• USD ($)
  • English

Split ATTRACTIONS See all

Temple of Jupiter

A few steps away from the Cathedral of St Dominus and St Duje -- at the end of the street Kraj Sveti Ivan -- is a temple dedicated to Jupiter, named after his father. Roman emperors often made themselves a god. Diocletian was Jovius, son of the ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 10 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

We really "lucked out"....when we went to meet our tour it was only us and the guide. I was surprised it wasn't cancelled. Having our guide all to ourselves was great and she was excellent.

Doing what: Split Shore Excursion: Diocletian Palace and Trogir Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

The palace is amazing with so much preservation for an area that is heavily used. Of course, the weather helps but still, 1,800 years - wow! The tour was good, though I wish it included the basement, but the tour guide was extraordinary. I am embarrassed to admit I do not know his name but he was one of the best we have ever had. The trip to Trogir and the cathedral with the detailed work on the door that the guide explained was a do-not-miss.

Doing what: Diocletian Palace Walking Tour and Optional Trip to Trogir

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2013

The tour is great! Our tour guide was very informative. Prepare to walk a lot. It seems that we crossed the old town area several times in different directions.

Doing what: Split Shore Excursion: Diocletian Palace Walking Tour

3 star rating: Worth doing
September 2013

Tour guide ill prepared because of unfortunate fall experienced by her mother. Will no doubt provide better service when less stressed. She did what she could in difficult circumstances

Doing what: Diocletian Palace Walking Tour and Optional Trip to Trogir

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
September 2013

Oh MY! Tour group was too big. No headphones/microphones, which would have helped. Site was crowded and difficult to hear or keep up with the "run" through it. People started peeling off until we were down to maybe a dozen; which was almost manageable. Tour guide was not unfriendly, but a bit indifferent. Worst part was on the bus to and from the second site. At beginning of bus-ride we were asked if the temperature was comfortable. We asked that it be cooler; although the AC was apparently on, it didn't seem to be working properly. The guide then proceeded to speak to the bus driver which quickly devolved into a somewhat heated argument. Very unprofessional. The bus did not get cooler. We all suffered in silence until our arrival. While at the second site; minimal attempts were made by the tour guide to assist in locating a restroom before re-embarking. It all seemed to be too much trouble. Upon entering the bus for the return trip it became apparent why the AC had not been working properly as the bus driver had both his front windows open the entire time. When a request was made of the guide to have the driver close the windows, she declined to do so and indicated that it was useless to ask as he would not comply. Again a silent unbearably hot bus-trip back. Since we were assured of an air-conditioned bus, we were gravely disappointed. To summarize: It was awful from start to finish.

Doing what: Split Shore Excursion: Diocletian Palace and Trogir Tour

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
August 2013

Our guide was very knowledgeable but without whispers we could not hear her, she was also soft spoken. Also this was billed as an air conditioned bus to the second stop. If it was air conditioned the driver chose not to use it. Many complained about the lack of air conditioning on this tour. All in all, pretty disappointed in this tour.

Doing what: Diocletian Palace Walking Tour and Optional Trip to Trogir

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2013

The guide was excellent! Very professional and knowledgeable.

Doing what: Diocletian Palace Walking Tour and Optional Trip to Trogir

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
July 2013

Not too bad, but the tour guide left without us even though we got there on time, so we had to phone someone to come and help us find the group...admittedly the place was extremely crowded, but she should have waited.

Doing what: Split Shore Excursion: Diocletian Palace and Trogir Tour

3 star rating: Worth doing
June 2013

Was just OK- a good way to see the Palace area but felt rushed (our guide only spent less than an hour) and didn't include anything like the bell tower or the cellars tour.

Doing what: Diocletian Palace Walking Tour and Optional Trip to Trogir

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message