Split ATTRACTIONS See all

Cathedral of St Dominus (Cathedral of St Duje)

This Cathedral has two lives: its first life was as the Cathedral of St. Dominus, the mausoleum dedicated to Diocletian. Diocletian was known for his brutal persecution of Christians after a campaign to get rid of Christianity. Ironically, what ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 10 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

3 star rating: Worth doing
September 2014

Tour was shorter then stated.

Doing what: Diocletian Palace Walking Tour and Optional Trip to Trogir

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

This tour was fantastic! Our guide Iris was extremely knowledgeable and very sweet! We learned a lot and thoroughly enjoyed the tour.

Doing what: Diocletian Palace Walking Tour and Optional Trip to Trogir

Susan M
Australia

3 star rating: Worth doing
June 2014

More like 3.5 actually; it was a hot day in Split and we also thought the Tour was for 2hrs (we only did 1.5 hrs which was sufficient in any case).

Doing what: Diocletian Palace Walking Tour and Optional Trip to Trogir

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
April 2014

Not really worth the money. A good guide book and a map will do much the same thing.

Doing what: Diocletian Palace Walking Tour and Optional Trip to Trogir

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
April 2014

The tour was on a Friday which means it's at 12:00pm instead of 10:am, so we arrive at 11:50, wait 1/2 hour call the contact number they say they forgot about the time change for Fridays and will have somewhere within 1/2hour, so we waited. Finally a nice lady shows up. She was so boring , she stood in one place in from of a map for 20 minutes talking about the history of the palace. Yes we did want history but she made it beyond boring. After 1 hour an 20 minutes thank god the tour was over. It was cut short short, so not worth the money.

Doing what: Diocletian Palace Walking Tour and Optional Trip to Trogir

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

The palace is amazing with so much preservation for an area that is heavily used. Of course, the weather helps but still, 1,800 years - wow! The tour was good, though I wish it included the basement, but the tour guide was extraordinary. I am embarrassed to admit I do not know his name but he was one of the best we have ever had. The trip to Trogir and the cathedral with the detailed work on the door that the guide explained was a do-not-miss.

Doing what: Diocletian Palace Walking Tour and Optional Trip to Trogir

3 star rating: Worth doing
September 2013

Tour guide ill prepared because of unfortunate fall experienced by her mother. Will no doubt provide better service when less stressed. She did what she could in difficult circumstances

Doing what: Diocletian Palace Walking Tour and Optional Trip to Trogir

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
August 2013

Our guide was very knowledgeable but without whispers we could not hear her, she was also soft spoken. Also this was billed as an air conditioned bus to the second stop. If it was air conditioned the driver chose not to use it. Many complained about the lack of air conditioning on this tour. All in all, pretty disappointed in this tour.

Doing what: Diocletian Palace Walking Tour and Optional Trip to Trogir

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2013

The guide was excellent! Very professional and knowledgeable.

Doing what: Diocletian Palace Walking Tour and Optional Trip to Trogir

3 star rating: Worth doing
June 2013

Was just OK- a good way to see the Palace area but felt rushed (our guide only spent less than an hour) and didn't include anything like the bell tower or the cellars tour.

Doing what: Diocletian Palace Walking Tour and Optional Trip to Trogir

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message