• USD ($)
  • English
Sorrento’s location between the busy (and huge) city of Naples and the tranquil Amalfi Coast makes it a popular base from which to explore both. And although the port of Sorrento isn’t nearly as large as that of Naples, Sorrento is still a popular ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 16 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2013

I was thrilled with the places the Hop On- Hop Off Tour in Sorrento took me! We went outside of Sorrento into its charming, neighboring town, with views of the gulf of Naples. Just gorgeous! I recommend this tour to those who are in Sorrento and want to see all the beauty it has to offer.

Doing what: Sorrento Shore Excursion: Sorrento City Hop-on Hop-off Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2013

Absolutley amazing place! I had no idea how big the city of pompei is. Really great guide who made the tour fun and interesting. We were picked up from our Hotel and delivered back there in Sorrento by a lovely lady and lady bus driver. I wish i could recall the guides name she was great explaining a lot of history on the way there and back.Wish I was back there!!

Doing what: Half-Day Pompeii Sightseeing Trip from Sorrento

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2012

Our driver, Gregory, met our ship at
our Sorrento port. From the moment we
met him it was clear it was going to be
a great day! The day began and ended in
Sorrento. We were able to make choices
along the way based on how much time we
wanted to spend in various locations.
He suggested we try his favorite location for
lunch which turned out to be a Michelin 2012
restaurant, and it did not disappoint! If you
want to see Sorrento and the Amalfi coast.
This is the best way to do so! Our group
recommends Gregory and Viator!

Doing what: Sorrento Shore Excursion: Private Day Trip to Positano, Amalfi and Ravello

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2012

Very informative and knowledgeable guide. Never would have seen or understood what I was seeing without the guide. Very nice touch to pick us up at the hotel in Sorrento and drop us off.

Doing what: Half-Day Pompeii Sightseeing Trip from Sorrento

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2012

Suggest this for everyone visiting Sorrento for the first time. Great overview.

Doing what: Sorrento Shore Excursion: Sorrento City Hop-on Hop-off Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2010

Sorrento most beautiful city in italy.

Doing what: Sorrento City Hop-on Hop-off Tour

4 star rating: Recommended
November 2013

Great experience - very glad that we were picked up from our hotel, as it was a long drive from Sorrento to Pompeii! Once we were there, our guide Andre was fantastic - very energetic and passionate, and could answer every question with ease. Great tour, worth doing.

Doing what: Half-Day Pompeii Sightseeing Trip from Sorrento

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2013

We visited Pompei on a day tour from Sorrento (with Viator). We were lucky enough to have a fabulous guide who spoke quite good English and was very informative. Lots of the buildings have not been touched and are in the same condition as they were thousands of years ago when Vesuvius erupted in 79 AD. Visit the oldest brothel in the world (they say) - still in its original state. There are even signs along the road imbedded into the rock to show the directions for the locals. This is a long tour as it goes for a few hours and it does get extremely hot - so remember your hat, sunscreen and water. Also ensure that you wear good walking shoes as the roads can be quite uneven in places as a lot of them are still original. Also, the toilet facilities are at the start of your tour and there are no restrooms once you start. Well worth a visit as the history is amazing!!

Doing what: Half-Day Pompeii Sightseeing Trip from Sorrento

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2013

I did not realize at the time I booked our trip precisely how far from Sorrento our hotel in Castelamarre was. Your pick up driver seemed to have difficulty finding his way out of the town to the meeting point outside Pompei, but threaded his way expertly through the streets until he reached the town. I was impressed by anyone who can deal with that level of traffic in those small streets. The streets of Castellammare apparently can confuse most GPS systems.

The Tour of Pompeii was well-coordinated and the tour guide was impressive both in her command of the information and her ability to organize and direct our steps through the maze of streets in that ancient town. We found the tour to be completely fascinating and enjoyed every minute. My wife and I both feel that we received full value for our ticket and would be delighted to recommend it to anyone else. The Pompeii tour was definitely one of the highlights of our trip.

Doing what: Half-Day Pompeii Sightseeing Trip from Sorrento

3 star rating: Worth doing
November 2013

Pompeii was great to see but thought that we would see much more on this tour. I would recommend looking at doing a more extensive tour if you have interest in this history especially since it takes a while to get to Pompeii from Sorrento.

Doing what: Half-Day Pompeii Sightseeing Trip from Sorrento

3 star rating: Worth doing
June 2013

wonderful tour of Pompeii and great guide...would highly recommend...We had one complaint..we were picked up at our hotel in Sorrento..driver was rude/on the phone most of the time...Tour said a driver/guide and we expected a guide from Sorrento to Pompeii...driver didn't say a word to us..

Doing what: Half-Day Pompeii Sightseeing Trip from Sorrento

3 star rating: Worth doing
September 2012

The trip provided a good introduction to Sorrento - but with a 2 hour wait between buses the hop-on, hop-off aspect was not practical. But still good value for money.
Neil and Sheila Badger

Doing what: Sorrento Shore Excursion: Sorrento City Hop-on Hop-off Tour

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
September 2012

I have to say that the actual Pompeii trip was good but not great. The woman who was speaking did a nice job of explaining things in good English but I felt a tad disappointed that in the 2 hour tour we didn't actually get to see a whole lot of the ruins. Maybe it was because the group was so big? When we left I felt like we had been a little cheated...
But, the most aggravating part to the trip was the ride there. We pay extra so we are picked up from our hotel. We were coming in from Sorrento.We waited for close to 45 minutes for our driver to arrive late! His excuse was that the group of tourists he picked up before us was running late.. Honestly, in my mind that wasn't my problem. So, the trip itself ended later and we arrived back to our hotel much later in the day than we had expected leaving not a ton of time to swim or go into town prior to dinner for shopping:( Big Disappointment since that had been our plan...

Doing what: Half-Day Pompeii Sightseeing Trip from Sorrento

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
May 2012

First of all, Viator has the wrong information about this tour. It's not the tour of the city, but of the Sorrento Peninsula. Also, the bus does not depart from Piazza Laura, but a guide picks you up from the front of the train station and the group walks to the bus. And finally, it doesn't depart every 60 minutes as again stated by Viator, but every two hours.

The tour itself was boring, although the views from the top of the bus were spectacular. I recommend skipping it.

Doing what: Sorrento City Hop-on Hop-off Tour

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
September 2013

I believe that your tour description is misleading and incorrect. These misrepresentations resulted in ruining our experience to Pompeii and, had the brochure been accurate, we would have never booked this trip. Please note that our guide, Andreas, did as well as he could under the circumstances and responded to all questions in a professional manner.

My specific complaints about the tour:
1.The tour specifically states “hotel pick up and drop off”. That is incorrect. We were picked up at the hotel, but we were dropped off in the middle of Sorrento. This is because of the way that you structured the return trip. We were picked up in a van that seated 13 but we returned in a larger bus that seated 40. In essence, we filled in the seats on the bus (servicing a different, but related tour) so we were forced to sit through a tour that we didn’t ask for.
2.The tour in Pompeii itself was a group of over 40 and the tour was held in three different languages. Andreas was quite responsive to all, but he would become sidetracked by questions in Spanish which led to follow-up questions in Spanish which became a side conversation in Spanish. The large number diminished my enjoyment.
3.The tour did not go to Vetti’s house (as advertised) and did not go to the amphitheater even though, when asked, Andreas told me that we would (rather, we went to the more accessible small theater area). I get that areas may be closed off and that there are conditions at the site that make certain ruins inaccessible. But the reason why we did not go to these other areas seemed more to be the unwieldiness of the group, not the sites themselves.
4.This sounds like a repeated complaint, but we had to wait up to an hour until the remainder of the group had finished eating before we could be brought back to Sorrento. This was never told to us up front and, had it been, I would not have booked this tour.

Doing what: Half-Day Pompeii Sightseeing Trip from Sorrento

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message