The State Hermitage (Государственный Эрмитаж) is one of the largest and oldest art and cultural museums in the world. The museum was originally built privately under the orders of Catherine the Great, housing her ever-growing collection; however, ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 53 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Branislav S Slovakia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

It is really must! Our guide Elena was perfect and she has excellent knowledge. Early access is must in this museum and then you can enjoy the almost empty rooms and all the beauty around. You will see all relevant things from Hermitage within 4 hours. If you like to see the Gold or Diamond rooms please buy tickets immediately after entering to the Hermitage they are only limited numbers and fast are sold out!

Doing what: Small-Group St Petersburg Hermitage Museum Tour with Skip-the-Line Entry and Summer Early Access

Jan M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Our guide Elena was wonderful. As we had a tour of the Hermitage the previous day she had chosen parts of the museum we had not previously seen so it was perfect!!

Doing what: Small-Group St Petersburg Hermitage Museum Tour with Skip-the-Line Entry and Summer Early Access

Peter T

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Our guide Elena was extremely well informed on both the history of the Hermitage and all the major pieces of art. We usually don't use guides when we visit such museums but so glad that we did use Elena, as she enabled us to get the most out of our visit to a museum which I would rate as one of the top 2 museums I have ever visited. Great tour.

Doing what: Small-Group St Petersburg Hermitage Museum Tour with Skip-the-Line Entry and Summer Early Access

Elizabeth C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

This tour will take you to parts of the Hermitage cruise ship passengers don't normally reach. We saw all the artefacts from ancient times with an excellent guide who was friendly, courteous and very helpful. We had four hours in the Hermitage without a break - if we did it again, we would ask for a coffee break half way through! Saw the Rembrandts without a crowd. Very nice lunch at a nearby restaurant afterwards.

Doing what: Private tour: The Hermitage Museum and 3-course Traditional Russian Lunch

Dmytro H

4 star rating: Recommended
May 2016

The tour was very good and our guide Olga possesses great knowledge of Hermitage, its history and the jewels of its collection. The only minor hiccup was with the special entrance tickets that the guide could have had before the tour started.
Private tour provides by far better experience when compared to the group tours.

Doing what: Small-Group St Petersburg Hermitage Museum Tour with Skip-the-Line Entry and Summer Early Access

Sonja B

4 star rating: Recommended
May 2016

This tour was very informative and truly enhanced my visit to Saint Petersburg.

However, 8 hours is almost too little to fit everything in. It didn't help that we wasted time waiting around for our tickets as another guide had mistakenly taken ours. This meant we were quite pressed for time towards the end and had to rush through the Hermitage Museum. Furthermore, as I had evening plans, I didn't have the flexibility to stay longer myself.

The lunch was okay, but for my vegetarian colleague the only option was plain rice with a slice of cucumber and tomato. This is something that needs to be considered - potentially there could be questions when booking regarding diet needs?

All in all, I would definitely recommend this tour for those not staying very long in Saint Petersburg.

Doing what: Grand Tour of St Petersburg

Ellen G

4 star rating: Recommended
May 2016

Must see the Hermitage with a tour guide. Saves time by entering before the crowds and saves wandering around the museum trying to find the sections that interest you. Good overview by our guide Elena, although it seems like she has done this quite a bit and didn't really make an effort to connect with any of the group members. When she described a room or a piece of artwork, it appeared that she would close her eyes and recite her spiel. Most of us got there early at the meeting point, and by the time we were all assembled, we were 11 people. Since this tour is for a maximum of 6, the tour contractor had a second guide and they divided the group between two guides, which was a good move since it was a bit difficult just to keep 6 people together with the guide. Glad I did this tour and glad that I saved it for the last day of my week in St. Petersburg.

Doing what: Small-Group St Petersburg Hermitage Museum Tour with Skip-the-Line Entry and Summer Early Access

Edward H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

This is an excellent tour if one wishes to see four historic churches plus the Hermitage Museum with ease, but it is a grueling 8-hour tour with an overload of information. Tour guide Lidea was excellent and had a wealth of information as she took my daughter and I around Saint Petersburg. I'd prefer to see these sites over two days, but am very happy we were able to experience as much of Saint Petersburg as we did in one day.

Doing what: Grand Tour of St Petersburg

Aaron W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

If you get the tour guide Roman, you will get the best tour you've probably ever had. We spent 5 hours in the Hermitage, and an hour walking about the city from our hotel where he met us to the Hermitage. Full of enthusiasm, knowledge and facts. He knows everything about everything in there. Really quite amazing. Can tell he loves the museum, loves the city and loves Russia. Great guide, and the museum is good too!

Doing what: State Hermitage Museum Small-Group Walking Tour

Carol A

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Irina was a delight. We enjoyed our tour with her enormously and the 3 hours flew by. She was enthusiastic, knowledgeable and easy to talk to. Her tour provided an overview and orientation which one needs in coming to grips with the vast Hermitage plus her deeper discussion on particular highlights was interesting and filled with insights we otherwise would not have been aware of. This was a terrific tour and we couldn't have had a better guide. TY, Irina.

Doing what: Small-Group St Petersburg Hermitage Museum Tour with Skip-the-Line Entry and Summer Early Access

Edward H

3 star rating: Worth doing
April 2016

A long and rigorous tour with an overland of information. Four churches plus the Hermitage Museum was too much for one day, and I wish we could have split the day into two separate tours. Our guide was knowledgable, professional, and friendly and insisted we experience all aspects of the tour despite the fact it was only my daughter and myself. I'm glad that I took this tour, but did return to the hotel exhausted both physically and mentally.

Doing what: Grand Tour of St Petersburg

Halvor S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2016

We were picked up at our hotel at 10AM and had a guided walk thru centrum towards the Hermitage Hotel. I highly qualified guide told us about the buildings we passed.
At Hermitage we were met be another guide that had our entrance-tickets no waiting at all, and had a very nice guided 2h-tour in the Hermitage.
I can highly recommend this - great value for money.

Doing what: State Hermitage Museum Small-Group Walking Tour

JWM K

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2016

Irina knew a lot about de history off the Hermitage and his owners. She was very helpfull and knew all the answers to our questions. We highly recommend this guide.

Doing what: Small-Group St Petersburg Hermitage Museum Tour with Skip-the-Line Entry and Summer Early Access

Trina S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

This was the best tour I have taken through Viator because Elena the tour guide was amazing! I have taken probably 20 tours through Viator in various countries, yet this topped the list. I signed up for the full 8 hour tour. I was the only person on the tour. We had our own driver who drove us from site to site. This helped immensely since it was so cold out. Elena was the most knowledgeable guide I have found to date. She knew a ton of information about each site and could answer all of my questions. The churches are amazing. The lunch was tasty. And the Hermitage was incredible. I am not a huge museum/art girl, but Elena's knowledge brought the art to life. I felt like the day flew by and was sad to see it come to an end. St. Petersburg is a beautiful city and this tour will give you a great overview of the main sites.

Doing what: Grand Tour of St Petersburg

Sandra and Karl F

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2015

This was wonderful. the company did everything and more to ensure that our tour of the Hermitage was just wonderful. We had the staircase to ourselves-a wonder! they even arranged tickets for us to see the iInoressionists which are now house in a separate building. I couldn't praise them more. Well worth while.

Doing what: Small-Group St Petersburg Hermitage Museum Tour with Skip-the-Line Entry and Summer Early Access

Lou K

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

I found this Hermitage tour to be very worthwhile and educational. The tour guide-Irena-- was very well informed and had good English communication skills. The Hermitage is a large and complex museum that would be difficult for most people to navigate and enjoy without the benefit of a skilled and effective guide like Irena.

Doing what: Small-Group St Petersburg Hermitage Museum Tour with Skip-the-Line Entry and Summer Early Access

Candace R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

Leider was a very knowledgeable and personable guide. The Hermitage is huge and she was helpful in making it not feel too overwhelming. A very good tour.

Doing what: State Hermitage Museum Small-Group Walking Tour

Paraskevas S

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
November 2015

The only positive thing was the friendly young guide Otherwise: our pick up at the hotel consisted in the young man waiting for us and then walking for 25 mins to get to the boat. The boat tour itself in which the guide was translating what the boat guide was saying in Russian and a return to Hermitage square. Really not worth the money.

Doing what: Grand Tour of St Petersburg

Mary K

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

We had a tour of the city by car and then did the highlight of the day, the Hermitage Museum. The guide was excellent.

Doing what: Grand Tour of St Petersburg

Michaela E

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

Highly recommended! Our guide was not only able to keep our teenager interested, but also to share her fascination about Rembrandt' masterpieces. Since the Hermitage is that huge, it is worth to spend the money to be able to focus on most amazing part of the building, history, and art.

Doing what: Private Tour of the Hermitage Museum in Saint Petersburg

Peter H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

The Peter and Paul Fortress was amazing!

The Hermitage Museum was nothing short of spectacular!! One could spend days in there! The Viator guide did a wonderful job searching out highlights to see in two hours!

Doing what: Grand Tour of St Petersburg

Tom F

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2015

Although the tour guide was over 50 minutes late in picking us up with her only one other customer, we had a very informative and enjoyable tour of the amazing Hermitage. Our guide was very knowledgeable and had an obvious passion for her city and her job. Thank you all very much.

Doing what: State Hermitage Museum Small-Group Walking Tour

Carol J R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

This was a great tour. Our guide met us right on top at the appointed meeting place. she was knowledgeable about the art in the Hermitage and showed us the highlights. it was a great way to make our first visit there. in spite of the crowds, she moved with eSe through the buildings and showed us all the highlights. Our small group of five made it easy to hear and enjoy everything. Very satisfactory experience!

Doing what: Small-Group St Petersburg Hermitage Museum Tour with Skip-the-Line Entry and Summer Early Access

Graeme A

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

Our guide was prompt, very friendly and knowledgable. We were the only two on the tour and were treated with some extra attention. Thank you Lida. To see what we saw at the Hermitage in the time would not have been possible without a guide. The only way to go.

Doing what: State Hermitage Museum Small-Group Walking Tour

Marie S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

Fantastic. The Gold rooms are wonderful and full of treasures from very old cultures. The guide who spoke excellent English showed us the most dainty of details. The Museum tour which followed was essential to get the best out of the Hermitage. The Museum is very big and full so getting from place to place with a guide is much easier.

Doing what: Hermitage Museum Gold Room Tour with a Curator including All-Day admission to the Museum

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message