The U.S. Postal Service put it on a stamp, Condé Nast Traveler called it one of the top 10 beaches in the world, National Geographic declared it without equal: Trunk Bay. The talc-soft sands, turquoise waters and lush green backdrop of this ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 29 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Stephanie A

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

My party of nine people all had a fabulous time on this trip! Our tour guide Charlie was fun and informative, and he went above and beyond to show us native plants and fruits of St. John all while giving us a fascinating description of the history of the island. Our entire party would recommend this excursion to anyone!

Doing what: St John Day Trip from St Thomas: Island Sightseeing and Snorkeling at Trunk Bay

Kenneth M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

This trip included a tour of all the outstanding attractions on St. John, including the guide pointing out many of the native plants and their uses.

Doing what: St John Day Trip from St Thomas: Island Sightseeing and Snorkeling at Trunk Bay

David N

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2016

We had a wonderful day. Our tour guide Charlie was fantastic! A real character who was very knowledgable, helpful and friendly.

Doing what: St John Day Trip from St Thomas: Island Sightseeing and Snorkeling at Trunk Bay

Deborah L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2016

Our day trip to St. John was wonderful. We usually don't do tours and like to explore on our own. However since our car rental did not allow the car on the ferry, we decided to take the tour. Make sure you ask for Charlie through Tropic Tours. He was such a fun character and shared lots of history about the island. Lunch on a beautiful beach is provided and the snorkeling was great. The scenery is breathtaking. We highly recommend this tour.

Doing what: St John Day Trip from St Thomas: Island Sightseeing and Snorkeling at Trunk Bay

Elaine D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

Our tour guide, Charles, was by far the best tour guide we and #39;ve had in our trip here to USVI. He showed us everything on the island, even pulling over to pull plants/spices/flowers off trees so we could truly learn the culture. And he gave us two full hours of snorkeling at the Trunk Bay! Best trip!

Doing what: St John Day Trip from St Thomas: Island Sightseeing and Snorkeling at Trunk Bay

Ken M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2015

The Trunk Bay snorkel and swim was amazing. Everyone in our group 14 enjoyed the beach and the beautiful water. Our tour guide was very informative and was very into the flora of the island. We enjoyed the open air ride to our different destinations and the easy-going banter of our guide. Extremely satisfying day!! My rating would be a five.

Doing what: St John Day Trip from St Thomas: Island Sightseeing and Snorkeling at Trunk Bay

Kelsey P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

The guides were full of life and lots of good laughs. This trip was a great way to see a lot of St.John and not feel rushed or over whelmed with information. The truck ride through the twisted roads was an adventure and the guides hand plenty of places for us to stop at. I feel we had plenty of time at Trunk Bay which was absolutely beautiful. If given the opportunity again this would be at the top of my list.

Doing what: St John Day Trip from St Thomas: Island Sightseeing and Snorkeling at Trunk Bay

Brian E

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

Excellent! From the time we started on the chartered boat, to the time we left was outstanding! Our guide on St John, Jupiter was knowledgeable, interesting, and engaging. The group of folks on our tour was eclectic, and fit well together although this was by chance. You can locate many of the historic points on a map, to go there. Much of the local lore and who's who isn't available without someone who lives there. What you certainly won't get on your own unless you're a botanist or horticulturist is trying a bay leaf, sugar apple, and morenga plucked right from the bush.
Snorkeling in Trunk Bay, or just hanging out, is fantastic! There's a trail, if you prefer that, or plenty to see on your own. Even if you don't snorkel bring a mask and an underwater camera if possible. There are several types of fish that will come around you when in just 3 feet of water. In spite of the unbelievably clear water they can be hard to see from the surface. We had what appeared to be a species of wrasse resting on our feet, when we were able to hold still. Plenty of angelfish and other shelf dwellers right offshore.
The timing of stops at each point were perfect. Not so fast that you had to rush, and not so long you got bored. Highly suggested tour!

Doing what: St John Day Trip from St Thomas: Island Sightseeing and Snorkeling at Trunk Bay

Leidy G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

The tour started once we were picked up from our hotel, if you require pick up, make sure you call 24 hrs ahead of time to request. You then will be handed over to another person at Red Hook, unfortunately can't remember his name he is very funny and he will take your lunch order. Once this is done, you board the ferry into St. John. Once at St. John you will be handed to another guide, we had Jupiter, he was super hilarious, very knowledgeable. He made a few stops around like a small bakery Try the Apple Fritter, AWESOMENESS, remember that most of St. John is national park, the scenery is beautiful so be sure to have your camara handy. I would definitely recommend doing this tour.

Doing what: St John Day Trip from St Thomas: Island Sightseeing and Snorkeling at Trunk Bay

Samik B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Loved the trip and everything about it. Guide was energetic and took very good care of us.

Doing what: St John Day Trip from St Thomas: Island Sightseeing and Snorkeling at Trunk Bay

MaryAnn D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

This tour was by far one of the best things we did! Our tour guide, Charlie, was amazing! By the end of the tour you didn't want to say goodbye. We really got a feel of what it's like to live on St. Thomas. This tour is a must and we would do it again in a heart beat.

Doing what: St John Day Trip from St Thomas: Island Sightseeing and Snorkeling at Trunk Bay

Freida S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2013

Tour guide was very knowledgeable and entertaining. Snorkeling was awesome!

Doing what: St John Day Trip from St Thomas: Island Sightseeing and Snorkeling at Trunk Bay

Justin R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2013

The guide Charlie was outstanding. He was so knowledgable of the islands flora and fauna as well as the history of St John. It's was a lot of fun!

Doing what: St John Day Trip from St Thomas: Island Sightseeing and Snorkeling at Trunk Bay

Tiffany P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2012

Amazing tour with an amazing tour guide Jupiter! Lunch was pretty good and the best thing about this tour was TRUNK BAY!!

Doing what: St John Day Trip from St Thomas: Island Sightseeing and Snorkeling at Trunk Bay

Volodymyr Z

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2011

That was really amazing tour with fabulous views, beautiful beach, and nice snorkeling experience. St. John is lush, quiet, and well maintained island. One can enjoy nature there. The guide was affable and told a lot about the island.

Doing what: St John Day Trip from St Thomas: Island Sightseeing and Snorkeling at Trunk Bay

Connie F

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2011

This was an amazing tour. Well worth the money. Our guide was fabulous and knew all about St. John. Our connections from hotel in St. Thomas to ride to ferry, ferry to St. John, meeting up with tour guide on St. John and getting ferry back plus a ride back to our hotel went very smoothly. Like clockwork. Stress free. I have used your company before for other trips and will continue to use it for my future travels.

Doing what: St John Day Trip from St Thomas: Island Sightseeing and Snorkeling at Trunk Bay

Lynda P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2011

We had confirmed a pick up at Secret Harbor on the 3rd but no one showed up. We rescheduled for the 5th as I was taking my friend there to snorkel for the first time as a birthday gift. The day started off great, nice tour and lunch then at 1 p.m. when we were dropped off to snorkel for a couple of hours the life guard had put up a red flag as the water was rough. Then it rained the rest of the day!!! I know its hard to know what the weather is but if we had gone on the Thursday as first planned we could of snorkeled!!! The man I had made the confirmation with on the 3rd had put us at a different hotel and that's why we didn't get picked up at the right place. All in all it was a nice tour.

Doing what: St John Day Trip from St Thomas: Island Sightseeing and Snorkeling at Trunk Bay

Richard S USA

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2010

The overall trip is worth the price! Have your printed voucher with you when you get picked up from your hotel or you will not be let on the taxi. If you don't take this trip don't rent a car, take the ferry and then a taxi when you get to St. John to get to Trunk Bay. The roads on St. John are very steep and have many hairpin turns once you reach the park area. CONS Unfriendly on the phone when we called to reconfirm our reservation as required according to the voucher. Taxi driver that picked us up from our hotel was also not friendly. I was told the shopping was very good in downtown St. John but we never had the chance to explore it, the part of downtown that we did see was very unimpressive and not worth seeing. The stop at the local bakery was also a waste of time and the bakery items were not very good. Not enough time at Trunk Bay and somewhat crowded due to a cruise ship excursion that was also there. PROS Beautiful beaches and island views! The island tour brought you to places that you would most likely not find on your own. The stop at the old mills was worth the stop for some good pictures and history. Our driver was a 77 year old local man who was very knowledgeable about the area but was difficult to understand at times due to his accent but was very friendly. The tour stops at several locations along the road for photos and views. Trunk Bay has many great features, lifeguards, an underwater snorkel trail, bathrooms and changing areas & concession stand that also rents chairs. The beach area itself also has some tress for shade.

Doing what: St John Day Trip from St Thomas: Island Sightseeing and Snorkeling at Trunk Bay

Hugh W

4 star rating: Recommended
March 2016

Charlie was great. He started out with a horticulture tour of local plants which my 11 year old found fascinating as he got to eat roadside plants. We all enjoyed the great food at lunch. The time exploring Annaberg ruins could have been a bit longer but it's shorter to spend over 2 hours at Trunk Bay which is gorgeous! Overall the family had a great time and would recommend this as a fun way to see St. John in a day.

Doing what: St John Day Trip from St Thomas: Island Sightseeing and Snorkeling at Trunk Bay

Lindsey B

4 star rating: Recommended
April 2015

The tour was great. Our guide was Charles and he was very knowledgeable about the island and native plants. We wished there was more beach time during the tour and maybe less driving and stopping to talk about plants.

Doing what: St John Day Trip from St Thomas: Island Sightseeing and Snorkeling at Trunk Bay

Jerry F

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2011

Really enjoyed the tour of St. Johns and the snorkeling at Trunk Bay. Would have liked the tour shorter and the snorkeling longer.

Doing what: St John Day Trip from St Thomas: Island Sightseeing and Snorkeling at Trunk Bay

Daniel A USA

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2008

The St. John tour could be a little shorter and more snorkeling. The driver that we had was on the rude side. Worth doing again though.

Doing what: St John Day Trip from St Thomas: Island Sightseeing and Snorkeling at Trunk Bay

Jim P USA

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2008

It's beautiful and driving on your own would be too much of a hassle.

Doing what: St John Day Trip from St Thomas: Island Sightseeing and Snorkeling at Trunk Bay

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message