Spain ATTRACTIONS See all

Alhambra and Generalife

The Alhambra is not only Spain's greatest architectural treasure, but one of the world's wonders and a UNESCO World Heritage. Walking past its austere exterior, a wonderland of musical fountains, cunningly devised gardens and finely carved ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 85 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

Skipping the line at the Granada is the best way to save time on your trip! When we left the line was really long, so we were fortunate to have skipped it. Having a guide was also a highlight of the visit. He was incredibly informative and was able to answer all of our questions well. The nice thing about the tour is that you are given a headset so you can wander around a bit and still be able to hear your guide--you don't have to be right next to him. We learned so much about the history of the Alhambra and Generalife and saw so much! The place is huge so it was really helpful be led through the grounds--we would have had no idea where to go if we were on our own. One thing I would keep in mind, though, is that in order to cover so much, the tour moves a little quickly, so you are walking pretty briskly for parts of it. We highly recommend this tour!

Doing what: Skip the Line: Alhambra and Generalife Gardens Half-Day Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

A marvellous experience. The tour was very well organized and everything worked as it should. We had a friendly guide on the bus and the Alhambra and Generalife Gardens official guide was simply superb. The only warning I would give to other travellers from Sevilla is that the bus ride to Granada, 3 hours each way, is a long one. However, as the departure is so early it is easy to sleep part of the way from Sevilla, and the return time from Granada coincides perfectly with the Spanish siesta hour, so another nap on the way back is also very pleasant.

Doing what: Granada Day Trip including Alhambra and Generalife Gardens from Seville

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

No better way to see the Alhambra and Generalife Gardens than buy tour. Very intricate palace with a world of history attached. Guides are very knowledgeable and accommodating. Tour bus was on time and bus guide was knowledgeable as well. Great day and great experience. Highly recommend tour; do not try to do this alone.

Doing what: Granada Day Trip including Alhambra and Generalife Gardens from Seville

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

The groups were a bit too big for my liking but luckily my family was able to be in a small group(12 people).
Great information provided on the history of both Alhambra and Generalife. Wonderful views of town and Sierra Nevada.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Alhambra and Generalife Gardens Half-Day Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2014

Driver Alex and Tour Guide Silvia were both so great! Silvia is filled with interesting information, spoken in beautiful English - from the start of our bus ride to the moment we returned to Seville (but with plenty of quiet time on the bus so that we all could get some rest). It's a very long day, but so worth it if this is your only way to see Alhambra/Generalife. We also added the walking tour of Albaicin - also worth it. The only downside was that because of heavy traffic in Grenada (due to preparations for Semana Santa), our time in Albaicin was very shortened (so that we could have time to eat lunch). This was a wonderful day!!

Doing what: Granada Day Trip from Seville Including Skip-the-Line Entrance to Alhambra Palace and Optional Albaicin Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2014

The Alhambra and Generalife Gardens are a must to see. As the number of visitor per day is restricted, we were happy that we had booked our tour with VIATOR. The tour guide's comments were very interesting and pertinent.

Doing what: Granada Day Trip including Alhambra and Generalife Gardens from Seville

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

The guide Antonio was fantastic and I would recommend anyone on a first time visit to the Alhambra and Generalife to use a guide.

The visit was fantastic and was greatly enhanced by the guide. He had a superb knowledge of the site and it's history. He looked after the group and ensured we saw everything we needed to. The three hours went quickly.

I was collected from my hotel which was really helpful.

We did not queue at all and our guide along with other guides ensured groups did not clash.

I would strongly recommend this tour and it was exceptional value for money.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Alhambra and Generalife Gardens Half-Day Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

A must-see wonder. The Alhambra and Generalife are a beautiful site to see, but to understand it's meaning and importance fully, I definitely recommend a guided tour. As we were a small group of friends we did it privately, that way we had a bit more flexibility to stop in one or other place for pictures etc. The guide was very knowleagable and gave us a very interesting overview not just about the Alhambra but about Granada as well. We learnt so much in such a short period of time! I would definitely visit the Alhambra again, and in the same way!

Doing what: Private Tour: Alhambra and Generalife

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2013

This was a wonderful way to visit the Alhambra - very informative and, on the whole, hassle-free. We didn't have to worry about booking tickets on-line or queuing early in the morning to buy tickets on the day. There was some anxiety for us, however, at the very beginning when we couldn't find our group at the designated meeting place (one of the car parks near the ticket booth.) In the information provided to us before the tour, the instruction was to phone the night before if you required hotel pick-up from your centrally-located hotel. As our hotel was only 15 minutes walk away we didn't bother. We arrived in the car park to find it swarming with people, all belonging to one group or another. We were somewhat worried that our group had entered the Alhambra without us. After asking various group leaders for help (including one who went to considerable trouble to try and catch a group leader who had been looking for someone but had already taken their group in), someone informed us that the Viator tour office was actually in a visitor information centre over the road. So I went to investigate while my husband hovered around the main gate, in case anyone was looking for us. It eventuated that, yes, the Viator tour meeting place was, in fact, in the visitor centre and, much to our relief, they hadn't left yet, even though it was well after 10 am. It seems that, although we hadn't rung the night before, they had gone to our hotel anyway to collect us. So, to avoid confusion all round, we would recommend using the hotel pick-up, even if you are staying nearby! Then, at least, you are with the group from the start. As for the actual tour, our guide spoke English well, was interesting and moved us through each section at a good pace. We had a short break for a small complimentary drink and tapas snack in a well-stocked souvenir shop, with toilets nearby. After the tour, we were free to remain in the Generalife gardens and to wander around the "city" again.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Alhambra and Generalife Gardens Half-Day Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2013

Well worth doing. The Alhambra Palace and the Generalife Gardens are beautiful. The Palace would be even better if at least some of the rooms were furnished to show what they would have looked like. Watch out for pick-pockets in the Albaycin, though - one of our group was targeted, but we managed to catch the offenders!

Doing what: Granada - The Alhambra Palace and Generalife Gardens

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2013

Terrific tour with a very knowledgable guide. We loved the Nasrid Palaces and the Generalife Gardens especially. Although there was a lot of ground to cover, our guide, Enrique, did a fantastic job of making the Alhambra accessible and we came away with a very good sense of the history and lore of this UNESCO heritage site. Highly recommend this day tour.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Alhambra and Generalife Gardens Half-Day Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2013

The Alhambra Palace and Generalife Gardens tour was excellent was value for money. We were picked from our hotel on time. The bus was very comfortable. Our guide Fernando was very knowledgeable and also very enthusiastic which enhanced the trip.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Alhambra and Generalife Gardens Half-Day Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2013

The tour was informative, gave us plenty of time to see the Alhambra Palace and Generalife Gardens. Wonderful day. However, the trip to Morocco was unsettling. The wait for the ferry was long, the walk through the town was rushed. For many in the group, it was scary with too many pushy Moroccans trying to sell things. We were made to feel that the only reason we were there was to spend money. The camel stop and snake charmer were a tourist gig. The one good thing was the meal and the restaurant music. I had thought we would see a building and learn something about the culture that didn't happen. Overall, a disappointing day though I am glad I went.

Doing what: Malaga Super Saver: Morocco and Granada Day Trips Including Alhambra Palace and Generalife Gardens

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2013

Best $ I spent on our trip. We had a great tour guide who tremendously enhanced our visit to the Alhambra and Generalife. No way we would have enjoyed the visit or learned as much on our own.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Alhambra and Generalife Gardens Half-Day Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2013

Fantastic and most enjoyable tour - I'd highly recommend this especially for first time visitors to the Alhambra and Generalife. Our driver and tour guides were excellent.

Doing what: Granada Day Trip including Alhambra and Generalife Gardens from Seville

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message