Split ATTRACTIONS See all

Diocletian's Palace

This palace right in the heart of Split, was used by Roman Emperor Diocletian and is one of the best preserved monuments of Roman architecture in the world. In 1979, it was declared -- with the historic city of Split -- a UNESCO World Heritage ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 90 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

klbasque

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

We had a great time on this tour! We loved all the history and culture of this city. Our guide was very familiar with all the buildings, structures and statues. She knew her history and never hesitated to answer our questions. There was a nice balance between guided tour and free time, which we used to enjoy a wonderful meal in a restaurant in Trogir. There really is far too much to see and learn about Croatian history to try and navigate on your own, no regrets on booking this one!

Doing what: Diocletian Palace Walking Tour and Optional Trip to Trogir

Leisha M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

A Wonderful tour. Great way to learn about both the Diocletian Palace and visit the fabulous town of Trogir. Our guide, Damir, was very knowledgeable and had a great sense of humor. Highly recommend adding Trogir to the trip. A very pleasant day. Just the right length we had time to relax and walk around Split when the tour was over.

Doing what: Diocletian Palace Walking Tour and Optional Trip to Trogir

Nuria G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Our guide Ines was lovely and very knowledgeable. I didn't book the trip to Trogir and she gave me loads of tips on what to do in and around Diocletian Palace after the walking tour.

Doing what: Diocletian Palace Walking Tour and Optional Trip to Trogir

Andrea C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Awesome experience! Our guides were fun and entertaining, but also knew what they were doing. The views over the Cetina River Canyon are amazing. It was my first time ziplining and I felt completely at ease. Highly recommend!!

Doing what: Cetina River Zipline Experience from Split

Vanessa L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Anna was a great guide, told us plenty of interesting stories about the palace and the old town, which brought it's ancient history to life. We ended up having a private tour too which was great. Thanks Anna!

Doing what: Diocletian Palace Walking Tour and Optional Trip to Trogir

J A M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

A great tour of the filming sites from the show. Agnes was a great guide with lots of information to share about the show, the sites as well as Split past and present. hours well spent!

Doing what: Viator Exclusive: 'Game of Thrones' Tour in Split

DENISE ESTER S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Agnes is such a great guide! She gave not just info about GoT but about the history of split. She also gave us guide where to eat, what to buy for souvenirs...must do for GoT fans...love it!!!

Doing what: Viator Exclusive: 'Game of Thrones' Tour in Split

Lais B

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2016

Great tour about Got and some info about Split.
I only wish it were longer and visited more locations. :

Doing what: Viator Exclusive: 'Game of Thrones' Tour in Split

Jacqueline B

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2016

Great for any GoT fans - Klis Meereen and Diocletian's Palace underground is where the Dany's dragons are kept!
Pack a water as it's 3 hours after meeting at Diocletian's Palace -which can be daunting on a cruise day but directions are clear. Nice a/c'd van to Fortress of Klis with small group 6 persons, driver and guide. Guide was very knowledgeable of area, show and proud of Croatia giving so much historical information on the area, Fortress, Palace and suggestions on other activities.

Doing what: Viator Exclusive: 'Game of Thrones' Tour in Split

Ronald S

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2016

Only three of us on the tour so the individual attention was great. Tour guide was knowledgeable and friendly.

Doing what: Diocletian Palace Walking Tour and Optional Trip to Trogir

Aryana A

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2016

The tour was great! I only wish she had given us more time for photos at certain locations because I hate being rude and taking them while the guide is talking...but taking photos is important as well!

Doing what: Viator Exclusive: 'Game of Thrones' Tour in Split

Monica m

3 star rating: Worth doing
June 2016

Good guide and informational. There were just a ton of tours happening and the guides where dodging each other. Worth doing if you have the extra time in the city.

Doing what: Diocletian Palace Walking Tour and Optional Trip to Trogir

Anthony P

3 star rating: Worth doing
June 2016

If you are a GAME OF THRONES fan why wouldn't you do this. It takes about 3 hours or just a little more. However you do see some incredible parts of the country on your drive up to see various areas they shot for GOT. Once you leave the castle you head back into town to see more historic sites as well and more areas they shot GOT ...actual locations that are shared with pictures they show of those scenes to help verify it. My wife and I had fun and enjoyed the tour.

Doing what: Viator Exclusive: 'Game of Thrones' Tour in Split

Judith W

3 star rating: Worth doing
June 2016

There was confusion finding Dragan the guide to start as the instructions were wrong and we had to ring the local office. Another couple had the same issue, who couldn and #39;t find their guide, so they joined us. Dragan didnt apologise. Once the tour started it was ok. Not as good as previous viator tours.

Doing what: Diocletian Palace Walking Tour and Optional Trip to Trogir

Anna B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

Our tour was wonderful! Our guide was personable and informative, giving us a history of the area while taking us to exact filiming locations around and outside of Split. It was easy to locate our tour guide, and the van ride out the Klis fortress was comfortable. Our guide also gave us excellent advice on good places to buy souvenirs and where to eat. In fact, her recommendation for a restaurant ended up being our favorite place in Split! Definitely a fun tour, great for all kinds of groups and all ages.

Doing what: Viator Exclusive: 'Game of Thrones' Tour in Split

Liesl G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

Wonderful. Interesting. Just great.

Doing what: Diocletian Palace Walking Tour and Optional Trip to Trogir

Kym D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

Agnes was our tour guide and she was AWESOME! Very knowledgable in both GOT and the history of sites we visited. My friend and I really enjoyed this tour and really happy we did it. Highly recommend it to anyone interested in local history and a GOT fan! You will not be disappointed!

Doing what: Viator Exclusive: 'Game of Thrones' Tour in Split

Theresa C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

Agnes was excellent. She was very knowledgeable and passionate about the history of Split and the scenes from Game of Thrones. Very professional. Thank you Agnes!

Doing what: Viator Exclusive: 'Game of Thrones' Tour in Split

Mike S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

An excellent visit...made all the better by a wonderful guide, who provided detailed insight to the history and development of the area especially during walking tour of Split. She also provided interesting facts about the filming of GoT in the city and surroundings....with discussion relating to next series.

Doing what: Viator Exclusive: 'Game of Thrones' Tour in Split

Kenneth W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

We are five for five with great experiences through Viator. I can't recommend this zipline experience enough if you are in Split! Pics and videos cannot truly capture the thrill of ziplining 400 feet above a river for almost half a mile. I am a helicopter pilot and this was a thrill. I would have paid triple to see the looks on my kids faces that they had. Well organized, safe and thrilling. The coordinated driver was on time, on location. When he found out our rental house was along the route, he dropped us off at the front door on the way back. Would do this again in a heartbeat. Great, wonderful and exciting.

Doing what: Cetina River Zipline Experience from Split

Suzanne H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

My husband and I thoroughly enjoyed our walk through Split and tour to Trogir. Our delightful guide was very knowledgable about the history of both towns but was also willing to share her personal experiences and those of her family over recent years. Even though it was a wet day we hardly noticed as it was such a good tour and we would thoroughly recommend it.

Doing what: Diocletian Palace Walking Tour and Optional Trip to Trogir

Erin G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

I ended up on a private tour. Our guide and driver were both very friendly. The guide was very knowledgable and gave me insight on both GoT and the history of Split. Was a great introduction to the city and would highly recommend it!

Doing what: Viator Exclusive: 'Game of Thrones' Tour in Split

BARBRA P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

AMAZING, SCARY, SAFE, FANTASTIC, WONDERFUL GUIDES. what more can I say a life changing experience and I was so supported and felt completely confident in the professionalism of the mountaineers. DO IT you wont regret it and I am a pensioner of 65

Doing what: Cetina River Zipline Experience from Split

Jacqueline T

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

Very interesting and informative. Lovely guide , Damir . Great to understand some of the history and culture of Split and Trogir is a must see.

Doing what: Diocletian Palace Walking Tour and Optional Trip to Trogir

Suzanne H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

My husband and I enjoyed a wonderful tour of the Palace and trip to Trogir in a friendly small group today. Even a rainy day did not spoil the experience and our wonderful guide added so much personal warmth and really helped us to understand not only the ancient history of this beautiful country and region but also the much more recent experiences they have faced. We would thoroughly recommend this tour and especially the extra trip to Trogir which is a real little gem!

Doing what: Diocletian Palace Walking Tour and Optional Trip to Trogir

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message