Sorrento’s location between the busy (and huge) city of Naples and the tranquil Amalfi Coast makes it a popular base from which to explore both. And although the port of Sorrento isn’t nearly as large as that of Naples, Sorrento is still a popular ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 25 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

This was an excellent tour of Pompeii - the tour itself was about 2 hours walking around Pompeii - our guide was very informative and very personable - he made the tour fun! The other 2 hours were spent on a bus riding to and from Pompeii .,but if you just want to ensure you see Pompeii while in this area of Italy - I do recomend this. Viatour picked us up when they said they would from our cruise ship and got us back in plenty of time to still spend time in Sorrento.

Doing what: Half-Day Pompeii Sightseeing Trip from Sorrento

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

Arranged tour as cruise ship was supposed to anchor in Sorrento but couldn't due to windy conditions for tender. Docked in Naples instead. Called agent on booking form who sorted everything out and re arranged collection. Tour guide excellent knowledge and brought humour to the excursion. Fully recommend this company on our experience

Doing what: Half-Day Pompeii Sightseeing Trip from Sorrento

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

Hotel pick up and drop off in Sorrento was seamless and a real must as it's a long distance. The tour guide was engaging, well informed, enthusiastic and fun spirited. He kept the group's interest with pertinent facts and history. He was patient with the group and kept us together as it was quite crowded. It would have been difficult to glean the information on our own. A half-day tour was perfect with an informed guide.

Doing what: Half-Day Pompeii Sightseeing Trip from Sorrento

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

The trip was very informative and it was interesting to see how people lived back then. Would definitely recommend this tour. One of the highlights while in sorrento or nearby area.

Doing what: Half-Day Pompeii Sightseeing Trip from Sorrento

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

We thoroughly enjoyed our Viator trip. The driver was on time, picked us up in a nice, clean van and drove us from Sorrento to Pompeii. We then had a guided tour of Pompeii.
Afterwards, our guide had our driver ready to return us to Sorrento.

Thank you.

Doing what: Half-Day Pompeii Sightseeing Trip from Sorrento

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2014

Absolutely fantastic experience from start to finish. Viator was the only excursion operator that picked up from our particular hotel in Sorrento (as difficult to access) and our driver was pleasant and made it an enjoyable car drive to Pompeii. Once there, we met with a group for the tour and was introduced to our guide Sabina who was first class. She was incredibly knowledgeable about the history and the area, and was able to answer any questions. She also gave us amazing detail for everything, despite the fact she had to explain everything in English and then in Spanish to account for others in our group. Definitely the highlight to our holiday, despite various excursions through our tour operator, nothing compared to the Viator trip. Although I first believed Viator to not be as competatively priced as some others, I now only wish we had booked more from Viator, but we know for the future that you get what you pay for. Thank you!

Doing what: Half-Day Pompeii Sightseeing Trip from Sorrento

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2013

I was thrilled with the places the Hop On- Hop Off Tour in Sorrento took me! We went outside of Sorrento into its charming, neighboring town, with views of the gulf of Naples. Just gorgeous! I recommend this tour to those who are in Sorrento and want to see all the beauty it has to offer.

Doing what: Sorrento Shore Excursion: Sorrento City Hop-on Hop-off Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2013

Absolutley amazing place! I had no idea how big the city of pompei is. Really great guide who made the tour fun and interesting. We were picked up from our Hotel and delivered back there in Sorrento by a lovely lady and lady bus driver. I wish i could recall the guides name she was great explaining a lot of history on the way there and back.Wish I was back there!!

Doing what: Half-Day Pompeii Sightseeing Trip from Sorrento

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2012

Our driver, Gregory, met our ship at
our Sorrento port. From the moment we
met him it was clear it was going to be
a great day! The day began and ended in
Sorrento. We were able to make choices
along the way based on how much time we
wanted to spend in various locations.
He suggested we try his favorite location for
lunch which turned out to be a Michelin 2012
restaurant, and it did not disappoint! If you
want to see Sorrento and the Amalfi coast.
This is the best way to do so! Our group
recommends Gregory and Viator!

Doing what: Sorrento Shore Excursion: Private Day Trip to Positano, Amalfi and Ravello

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2012

Very informative and knowledgeable guide. Never would have seen or understood what I was seeing without the guide. Very nice touch to pick us up at the hotel in Sorrento and drop us off.

Doing what: Half-Day Pompeii Sightseeing Trip from Sorrento

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2012

Suggest this for everyone visiting Sorrento for the first time. Great overview.

Doing what: Sorrento Shore Excursion: Sorrento City Hop-on Hop-off Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2010

Sorrento most beautiful city in italy.

Doing what: Sorrento City Hop-on Hop-off Tour

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2014

A great tour - the guide was super and very animated. We were picked up from Sorrento with another couple and taken to Pompeii where we joined a large (about 25) group. The tour was excellent but I would have liked a map and some time to explore ourselves. As we joined such a big group I think the trip worked put quite expensive - for the cost I would have expected a smaller group to tour - with such a big group there were obviously a lot of questions the Americans had that we perhaps didn't need to share and could have used the time seeing more of the site but otherwise fascinating.

Doing what: Half-Day Pompeii Sightseeing Trip from Sorrento

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2014

This was a lovely tour with a very informative guide. The one drawback for us was the Hotel pickup instruction printed on our tickets neglected to say only within the Sorrento boundary, (we were 1 hotel out of this area). On ringing to confirm time of pickup was advised that they could not pick up at our hotel as advertised. We paid an extra €10 to be collected. We made our own way back from Sorrento via local bus. The reason we booked with Viator was the convenience of collection from the hotel. Had we known we could have booked with our travel company without any problems. Saying that this was a very good tour. The journey by mini bus was just right. Shame about the above.

Doing what: Half-Day Pompeii Sightseeing Trip from Sorrento

JENNIFER K
Australia

4 star rating: Recommended
May 2014

Very good tour pick up and drop off from hotel in sorrento.4 hours is enough with a knowlegable guide to show you around a great place.

Doing what: Half-Day Pompeii Sightseeing Trip from Sorrento

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message