Sorrento’s location between the busy (and huge) city of Naples and the tranquil Amalfi Coast makes it a popular base from which to explore both. And although the port of Sorrento isn’t nearly as large as that of Naples, Sorrento is still a popular ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 22 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Wonderful tour. Great ride there, being picked up at the dock in Sorrento after riding the ferry from Isle of Capri. The driver was prompt, and had a sign with our name on it. The tour guide was very entertaining and kept us moving. Lots of walking on uneven ground, so wear comfortable shoes. Saw lots of cool stuff!

Doing what: Half-Day Pompeii Sightseeing Trip from Sorrento

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

This was an excellent tour of Pompeii - the tour itself was about 2 hours walking around Pompeii - our guide was very informative and very personable - he made the tour fun! The other 2 hours were spent on a bus riding to and from Pompeii .,but if you just want to ensure you see Pompeii while in this area of Italy - I do recomend this. Viatour picked us up when they said they would from our cruise ship and got us back in plenty of time to still spend time in Sorrento.

Doing what: Half-Day Pompeii Sightseeing Trip from Sorrento

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

Arranged tour as cruise ship was supposed to anchor in Sorrento but couldn't due to windy conditions for tender. Docked in Naples instead. Called agent on booking form who sorted everything out and re arranged collection. Tour guide excellent knowledge and brought humour to the excursion. Fully recommend this company on our experience

Doing what: Half-Day Pompeii Sightseeing Trip from Sorrento

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

Hotel pick up and drop off in Sorrento was seamless and a real must as it's a long distance. The tour guide was engaging, well informed, enthusiastic and fun spirited. He kept the group's interest with pertinent facts and history. He was patient with the group and kept us together as it was quite crowded. It would have been difficult to glean the information on our own. A half-day tour was perfect with an informed guide.

Doing what: Half-Day Pompeii Sightseeing Trip from Sorrento

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

The trip was very informative and it was interesting to see how people lived back then. Would definitely recommend this tour. One of the highlights while in sorrento or nearby area.

Doing what: Half-Day Pompeii Sightseeing Trip from Sorrento

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

We thoroughly enjoyed our Viator trip. The driver was on time, picked us up in a nice, clean van and drove us from Sorrento to Pompeii. We then had a guided tour of Pompeii.
Afterwards, our guide had our driver ready to return us to Sorrento.

Thank you.

Doing what: Half-Day Pompeii Sightseeing Trip from Sorrento

Jennie Reynolds
United Kingdom

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2014

Absolutely fantastic experience from start to finish. Viator was the only excursion operator that picked up from our particular hotel in Sorrento (as difficult to access) and our driver was pleasant and made it an enjoyable car drive to Pompeii. Once there, we met with a group for the tour and was introduced to our guide Sabina who was first class. She was incredibly knowledgeable about the history and the area, and was able to answer any questions. She also gave us amazing detail for everything, despite the fact she had to explain everything in English and then in Spanish to account for others in our group. Definitely the highlight to our holiday, despite various excursions through our tour operator, nothing compared to the Viator trip. Although I first believed Viator to not be as competatively priced as some others, I now only wish we had booked more from Viator, but we know for the future that you get what you pay for. Thank you!

Doing what: Half-Day Pompeii Sightseeing Trip from Sorrento

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2013

Absolutley amazing place! I had no idea how big the city of pompei is. Really great guide who made the tour fun and interesting. We were picked up from our Hotel and delivered back there in Sorrento by a lovely lady and lady bus driver. I wish i could recall the guides name she was great explaining a lot of history on the way there and back.Wish I was back there!!

Doing what: Half-Day Pompeii Sightseeing Trip from Sorrento

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2012

Very informative and knowledgeable guide. Never would have seen or understood what I was seeing without the guide. Very nice touch to pick us up at the hotel in Sorrento and drop us off.

Doing what: Half-Day Pompeii Sightseeing Trip from Sorrento

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2014

A great tour - the guide was super and very animated. We were picked up from Sorrento with another couple and taken to Pompeii where we joined a large (about 25) group. The tour was excellent but I would have liked a map and some time to explore ourselves. As we joined such a big group I think the trip worked put quite expensive - for the cost I would have expected a smaller group to tour - with such a big group there were obviously a lot of questions the Americans had that we perhaps didn't need to share and could have used the time seeing more of the site but otherwise fascinating.

Doing what: Half-Day Pompeii Sightseeing Trip from Sorrento

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2014

This was a lovely tour with a very informative guide. The one drawback for us was the Hotel pickup instruction printed on our tickets neglected to say only within the Sorrento boundary, (we were 1 hotel out of this area). On ringing to confirm time of pickup was advised that they could not pick up at our hotel as advertised. We paid an extra €10 to be collected. We made our own way back from Sorrento via local bus. The reason we booked with Viator was the convenience of collection from the hotel. Had we known we could have booked with our travel company without any problems. Saying that this was a very good tour. The journey by mini bus was just right. Shame about the above.

Doing what: Half-Day Pompeii Sightseeing Trip from Sorrento

JENNIFER K
Australia

4 star rating: Recommended
May 2014

Very good tour pick up and drop off from hotel in sorrento.4 hours is enough with a knowlegable guide to show you around a great place.

Doing what: Half-Day Pompeii Sightseeing Trip from Sorrento

4 star rating: Recommended
November 2013

Great experience - very glad that we were picked up from our hotel, as it was a long drive from Sorrento to Pompeii! Once we were there, our guide Andre was fantastic - very energetic and passionate, and could answer every question with ease. Great tour, worth doing.

Doing what: Half-Day Pompeii Sightseeing Trip from Sorrento

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2013

We visited Pompei on a day tour from Sorrento (with Viator). We were lucky enough to have a fabulous guide who spoke quite good English and was very informative. Lots of the buildings have not been touched and are in the same condition as they were thousands of years ago when Vesuvius erupted in 79 AD. Visit the oldest brothel in the world (they say) - still in its original state. There are even signs along the road imbedded into the rock to show the directions for the locals. This is a long tour as it goes for a few hours and it does get extremely hot - so remember your hat, sunscreen and water. Also ensure that you wear good walking shoes as the roads can be quite uneven in places as a lot of them are still original. Also, the toilet facilities are at the start of your tour and there are no restrooms once you start. Well worth a visit as the history is amazing!!

Doing what: Half-Day Pompeii Sightseeing Trip from Sorrento

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2013

I did not realize at the time I booked our trip precisely how far from Sorrento our hotel in Castelamarre was. Your pick up driver seemed to have difficulty finding his way out of the town to the meeting point outside Pompei, but threaded his way expertly through the streets until he reached the town. I was impressed by anyone who can deal with that level of traffic in those small streets. The streets of Castellammare apparently can confuse most GPS systems.

The Tour of Pompeii was well-coordinated and the tour guide was impressive both in her command of the information and her ability to organize and direct our steps through the maze of streets in that ancient town. We found the tour to be completely fascinating and enjoyed every minute. My wife and I both feel that we received full value for our ticket and would be delighted to recommend it to anyone else. The Pompeii tour was definitely one of the highlights of our trip.

Doing what: Half-Day Pompeii Sightseeing Trip from Sorrento

BATTERSBY666
United Kingdom

3 star rating: Worth doing
June 2015

This tour was a bit disappointing, but I think we felt this way because the last time we went to Pompeii was around 40 years ago and it was a lot quieter then and not as spoilt with security measures.
It took a long tiome for us to transfer from Sorrento to Pompeii because of the traffic. When we arrived, we joined a big group who had come from Naples or were doing the full day trip. Our guide was good and we had headphones so as we could hear her without being too close that would have been impossible with such a large group. We spent about two hours wandering around the site. It was difficult when we went into the brothel as this place is so small and this was where we really felt that the numbers were against us.
There has obviously been a lot of excavation at the site since we were last here and we only saw a very small part of Pompeii - albeit said, I don't think we saw the best of it either. So many of the buildings and streets had orange/yellow security tape across or meshed wire netting obstructing the views. It did not make for good photographs. But, we were glad we went as it had been such a long time since our last visit.

Doing what: Half-Day Pompeii Sightseeing Trip from Sorrento

3 star rating: Worth doing
November 2013

Pompeii was great to see but thought that we would see much more on this tour. I would recommend looking at doing a more extensive tour if you have interest in this history especially since it takes a while to get to Pompeii from Sorrento.

Doing what: Half-Day Pompeii Sightseeing Trip from Sorrento

3 star rating: Worth doing
June 2013

wonderful tour of Pompeii and great guide...would highly recommend...We had one complaint..we were picked up at our hotel in Sorrento..driver was rude/on the phone most of the time...Tour said a driver/guide and we expected a guide from Sorrento to Pompeii...driver didn't say a word to us..

Doing what: Half-Day Pompeii Sightseeing Trip from Sorrento

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
September 2012

I have to say that the actual Pompeii trip was good but not great. The woman who was speaking did a nice job of explaining things in good English but I felt a tad disappointed that in the 2 hour tour we didn't actually get to see a whole lot of the ruins. Maybe it was because the group was so big? When we left I felt like we had been a little cheated...
But, the most aggravating part to the trip was the ride there. We pay extra so we are picked up from our hotel. We were coming in from Sorrento.We waited for close to 45 minutes for our driver to arrive late! His excuse was that the group of tourists he picked up before us was running late.. Honestly, in my mind that wasn't my problem. So, the trip itself ended later and we arrived back to our hotel much later in the day than we had expected leaving not a ton of time to swim or go into town prior to dinner for shopping:( Big Disappointment since that had been our plan...

Doing what: Half-Day Pompeii Sightseeing Trip from Sorrento

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
May 2015

We were disappointed with the Pompeii Tour out of Sorrento. We did not receive email confirmation of our hotel pickup as the original confirmation said we would. The Viator Naples phone number continued to tell us they were closed even though the website said otherwise. We sent an URGENT email to Viator and never received a response. Our driver provided very little commentary on the drive to Pompeii. Once arriving in Pompeii, we were disappointed to be in a group of 40 for the tour. The tour guide was difficult to understand through the microphones and his commentary was another disappointment with more jokes than historical information. We would not recommend this tour.

Doing what: Half-Day Pompeii Sightseeing Trip from Sorrento

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
September 2013

I believe that your tour description is misleading and incorrect. These misrepresentations resulted in ruining our experience to Pompeii and, had the brochure been accurate, we would have never booked this trip. Please note that our guide, Andreas, did as well as he could under the circumstances and responded to all questions in a professional manner.

My specific complaints about the tour:
1.The tour specifically states “hotel pick up and drop off”. That is incorrect. We were picked up at the hotel, but we were dropped off in the middle of Sorrento. This is because of the way that you structured the return trip. We were picked up in a van that seated 13 but we returned in a larger bus that seated 40. In essence, we filled in the seats on the bus (servicing a different, but related tour) so we were forced to sit through a tour that we didn’t ask for.
2.The tour in Pompeii itself was a group of over 40 and the tour was held in three different languages. Andreas was quite responsive to all, but he would become sidetracked by questions in Spanish which led to follow-up questions in Spanish which became a side conversation in Spanish. The large number diminished my enjoyment.
3.The tour did not go to Vetti’s house (as advertised) and did not go to the amphitheater even though, when asked, Andreas told me that we would (rather, we went to the more accessible small theater area). I get that areas may be closed off and that there are conditions at the site that make certain ruins inaccessible. But the reason why we did not go to these other areas seemed more to be the unwieldiness of the group, not the sites themselves.
4.This sounds like a repeated complaint, but we had to wait up to an hour until the remainder of the group had finished eating before we could be brought back to Sorrento. This was never told to us up front and, had it been, I would not have booked this tour.

Doing what: Half-Day Pompeii Sightseeing Trip from Sorrento

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
December 2011

This tour was disappointing considering the cost. We do understand that there was a cost factor built in for the transportation to and from our hotel in Sorrento to Pompeii, but the tour it self was very poor. The tour guide appeared to be just outlining from a written script. She could have made the tour more interesting and fun. We also felt rushed through the tour. Not enough time allowed to take pictures. It would have been a good plan to allow extra time after the tour to go back and take more pictures; however, our driver was waiting to take us back to our hotel. We would not recommend this tour to any of friends or family.

Doing what: Half-Day Pompeii Sightseeing Trip from Sorrento

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message