The island of Saba is little more than a few wind-swept volcanic peaks rearing out of the Caribbean, but its diminutive size and isolation make it a sanctuary for plant and animal life. Consequently you'll be lacing up your hiking boots rather ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 17 Reviews Add your review

Certiļ¬ed reviews by travelers like you.

4 star rating: Recommended
March 2015

Our group stayed at Simpson Bay resort so it was easy to locate the meeting point to hop unto The Edge to make our way to Saba. 5 of us boarded at 9am for a rather rough ride to Saba. About an hour and 20 minutes later with shaky feet and butterflies in our tummy was made it on land to Saba for a quick stop at immigration to get our passports stamped. We were immediately intrigued by the volcanic looking rock and ran over to take pictures by the welcome to Saba wall mural. We had arrange for a local driver Ms. Gloria to be our Island guide for the day. She gave us a quick tour of the various villages then dropped us off at a starting point to hike to the top of Mount Scenery. Only through much determination did we make the back breaking trek to the top. We were in various stages of fitness and some in the group were hikers, but we were not quite prepared for the steep incline and heat. However all pain and heart palpitations aside...the view at the top is to die for...technically we felt like near death lol by the time we made it. So worth it thou to be in the clouds, gorgeous views! Made it back down in time to make a quick snack stop, get some souvenirs and our certificate of achievement-proof we made it to the top from the Saba Tourist center. Made it back to the boat for the 3:30pm departure. The ride back was horrid with even rougher seas and quite a few people got sick. I spent the whole ride cursing and praying at the same time. Forces of nature. Aside from the boat ride, the trip was wonderful. Nature lovers and hikers this is a must do or if you are just looking to get away to a quite Island for the day the trip is most definitely worth it.

Doing what: Saba Day Trip from St. Martin

3 star rating: Worth doing
February 2015

The day we went the ocean was very rough, My wife got seasick on the return trip to St. Martin. Saba is a very fascinating island. The crew however was very rude.

Doing what: Saba Day Trip from St. Martin

3 star rating: Worth doing
January 2015

The waves were crazy and the boat was all over the place. We didn't worry about the safely, more so about not losing our stomachs. The crew hands out a beverage but then want to be tipped out no matter if you have a beverage or not. No beaches. Just good for hiking and riding in a taxi across villages

Doing what: Saba Day Trip from St. Martin

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
July 2014

The island of Saba is impressive; however the 90 minute ferry ride in rough seas made most travelers sea sick.

The "hike" is more like climbing the Washington Monument with no visibility to the great views available elsewhere on the island.

Tropics Cafe was a refuge!!

Doing what: Saba Day Trip from St. Martin

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2013

Saba is a beautiful island with the hiking trail to Mount Scenery. The trail gets extremely steep and slippery towards the top, so bring a walking stick and hiking boots. The 90 minute boat ride to Saba from St. Martin was not too bumpy. On the way back, the ocean swells were 12'-15' and the waves were completely covering the boat. The boat would go into a swell and back out. It felt like I was on a roller coaster. Definitely had to take 3 motion sickness pills on the way back. Just be aware of the very bumpy ride back.

This excursion is done on The Edge boat through the Simpson Bay Marina.

Doing what: Saba Day Trip from St. Martin

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
August 2013

Aquamarine mania is the worst tour group. The driver of the boat went full throttle while text messaging. He provided no information on the island. We get to Saba and find out you have to pay 30 dollars for a taxi to go to the local areas. This was not told nor was it advertised on viator.

Doing what: Saba Day Trip from St. Martin

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2013

Everything was perfect - we had a really good time!

Doing what: Saba Day Trip from St. Martin

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
January 2013

Unfortunately, early December is not the optimal time to go on the open seas. The ride to Saba in the morning was a bit rough. The waves were too rough for one passenger who made use of the abundant sickness bags. Unfortunately, the ride in the afternoon was even worse. Dramamine was a blessing.

Doing what: Saba Day Trip from St. Martin

Ard
Belgium

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2011

Although a shakey ride with 3-5mtr waves Saba was definitely worth while.

Doing what: Saba Day Trip from St. Martin

3 star rating: Worth doing
December 2011

The crew was a little stand off-ish. The island is beautiful and the locals are very friendly.

Doing what: Saba Day Trip from St. Martin

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2011

The ferry there and and back was wonderful as the ocean splashed from the high speed adventure and the spotting of flying fish! Saba itself was pure serenity surrounded by all that natural beauty. Everyone was friendly starting with the ferry crew, the immigration guys, the Eco restaurant owner, the scuba shop owner, the guy who owned the shop where you get your certificate and the people I met along the way

Doing what: Saba Day Trip from St. Martin

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2011

Very different island. Worth the trip. The trail walk to the top was hard work but fantastic view (once the mist was gone).

Doing what: Saba Day Trip from St. Martin

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2011

Saba is a trip into history. The island is volcanic and very steep. It is a paradise for scuba divers . The people are great and the hospitiality is even better. I give it 5 stars.

Doing what: Saba Day Trip from St. Martin

3 star rating: Worth doing
April 2011

Unique island. Enjoyed the visit and tour.

Doing what: Saba Day Trip from St. Martin

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2010

The trip was excellant, the description is very misleading. It appears that the taxi ride and lunch is included. So we were disappointed that this was not included as described.

Doing what: Saba Day Trip from St. Martin

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2008

Seeing Saba is worth the trip. It is truly an unblemished pearl of an island and a must see.

Doing what: Saba Day Trip from St. Martin

Anonymous

Anonymous

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2008

Saba is a great change from busy St. Maarten. It's lush, low-key, and relatively empty.

Doing what: Saba Day Trip from St. Martin

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message