Split ATTRACTIONS See all

Diocletian's Palace

This palace right in the heart of Split, was used by Roman Emperor Diocletian and is one of the best preserved monuments of Roman architecture in the world. In 1979, it was declared -- with the historic city of Split -- a UNESCO World Heritage ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 76 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Anna B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

Our tour was wonderful! Our guide was personable and informative, giving us a history of the area while taking us to exact filiming locations around and outside of Split. It was easy to locate our tour guide, and the van ride out the Klis fortress was comfortable. Our guide also gave us excellent advice on good places to buy souvenirs and where to eat. In fact, her recommendation for a restaurant ended up being our favorite place in Split! Definitely a fun tour, great for all kinds of groups and all ages.

Doing what: Viator Exclusive: 'Game of Thrones' Tour in Split

Liesl G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

Wonderful. Interesting. Just great.

Doing what: Diocletian Palace Walking Tour and Optional Trip to Trogir

Kym D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

Agnes was our tour guide and she was AWESOME! Very knowledgable in both GOT and the history of sites we visited. My friend and I really enjoyed this tour and really happy we did it. Highly recommend it to anyone interested in local history and a GOT fan! You will not be disappointed!

Doing what: Viator Exclusive: 'Game of Thrones' Tour in Split

Theresa C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

Agnes was excellent. She was very knowledgeable and passionate about the history of Split and the scenes from Game of Thrones. Very professional. Thank you Agnes!

Doing what: Viator Exclusive: 'Game of Thrones' Tour in Split

Mike S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

An excellent visit...made all the better by a wonderful guide, who provided detailed insight to the history and development of the area especially during walking tour of Split. She also provided interesting facts about the filming of GoT in the city and surroundings....with discussion relating to next series.

Doing what: Viator Exclusive: 'Game of Thrones' Tour in Split

Kenneth W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

We are five for five with great experiences through Viator. I can't recommend this zipline experience enough if you are in Split! Pics and videos cannot truly capture the thrill of ziplining 400 feet above a river for almost half a mile. I am a helicopter pilot and this was a thrill. I would have paid triple to see the looks on my kids faces that they had. Well organized, safe and thrilling. The coordinated driver was on time, on location. When he found out our rental house was along the route, he dropped us off at the front door on the way back. Would do this again in a heartbeat. Great, wonderful and exciting.

Doing what: Cetina River Zipline Experience from Split

Suzanne H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

My husband and I thoroughly enjoyed our walk through Split and tour to Trogir. Our delightful guide was very knowledgable about the history of both towns but was also willing to share her personal experiences and those of her family over recent years. Even though it was a wet day we hardly noticed as it was such a good tour and we would thoroughly recommend it.

Doing what: Diocletian Palace Walking Tour and Optional Trip to Trogir

Erin G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

I ended up on a private tour. Our guide and driver were both very friendly. The guide was very knowledgable and gave me insight on both GoT and the history of Split. Was a great introduction to the city and would highly recommend it!

Doing what: Viator Exclusive: 'Game of Thrones' Tour in Split

BARBRA P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

AMAZING, SCARY, SAFE, FANTASTIC, WONDERFUL GUIDES. what more can I say a life changing experience and I was so supported and felt completely confident in the professionalism of the mountaineers. DO IT you wont regret it and I am a pensioner of 65

Doing what: Cetina River Zipline Experience from Split

Jacqueline T

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

Very interesting and informative. Lovely guide , Damir . Great to understand some of the history and culture of Split and Trogir is a must see.

Doing what: Diocletian Palace Walking Tour and Optional Trip to Trogir

Suzanne H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

My husband and I enjoyed a wonderful tour of the Palace and trip to Trogir in a friendly small group today. Even a rainy day did not spoil the experience and our wonderful guide added so much personal warmth and really helped us to understand not only the ancient history of this beautiful country and region but also the much more recent experiences they have faced. We would thoroughly recommend this tour and especially the extra trip to Trogir which is a real little gem!

Doing what: Diocletian Palace Walking Tour and Optional Trip to Trogir

Sylvia W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

A must-see for any fan of Game of Thrones. An excellent tour.

Doing what: Viator Exclusive: 'Game of Thrones' Tour in Split

Ray L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

My husband and I had a bike tour with Kristian through the town and surrounds of Split. Kristian was wonderful! He rode at a pace that was comfortable for us and he was patient when at times I fell behind. The route around the sea was beautiful and he had much to say about our surroundings and even about the currents of the sea! We loved listening to everything he had to say! We would highly recommend this tour to anyone, especially with Kristian!

Doing what: Split Bike Tour: City Highlights by Standard or Electric Bike

Rebecca J B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

It was fantastic that there were only 4 including driver on this trip. Being able to stop when we wanted or needed to was great. Antonio, our driver, was terrific - personable, engaging and a pleasure to spend most of the day with.

Doing what: Split Day Trip from Dubrovnik

Robert W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

Tamara, our guide was excellent. She knows her history and made it interesting. You can tell she likes her job. Does it well and very personable. Top marks from us.

Doing what: Diocletian Palace Walking Tour and Optional Trip to Trogir

lynda b

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

Very interesting tour with a guide who was passionate about Split. Our Guide sorry I cannot remember her name took her time explaining the history of Diocletions Palace that it almost came to life. We were a small group of 6 which made it easier. The only minus which was no fault of our guide, was that there were 2 cruise ships docked and a lot of different groups doing tours which some times got in each others way. Other wise, well worth it and highly recommended.

Doing what: Diocletian Palace Walking Tour and Optional Trip to Trogir

David S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

Guide was excellent and had many items of interest that I can't remember them all.

Doing what: Viator Exclusive: 'Game of Thrones' Tour in Split

tracey k

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

This is a great way to spend time in split.especially if you like got.our guide was fantastic, not only did she know all about the tv show. She knew about the history of split to and was very funny with it.great for all the family.

Doing what: Viator Exclusive: 'Game of Thrones' Tour in Split

Helen M

3 star rating: Worth doing
October 2015

Guide was humourous and endearing. It would have been good to have had more historical fact or fiction about the palace.

Doing what: Diocletian Palace Walking Tour and Optional Trip to Trogir

Kathryn F

3 star rating: Worth doing
October 2015

This tour would have been better if it was longer and included access to some of the places shown from the outside. The history of the city was interesting but that same time spent in the more famous buildings such as the Baptistry and the underground part would have brought it to life.

Doing what: Diocletian Palace Walking Tour and Optional Trip to Trogir

vvt

3 star rating: Worth doing
October 2015

The driver seemed unconcerned about tourists on board and the guide said nothing on the journey. The local guide, however, is very knowledgeable and professional.

Doing what: Split Day Trip from Dubrovnik

Doris D

3 star rating: Worth doing
October 2015

I don't recommend coming into Split from Dubrovnik as the ride was too long. The coastal scenery was great to see for the first hour of the ride but after 2 hours of constant twist and turns on the road, I was ready to throw up. Split was great for the 3 hours we were there but you need to spend more time exploring this city and not sitting on a car for a total of 6 hour-drive. However, our driver was awesome, we had stopover for a brief cafe break along the way. Our tour guide at Split recommended a good local place for lunch at Split and we had fun sampling food in the wet market nearby the Diocletian palace.

Doing what: Split Day Trip from Dubrovnik

Gemma W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

Brilliant tour with an amazing guide. Perfect length for a walking tour and guide had knowledge not just of Game of Thrones but gave a great insight into the history of Split and Croatia as well.

Doing what: Viator Exclusive: 'Game of Thrones' Tour in Split

Leonardo A

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

Had lots of fun !

Doing what: Cetina River Zipline Experience from Split

Amy

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

Very thorough and interesting tour, perfect for any GoT fan! I would recommend skipping a Split city tour if you do this one though, as the guide will give you a lot of info on the city as well! Agnes was fantastic!

Doing what: Viator Exclusive: 'Game of Thrones' Tour in Split

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message