• USD ($)
  • English

St Petersburg ATTRACTIONS See all

Catherine Palace and Park

Catherine Palace (Екатерининский дворец) is one of Russia’s former imperial palaces and summer residence to its tsar’s built on the orders of Catherine I. Now a museum, the baroque style palace has a neoclassical interior that exemplifies ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 61 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2014

Guide very informative, personable and proficient. Everything we had hoped for in a tour of Catherine Palace.

Doing what: Tour of Pushkin (Tsarskoye Selo) and Catherine Palace

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2014

Only 4 of us in the group. Fantastic palace, very few visitors. We were in the amber room on our own. Made going in February seem a good decision. Great guide, Catherine.

Doing what: Tour of Pushkin (Tsarskoye Selo) and Catherine Palace

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

Was excellent. Guide Dasha was very good. Helped us bypass long lines. Was very good. Price was excellent, too.

Doing what: Tour of Pushkin (Tsarskoye Selo) and Catherine Palace

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

Great day with our tour guide Dasha.
Everything went as expected.

Doing what: Tour of Pushkin (Tsarskoye Selo) and Catherine Palace

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2013

Our guide was great... even got us in early and because of this, nearly every room was empty (except for the Amber room) which made the experience very cool.
The weather was pretty bad, and threatening to ruin our walk around the grounds... the guide suggested that we could do another palace if this was the case... but then told us the full price of it... Seemed a little tacky to say, "walk around in the rain or Shell out an additional 70 bucks." The second tour was offered at that price online, and all members of our group had opted to skip it... That being said... The Catherines Palace was fabulous.

Doing what: Tour of Pushkin (Tsarskoye Selo) and Catherine Palace

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2013

Our fabulous guide, Lida was very knowledgeable, clear and generous in being happy to respond to further questions as we went along. The whole tour was very time efficient, well organised and a great pleasure. Thank you.

Doing what: Tour of Pushkin (Tsarskoye Selo) and Catherine Palace

JOANNE S
Australia

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
November 2013

Tour was ok. We were the only 2 people on the day. Guide got us through quickly, however didn't give enough time for photos. I believe she was just looking for an early afternoon as she had been quiet busy previously. Was rushed.

Doing what: Tour of Pushkin (Tsarskoye Selo) and Catherine Palace

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2013

The tour was very professionally very well organised and we are happy we did it. Our tour guide, Lisa, was dot on time and gave us all the details. The Palace was beautiful especially the Ballroom and the Amber Room. Would recommend to all visiting St Petersburg.

Doing what: Tour of Pushkin (Tsarskoye Selo) and Catherine Palace

Lynette D
Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2013

This was an excellent tour. Our arrangements were clear, the driver and guide arrived on time, nothing was too much trouble for them and we gained an immense amount of historical knowledge. The Catherine Palace is particularly beautiful, as are the grounds, and we were very happy that we had opted for the tour of Pushkin.

Doing what: Tour of Pushkin (Tsarskoye Selo) and Catherine Palace

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
September 2013

The interpreter was not good at all.

Doing what: Tour of Pushkin (Tsarskoye Selo) and Catherine Palace

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2013

The Palace was stunning, however, the traffic no so much. Our scheduled tour was moved from a Friday morning to the Thursday evening, due to a scheduling issue with the Summer Palace being closed on the Friday. Unfortunately we got stuck in horrible traffic and it took us 1 1/2 hrs to drive 24 kms, that was the only negative part and not something the guide could control.

The tour itself and the guide were amazing. Our guide, was Marguerite and she is a school teacher during the school year. She was very knowledgeable of the history of the palace and was able to get us to view two newly renovated rooms that were breathtaking. (Apparently these rooms are only on view at present to VIP's. )

The tour of the summer palace was well done and it was incredible to see how much has been rebuilt since it was badly damaged by bombing during WWII. It was interesting to see the photos taken after the bombing and to see how much has been reconstructed.

As we were a small group - only four in the tour, we had unlimited time to stand and be awed by the Amber Room, words don't do it justice.

It was well worth the the time it took to get there.

Doing what: Tour of Pushkin (Tsarskoye Selo) and Catherine Palace

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2013

Guide was excellent. Tour was interesting.

Doing what: Tour of Pushkin (Tsarskoye Selo) and Catherine Palace

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2013

Excellent! our tour guide, Lya (spelling) did a wonderful job.

Doing what: Tour of Pushkin (Tsarskoye Selo) and Catherine Palace

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2013

Our guide was very good and told us much about the places we visited but we were disappointed in not having more time to visit the grounds. I think that this is the biggest complaint of other reviewers and Viator should lengthen their tours by at least 30 minutes.

Doing what: Tour of Pushkin (Tsarskoye Selo) and Catherine Palace

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message