Split ATTRACTIONS See all

Diocletian's Palace

This palace right in the heart of Split, was used by Roman Emperor Diocletian and is one of the best preserved monuments of Roman architecture in the world. In 1979, it was declared -- with the historic city of Split -- a UNESCO World Heritage ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 24 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

Great two hour tour which covered 20km - was just us as a couple so the guide tailored the route to our capabilities. The route included the journey to the top of the Marjan Peninsula - which did include some bike pushing for us! The downhill route was great fun and overall the trip allowed us to see this beautiful part of the city in more detail.

Doing what: Split Bike Tour: City Highlights by Standard or Electric Bike

4 star rating: Recommended
May 2015

Knowledgable tour around a number of the filming locations - rated as four star only in comparison to the Dubrovnik tour which was one of the best tours we've been on. The Split tour was a lot better than the Northern Ireland GoT tour.

Doing what: Viator Exclusive: 'Game of Thrones' Tour in Split

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

We enjoyed this trip. Good driver and good guide. We especially liked the actual drive from Dubrovnik to Split - great chance to see the Croatian riviera. Only negative thing - we didn't know that we should have had our passports with us as we had to pass through Bosnia-Herzagovinia but our driver sorted everything out for us.

Doing what: Private Tour: Split Day Trip from Dubrovnik

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
February 2015

Just felt this tour was a complete waste of money, We found it boring and overpriced the worst decision of our cruise was to pay for this, could easily have done it ourselves and learnt just as much.

Doing what: Diocletian Palace Walking Tour and Optional Trip to Trogir

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2014

Great tour!! There aren't as many filming locations as there are in the Dubrovnik GoT tour but this tour is a great way to get a good introduction to Split at the same time as getting your GoT fix.

Doing what: Viator Exclusive: 'Game of Thrones' Tour in Split

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

We had a great tour experience. We easily found our guide and were all driven to the fortress in a very nice van. The tour of the fortress was excellent and it was fun to see the locations there that were used in the show. The tour of the palace was also excellent and interesting. Our tour guide was excited to share everything with us, was very informative and well prepared. I would recommend this tour to anyone who is a GoT fan.

Doing what: Viator Exclusive: 'Game of Thrones' Tour in Split

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

Great tour. Only 4 people in the group. Marija the tour guide was exceptional.

Doing what: Diocletian Palace Walking Tour and Optional Trip to Trogir

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

We did the Palace Walking Tour and the optional Trip to Trojir. We had a group of 12 for the palace tour and then a group of 6 for the trip to Trojir. Our guide, Marija, was very knowledgeable and helpful (she even took the time to assist someone not in our tour). You could walk the Palace on your own, but we find the experience so much richer with a guide who explains the history and significance of the sights you are seeing. I would recommend the trip to Trojir – it is absolutely beautiful and it is a very comfortable trip in a large, air conditioned van. Marija even stayed after the tour to help translate for us when we went to the local pharmacy. What a wonderful guide! Most places didn’t take Euro, so be sure to pick up some Kuna.

Doing what: Diocletian Palace Walking Tour and Optional Trip to Trogir

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2014

We enjoyed the bike tour and views of Split. We over slept our time to be there and they were very accommodating to make sure we did not lose our money and still got our bike tour. Would use again.

Doing what: Split Bike Tour: City Highlights by Standard or Electric Bike

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2014

We had already visited Trogir so didn't do this part of the tour but if you haven't been there, do go. It's beautiful. Tour of palace very good, knowledgable guide. We booked it for a Friday. If possible, book got a different day when tour starts earlier as the area gets very crowded as the day goes on.

Doing what: Diocletian Palace Walking Tour and Optional Trip to Trogir

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

Being the only person on this tour afforded me such a personal experience. It is always nice to learn of the facts behind what you see!

Doing what: Diocletian Palace Walking Tour and Optional Trip to Trogir

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2014

Very informative. The guide was very nice. Certain areas cannot be photographed.

Doing what: Viator Exclusive: 'Game of Thrones' Tour in Split

3 star rating: Worth doing
September 2014

Tour was shorter then stated.

Doing what: Diocletian Palace Walking Tour and Optional Trip to Trogir

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

This tour was fantastic! Our guide Iris was extremely knowledgeable and very sweet! We learned a lot and thoroughly enjoyed the tour.

Doing what: Diocletian Palace Walking Tour and Optional Trip to Trogir

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

Fantastic, Sylvia our guide was informative and fun. A great way to see Split and surrounding parklands, the electric bike made the hills so much easier and allowed us to see so much more. This tour gives you a completely different view of split. Highly recommended and loads of fun. Little tricky in finding the bike shop so dont leave it to the last minute like we did.

Doing what: Split Bike Tour: City Highlights by Standard or Electric Bike

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

This might have been THE highlight of a vacation filled with highlights for my family and me. We chose electric bikes and Antu, our guide, made the best of everything! We saw Split and views from Split we could never have without this fabulous tour! Thanks, Antu! You're the best!

Doing what: Split Bike Tour: City Highlights by Standard or Electric Bike

Susan M
Australia

3 star rating: Worth doing
June 2014

More like 3.5 actually; it was a hot day in Split and we also thought the Tour was for 2hrs (we only did 1.5 hrs which was sufficient in any case).

Doing what: Diocletian Palace Walking Tour and Optional Trip to Trogir

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
April 2014

Not really worth the money. A good guide book and a map will do much the same thing.

Doing what: Diocletian Palace Walking Tour and Optional Trip to Trogir

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
April 2014

The tour was on a Friday which means it's at 12:00pm instead of 10:am, so we arrive at 11:50, wait 1/2 hour call the contact number they say they forgot about the time change for Fridays and will have somewhere within 1/2hour, so we waited. Finally a nice lady shows up. She was so boring , she stood in one place in from of a map for 20 minutes talking about the history of the palace. Yes we did want history but she made it beyond boring. After 1 hour an 20 minutes thank god the tour was over. It was cut short short, so not worth the money.

Doing what: Diocletian Palace Walking Tour and Optional Trip to Trogir

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

The palace is amazing with so much preservation for an area that is heavily used. Of course, the weather helps but still, 1,800 years - wow! The tour was good, though I wish it included the basement, but the tour guide was extraordinary. I am embarrassed to admit I do not know his name but he was one of the best we have ever had. The trip to Trogir and the cathedral with the detailed work on the door that the guide explained was a do-not-miss.

Doing what: Diocletian Palace Walking Tour and Optional Trip to Trogir

3 star rating: Worth doing
September 2013

Tour guide ill prepared because of unfortunate fall experienced by her mother. Will no doubt provide better service when less stressed. She did what she could in difficult circumstances

Doing what: Diocletian Palace Walking Tour and Optional Trip to Trogir

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
August 2013

Our guide was very knowledgeable but without whispers we could not hear her, she was also soft spoken. Also this was billed as an air conditioned bus to the second stop. If it was air conditioned the driver chose not to use it. Many complained about the lack of air conditioning on this tour. All in all, pretty disappointed in this tour.

Doing what: Diocletian Palace Walking Tour and Optional Trip to Trogir

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2013

The guide was excellent! Very professional and knowledgeable.

Doing what: Diocletian Palace Walking Tour and Optional Trip to Trogir

3 star rating: Worth doing
June 2013

Was just OK- a good way to see the Palace area but felt rushed (our guide only spent less than an hour) and didn't include anything like the bell tower or the cellars tour.

Doing what: Diocletian Palace Walking Tour and Optional Trip to Trogir

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message