Split is known as a transportation hub for the Dalmatian Coast, but has quickly become a pop ular travel destination in its own right beyond a one - or two-night stopover. The heart of the city is the historic Diocletian's Palace, which is ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 13 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

The whole trip was a positive experience! Beautiful scenery and a very safe journey down the river. Our tour guides were extremely helpful and kept us safe throughout. Would not hesitate to recommend this trip to family and friends!

Doing what: Cetina River Rafting Adventure from Split

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

The whole trip was a positive experience! Beautiful scenery and a very safe journey down the river. Our tour guides were extremely helpful and kept us safe throughout. Would not hesitate to recommend this trip to family and friends!

Doing what: Cetina River Rafting Adventure from Split

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

The whole trip was a positive experience! Beautiful scenery and a very safe journey down the river. Our tour guides were extremely helpful and kept us safe throughout. Would not hesitate to recommend this trip to family and friends!

Doing what: Cetina River Rafting Adventure from Split

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

we attended on the 16th, a great experience, lined on the water and beautiful landscapes, professional guides.

Doing what: Kayaking Tour from Split: Marjan Peninsula, Ciovo or Hvar Islands

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

Fantastic, Sylvia our guide was informative and fun. A great way to see Split and surrounding parklands, the electric bike made the hills so much easier and allowed us to see so much more. This tour gives you a completely different view of split. Highly recommended and loads of fun. Little tricky in finding the bike shop so dont leave it to the last minute like we did.

Doing what: Split Bike Tour: City Highlights by Standard or Electric Bike

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

This might have been THE highlight of a vacation filled with highlights for my family and me. We chose electric bikes and Antu, our guide, made the best of everything! We saw Split and views from Split we could never have without this fabulous tour! Thanks, Antu! You're the best!

Doing what: Split Bike Tour: City Highlights by Standard or Electric Bike

3 star rating: Worth doing
July 2014

For all of you wondering who runs this tour, it's a company called Elite. It appears that they subcontract with individual boat captains so you may not know what boat you'll be on until the last moment. They also use a variety of travel agents to book this tour. Unfortunately, because there are so many people booking and coordinating this trip, there is a lot of misinformation out there about the price, schedule, and timing of this tour. Make sure you confirm start time with the travel agent who emails you. Of the 38 passengers on board, we were all told different start times ranging from 11 am until 5 pm. The reality is that Elite allows the passengers to dictate when this tour leaves by being flexible on arrival times. This means you could be stuck in Split for a lot longer than you want. Don't arrive early. Despite what is publicized, the boat returns to Split by 1:30 on Friday and you overnight in Split harbor. Return flights can be booked for any time on Saturday - no need to add an extra day to accommodate an unknown arrival time. Viator's price included three meals a day. Not all passengers are required to pay for full board, so look around if you're interested in just half board. I would recommend half board. The food is plentiful but very average. The boat can accommodate dietary restrictions but confirm multiple times in writing. My biggest tip - force the crew to give you information about the schedule. The crew can and will vary the stops depending on the demands of the passengers. Unfortunately, the changes are not made democratically and you may not even be aware that you had options before changes are made. If you want the publicized intenerary - make sure you say so. Communication is weak on both Elite's and the crew's part. We didn't see a representative from Elite until Wednesday, and even then she showed up unprepared.

We sailed on the Mb Nikola. The boat is clean, but old. This is not a luxury cruise so manage your expectations accordingly.

Doing what: 7-Night Independent Adriatic Cruise from Split: Hvar, Korcula, Dubrovnik, Elaphiti Islands, Mljet and Slano

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

After booking the Split half day tour - we were contacted to take a half day sailing from Hvar instead as there was no longer the Split sail available. This turned out to be fine although there were a number of last minute changes. Since we were staying in Split, it meant however that we couldn't get back to the mainland until quite late - which we weren't informed about until we got to Hvar. So a little disorganised.
But the actual sailing trip was magnificent! Beautiful day for sailing, got the learn the ropes with the lovely and friendly crew members; who provided wine, crackers and Croatian music :)
Great way to get a taste of what sailing is like! We stopped in a gorgeous bay for a (chilly!) swim and relax. The day turned out to be the highlight of the trip. My only advice is wear a LOT of sunscreen!

Doing what: Split Sailing Adventure

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2014

Very well organized! This independent tour was a great way to see these beautiful places in the Dalmatian coast. Every transfer arrived and departured on time, as per schedule, every walking tour was done by a very professional guide (Iris in Split, Nikol in Hvar, and Ivanna in Dubrovnik). Each hotel was located at walking distances from the old town. The time spent at each place was perfect, with more free time allocated to the towns with more choices/activities to do. It was perfect to have walking tours and then time to wander by ourselves or to find other activities to do, like visiting museums or go for wine tours or to enjoy relaxing time at the restaurants located at the beautiful plazas/seaside on these incredible towns. Highly recommended.

Doing what: 8-Day Independent Dalmatian Coast Tour from Split: Hvar, Korcula and Dubrovnik

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2014

What a wonderful evening. Our guide Nieves (I hope I am spelling this correctly) took us to the top of Marjan Hill. We really got to see how people live - not just the harbor or the palace. Also some great photo ops. Then onto our wine tasting. So professional and well done. Some great Croatian wines and some wonderful snacks as well. Highly recommend this tour.

Doing what: Split Wine Tasting and Evening Walking Tour

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2013

This is ideal for travellers who want everything organised for them end-to-end... from the moment you land at the airport, to all the hotel transfers, ferry trips between islands, city tours and final transfer back to the airport. All inclusive, no hassles. They also leave a message at your hotel with regards to the pick up time the next day to the next destination. Really very organised and punctual.

The downside is the hotel selection. Our first hotel in Split (Hotel Globo) was in the middle nowhere, surrounded by empty carparks and ugly concrete, desserted buildings. Even the surrounding cafes/restaurants were depressingly empty. It is about 15 mins to the beautiful part of town, the real Split that visitors paid to see.

The subsequent hotels were also just average. Our Dubrovnik hotel (Hotel Lero) was a good 20 minutes walk to town. Getting back was an uphill battle, quite literally. Only our hotel in Hvar was in a perfect location.

It would be worthwhile if Viator gave the option to upgrade to a more decent place to stay. Alot of travellers want to be in a central location and will be willing to pay more. The convenience of going back to the hotel for a quick change or a nap is not really an easy option.

Doing what: 8-Day Independent Dalmatian Coast Tour from Split: Hvar, Korcula and Dubrovnik

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2013

A relaxing and enjoyable way to visit Croatia. The crew were very attentive, the food was good and the trip ticked all of the boxes.

Doing what: 7-Night Independent Adriatic Cruise from Split: Hvar, Korcula, Dubrovnik, Elaphiti Islands, Mljet and Slano

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2013

This is an amazing trip...they let you go your own way but are always on hand with recommendations if you ask for them. Weather was beautiful and it was so relaxing watching the islands float by while sitting in a recliner on the deck in the shade! The ship is in great shape and the room is small but well-equipped.

Doing what: 7-Night Independent Adriatic Cruise from Split: Hvar, Korcula, Dubrovnik, Elaphiti Islands, Mljet and Slano

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message