Split ATTRACTIONS See all

Diocletian's Palace

This palace right in the heart of Split, was used by Roman Emperor Diocletian and is one of the best preserved monuments of Roman architecture in the world. In 1979, it was declared -- with the historic city of Split -- a UNESCO World Heritage ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 38 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

This tour was amazing and Agnes our tour guide was very informative and detailed and funny as well .., recommend this tour plus our driver was great too

Doing what: Viator Exclusive: 'Game of Thrones' Tour in Split

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

This was a great tour, we did it on the first of our two days in Split and we're so glad we did. Not only was there lots of really great GoT locations and information but the tour guide also showed us a lot of the historical sights in Split and told us lots of information about how the city has changed. The guide was very friendly, knowledgeable and lots of fun, there were only 4 of us on the tour so it felt very personable and the guide remembered all our names, we even had a great Season 5 run-down chat on the was back from Klis and shared our own theory about that ending!
This is highly recommended for any GoTs fans, especially if you have limited time in Split as it does a lot of the main sights in half a day.

Doing what: Viator Exclusive: 'Game of Thrones' Tour in Split

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

We loved this bike tour, saw speculation views of Split. We never would have gone to these areas he took us too. The electric bikes are so much fun to ride!

Doing what: Split Bike Tour: City Highlights by Standard or Electric Bike

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

If you are a GoT fan, then you will definitely love this tour! Also, it is a great tour to take if you just want to find out more about Split! Agnes, our tour-guide, was amazing! Very funny and friendly!

Doing what: Viator Exclusive: 'Game of Thrones' Tour in Split

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2015

Interesting city full of history and the driver was very knowledgeable. The Tour Guide in the city itself made the tour feel abit rushed but we had plenty of free time afterwards to explore the place for ourselves.

Doing what: Split Day Trip from Dubrovnik

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2015

Interesting seeing the ancient roman palace and learning about the history of this beautiful city.

Doing what: Split Day Trip from Dubrovnik

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

The tour was great. An interesting mix of GoT facts and actual history. Agnes was brilliant. Thanks.

Doing what: Viator Exclusive: 'Game of Thrones' Tour in Split

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

We booked this tour prior to visiting split and was not disappointed from start to finish our guides were professional, courteous, and took time to assess our needs as my youngest daughter had not ridden since she was young, we thoroughly enjoyed ourselves, to see split this way was lovely thanks to our guides would most certainly recommend.

Doing what: Split Bike Tour: City Highlights by Standard or Electric Bike

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Guide was just excellent. Knowledgable and loved his city

Doing what: Diocletian Palace Walking Tour and Optional Trip to Trogir

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Ivan was a fantastic driver/guide. Very friendly and informative. So glad I took the time to visit Split.

Doing what: Split Day Trip from Dubrovnik

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

This was a really fun, exciting trip. Our only regret is that it didn't last longer. The views were amazing and using the zipline was easy yet exhilarating. Our driver, Pable, was very nice and personable. The zipline guides were also great. Definitely recommend it!

Doing what: Cetina River Zipline Experience from Split

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2015

It was a lovely relaxed trip that showcased the beauty of Split

Doing what: Split Bike Tour: City Highlights by Standard or Electric Bike

3 star rating: Worth doing
June 2015

This tour is extremely confusing with adding the optional to Trogir. I wasn't going there and indicated so but the tour guide had me booked to go and had a vehicle ready to take me. There isn't really anywhere to indicate you don't want that portion. The actual walking tour is only 1 hour, not 2 and doesn't go into the cellars. I went myself afterwards just wandering around as I had no idea what anything was. I'd recommend they add part of the cellars with the tour and make Trogir a totally separate tour. Knowledgeable guide on this very short tour.

Doing what: Diocletian Palace Walking Tour and Optional Trip to Trogir

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

Great two hour tour which covered 20km - was just us as a couple so the guide tailored the route to our capabilities. The route included the journey to the top of the Marjan Peninsula - which did include some bike pushing for us! The downhill route was great fun and overall the trip allowed us to see this beautiful part of the city in more detail.

Doing what: Split Bike Tour: City Highlights by Standard or Electric Bike

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

Our tour guide was very knowledgable and relaxed with our children. She was very proud of her beautiful country and was a pleasure to spend the day with. Her English was perfect. We had a lovely day.

Doing what: Diocletian Palace Walking Tour and Optional Trip to Trogir

4 star rating: Recommended
May 2015

Knowledgable tour around a number of the filming locations - rated as four star only in comparison to the Dubrovnik tour which was one of the best tours we've been on. The Split tour was a lot better than the Northern Ireland GoT tour.

Doing what: Viator Exclusive: 'Game of Thrones' Tour in Split

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

We enjoyed this trip. Good driver and good guide. We especially liked the actual drive from Dubrovnik to Split - great chance to see the Croatian riviera. Only negative thing - we didn't know that we should have had our passports with us as we had to pass through Bosnia-Herzagovinia but our driver sorted everything out for us.

Doing what: Private Tour: Split Day Trip from Dubrovnik

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
February 2015

Just felt this tour was a complete waste of money, We found it boring and overpriced the worst decision of our cruise was to pay for this, could easily have done it ourselves and learnt just as much.

Doing what: Diocletian Palace Walking Tour and Optional Trip to Trogir

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2014

Great tour!! There aren't as many filming locations as there are in the Dubrovnik GoT tour but this tour is a great way to get a good introduction to Split at the same time as getting your GoT fix.

Doing what: Viator Exclusive: 'Game of Thrones' Tour in Split

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

We had a great tour experience. We easily found our guide and were all driven to the fortress in a very nice van. The tour of the fortress was excellent and it was fun to see the locations there that were used in the show. The tour of the palace was also excellent and interesting. Our tour guide was excited to share everything with us, was very informative and well prepared. I would recommend this tour to anyone who is a GoT fan.

Doing what: Viator Exclusive: 'Game of Thrones' Tour in Split

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

Great tour. Only 4 people in the group. Marija the tour guide was exceptional.

Doing what: Diocletian Palace Walking Tour and Optional Trip to Trogir

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

We did the Palace Walking Tour and the optional Trip to Trojir. We had a group of 12 for the palace tour and then a group of 6 for the trip to Trojir. Our guide, Marija, was very knowledgeable and helpful (she even took the time to assist someone not in our tour). You could walk the Palace on your own, but we find the experience so much richer with a guide who explains the history and significance of the sights you are seeing. I would recommend the trip to Trojir – it is absolutely beautiful and it is a very comfortable trip in a large, air conditioned van. Marija even stayed after the tour to help translate for us when we went to the local pharmacy. What a wonderful guide! Most places didn’t take Euro, so be sure to pick up some Kuna.

Doing what: Diocletian Palace Walking Tour and Optional Trip to Trogir

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2014

We enjoyed the bike tour and views of Split. We over slept our time to be there and they were very accommodating to make sure we did not lose our money and still got our bike tour. Would use again.

Doing what: Split Bike Tour: City Highlights by Standard or Electric Bike

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2014

We had already visited Trogir so didn't do this part of the tour but if you haven't been there, do go. It's beautiful. Tour of palace very good, knowledgable guide. We booked it for a Friday. If possible, book got a different day when tour starts earlier as the area gets very crowded as the day goes on.

Doing what: Diocletian Palace Walking Tour and Optional Trip to Trogir

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

Being the only person on this tour afforded me such a personal experience. It is always nice to learn of the facts behind what you see!

Doing what: Diocletian Palace Walking Tour and Optional Trip to Trogir

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message