Split ATTRACTIONS See all

Temple of Jupiter

A few steps away from the Cathedral of St Dominus and St Duje -- at the end of the street Kraj Sveti Ivan -- is a temple dedicated to Jupiter, named after his father. Roman emperors often made themselves a god. Diocletian was Jovius, son of the ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 53 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Donna H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Great tour and excellent tour guide!

Doing what: Split Shore Excursion: Diocletian Palace and Trogir Tour

klbasque

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

We had a great time on this tour! We loved all the history and culture of this city. Our guide was very familiar with all the buildings, structures and statues. She knew her history and never hesitated to answer our questions. There was a nice balance between guided tour and free time, which we used to enjoy a wonderful meal in a restaurant in Trogir. There really is far too much to see and learn about Croatian history to try and navigate on your own, no regrets on booking this one!

Doing what: Diocletian Palace Walking Tour and Optional Trip to Trogir

Leisha M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

A Wonderful tour. Great way to learn about both the Diocletian Palace and visit the fabulous town of Trogir. Our guide, Damir, was very knowledgeable and had a great sense of humor. Highly recommend adding Trogir to the trip. A very pleasant day. Just the right length we had time to relax and walk around Split when the tour was over.

Doing what: Diocletian Palace Walking Tour and Optional Trip to Trogir

Nuria G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Our guide Ines was lovely and very knowledgeable. I didn't book the trip to Trogir and she gave me loads of tips on what to do in and around Diocletian Palace after the walking tour.

Doing what: Diocletian Palace Walking Tour and Optional Trip to Trogir

Vanessa L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Anna was a great guide, told us plenty of interesting stories about the palace and the old town, which brought it's ancient history to life. We ended up having a private tour too which was great. Thanks Anna!

Doing what: Diocletian Palace Walking Tour and Optional Trip to Trogir

Lisa T

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2016

Our Guide Harris was very well informed and provided excellent information whilst ensuring we saw as much as possible.He was happy to answer questions as we walked through and was flexible as we were the only 2 for the Trogir part of the tour - the tour itself was a pleasant one and the island of Trogir was a gorgeous village .

Doing what: Split Shore Excursion: Diocletian Palace and Trogir Tour

Ronald S

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2016

Only three of us on the tour so the individual attention was great. Tour guide was knowledgeable and friendly.

Doing what: Diocletian Palace Walking Tour and Optional Trip to Trogir

Monica m

3 star rating: Worth doing
June 2016

Good guide and informational. There were just a ton of tours happening and the guides where dodging each other. Worth doing if you have the extra time in the city.

Doing what: Diocletian Palace Walking Tour and Optional Trip to Trogir

Judith W

3 star rating: Worth doing
June 2016

There was confusion finding Dragan the guide to start as the instructions were wrong and we had to ring the local office. Another couple had the same issue, who couldn and #39;t find their guide, so they joined us. Dragan didnt apologise. Once the tour started it was ok. Not as good as previous viator tours.

Doing what: Diocletian Palace Walking Tour and Optional Trip to Trogir

Lori

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

Tour guide was great and full of information. This was a great excursion!

Doing what: Split Shore Excursion: Diocletian Palace and Trogir Tour

Liesl G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

Wonderful. Interesting. Just great.

Doing what: Diocletian Palace Walking Tour and Optional Trip to Trogir

Mary L M

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2016

very informative ,tour guide was excellent .

Doing what: Split Shore Excursion: Diocletian Palace and Trogir Tour

Suzanne H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

My husband and I thoroughly enjoyed our walk through Split and tour to Trogir. Our delightful guide was very knowledgable about the history of both towns but was also willing to share her personal experiences and those of her family over recent years. Even though it was a wet day we hardly noticed as it was such a good tour and we would thoroughly recommend it.

Doing what: Diocletian Palace Walking Tour and Optional Trip to Trogir

Jacqueline T

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

Very interesting and informative. Lovely guide , Damir . Great to understand some of the history and culture of Split and Trogir is a must see.

Doing what: Diocletian Palace Walking Tour and Optional Trip to Trogir

Curtis R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

This was a great tour! Our guide was very thorough and took us all around the place and gave us a lot of great historical information. I highly recommend this tour.

Doing what: Split Shore Excursion: Diocletian Palace and Trogir Tour

Suzanne H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

My husband and I enjoyed a wonderful tour of the Palace and trip to Trogir in a friendly small group today. Even a rainy day did not spoil the experience and our wonderful guide added so much personal warmth and really helped us to understand not only the ancient history of this beautiful country and region but also the much more recent experiences they have faced. We would thoroughly recommend this tour and especially the extra trip to Trogir which is a real little gem!

Doing what: Diocletian Palace Walking Tour and Optional Trip to Trogir

jloeff9069

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

Unfortunately our tour in Split was not as nice a I had hoped because it rained the entire day. No fault of our tour guide Ana she did a wonderful job considering the conditions. She tried to keep us as dry as possible and still tell us about the history of Split. Would really like to compliment her and also her driver Misha. Both very personable and knowledgeable about the Croatia.

Thank you,

Hilde and John Loeffler

Doing what: Split Shore Excursion: Diocletian Palace and Trogir Tour

Robert W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

Tamara, our guide was excellent. She knows her history and made it interesting. You can tell she likes her job. Does it well and very personable. Top marks from us.

Doing what: Diocletian Palace Walking Tour and Optional Trip to Trogir

lynda b

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

Very interesting tour with a guide who was passionate about Split. Our Guide sorry I cannot remember her name took her time explaining the history of Diocletions Palace that it almost came to life. We were a small group of 6 which made it easier. The only minus which was no fault of our guide, was that there were 2 cruise ships docked and a lot of different groups doing tours which some times got in each others way. Other wise, well worth it and highly recommended.

Doing what: Diocletian Palace Walking Tour and Optional Trip to Trogir

BRADLEY D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

Our tour guide Dimar was great. Very easy to understand and personable. Answered all questions.

Doing what: Split Shore Excursion: Diocletian Palace and Trogir Tour

Helen M

3 star rating: Worth doing
October 2015

Guide was humourous and endearing. It would have been good to have had more historical fact or fiction about the palace.

Doing what: Diocletian Palace Walking Tour and Optional Trip to Trogir

Kathryn F

3 star rating: Worth doing
October 2015

This tour would have been better if it was longer and included access to some of the places shown from the outside. The history of the city was interesting but that same time spent in the more famous buildings such as the Baptistry and the underground part would have brought it to life.

Doing what: Diocletian Palace Walking Tour and Optional Trip to Trogir

Ann R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

Our whole family really loved our visit to Diocletian's Palace on August 22 and the tour which the guide gave us. She was warm and welcoming to us all and considerate to the 4 children 9-13. She began by showing us the map/plan of the Palace and this was a great help to our understanding of the overall layout. She then led us more and more from the underground areas to the upper floors and timed the ending dramatically with the scene at 12 noon when 'Diocletian' addressed the crowd outside the central Temple. Thank you so much !

Doing what: Diocletian Palace Walking Tour and Optional Trip to Trogir

Adam B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

Found the tour very interesting, the guide was really friendly and spoke good English. There was only 4 of us on the morning tour so we got plenty of opportunity for questions etc.

Doing what: Diocletian Palace Walking Tour and Optional Trip to Trogir

Kay L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

our tour guide was just lovely, one of our party was late because they were parking the car, and the guide VERY kindly waited with us outside the palace.Sorry have forgotten the guides name but she had lots of interesting stuff to tell us about the area and some great information.This tour is a must to get information at the beginning of your holiday in Split. We have used this company before and they have always been excellent.

Doing what: Diocletian Palace Walking Tour and Optional Trip to Trogir

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message