Split ATTRACTIONS See all

Temple of Jupiter

A few steps away from the Cathedral of St Dominus and St Duje -- at the end of the street Kraj Sveti Ivan -- is a temple dedicated to Jupiter, named after his father. Roman emperors often made themselves a god. Diocletian was Jovius, son of the ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 44 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Lori

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

Tour guide was great and full of information. This was a great excursion!

Doing what: Split Shore Excursion: Diocletian Palace and Trogir Tour

Liesl G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

Wonderful. Interesting. Just great.

Doing what: Diocletian Palace Walking Tour and Optional Trip to Trogir

Mary L M

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2016

very informative ,tour guide was excellent .

Doing what: Split Shore Excursion: Diocletian Palace and Trogir Tour

Suzanne H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

My husband and I thoroughly enjoyed our walk through Split and tour to Trogir. Our delightful guide was very knowledgable about the history of both towns but was also willing to share her personal experiences and those of her family over recent years. Even though it was a wet day we hardly noticed as it was such a good tour and we would thoroughly recommend it.

Doing what: Diocletian Palace Walking Tour and Optional Trip to Trogir

Jacqueline T

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

Very interesting and informative. Lovely guide , Damir . Great to understand some of the history and culture of Split and Trogir is a must see.

Doing what: Diocletian Palace Walking Tour and Optional Trip to Trogir

Curtis R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

This was a great tour! Our guide was very thorough and took us all around the place and gave us a lot of great historical information. I highly recommend this tour.

Doing what: Split Shore Excursion: Diocletian Palace and Trogir Tour

Suzanne H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

My husband and I enjoyed a wonderful tour of the Palace and trip to Trogir in a friendly small group today. Even a rainy day did not spoil the experience and our wonderful guide added so much personal warmth and really helped us to understand not only the ancient history of this beautiful country and region but also the much more recent experiences they have faced. We would thoroughly recommend this tour and especially the extra trip to Trogir which is a real little gem!

Doing what: Diocletian Palace Walking Tour and Optional Trip to Trogir

jloeff9069

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

Unfortunately our tour in Split was not as nice a I had hoped because it rained the entire day. No fault of our tour guide Ana she did a wonderful job considering the conditions. She tried to keep us as dry as possible and still tell us about the history of Split. Would really like to compliment her and also her driver Misha. Both very personable and knowledgeable about the Croatia.

Thank you,

Hilde and John Loeffler

Doing what: Split Shore Excursion: Diocletian Palace and Trogir Tour

Robert W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

Tamara, our guide was excellent. She knows her history and made it interesting. You can tell she likes her job. Does it well and very personable. Top marks from us.

Doing what: Diocletian Palace Walking Tour and Optional Trip to Trogir

lynda b

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

Very interesting tour with a guide who was passionate about Split. Our Guide sorry I cannot remember her name took her time explaining the history of Diocletions Palace that it almost came to life. We were a small group of 6 which made it easier. The only minus which was no fault of our guide, was that there were 2 cruise ships docked and a lot of different groups doing tours which some times got in each others way. Other wise, well worth it and highly recommended.

Doing what: Diocletian Palace Walking Tour and Optional Trip to Trogir

BRADLEY D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

Our tour guide Dimar was great. Very easy to understand and personable. Answered all questions.

Doing what: Split Shore Excursion: Diocletian Palace and Trogir Tour

Helen M

3 star rating: Worth doing
October 2015

Guide was humourous and endearing. It would have been good to have had more historical fact or fiction about the palace.

Doing what: Diocletian Palace Walking Tour and Optional Trip to Trogir

Kathryn F

3 star rating: Worth doing
October 2015

This tour would have been better if it was longer and included access to some of the places shown from the outside. The history of the city was interesting but that same time spent in the more famous buildings such as the Baptistry and the underground part would have brought it to life.

Doing what: Diocletian Palace Walking Tour and Optional Trip to Trogir

Ann R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

Our whole family really loved our visit to Diocletian's Palace on August 22 and the tour which the guide gave us. She was warm and welcoming to us all and considerate to the 4 children 9-13. She began by showing us the map/plan of the Palace and this was a great help to our understanding of the overall layout. She then led us more and more from the underground areas to the upper floors and timed the ending dramatically with the scene at 12 noon when 'Diocletian' addressed the crowd outside the central Temple. Thank you so much !

Doing what: Diocletian Palace Walking Tour and Optional Trip to Trogir

Adam B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

Found the tour very interesting, the guide was really friendly and spoke good English. There was only 4 of us on the morning tour so we got plenty of opportunity for questions etc.

Doing what: Diocletian Palace Walking Tour and Optional Trip to Trogir

Kay L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

our tour guide was just lovely, one of our party was late because they were parking the car, and the guide VERY kindly waited with us outside the palace.Sorry have forgotten the guides name but she had lots of interesting stuff to tell us about the area and some great information.This tour is a must to get information at the beginning of your holiday in Split. We have used this company before and they have always been excellent.

Doing what: Diocletian Palace Walking Tour and Optional Trip to Trogir

Debra H

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2015

Great Tour. Iris our guide was very pleasant and knowledgeable. We took this tour for the opportunity to not only see Diocletian's Palace but Trogir as well. We enjoyed the trip down to Trogir. We only had 45 minutes in Trogir to eat, go to the bathroom, look around and shop-just too short! We had no time to look around the medevil part of Split. I would rate this tour a 5 if it was a little longer. It was very hot in Europe when we were there and Iris gave us the opportunity to get dropped off at the ship or the town. Everyone chose the town. If heat weren't an issue getting dropped off in town would give you the opportunity to visit the old town, but it just wasn't an option for us. I would recommend this tour.

Doing what: Split Shore Excursion: Diocletian Palace and Trogir Tour

Helen J

3 star rating: Worth doing
August 2015

Very informative and amazing guide. Highly recommend the optional trip to Trogir if you have time. SAme guide with private a/c van. Just the 4 of us again. Enjoyed the specialised service from the guide.

Doing what: Diocletian Palace Walking Tour and Optional Trip to Trogir

Ed United States of ... 

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Guide was very professional and informative. He spent time answering all the questions. Would use these folks again. They were a good alterative to the higher priced tours offered on our ship,

Doing what: Split Shore Excursion: Diocletian Palace and Trogir Tour

lilev

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Saw alot in short period of time. I would go back

Doing what: Split Shore Excursion: Diocletian Palace and Trogir Tour

lizjord

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Guide was just excellent. Knowledgable and loved his city

Doing what: Diocletian Palace Walking Tour and Optional Trip to Trogir

Jaime S

3 star rating: Worth doing
June 2015

This tour is extremely confusing with adding the optional to Trogir. I wasn't going there and indicated so but the tour guide had me booked to go and had a vehicle ready to take me. There isn't really anywhere to indicate you don't want that portion. The actual walking tour is only 1 hour, not 2 and doesn't go into the cellars. I went myself afterwards just wandering around as I had no idea what anything was. I'd recommend they add part of the cellars with the tour and make Trogir a totally separate tour. Knowledgeable guide on this very short tour.

Doing what: Diocletian Palace Walking Tour and Optional Trip to Trogir

David S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

Our tour guide was very knowledgable and relaxed with our children. She was very proud of her beautiful country and was a pleasure to spend the day with. Her English was perfect. We had a lovely day.

Doing what: Diocletian Palace Walking Tour and Optional Trip to Trogir

Gill O

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
February 2015

Just felt this tour was a complete waste of money, We found it boring and overpriced the worst decision of our cruise was to pay for this, could easily have done it ourselves and learnt just as much.

Doing what: Diocletian Palace Walking Tour and Optional Trip to Trogir

Carol B

4 star rating: Recommended
November 2014

NOt anything like I expected, but a lovely day in Split.

Doing what: Split Shore Excursion: Diocletian Palace Walking Tour

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message