Split ATTRACTIONS See all

Temple of Jupiter

A few steps away from the Cathedral of St Dominus and St Duje -- at the end of the street Kraj Sveti Ivan -- is a temple dedicated to Jupiter, named after his father. Roman emperors often made themselves a god. Diocletian was Jovius, son of the ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 19 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

Great tour. Only 4 people in the group. Marija the tour guide was exceptional.

Doing what: Diocletian Palace Walking Tour and Optional Trip to Trogir

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

We did the Palace Walking Tour and the optional Trip to Trojir. We had a group of 12 for the palace tour and then a group of 6 for the trip to Trojir. Our guide, Marija, was very knowledgeable and helpful (she even took the time to assist someone not in our tour). You could walk the Palace on your own, but we find the experience so much richer with a guide who explains the history and significance of the sights you are seeing. I would recommend the trip to Trojir – it is absolutely beautiful and it is a very comfortable trip in a large, air conditioned van. Marija even stayed after the tour to help translate for us when we went to the local pharmacy. What a wonderful guide! Most places didn’t take Euro, so be sure to pick up some Kuna.

Doing what: Diocletian Palace Walking Tour and Optional Trip to Trogir

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2014

We had already visited Trogir so didn't do this part of the tour but if you haven't been there, do go. It's beautiful. Tour of palace very good, knowledgable guide. We booked it for a Friday. If possible, book got a different day when tour starts earlier as the area gets very crowded as the day goes on.

Doing what: Diocletian Palace Walking Tour and Optional Trip to Trogir

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

Being the only person on this tour afforded me such a personal experience. It is always nice to learn of the facts behind what you see!

Doing what: Diocletian Palace Walking Tour and Optional Trip to Trogir

3 star rating: Worth doing
September 2014

Tour was shorter then stated.

Doing what: Diocletian Palace Walking Tour and Optional Trip to Trogir

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

This tour was fantastic! Our guide Iris was extremely knowledgeable and very sweet! We learned a lot and thoroughly enjoyed the tour.

Doing what: Diocletian Palace Walking Tour and Optional Trip to Trogir

Susan M
Australia

3 star rating: Worth doing
June 2014

More like 3.5 actually; it was a hot day in Split and we also thought the Tour was for 2hrs (we only did 1.5 hrs which was sufficient in any case).

Doing what: Diocletian Palace Walking Tour and Optional Trip to Trogir

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
April 2014

Not really worth the money. A good guide book and a map will do much the same thing.

Doing what: Diocletian Palace Walking Tour and Optional Trip to Trogir

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
April 2014

The tour was on a Friday which means it's at 12:00pm instead of 10:am, so we arrive at 11:50, wait 1/2 hour call the contact number they say they forgot about the time change for Fridays and will have somewhere within 1/2hour, so we waited. Finally a nice lady shows up. She was so boring , she stood in one place in from of a map for 20 minutes talking about the history of the palace. Yes we did want history but she made it beyond boring. After 1 hour an 20 minutes thank god the tour was over. It was cut short short, so not worth the money.

Doing what: Diocletian Palace Walking Tour and Optional Trip to Trogir

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

We really "lucked out"....when we went to meet our tour it was only us and the guide. I was surprised it wasn't cancelled. Having our guide all to ourselves was great and she was excellent.

Doing what: Split Shore Excursion: Diocletian Palace and Trogir Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

The palace is amazing with so much preservation for an area that is heavily used. Of course, the weather helps but still, 1,800 years - wow! The tour was good, though I wish it included the basement, but the tour guide was extraordinary. I am embarrassed to admit I do not know his name but he was one of the best we have ever had. The trip to Trogir and the cathedral with the detailed work on the door that the guide explained was a do-not-miss.

Doing what: Diocletian Palace Walking Tour and Optional Trip to Trogir

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2013

The tour is great! Our tour guide was very informative. Prepare to walk a lot. It seems that we crossed the old town area several times in different directions.

Doing what: Split Shore Excursion: Diocletian Palace Walking Tour

3 star rating: Worth doing
September 2013

Tour guide ill prepared because of unfortunate fall experienced by her mother. Will no doubt provide better service when less stressed. She did what she could in difficult circumstances

Doing what: Diocletian Palace Walking Tour and Optional Trip to Trogir

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
September 2013

Oh MY! Tour group was too big. No headphones/microphones, which would have helped. Site was crowded and difficult to hear or keep up with the "run" through it. People started peeling off until we were down to maybe a dozen; which was almost manageable. Tour guide was not unfriendly, but a bit indifferent. Worst part was on the bus to and from the second site. At beginning of bus-ride we were asked if the temperature was comfortable. We asked that it be cooler; although the AC was apparently on, it didn't seem to be working properly. The guide then proceeded to speak to the bus driver which quickly devolved into a somewhat heated argument. Very unprofessional. The bus did not get cooler. We all suffered in silence until our arrival. While at the second site; minimal attempts were made by the tour guide to assist in locating a restroom before re-embarking. It all seemed to be too much trouble. Upon entering the bus for the return trip it became apparent why the AC had not been working properly as the bus driver had both his front windows open the entire time. When a request was made of the guide to have the driver close the windows, she declined to do so and indicated that it was useless to ask as he would not comply. Again a silent unbearably hot bus-trip back. Since we were assured of an air-conditioned bus, we were gravely disappointed. To summarize: It was awful from start to finish.

Doing what: Split Shore Excursion: Diocletian Palace and Trogir Tour

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message