The State Hermitage (Государственный Эрмитаж) is one of the largest and oldest art and cultural museums in the world. The museum was originally built privately under the orders of Catherine the Great, housing her ever-growing collection; however, ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 49 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Elizabeth C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

This tour will take you to parts of the Hermitage cruise ship passengers don't normally reach. We saw all the artefacts from ancient times with an excellent guide who was friendly, courteous and very helpful. We had four hours in the Hermitage without a break - if we did it again, we would ask for a coffee break half way through! Saw the Rembrandts without a crowd. Very nice lunch at a nearby restaurant afterwards.

Doing what: Private tour: The Hermitage Museum and 3-course Traditional Russian Lunch

Dmytro H

4 star rating: Recommended
May 2016

The tour was very good and our guide Olga possesses great knowledge of Hermitage, its history and the jewels of its collection. The only minor hiccup was with the special entrance tickets that the guide could have had before the tour started.
Private tour provides by far better experience when compared to the group tours.

Doing what: Small-Group St Petersburg Hermitage Museum Tour with Skip-the-Line Entry and Summer Early Access

Sonja B

4 star rating: Recommended
May 2016

This tour was very informative and truly enhanced my visit to Saint Petersburg.

However, 8 hours is almost too little to fit everything in. It didn't help that we wasted time waiting around for our tickets as another guide had mistakenly taken ours. This meant we were quite pressed for time towards the end and had to rush through the Hermitage Museum. Furthermore, as I had evening plans, I didn't have the flexibility to stay longer myself.

The lunch was okay, but for my vegetarian colleague the only option was plain rice with a slice of cucumber and tomato. This is something that needs to be considered - potentially there could be questions when booking regarding diet needs?

All in all, I would definitely recommend this tour for those not staying very long in Saint Petersburg.

Doing what: Grand Tour of St Petersburg

Edward H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

This is an excellent tour if one wishes to see four historic churches plus the Hermitage Museum with ease, but it is a grueling 8-hour tour with an overload of information. Tour guide Lidea was excellent and had a wealth of information as she took my daughter and I around Saint Petersburg. I'd prefer to see these sites over two days, but am very happy we were able to experience as much of Saint Petersburg as we did in one day.

Doing what: Grand Tour of St Petersburg

Aaron W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

If you get the tour guide Roman, you will get the best tour you've probably ever had. We spent 5 hours in the Hermitage, and an hour walking about the city from our hotel where he met us to the Hermitage. Full of enthusiasm, knowledge and facts. He knows everything about everything in there. Really quite amazing. Can tell he loves the museum, loves the city and loves Russia. Great guide, and the museum is good too!

Doing what: State Hermitage Museum Small-Group Walking Tour

Carol A

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Irina was a delight. We enjoyed our tour with her enormously and the 3 hours flew by. She was enthusiastic, knowledgeable and easy to talk to. Her tour provided an overview and orientation which one needs in coming to grips with the vast Hermitage plus her deeper discussion on particular highlights was interesting and filled with insights we otherwise would not have been aware of. This was a terrific tour and we couldn't have had a better guide. TY, Irina.

Doing what: Small-Group St Petersburg Hermitage Museum Tour with Skip-the-Line Entry and Summer Early Access

Edward H

3 star rating: Worth doing
April 2016

A long and rigorous tour with an overland of information. Four churches plus the Hermitage Museum was too much for one day, and I wish we could have split the day into two separate tours. Our guide was knowledgable, professional, and friendly and insisted we experience all aspects of the tour despite the fact it was only my daughter and myself. I'm glad that I took this tour, but did return to the hotel exhausted both physically and mentally.

Doing what: Grand Tour of St Petersburg

Halvor S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2016

We were picked up at our hotel at 10AM and had a guided walk thru centrum towards the Hermitage Hotel. I highly qualified guide told us about the buildings we passed.
At Hermitage we were met be another guide that had our entrance-tickets no waiting at all, and had a very nice guided 2h-tour in the Hermitage.
I can highly recommend this - great value for money.

Doing what: State Hermitage Museum Small-Group Walking Tour

JWM K

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2016

Irina knew a lot about de history off the Hermitage and his owners. She was very helpfull and knew all the answers to our questions. We highly recommend this guide.

Doing what: Small-Group St Petersburg Hermitage Museum Tour with Skip-the-Line Entry and Summer Early Access

Trina S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

This was the best tour I have taken through Viator because Elena the tour guide was amazing! I have taken probably 20 tours through Viator in various countries, yet this topped the list. I signed up for the full 8 hour tour. I was the only person on the tour. We had our own driver who drove us from site to site. This helped immensely since it was so cold out. Elena was the most knowledgeable guide I have found to date. She knew a ton of information about each site and could answer all of my questions. The churches are amazing. The lunch was tasty. And the Hermitage was incredible. I am not a huge museum/art girl, but Elena's knowledge brought the art to life. I felt like the day flew by and was sad to see it come to an end. St. Petersburg is a beautiful city and this tour will give you a great overview of the main sites.

Doing what: Grand Tour of St Petersburg

Sandra and Karl F

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2015

This was wonderful. the company did everything and more to ensure that our tour of the Hermitage was just wonderful. We had the staircase to ourselves-a wonder! they even arranged tickets for us to see the iInoressionists which are now house in a separate building. I couldn't praise them more. Well worth while.

Doing what: Small-Group St Petersburg Hermitage Museum Tour with Skip-the-Line Entry and Summer Early Access

Lou K

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

I found this Hermitage tour to be very worthwhile and educational. The tour guide-Irena-- was very well informed and had good English communication skills. The Hermitage is a large and complex museum that would be difficult for most people to navigate and enjoy without the benefit of a skilled and effective guide like Irena.

Doing what: Small-Group St Petersburg Hermitage Museum Tour with Skip-the-Line Entry and Summer Early Access

Candace R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

Leider was a very knowledgeable and personable guide. The Hermitage is huge and she was helpful in making it not feel too overwhelming. A very good tour.

Doing what: State Hermitage Museum Small-Group Walking Tour

Paraskevas S

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
November 2015

The only positive thing was the friendly young guide Otherwise: our pick up at the hotel consisted in the young man waiting for us and then walking for 25 mins to get to the boat. The boat tour itself in which the guide was translating what the boat guide was saying in Russian and a return to Hermitage square. Really not worth the money.

Doing what: Grand Tour of St Petersburg

Mary K

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

We had a tour of the city by car and then did the highlight of the day, the Hermitage Museum. The guide was excellent.

Doing what: Grand Tour of St Petersburg

Michaela E

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

Highly recommended! Our guide was not only able to keep our teenager interested, but also to share her fascination about Rembrandt' masterpieces. Since the Hermitage is that huge, it is worth to spend the money to be able to focus on most amazing part of the building, history, and art.

Doing what: Private Tour of the Hermitage Museum in Saint Petersburg

Peter H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

The Peter and Paul Fortress was amazing!

The Hermitage Museum was nothing short of spectacular!! One could spend days in there! The Viator guide did a wonderful job searching out highlights to see in two hours!

Doing what: Grand Tour of St Petersburg

Tom F

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2015

Although the tour guide was over 50 minutes late in picking us up with her only one other customer, we had a very informative and enjoyable tour of the amazing Hermitage. Our guide was very knowledgeable and had an obvious passion for her city and her job. Thank you all very much.

Doing what: State Hermitage Museum Small-Group Walking Tour

Carol J R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

This was a great tour. Our guide met us right on top at the appointed meeting place. she was knowledgeable about the art in the Hermitage and showed us the highlights. it was a great way to make our first visit there. in spite of the crowds, she moved with eSe through the buildings and showed us all the highlights. Our small group of five made it easy to hear and enjoy everything. Very satisfactory experience!

Doing what: Small-Group St Petersburg Hermitage Museum Tour with Skip-the-Line Entry and Summer Early Access

Graeme A

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

Our guide was prompt, very friendly and knowledgable. We were the only two on the tour and were treated with some extra attention. Thank you Lida. To see what we saw at the Hermitage in the time would not have been possible without a guide. The only way to go.

Doing what: State Hermitage Museum Small-Group Walking Tour

Marie S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

Fantastic. The Gold rooms are wonderful and full of treasures from very old cultures. The guide who spoke excellent English showed us the most dainty of details. The Museum tour which followed was essential to get the best out of the Hermitage. The Museum is very big and full so getting from place to place with a guide is much easier.

Doing what: Hermitage Museum Gold Room Tour with a Curator including All-Day admission to the Museum

Carl T

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

Outstanding in every respect. Irena from Marina Wilson Tours was terrific. This became a private tour for me and my wife, so Irena was able to focus on the art we wanted to see. You could easily spend days in the Hermitage, but we covered all the highlights in three hours.

Doing what: Small-Group St Petersburg Hermitage Museum Tour with Skip-the-Line Entry and Summer Early Access

ioanna

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Very well organized tour. Hermitage museum is quite vast to be able to visit it on your own - unless you are an art historian. Our guide Mrs Wilson was really informative and guided us through the most important art elements. 3 hours is not enough to admire all the splendor that the museum has to show both architecturally and art-wise but it is enough to grasp the gist of it. We recommend to every first-comer to St. Petersburg

Doing what: Small-Group St Petersburg Hermitage Museum Tour with Skip-the-Line Entry and Summer Early Access

Alex D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

The scale of exhibits at the Hermitage can be daunting, and the crowds can restrict your enjoyment. Our tour guide, Olga, skilfully introduced us to the most rewarding attractions and the tour allowed us access to special exhibits. Olga had an engaging personality, was attentive to our needs and questions, and had great knowledge of all exhibits. The tour was thoroughly enjoyable and was a highlight of our St Petersburg stay.

Doing what: Small-Group St Petersburg Hermitage Museum Tour with Skip-the-Line Entry and Summer Early Access

Deep M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Hermitage Museum surpasses all sights by a distance when it comes to palaces, really well constructed. The diamond and gold rooms are separate so make sure to book them separately and be prepared to walk a lot.

Our guide Olga was just a delight,she even recommended a great restaurant for lunch

Doing what: St. Petersburg City Walking Tour and the Hermitage Museum

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message