Split is known as a transportation hub for the Dalmatian Coast, but has quickly become a pop ular travel destination in its own right beyond a one - or two-night stopover. The heart of the city is the historic Diocletian's Palace, which is ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 28 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

Had a great small group tour around the Marjan peninsular. The group moved at a nice pace, less pressure to keep up compared to kayaking tours we've had elsewhere. In retrospect there was no real safety briefing beforehand but the water was very calm. Take your own water with you.

Doing what: Kayaking Tour from Split: Marjan Peninsula, Ciovo or Hvar Islands

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

Great two hour tour which covered 20km - was just us as a couple so the guide tailored the route to our capabilities. The route included the journey to the top of the Marjan Peninsula - which did include some bike pushing for us! The downhill route was great fun and overall the trip allowed us to see this beautiful part of the city in more detail.

Doing what: Split Bike Tour: City Highlights by Standard or Electric Bike

Peter D
Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

If you love history you will love this tour! Mya our guide has a wealth of knowledge about the Diocletian's Palace and Split itself. We roamed around the palace and old town taking in the amazing history and soaking up the atmosphere. This was all topped off with lunch at a local cafe, The Olive, where we enjoyed some traditional food and a glass of wine. A great afternoon had by all!

Doing what: Split Walking Tour Including Diocletian's Palace and Traditional Lunch

4 star rating: Recommended
May 2015

Knowledgable tour around a number of the filming locations - rated as four star only in comparison to the Dubrovnik tour which was one of the best tours we've been on. The Split tour was a lot better than the Northern Ireland GoT tour.

Doing what: Viator Exclusive: 'Game of Thrones' Tour in Split

4 star rating: Recommended
May 2015

This was a fun outing. Our captain was very enjoyable, funny, and personable. He did a good job, especially considering the windy conditions on the day we sailed. The stop at Palmižana was nice. One disappointment was we were looking forward to the swimming and snorkeling aspect of the trip, but with the cloudy day and winds, this was skipped entirely. I wish that we had been notified ahead of time that there was a chance of not swimming/snorkeling because we would have brought different stuff with us in our daypacks.

One other minor complaint is that the description of this tour shows the duration at approximately 8 hours. Our trip was closer to 12 hours. We met a company representative at 8AM in Split and returned to Split at about 7:45PM. The long time was mainly because we had to take slow car ferry to Stari Grad instead of one of the faster catamarans. Perhaps the catamarans run later in the season and make it a faster trip where the 8 hour estimate is more accurate.

Doing what: Split Sailing Adventure

3 star rating: Worth doing
May 2015

Overall the cruise was good. We enjoyed the island stops, the boat was nice and clean, and the crew was wonderful. It was supposed to be an independent cruise but I guess from what I heard from the crew, having a tour manager on board was something new this year. The tour manager 'persuaded' us to join the walking tours at each island stop, for extra charge of course. We were told it's optional, however if the minimum number of participants is not met, the tours will have to be cancelled. It was not in our plan but we ended up going as we felt bad for those who wanted to go. It would not have been a big deal but the quality of the tour was just so-so... I wish we were informed about this upfront or should just have included it in the total price of the cruise so there are no surprises.

Doing what: 7-Night Independent Adriatic Cruise from Split: Hvar, Korcula, Dubrovnik, Elaphiti Islands, Mljet and Slano

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
May 2015

This tour never happened. We will not be paying for this - what a scam

Doing what: Split Walking Tour Including Diocletian's Palace and Traditional Lunch

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2014

Great tour!! There aren't as many filming locations as there are in the Dubrovnik GoT tour but this tour is a great way to get a good introduction to Split at the same time as getting your GoT fix.

Doing what: Viator Exclusive: 'Game of Thrones' Tour in Split

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

We had a great tour experience. We easily found our guide and were all driven to the fortress in a very nice van. The tour of the fortress was excellent and it was fun to see the locations there that were used in the show. The tour of the palace was also excellent and interesting. Our tour guide was excited to share everything with us, was very informative and well prepared. I would recommend this tour to anyone who is a GoT fan.

Doing what: Viator Exclusive: 'Game of Thrones' Tour in Split

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

Wonderful from start to finish! Our guide Nives was terrific - she covered history, architecture, food, people, could answer every question and was indefatigable, not to mention a lot of fun. The wine tasting was a perfect end to our rambling walkabout, and the Dalmatian cheese platter was delicious. If you want to put what you're seeing walking the streets of Split into any kind of context, you should book this tour.

Doing what: Split Wine Tasting and Evening Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

The 7 night cruise Split to Split is highly recommended. Visited a different island each day arriving around 3-4pm enough time to explore the town before dinner. Meals were excellent and gave a good taste of the local Croatian cuisine, thanks Denis! All the staff very attentive and helpful, thanks Tom

Doing what: 7-Night Independent Adriatic Cruise from Split: Hvar, Korcula, Dubrovnik, Elaphiti Islands, Mljet and Slano

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2014

We enjoyed the bike tour and views of Split. We over slept our time to be there and they were very accommodating to make sure we did not lose our money and still got our bike tour. Would use again.

Doing what: Split Bike Tour: City Highlights by Standard or Electric Bike

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2014

We really enjoyed the tour . The hotels were good as were the forms of transport. The tour leaders in Split and Hvar were excellent. The driver to Dubrovnik was excellent too. We were not picked up at KORCULA island at 9pm on the Sunday night as promised and had to find our own way to the hotel pulling our bags in the dark and we would have appreciated a more personal tour of Dubrovnik maybe at a less busy time, perhaps in the afternoon. The tour leader was nice but she had to wait around for cruise people and there were too many in the group .Many thanks for providing this tour, Wendy and Frank Wilkinson.

Doing what: 8-Day Independent Dalmatian Coast Tour from Split: Hvar, Korcula and Dubrovnik

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

Good value for money. The itinerary is very well planned and combines smaller with bigger villages, natural parks and coastline. The food onboard was delicious, freshly cooked every day, and a great opportunity to try local delicacies. The crew also caters for food intolerance and provides alternative options. The accommodation was comfortable, and the sailing smooth and easy. Overall a very nice experience; I would do it again!

Doing what: 7-Night Independent Adriatic Cruise from Split: Hvar, Korcula, Dubrovnik, Elaphiti Islands, Mljet and Slano

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

Amazing tour! It was so much fun, the instructor was very helpful and fun guy. We went to a private beach whih was very special. Would do it again. The only thing I would say is that the instructor could have informed us of any pain and how to avoid it from the beginning. Other than that, brill!

Doing what: Kayaking Tour from Split: Marjan Peninsula, Ciovo or Hvar Islands

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2014

Very informative. The guide was very nice. Certain areas cannot be photographed.

Doing what: Viator Exclusive: 'Game of Thrones' Tour in Split

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
September 2014

This tour did not happen. Went to meeting place and no one met us.

Doing what: Split Wine Tasting and Evening Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

The whole trip was a positive experience! Beautiful scenery and a very safe journey down the river. Our tour guides were extremely helpful and kept us safe throughout. Would not hesitate to recommend this trip to family and friends!

Doing what: Cetina River Rafting Adventure from Split

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

we attended on the 16th, a great experience, lined on the water and beautiful landscapes, professional guides.

Doing what: Kayaking Tour from Split: Marjan Peninsula, Ciovo or Hvar Islands

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

Fantastic, Sylvia our guide was informative and fun. A great way to see Split and surrounding parklands, the electric bike made the hills so much easier and allowed us to see so much more. This tour gives you a completely different view of split. Highly recommended and loads of fun. Little tricky in finding the bike shop so dont leave it to the last minute like we did.

Doing what: Split Bike Tour: City Highlights by Standard or Electric Bike

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

This might have been THE highlight of a vacation filled with highlights for my family and me. We chose electric bikes and Antu, our guide, made the best of everything! We saw Split and views from Split we could never have without this fabulous tour! Thanks, Antu! You're the best!

Doing what: Split Bike Tour: City Highlights by Standard or Electric Bike

3 star rating: Worth doing
July 2014

For all of you wondering who runs this tour, it's a company called Elite. It appears that they subcontract with individual boat captains so you may not know what boat you'll be on until the last moment. They also use a variety of travel agents to book this tour. Unfortunately, because there are so many people booking and coordinating this trip, there is a lot of misinformation out there about the price, schedule, and timing of this tour. Make sure you confirm start time with the travel agent who emails you. Of the 38 passengers on board, we were all told different start times ranging from 11 am until 5 pm. The reality is that Elite allows the passengers to dictate when this tour leaves by being flexible on arrival times. This means you could be stuck in Split for a lot longer than you want. Don't arrive early. Despite what is publicized, the boat returns to Split by 1:30 on Friday and you overnight in Split harbor. Return flights can be booked for any time on Saturday - no need to add an extra day to accommodate an unknown arrival time. Viator's price included three meals a day. Not all passengers are required to pay for full board, so look around if you're interested in just half board. I would recommend half board. The food is plentiful but very average. The boat can accommodate dietary restrictions but confirm multiple times in writing. My biggest tip - force the crew to give you information about the schedule. The crew can and will vary the stops depending on the demands of the passengers. Unfortunately, the changes are not made democratically and you may not even be aware that you had options before changes are made. If you want the publicized intenerary - make sure you say so. Communication is weak on both Elite's and the crew's part. We didn't see a representative from Elite until Wednesday, and even then she showed up unprepared.

We sailed on the Mb Nikola. The boat is clean, but old. This is not a luxury cruise so manage your expectations accordingly.

Doing what: 7-Night Independent Adriatic Cruise from Split: Hvar, Korcula, Dubrovnik, Elaphiti Islands, Mljet and Slano

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

After booking the Split half day tour - we were contacted to take a half day sailing from Hvar instead as there was no longer the Split sail available. This turned out to be fine although there were a number of last minute changes. Since we were staying in Split, it meant however that we couldn't get back to the mainland until quite late - which we weren't informed about until we got to Hvar. So a little disorganised.
But the actual sailing trip was magnificent! Beautiful day for sailing, got the learn the ropes with the lovely and friendly crew members; who provided wine, crackers and Croatian music :)
Great way to get a taste of what sailing is like! We stopped in a gorgeous bay for a (chilly!) swim and relax. The day turned out to be the highlight of the trip. My only advice is wear a LOT of sunscreen!

Doing what: Split Sailing Adventure

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2014

Very well organized! This independent tour was a great way to see these beautiful places in the Dalmatian coast. Every transfer arrived and departured on time, as per schedule, every walking tour was done by a very professional guide (Iris in Split, Nikol in Hvar, and Ivanna in Dubrovnik). Each hotel was located at walking distances from the old town. The time spent at each place was perfect, with more free time allocated to the towns with more choices/activities to do. It was perfect to have walking tours and then time to wander by ourselves or to find other activities to do, like visiting museums or go for wine tours or to enjoy relaxing time at the restaurants located at the beautiful plazas/seaside on these incredible towns. Highly recommended.

Doing what: 8-Day Independent Dalmatian Coast Tour from Split: Hvar, Korcula and Dubrovnik

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2014

What a wonderful evening. Our guide Nieves (I hope I am spelling this correctly) took us to the top of Marjan Hill. We really got to see how people live - not just the harbor or the palace. Also some great photo ops. Then onto our wine tasting. So professional and well done. Some great Croatian wines and some wonderful snacks as well. Highly recommend this tour.

Doing what: Split Wine Tasting and Evening Walking Tour

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message