The State Hermitage (Государственный Эрмитаж) is one of the largest and oldest art and cultural museums in the world. The museum was originally built privately under the orders of Catherine the Great, housing her ever-growing collection; however, ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 40 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Trina S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

This was the best tour I have taken through Viator because Elena the tour guide was amazing! I have taken probably 20 tours through Viator in various countries, yet this topped the list. I signed up for the full 8 hour tour. I was the only person on the tour. We had our own driver who drove us from site to site. This helped immensely since it was so cold out. Elena was the most knowledgeable guide I have found to date. She knew a ton of information about each site and could answer all of my questions. The churches are amazing. The lunch was tasty. And the Hermitage was incredible. I am not a huge museum/art girl, but Elena's knowledge brought the art to life. I felt like the day flew by and was sad to see it come to an end. St. Petersburg is a beautiful city and this tour will give you a great overview of the main sites.

Doing what: Grand Tour of St Petersburg

Sandra and Karl F

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2015

This was wonderful. the company did everything and more to ensure that our tour of the Hermitage was just wonderful. We had the staircase to ourselves-a wonder! they even arranged tickets for us to see the iInoressionists which are now house in a separate building. I couldn't praise them more. Well worth while.

Doing what: Small-Group St Petersburg Hermitage Museum Tour with Skip-the-Line Entry and Summer Early Access

Lou K

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

I found this Hermitage tour to be very worthwhile and educational. The tour guide-Irena-- was very well informed and had good English communication skills. The Hermitage is a large and complex museum that would be difficult for most people to navigate and enjoy without the benefit of a skilled and effective guide like Irena.

Doing what: Small-Group St Petersburg Hermitage Museum Tour with Skip-the-Line Entry and Summer Early Access

Candace R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

Leider was a very knowledgeable and personable guide. The Hermitage is huge and she was helpful in making it not feel too overwhelming. A very good tour.

Doing what: State Hermitage Museum Small-Group Walking Tour

Paraskevas S

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
November 2015

The only positive thing was the friendly young guide Otherwise: our pick up at the hotel consisted in the young man waiting for us and then walking for 25 mins to get to the boat. The boat tour itself in which the guide was translating what the boat guide was saying in Russian and a return to Hermitage square. Really not worth the money.

Doing what: Grand Tour of St Petersburg

Mary K

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

We had a tour of the city by car and then did the highlight of the day, the Hermitage Museum. The guide was excellent.

Doing what: Grand Tour of St Petersburg

Michaela E

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

Highly recommended! Our guide was not only able to keep our teenager interested, but also to share her fascination about Rembrandt' masterpieces. Since the Hermitage is that huge, it is worth to spend the money to be able to focus on most amazing part of the building, history, and art.

Doing what: Private Tour of the Hermitage Museum in St Petersburg

Peter H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

The Peter and Paul Fortress was amazing!

The Hermitage Museum was nothing short of spectacular!! One could spend days in there! The Viator guide did a wonderful job searching out highlights to see in two hours!

Doing what: Grand Tour of St Petersburg

Tom F

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2015

Although the tour guide was over 50 minutes late in picking us up with her only one other customer, we had a very informative and enjoyable tour of the amazing Hermitage. Our guide was very knowledgeable and had an obvious passion for her city and her job. Thank you all very much.

Doing what: State Hermitage Museum Small-Group Walking Tour

Carol J R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

This was a great tour. Our guide met us right on top at the appointed meeting place. she was knowledgeable about the art in the Hermitage and showed us the highlights. it was a great way to make our first visit there. in spite of the crowds, she moved with eSe through the buildings and showed us all the highlights. Our small group of five made it easy to hear and enjoy everything. Very satisfactory experience!

Doing what: Small-Group St Petersburg Hermitage Museum Tour with Skip-the-Line Entry and Summer Early Access

Graeme A

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

Our guide was prompt, very friendly and knowledgable. We were the only two on the tour and were treated with some extra attention. Thank you Lida. To see what we saw at the Hermitage in the time would not have been possible without a guide. The only way to go.

Doing what: State Hermitage Museum Small-Group Walking Tour

Marie S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

Fantastic. The Gold rooms are wonderful and full of treasures from very old cultures. The guide who spoke excellent English showed us the most dainty of details. The Museum tour which followed was essential to get the best out of the Hermitage. The Museum is very big and full so getting from place to place with a guide is much easier.

Doing what: Hermitage Museum Gold Room Tour with a Curator including All-Day admission to the Museum

Carl T

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

Outstanding in every respect. Irena from Marina Wilson Tours was terrific. This became a private tour for me and my wife, so Irena was able to focus on the art we wanted to see. You could easily spend days in the Hermitage, but we covered all the highlights in three hours.

Doing what: Small-Group St Petersburg Hermitage Museum Tour with Skip-the-Line Entry and Summer Early Access

ioanna

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Very well organized tour. Hermitage museum is quite vast to be able to visit it on your own - unless you are an art historian. Our guide Mrs Wilson was really informative and guided us through the most important art elements. 3 hours is not enough to admire all the splendor that the museum has to show both architecturally and art-wise but it is enough to grasp the gist of it. We recommend to every first-comer to St. Petersburg

Doing what: Small-Group St Petersburg Hermitage Museum Tour with Skip-the-Line Entry and Summer Early Access

Alex D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

The scale of exhibits at the Hermitage can be daunting, and the crowds can restrict your enjoyment. Our tour guide, Olga, skilfully introduced us to the most rewarding attractions and the tour allowed us access to special exhibits. Olga had an engaging personality, was attentive to our needs and questions, and had great knowledge of all exhibits. The tour was thoroughly enjoyable and was a highlight of our St Petersburg stay.

Doing what: Small-Group St Petersburg Hermitage Museum Tour with Skip-the-Line Entry and Summer Early Access

Deep M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Hermitage Museum surpasses all sights by a distance when it comes to palaces, really well constructed. The diamond and gold rooms are separate so make sure to book them separately and be prepared to walk a lot.

Our guide Olga was just a delight,she even recommended a great restaurant for lunch

Doing what: St. Petersburg City Walking Tour and the Hermitage Museum

Janice G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

There was a bit of a mix up and our tour guide was sent to the wrong hotel but once she turned up we found it very interesting and informative. We had about 2-2.5 hours in the Hermitage which really was enough to get a taste of the place. Our guide showed us the most interesting room and paintings.

Doing what: State Hermitage Museum Small-Group Walking Tour

jkoh.wmp

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2015

The tour was up to my expectations. The guide was a little concerned about not having collected the Hermitage tickets earlier. Otherwise all went well. The only complaint is the car we were in. The vehicle wasn't clean. The stench with the smoking driver made the rides in the car rather unpleasant.

Doing what: Grand Tour of St Petersburg

Lorenext

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

Excellent tour!!! Our guide Lidia took us to many places... we went to see the most interesting places in Saint Petersburg that we would not have done alone... we booked the full day trip and IT'S TOTALLY WORTH IT!!!!! the lunch included was great and big enough to give you strength for the rest of the day. Then, the whole afternoon was in the Hermitage museum... what a great day!!! totally recommended!!!

Doing what: Grand Tour of St Petersburg

Ayre J

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2015

I come to spb at the bad time, in Feb so the weather is freezing. Good thing i decide to do this tour. The Hermitage is huge! I mean one day you can easily spend the time there. When i arrive i notice that you can rent audio tour guide and listen to it in each spot as well but I prefer human communication and my guide have done a good job. Irina come to meet me at exact time of meeting, there is only me in the tour so it s quite private but not boring. She has really deep knowledge of what is going on inside. Nice pace and timing of the tour too, when she finish I almost cant walk anymore. So i rest and spend more time on my own later that day untill evening.

Strongly recommend you to hire a guide, there is no way you can appreciate this museum without knowing its background.

Doing what: Small-Group St Petersburg Hermitage Museum Tour with Skip-the-Line Entry and Summer Early Access

Eden P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

We booked our tour of St Petersburg and the Hermitage with Marierose through Viator and had a great experience. Our guide Catherine spoke very clearly and was able to answer all of our questions. Her knowledge of the city and in particular of the paintings and different artifacts in the Hermitage was fantastic. We were lucky to have a small group of 3 making the tour intimate and allowing us to easily listen to the stories, facts, ask many questions and take time to enjoy the sights. Transport was by Taxi van and our driver was very good, driving at a comfortable speed. Our tour went for 4-5 hours and was a great introduction to St Petersburg. the ability to miss the long cues at the entrance to the Hermitage alone was well worth the price of the tour. Would have no hesitation in recommending this tour to other travellers.

Doing what: Grand Tour of St Petersburg

Leslie H

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2014

Our guide, Alex, was very good. His understanding of English was excellent and his knowledge of The Hermitage encompassing.

Doing what: Grand Tour of St Petersburg

Vivienne S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

Our visit to the Hermitage was excellent we had had a whistle stop tour 2 days before as part of our cruise to St Petersburg so had an impression of the palaces. we asked the guide to take us to areas we hadnt visited and would like to spend more time at. She was very obliging and informative about the exhibits we wanted to see. overall St Petersburg was as expected though it took some time to get our bearings as the first tour had gone round in circles as we later discovered. Everything is within close walking distance once you have your bearings. Finding good restaurants proved a little difficult. However we enjoyed our 4 days there

Doing what: State Hermitage Museum Small-Group Walking Tour

Margaret B

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2014

This was very enjoyable - it covered main attractions with a guide who was knowledgeable and spoke English well. My tour was combined with a tour of the Hermitage Museum. I had expected there would be a lunch break in between, but there was not and I think it would be preferred.

Doing what: Grand Tour of St Petersburg

Angela B

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2013

This tour is a great overview of the Hermitage. We saw a little of everything and our well informed guide gave us enough information to enhance our enjoyment of the exhibits on display as well as the history of the buildings. Being part of a small group (six people) meant we could ask as many questions as we liked.

Doing what: State Hermitage Museum Small-Group Walking Tour

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message