Ravello is a tiny village, with only about 2,500 permanent residents, but it has a history and cultural life that belie its size. The Romans founded the city in the 6th century, escaping the barbarians and no doubt appreciating the lovely views ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 13 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2014

This was a fantastic tour exploring the Amalfi Coast in a beautiful air conditioned Mercedes car.Having your own car and driver is the only way to explore this area.
Rosario our very good driver, gave us lots of information and answered our questions as we travelled along the coast.He stopped along the coast to allow us to take photographs of the beautiful views and even took photographs of my friend and I.
We visited Amalfi,Ravello and Positano and time was given to explore these places.
We had lunch on Rosarios recommendation at a beautiful spot high above Positano with amazing views,seated at a window table.The food was excellent and very reasonabley priced.
A truly memorable day and well worth every penny.

Doing what: Amalfi Coast Private Day Tour from Sorrento

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2014

Fantastic tour, the driver was helpful and gave us enough time to walk around Ravello, Amalfi and Positano and he stopped in the scenic drive for pictures. Highly recommended, you don´t want to drive on your own in those narrow winding streets. Thanks Viator !

Doing what: Amalfi Coast Private Day Tour from Sorrento

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

This was amazing. We were to be met in Sorrento but our ship had to anchor in Naples. Worried we called our local contact and found out they already knew about the change and were prepared to pick us up in Naples. Our driver was friendly, outgoing and a wealth of information about landmarks and history of the Amalfi Coast area. In addition we were able to customize our tour on the fly. We wanted to spend some time in Positano, only a little time in Amalfi (had been there previously) and a lot of time in Ravello. Our driver suggested how much time we should spend each place according to what we wanted to do and got us back to the ship with some time to spare. Altogether a wonderful excursion.

Doing what: Amalfi Coast Private Day Tour from Sorrento

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2013

This was a fabulous tour. Our driver, Rosario, arrived 30 minutes early at our hotel and we started our tour from Naples. We were so glad that we had decided NOT to drive ourselves or take a bus tour! This way everyone was able to enjoy the wonderful views and not have to worry about reading a map or finding a parking place! The towns of Sorrento, Positano, Amalfi and Ravello were beautiful and we enjoyed quick excursions to shop and admire the beauty of each location. Rosario recommended a small restaurant high up the mountainside in Positano that was perfect and he offered information all along the way. We really enjoyed our day!

Doing what: Amalfi Coast Private Day Tour from Sorrento

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2013

Our private day tour of the Amalfi Coast from Sorrento was fabulous in every way. We were picked up at our hotel by our driver Giuseppe and our lovely tour guide, Sofia, who spoke beautiful English. Our van was very comfortable, with plenty of room for my two sisters and me. Sofia was extremely knowledgeable and very friendly and we had a great time with her. We stopped along the road to take pictures of the fabulous views, bought garlic at a roadside cart, and visited Positano, Ravello and Amalfi. Sofia took us on a guided tour of each of these areas, and arranged for us to have lunch at a lovely restaurant overlooking the sea, where we had the most wonderful food, wine, and of course, olive oil and bread. We actually took 4 Viator tours during our visit to Italy, and I would highly recommend Viator, and especially this particular tour, which was beyond our expectations.

Doing what: Amalfi Coast Private Day Tour from Sorrento

Sonja N
South Africa

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2013

Rosario was amazing! He gave us a bit of info as he drove us along the coast. He took photos of us at all the lookout points with beautiful views. We visited Sorrento, Amalfi, Ravello and on his recommendation had lunch at the most amazing spot in
Positano. I highly recommend this tour!

Doing what: Amalfi Coast Private Day Tour from Sorrento

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2012

Our driver, Antonio, was great. We have been here before and wanted to visit certain areas and eat lunch in Ravello. We were on a cruise and had to be picked up in Naples instead of Sorrento, dues to high seas. This was not a problem. We would definitely use them again.

Doing what: Amalfi Coast Private Day Tour from Sorrento

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2011

Our guide Andrea was excellent in all respects - he was informative and had a wonderful sense of humour which kept us laughing and enjoying our day tour of the Amalfi Coast. Our driver, Gino, was pleasant and we felt safe being in the car with him driving - despite some narrow and always curving streets built on the mountains. We stopped to first do a small tour of the town of Sorrento where Andrea pointed out to us historical places and other important places to know such as where to shop!! We stopped at various places along the coast - in Amalfi, in Positano and even in Ravello - for picture taking, and viewing the beauty of this incredible coastline. We even bought the hottest of chili peppers as well as packages of Italian food garnishes along the way. Andrea, I hope you will read this - Frank and I want you to know that we will never forget the incredible day we had with you and Gino - thank you so much for making our day a truly memorable experience.
Frank and Anna Baggetta

Doing what: Amalfi Coast Private Day Tour from Sorrento

Mark D
Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2011

Our driver Rossario picked us up in a Mercedes visiting Positano, Amalfi and Ravello. We were able to shop at leisure in each of these towns, Rossario took us to a great restaurant high above Positano - seated by the window the view of the township below was spectacular! A memorable day.

Doing what: Amalfi Coast Private Day Tour from Sorrento

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2013

The tour of the Amalfi coast was very good. We travelled all the way along the coastline to Ravello. We had a wonderful driver. We stopped in Ravello, Amalfi and Positano. A lovely day out.

Doing what: Amalfi Coast Private Day Tour from Sorrento

4 star rating: Recommended
November 2010

We took the Amalfi drive, stopping at Positano, Amalfi and Ravello Gardens. Our driver gave us the options of how long we wanted to stop in each place, whilst guiding us as to how long the journey was between destinations. His knowledge of the coastline was excellent, and he pointed out many features we would normally have been unaware of. A good day was had by all.

Doing what: Amalfi Coast Private Day Tour from Sorrento

3 star rating: Worth doing
June 2013

Beautiful! This was our second trip to the Amalfi Coast and we were hoping to explore the villages (Positano, Amalfi, Ravello) in a little more depth. Not on this tour. Our tour guide seemed to be on a very strict time table. Maybe next time.

Doing what: Amalfi Coast Private Day Tour from Sorrento

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
July 2011

The tour guide was not as informative as she could have been, and also tended to speak in a loud narrative style when it would have been better for her to speak in a normal, conversational tone since there were only 2 of us.
Also, the tour should have been structured to focus more on the small town of Ravello. The city of Amalfi was not very picturesque and was over-crowded with tourists, yet the guide urged/ reccomended a 2 hour delay in Amalfi, and only 30 minutes in Ravello. In hindsight, the average American tourist would likely prefer to spend more time in Ravello which was a quaint, peaceful and appealing small town, and less time in the dirty tourist trap of Amalfi.
Overall, the tour was ok, however could have been structured better.

Doing what: Amalfi Coast Private Day Tour from Sorrento

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message