• USD ($)
  • English
Split is known as a transportation hub for the Dalmatian Coast, but has quickly become a pop ular travel destination in its own right beyond a one - or two-night stopover. The heart of the city is the historic Diocletian's Palace, which is ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 14 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

Fantastic, Sylvia our guide was informative and fun. A great way to see Split and surrounding parklands, the electric bike made the hills so much easier and allowed us to see so much more. This tour gives you a completely different view of split. Highly recommended and loads of fun. Little tricky in finding the bike shop so dont leave it to the last minute like we did.

Doing what: Split Bike Tour: City Highlights by Standard or Electric Bike

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

This might have been THE highlight of a vacation filled with highlights for my family and me. We chose electric bikes and Antu, our guide, made the best of everything! We saw Split and views from Split we could never have without this fabulous tour! Thanks, Antu! You're the best!

Doing what: Split Bike Tour: City Highlights by Standard or Electric Bike

3 star rating: Worth doing
July 2014

The staff was friendly and personable, but morning pickup from cruise ship dock was late causing us to worry and run off to get wifi to make phone call. Also, the dive site was not great. Not much to see...only very few colorful fish at all

Doing what: Split Shore Excursion: Cetina River White-Water Rafting Adventure from Split

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

After booking the Split half day tour - we were contacted to take a half day sailing from Hvar instead as there was no longer the Split sail available. This turned out to be fine although there were a number of last minute changes. Since we were staying in Split, it meant however that we couldn't get back to the mainland until quite late - which we weren't informed about until we got to Hvar. So a little disorganised.
But the actual sailing trip was magnificent! Beautiful day for sailing, got the learn the ropes with the lovely and friendly crew members; who provided wine, crackers and Croatian music :)
Great way to get a taste of what sailing is like! We stopped in a gorgeous bay for a (chilly!) swim and relax. The day turned out to be the highlight of the trip. My only advice is wear a LOT of sunscreen!

Doing what: Split Sailing Adventure

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2014

Very well organized! This independent tour was a great way to see these beautiful places in the Dalmatian coast. Every transfer arrived and departured on time, as per schedule, every walking tour was done by a very professional guide (Iris in Split, Nikol in Hvar, and Ivanna in Dubrovnik). Each hotel was located at walking distances from the old town. The time spent at each place was perfect, with more free time allocated to the towns with more choices/activities to do. It was perfect to have walking tours and then time to wander by ourselves or to find other activities to do, like visiting museums or go for wine tours or to enjoy relaxing time at the restaurants located at the beautiful plazas/seaside on these incredible towns. Highly recommended.

Doing what: 8-Day Independent Dalmatian Coast Tour from Split: Hvar, Korcula and Dubrovnik

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2014

What a wonderful evening. Our guide Nieves (I hope I am spelling this correctly) took us to the top of Marjan Hill. We really got to see how people live - not just the harbor or the palace. Also some great photo ops. Then onto our wine tasting. So professional and well done. Some great Croatian wines and some wonderful snacks as well. Highly recommend this tour.

Doing what: Split Wine Tasting and Evening Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

We really "lucked out"....when we went to meet our tour it was only us and the guide. I was surprised it wasn't cancelled. Having our guide all to ourselves was great and she was excellent.

Doing what: Split Shore Excursion: Diocletian Palace and Trogir Tour

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2013

This is ideal for travellers who want everything organised for them end-to-end... from the moment you land at the airport, to all the hotel transfers, ferry trips between islands, city tours and final transfer back to the airport. All inclusive, no hassles. They also leave a message at your hotel with regards to the pick up time the next day to the next destination. Really very organised and punctual.

The downside is the hotel selection. Our first hotel in Split (Hotel Globo) was in the middle nowhere, surrounded by empty carparks and ugly concrete, desserted buildings. Even the surrounding cafes/restaurants were depressingly empty. It is about 15 mins to the beautiful part of town, the real Split that visitors paid to see.

The subsequent hotels were also just average. Our Dubrovnik hotel (Hotel Lero) was a good 20 minutes walk to town. Getting back was an uphill battle, quite literally. Only our hotel in Hvar was in a perfect location.

It would be worthwhile if Viator gave the option to upgrade to a more decent place to stay. Alot of travellers want to be in a central location and will be willing to pay more. The convenience of going back to the hotel for a quick change or a nap is not really an easy option.

Doing what: 8-Day Independent Dalmatian Coast Tour from Split: Hvar, Korcula and Dubrovnik

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2013

The tour is great! Our tour guide was very informative. Prepare to walk a lot. It seems that we crossed the old town area several times in different directions.

Doing what: Split Shore Excursion: Diocletian Palace Walking Tour

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
September 2013

Oh MY! Tour group was too big. No headphones/microphones, which would have helped. Site was crowded and difficult to hear or keep up with the "run" through it. People started peeling off until we were down to maybe a dozen; which was almost manageable. Tour guide was not unfriendly, but a bit indifferent. Worst part was on the bus to and from the second site. At beginning of bus-ride we were asked if the temperature was comfortable. We asked that it be cooler; although the AC was apparently on, it didn't seem to be working properly. The guide then proceeded to speak to the bus driver which quickly devolved into a somewhat heated argument. Very unprofessional. The bus did not get cooler. We all suffered in silence until our arrival. While at the second site; minimal attempts were made by the tour guide to assist in locating a restroom before re-embarking. It all seemed to be too much trouble. Upon entering the bus for the return trip it became apparent why the AC had not been working properly as the bus driver had both his front windows open the entire time. When a request was made of the guide to have the driver close the windows, she declined to do so and indicated that it was useless to ask as he would not comply. Again a silent unbearably hot bus-trip back. Since we were assured of an air-conditioned bus, we were gravely disappointed. To summarize: It was awful from start to finish.

Doing what: Split Shore Excursion: Diocletian Palace and Trogir Tour

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
July 2013

Not too bad, but the tour guide left without us even though we got there on time, so we had to phone someone to come and help us find the group...admittedly the place was extremely crowded, but she should have waited.

Doing what: Split Shore Excursion: Diocletian Palace and Trogir Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2013

A relaxing and enjoyable way to visit Croatia. The crew were very attentive, the food was good and the trip ticked all of the boxes.

Doing what: 7-Night Independent Adriatic Cruise from Split: Hvar, Korcula, Dubrovnik, Elaphiti Islands, Mljet and Slano

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2013

This is an amazing trip...they let you go your own way but are always on hand with recommendations if you ask for them. Weather was beautiful and it was so relaxing watching the islands float by while sitting in a recliner on the deck in the shade! The ship is in great shape and the room is small but well-equipped.

Doing what: 7-Night Independent Adriatic Cruise from Split: Hvar, Korcula, Dubrovnik, Elaphiti Islands, Mljet and Slano

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message