• USD ($)
  • English

Split ATTRACTIONS See all

Diocletian's Palace

This palace right in the heart of Split, was used by Roman Emperor Diocletian and is one of the best preserved monuments of Roman architecture in the world. In 1979, it was declared -- with the historic city of Split -- a UNESCO World Heritage ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 17 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

Fantastic, Sylvia our guide was informative and fun. A great way to see Split and surrounding parklands, the electric bike made the hills so much easier and allowed us to see so much more. This tour gives you a completely different view of split. Highly recommended and loads of fun. Little tricky in finding the bike shop so dont leave it to the last minute like we did.

Doing what: Split Bike Tour: City Highlights by Standard or Electric Bike

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

This might have been THE highlight of a vacation filled with highlights for my family and me. We chose electric bikes and Antu, our guide, made the best of everything! We saw Split and views from Split we could never have without this fabulous tour! Thanks, Antu! You're the best!

Doing what: Split Bike Tour: City Highlights by Standard or Electric Bike

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2014

Great Tour and Great Guides!
We were a little disappointed that there was a policy change on lunch/refreshments because it would have been nice and atmospheric to hang out by the river a bit and try some authentic food.
Would definitely recommend this tour!

Doing what: Split Shore Excursion: Cetina River White-Water Rafting Adventure from Split

3 star rating: Worth doing
July 2014

The staff was friendly and personable, but morning pickup from cruise ship dock was late causing us to worry and run off to get wifi to make phone call. Also, the dive site was not great. Not much to see...only very few colorful fish at all

Doing what: Split Shore Excursion: Cetina River White-Water Rafting Adventure from Split

Susan M
Australia

3 star rating: Worth doing
June 2014

More like 3.5 actually; it was a hot day in Split and we also thought the Tour was for 2hrs (we only did 1.5 hrs which was sufficient in any case).

Doing what: Diocletian Palace Walking Tour and Optional Trip to Trogir

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
April 2014

Not really worth the money. A good guide book and a map will do much the same thing.

Doing what: Diocletian Palace Walking Tour and Optional Trip to Trogir

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
April 2014

The tour was on a Friday which means it's at 12:00pm instead of 10:am, so we arrive at 11:50, wait 1/2 hour call the contact number they say they forgot about the time change for Fridays and will have somewhere within 1/2hour, so we waited. Finally a nice lady shows up. She was so boring , she stood in one place in from of a map for 20 minutes talking about the history of the palace. Yes we did want history but she made it beyond boring. After 1 hour an 20 minutes thank god the tour was over. It was cut short short, so not worth the money.

Doing what: Diocletian Palace Walking Tour and Optional Trip to Trogir

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

We really "lucked out"....when we went to meet our tour it was only us and the guide. I was surprised it wasn't cancelled. Having our guide all to ourselves was great and she was excellent.

Doing what: Split Shore Excursion: Diocletian Palace and Trogir Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

The palace is amazing with so much preservation for an area that is heavily used. Of course, the weather helps but still, 1,800 years - wow! The tour was good, though I wish it included the basement, but the tour guide was extraordinary. I am embarrassed to admit I do not know his name but he was one of the best we have ever had. The trip to Trogir and the cathedral with the detailed work on the door that the guide explained was a do-not-miss.

Doing what: Diocletian Palace Walking Tour and Optional Trip to Trogir

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2013

The tour is great! Our tour guide was very informative. Prepare to walk a lot. It seems that we crossed the old town area several times in different directions.

Doing what: Split Shore Excursion: Diocletian Palace Walking Tour

3 star rating: Worth doing
September 2013

Tour guide ill prepared because of unfortunate fall experienced by her mother. Will no doubt provide better service when less stressed. She did what she could in difficult circumstances

Doing what: Diocletian Palace Walking Tour and Optional Trip to Trogir

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
September 2013

Oh MY! Tour group was too big. No headphones/microphones, which would have helped. Site was crowded and difficult to hear or keep up with the "run" through it. People started peeling off until we were down to maybe a dozen; which was almost manageable. Tour guide was not unfriendly, but a bit indifferent. Worst part was on the bus to and from the second site. At beginning of bus-ride we were asked if the temperature was comfortable. We asked that it be cooler; although the AC was apparently on, it didn't seem to be working properly. The guide then proceeded to speak to the bus driver which quickly devolved into a somewhat heated argument. Very unprofessional. The bus did not get cooler. We all suffered in silence until our arrival. While at the second site; minimal attempts were made by the tour guide to assist in locating a restroom before re-embarking. It all seemed to be too much trouble. Upon entering the bus for the return trip it became apparent why the AC had not been working properly as the bus driver had both his front windows open the entire time. When a request was made of the guide to have the driver close the windows, she declined to do so and indicated that it was useless to ask as he would not comply. Again a silent unbearably hot bus-trip back. Since we were assured of an air-conditioned bus, we were gravely disappointed. To summarize: It was awful from start to finish.

Doing what: Split Shore Excursion: Diocletian Palace and Trogir Tour

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
August 2013

Our guide was very knowledgeable but without whispers we could not hear her, she was also soft spoken. Also this was billed as an air conditioned bus to the second stop. If it was air conditioned the driver chose not to use it. Many complained about the lack of air conditioning on this tour. All in all, pretty disappointed in this tour.

Doing what: Diocletian Palace Walking Tour and Optional Trip to Trogir

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2013

The guide was excellent! Very professional and knowledgeable.

Doing what: Diocletian Palace Walking Tour and Optional Trip to Trogir

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message