Find Saint Martin’s main airport on a map and you've found Maho Beach. How close is it, you ask? Well, if you’ve ever seen a photo of sunbathing tourists gawping as 747s approach the runway just yards above their heads, it was probably ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 52 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

We were pleasantly surprised at how nice, and clean our vehicle was. Our guide, Bert, spoke clearly and wore a microphone headset so that everyone in the van could hear all the details of life in St. Maarten. He supplied water, beer, soft drinks, and rum punch during our drive. We loved this tour because it took us to the 2 places that we wanted to go and had sufficient time to enjoy both of them. We thought Bert made it much more enjoyable with his sense of humor and knowledge of the island.

Doing what: St Maarten Shore Excursion: Orient and Maho Beach Half-Day Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

We booked this because we saw the reviews were so good. It was well worth it. Our tour guide was Oscar "the grouch." But he was no grouch. He was very friendly and informative. We went around the island on this tour. He stopped and all different viewpoints for us to take pictures. He also stopped where some iguanas were feeding and we got pictures of about a dozen feeding iguanas. Then we went to Orient Beach on the Atlantic side. The beach was nice and the view was awesome. We then were taken around the rest of the island to Maho Beach. We had plenty of stops to take pictures again. Maho Beach alone would have been worth this price. To have the planes land practically on top of you is exhilarating. We then stood by the fence as they took off and the power could be felt for miles. Many hats and sunglasses that weren't being held down or worn properly were blown into the ocean. This tour ended up taking closer to six hours and most of the day. We had a great time and would really recommend this to anyone.

Doing what: St Maarten Shore Excursion: Orient and Maho Beach Half-Day Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

This was an amazing tour! This tour was more like 6 hours and included a complete tour of the island (French and Dutch sides), time at Orient Beach which is gorgeous, and the grand finale of Maho Beach with planes coming in and out. Very cool tour with drinks provided throughout the day and great commentary by our guide, Oscar "The Grouch". The cost for this tour is the best value I have ever had on a excursion and that's no bull. Make sure you have your camera/video equipment with you. Awesome Tour that we will do again when we return in March 2015!

Doing what: St Maarten Shore Excursion: Orient and Maho Beach Half-Day Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

Tour guide was awesome. Our other two excursions were thru a different company. Huge mistake. Will use Viator exclusively from now on.

Doing what: St Maarten Shore Excursion: Orient and Maho Beach Half-Day Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

We were traveling as a family (a 15 year old and 19 year old). Both kids enjoyed the times spent at both locations. They couldn't wait to share their pictures with friends. Cold drinks for the ride and beach were wonderful to have included. Spent $20 for two chairs and an umbrella at a Orient. Just used beach towels at Maho. Driver was friendly, van was clean, and pick-up was convenient and easy. Sunset Bat and Grill had reasonable drink prices but food was expensive. Fun place to visit but wouldn't recommend for small children.

Doing what: St Maarten Shore Excursion: Orient and Maho Beach Half-Day Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

Loved the tour and Burt made it really interesting! He was very knowledgeable about the history of his beloved island home!! We also enjoyed seeing the goats feeding the hillside! Burt returned us to our ship with 2 hours to spare!

Doing what: St Maarten Shore Excursion: Orient and Maho Beach Half-Day Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

Excellent tour and tour guide very professional, would definately recommend Viator to everyone

Doing what: St Maarten Shore Excursion: Orient and Maho Beach Half-Day Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

This tour is awesome. Our driver was Oscar, Oscar the grouch! He was hilarious, kind, and generous. He knows everything you need to know about St. Maarten. Orient Beach was absolutely beautiful! We rented 2 chairs that came with an umbrella for $10 ($5 per person). The water is stunning! This is known to be a nude or topless beach but I only saw one lady topless. You do have people coming up to you to try and sell stuff but I just nicely said "no thank you". We were there for about 2hrs and then got back on the bus and headed to Maho Beach. Maho Beach was super cool because of the airplanes landing near the beach. It is the 4th dangerous airport in the world (thanks to Oscar for telling us) We went on a Tuesday and it was super crowded. Did not go into beach but me and my boyfriend did eat at Sunset Bar which was good but busy. I thought Orient beach was much more relaxing and cool but if you haven't seen airplanes land over your head, then head over to Maho Beach! Make sure you look for the local tour providers because I did not know that was the name of the tour guide company so I was a bit lost when I got off the port. I also did not realize the time they left (9am). We got off the ship and were late but another tour guide company was nice enough to take us to Oscar. Also, if he provides GUAVABERRY punch then you will have a FUN afternoon!

Doing what: St Maarten Shore Excursion: Orient and Maho Beach Half-Day Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

This tour was absolutely fantastic. I highly recommend it. Oscar was our driver/guide and he was great. I now prefer doing the excursions privately, rather than through the ship. Orient Beach is beautiful and Maho Beach, is something that everyone should see. Again fantastic.

Doing what: St Maarten Shore Excursion: Orient and Maho Beach Half-Day Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

Tour was excellent. My husband and I were treated very well. Enjoyed the historical knowledge our guide had not only St. Maarten, but also surrounding islands. Very relaxed and informal, blended in quite well with the island. At Orient Beach, If you are looking for a little solitude, but convenience of restroom and beach bartender, take a walk further down the beach to Coco resort. Maho beach is smaller and crowded, but crazy exciting with the planes flying directly over head as they land.

Doing what: St Maarten Half-Day Trip to Orient and Maho Beach

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

It was great. Our tour guide was the best. I would highly recommend this excursion.

Doing what: St Maarten Shore Excursion: Orient and Maho Beach Half-Day Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

We had no idea what to expect other than we wanted to see the planes at Maho beach. Never heard or used Viator before... Our tour guide Burt was wonderful! He met us at the pier just as described. We had drinks in the van and plenty of time at both Orient and Maho beach. Burt was very knowledgeable and shared not only the island/ area history but a lot of his own personal experience... Definitely recommend!

Doing what: St Maarten Shore Excursion: Orient and Maho Beach Half-Day Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

Tour guide was great and very informative. We loved this trip. Would actually do it again on our return to St Maarten. Perfect day had by our family of 4 (ages 12 and 17). Maho beach was fantastic.

Doing what: St Maarten Shore Excursion: Orient and Maho Beach Half-Day Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

We had a wonderful day in St Maarten! Rosa was a fantastic guide. She was very accommodating, friendly and interesting. We had a great time on this tour and saw alot of St. Maarten.

Doing what: St Maarten Shore Excursion: Orient and Maho Beach Half-Day Tour

3 star rating: Worth doing
June 2014

Got a good look at the island....then a nice amount of time to swim...a few brews and some guavaberry punch..and then the crazy airport beach! What a unique experience!

Doing what: St Maarten Shore Excursion: Orient and Maho Beach Half-Day Tour

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message