the most. It was the least touristy of the towns. Though we appreciated what Italy has to offer, i.e. ceramics, oils, cheeses, textiles, shoes!, Ravello was more Music centered. When we return , we will be sure to stay in Ravello for a few days. On our ride back we played Italian music Return to Sorrento and Pavarotti as Rosario drove us back to our hotel, for the full experience ! We would highly recommend this tour and Rosario as your driver. Be sure to wear good walking shoes! FYI, we learned while touring Pompeii that the best of Pompeii is in the archeological museum in Naples!

Doing what: Amalfi Coast Private Day Tour from Sorrento

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Fabulous! This is exactly the tour as described and what was expected. Laura was a wonderful guide and Matteo was a great driver given the winding, narrow and steep roads. Each town was unique and beautiful - we enjoyed Positano, Amalfi, Lunch in Pontone, and Ravello - all were breathtaking. We took the optional boat ride in Amalfi and it was so worth it. Laura was fantastic at pointing out the sights of interest and was a wealth of knowledge. I would highly recommend this tour.

Doing what: Small-group tour of Amalfi Coast Tour from Sorrento Including Lunch

BATTERSBY666
United Kingdom

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

What a wonderful way for us both to see the wonderful views of the Amalfi coast and to experience the narrow, winding coast road in comfort and safety. We were picked up from our hotel and the day was just so relaxing. We stopped in Positano and Amalfi where we had lunch at Stella Maris which was wonderful and had time to wander around both of these lovely little towns. We decided not to bother with Ravello as were going to be staying there for two nights after our stay in Sorrento.
We both preferred Amalfi which had some wonderful shops and was very photogenic.
Anthonio, our driver, did some explaining but his English was just so-so and he needed to concentrate on the roads as the Italian drivers can be a bit crazy! How buses managed to get past each other on the bends and little narrow road is a miracle that is great to watch.
This is a beautiful way of seeing the coast rather than being squeezed in to a shared minibus or coach as it is more relaxed and open and you are able to amend the itinerary to suit yourself.

Doing what: Amalfi Coast Private Day Tour from Sorrento

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

Best trip ever! We were told our driver would have minimal English skills but our driver Savio's English was excellent. He was very professional and shared history of the region, pointed out specific scenic sites, stopped at scenic places to take pictures. Was kind enough to take pictures of us. Offered interesting details--such as the hotel where some celebrities were married. Liked our own time in Amalfi, Ravello, and Positano. But Savio pointed us in the right direction and gave us plenty of time. Definitely would recommend this tour. Worth every cent!

Doing what: Amalfi Coast Private Day Tour from Sorrento

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

What a wonderful day. We were picked up at our accommodation by Johno our driver. He took us down the Amalfi coastline and stopped for photos and explained the region to us and also recommended a beautiful restaurant situated on the hillside overlooking Positano. He had excellent English skills, was polite and attentive. We highly recommend his services to anyone who wishes to take this excellent tour down the coast from Sorrento to see Amalfil, Positano and Ravello. An excellent day. Thanks Johno!

Doing what: Amalfi Coast Private Day Tour from Sorrento

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

Our tour along the Amalfi Coast with Rosario was wonderful. The forecast was predicted to be 80 percent chance of rain with a soaking rain for most of the day with high winds reaching 40 miles an hour. We were so surprised when we reached Positano and Ravello and the sun actually came out. Although we had overcast nothing could have ruined the views that we had along the coast and in each area that we visited. Rosario was the perfect gentleman and a joy to be with. He took us to a beautiful restaurant in Postiano for lunch with window seats allowing us to take in the beautiful views.

Viator was great to work with and we will definitely arrange future tours through the Viator website.

We look forward to visiting Sorrento and the Amalfi Coast again and hope that we are lucky enough to have Rosario as our driver.

Thank you for this wonderful experience of a lifetime.

Doing what: Amalfi Coast Private Day Tour from Sorrento

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2014

This was a great way to spend a day and see the Amalfi coast. We drove around all of the cliffs and visited the great cities of Amalfi, Positano, and Ravello. If you have a couple of people it's definitely worth splitting the cost. After you do this tour, you'll wonder how people take busses on those narrow roads!

Doing what: Amalfi Coast Private Day Tour from Sorrento

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

Absolutely recommend, this is a fun tour as well as beautiful, plenty of photo opportunities, enough time in Ravello, Positano and Amalfi to walk around and explore and the restaurant that was chosen by our guide was excellent. Thoroughly enjoyable and unforgettable.

Doing what: Amalfi Coast Private Day Tour from Sorrento

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2014

This was a fantastic tour exploring the Amalfi Coast in a beautiful air conditioned Mercedes car.Having your own car and driver is the only way to explore this area.
Rosario our very good driver, gave us lots of information and answered our questions as we travelled along the coast.He stopped along the coast to allow us to take photographs of the beautiful views and even took photographs of my friend and I.
We visited Amalfi,Ravello and Positano and time was given to explore these places.
We had lunch on Rosarios recommendation at a beautiful spot high above Positano with amazing views,seated at a window table.The food was excellent and very reasonabley priced.
A truly memorable day and well worth every penny.

Doing what: Amalfi Coast Private Day Tour from Sorrento

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2014

Fantastic tour, the driver was helpful and gave us enough time to walk around Ravello, Amalfi and Positano and he stopped in the scenic drive for pictures. Highly recommended, you don´t want to drive on your own in those narrow winding streets. Thanks Viator !

Doing what: Amalfi Coast Private Day Tour from Sorrento

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

This was amazing. We were to be met in Sorrento but our ship had to anchor in Naples. Worried we called our local contact and found out they already knew about the change and were prepared to pick us up in Naples. Our driver was friendly, outgoing and a wealth of information about landmarks and history of the Amalfi Coast area. In addition we were able to customize our tour on the fly. We wanted to spend some time in Positano, only a little time in Amalfi (had been there previously) and a lot of time in Ravello. Our driver suggested how much time we should spend each place according to what we wanted to do and got us back to the ship with some time to spare. Altogether a wonderful excursion.

Doing what: Amalfi Coast Private Day Tour from Sorrento

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2013

This was a fabulous tour. Our driver, Rosario, arrived 30 minutes early at our hotel and we started our tour from Naples. We were so glad that we had decided NOT to drive ourselves or take a bus tour! This way everyone was able to enjoy the wonderful views and not have to worry about reading a map or finding a parking place! The towns of Sorrento, Positano, Amalfi and Ravello were beautiful and we enjoyed quick excursions to shop and admire the beauty of each location. Rosario recommended a small restaurant high up the mountainside in Positano that was perfect and he offered information all along the way. We really enjoyed our day!

Doing what: Amalfi Coast Private Day Tour from Sorrento

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2013

Our private day tour of the Amalfi Coast from Sorrento was fabulous in every way. We were picked up at our hotel by our driver Giuseppe and our lovely tour guide, Sofia, who spoke beautiful English. Our van was very comfortable, with plenty of room for my two sisters and me. Sofia was extremely knowledgeable and very friendly and we had a great time with her. We stopped along the road to take pictures of the fabulous views, bought garlic at a roadside cart, and visited Positano, Ravello and Amalfi. Sofia took us on a guided tour of each of these areas, and arranged for us to have lunch at a lovely restaurant overlooking the sea, where we had the most wonderful food, wine, and of course, olive oil and bread. We actually took 4 Viator tours during our visit to Italy, and I would highly recommend Viator, and especially this particular tour, which was beyond our expectations.

Doing what: Amalfi Coast Private Day Tour from Sorrento

Sonja N
South Africa

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2013

Rosario was amazing! He gave us a bit of info as he drove us along the coast. He took photos of us at all the lookout points with beautiful views. We visited Sorrento, Amalfi, Ravello and on his recommendation had lunch at the most amazing spot in
Positano. I highly recommend this tour!

Doing what: Amalfi Coast Private Day Tour from Sorrento

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2012

Our driver, Antonio, was great. We have been here before and wanted to visit certain areas and eat lunch in Ravello. We were on a cruise and had to be picked up in Naples instead of Sorrento, dues to high seas. This was not a problem. We would definitely use them again.

Doing what: Amalfi Coast Private Day Tour from Sorrento

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2011

Our guide Andrea was excellent in all respects - he was informative and had a wonderful sense of humour which kept us laughing and enjoying our day tour of the Amalfi Coast. Our driver, Gino, was pleasant and we felt safe being in the car with him driving - despite some narrow and always curving streets built on the mountains. We stopped to first do a small tour of the town of Sorrento where Andrea pointed out to us historical places and other important places to know such as where to shop!! We stopped at various places along the coast - in Amalfi, in Positano and even in Ravello - for picture taking, and viewing the beauty of this incredible coastline. We even bought the hottest of chili peppers as well as packages of Italian food garnishes along the way. Andrea, I hope you will read this - Frank and I want you to know that we will never forget the incredible day we had with you and Gino - thank you so much for making our day a truly memorable experience.
Frank and Anna Baggetta

Doing what: Amalfi Coast Private Day Tour from Sorrento

Mark D
Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2011

Our driver Rossario picked us up in a Mercedes visiting Positano, Amalfi and Ravello. We were able to shop at leisure in each of these towns, Rossario took us to a great restaurant high above Positano - seated by the window the view of the township below was spectacular! A memorable day.

Doing what: Amalfi Coast Private Day Tour from Sorrento

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2015

Excellent small group tour. Amalfi, Positano and Ravello were excellent. Lunch was very disappointing.

Doing what: Small-group tour of Amalfi Coast Tour from Sorrento Including Lunch

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2013

The tour of the Amalfi coast was very good. We travelled all the way along the coastline to Ravello. We had a wonderful driver. We stopped in Ravello, Amalfi and Positano. A lovely day out.

Doing what: Amalfi Coast Private Day Tour from Sorrento

4 star rating: Recommended
November 2010

We took the Amalfi drive, stopping at Positano, Amalfi and Ravello Gardens. Our driver gave us the options of how long we wanted to stop in each place, whilst guiding us as to how long the journey was between destinations. His knowledge of the coastline was excellent, and he pointed out many features we would normally have been unaware of. A good day was had by all.

Doing what: Amalfi Coast Private Day Tour from Sorrento

3 star rating: Worth doing
August 2014

This tour was a little disjointed, but it wasn't the fault of the tour guide. Our ship had to change ports and the private tour got off to a late start. The traffic was terrible. The lesson is, don't tour the Amalfi Coast on a weekend in August. Despite the problems, the scenery is spectacular. The restaurant we went for lunch was outstanding. We visited Amalfi, Ravello, and Positano. We would have liked to have had more time in each, but the traffic getting from lone place to another took too much of our touring time.

Doing what: Amalfi Coast Private Day Tour from Sorrento

3 star rating: Worth doing
June 2013

Beautiful! This was our second trip to the Amalfi Coast and we were hoping to explore the villages (Positano, Amalfi, Ravello) in a little more depth. Not on this tour. Our tour guide seemed to be on a very strict time table. Maybe next time.

Doing what: Amalfi Coast Private Day Tour from Sorrento

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
July 2011

The tour guide was not as informative as she could have been, and also tended to speak in a loud narrative style when it would have been better for her to speak in a normal, conversational tone since there were only 2 of us.
Also, the tour should have been structured to focus more on the small town of Ravello. The city of Amalfi was not very picturesque and was over-crowded with tourists, yet the guide urged/ reccomended a 2 hour delay in Amalfi, and only 30 minutes in Ravello. In hindsight, the average American tourist would likely prefer to spend more time in Ravello which was a quaint, peaceful and appealing small town, and less time in the dirty tourist trap of Amalfi.
Overall, the tour was ok, however could have been structured better.

Doing what: Amalfi Coast Private Day Tour from Sorrento

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message