St Petersburg ATTRACTIONS See all

Peterhof Palace and Garden (Petrodvorets)

Petrhof (Петерго́ф) or “Peter’s yard” is considered the fountain capital of the world and is in the eyes of any visitor, an absolute gem of environs in St. Petersburg. Consisting of 64 fountains, 255 sculptures not to mention the Grand Palace ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 50 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

Excellent Tour!! Lidia our tour guide was very kind and knowledgeable, so we learnt a lot during this trip!! additionally, it was amazing being able to see the fountains!! it is really something worth to see!!

Doing what: Half Day Tour of Peterhof (Petrodvorets)

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

This trip was all I had hoped for. I missed the Peterhoff in 2010 when I was here. Our tour guide, Lyda, was incredible, sharing her knowledge and patiently answering questions.This was the highlight of my stay.

Doing what: Half Day Tour of Peterhof (Petrodvorets)

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

We had a wonderful tour with guide Veronika. She was knowledgeable, personable, and managed the time available very well. She is great. The palace tour rooms--the areas available to the public--are beautiful and fascinating. We were able to get through before most of the large groups of tourists arrived. It was a valuable opportunity to learn about Russian historical figures at the same time. The grounds are beautiful, even on a gray day. We found it easy to imagine traveling back in time there. We certainly recommend the tour.

Doing what: Peterhof Grand Palace and Gardens Tour with Neva Boat Ride

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

This tour was amazing!

Doing what: Half Day Tour of Peterhof (Petrodvorets)

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

Our tour guide, Margarita Maslova was excellent. She was able to answer any questions that we had. Her knowledge of English made it very easy to understand what she was saying. We enjoyed her company very much and through her thorough knowledge we learned a lot about Russian history and Russian way of life. We could not have asked for a better guide.

Doing what: Peterhof Grand Palace and Gardens Tour with Neva Boat Ride

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

We were collected promptly by our guide Katia at 10am from our hotel and taking by mini-bus to Peterhof. We immediately went into the palace on arrival around 11am and it was not too crowded. Her radio/headset guiding was excellent as you could still hear her commentary even when separated from the group or in a noisy place. We had fantastic weather - 24C/blue sky - so the gardens tour was very pleasant too. Katia took us to good lunch restaurant where we had excellent simple dishes from the Caucasus. On the journey back, we heard interesting stories of living in modern Russia. This private tour was excellent and Katia a fine host.

Doing what: Private Tour: Peterhof Palace in St Petersburg

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

LIda, our guide again, took us to Peterhof which is a fascinating and beautiful compound. She highlighted the key elements of the estate, providing sufficient time to walk around the gardens. Lida has a good command of English.
FYI -- When available, go by hydrofoil instead of car because it is a shorter ride and allows additional time at Peterhof: the highlight of St. Petersburg.

Doing what: Half Day Tour of Peterhof (Petrodvorets)

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2014

Excellent tour. Guide very informative, efficient and personable.

Doing what: Half Day Tour of Peterhof (Petrodvorets)

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

Guide, Margarita, was superb.

Doing what: Half Day Tour of Peterhof (Petrodvorets)

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
October 2013

Whilst the tour of itself was fantastic I have to say that it was very rushed and therefore we had little time to visit the palace and shop at leisure. When booked the time of pick up was to be 10.00 a.m. a phone call the day before said that pick up was goind to be 9.00 which was ok by us. We were back in St. Petersburg and our hotel before 2.00 p.m. The guide was informative and charming however one got the distinct impression that she was in a hurry to get back. A pity....as it was once in a lifetime opportunity to see the summer palace.

Doing what: Peterhof Grand Palace and Gardens Tour with Neva Boat Ride

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2013

Always could be better, but it was good. I liked this trip and our gid Katya.

Doing what: Half Day Tour of Peterhof (Petrodvorets)

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2013

Our guide was very knowledgable , but note that the tour does not bring you back to your hotel.

Doing what: Peterhof Grand Palace and Gardens Tour with Neva Boat Ride

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2013

Must see, but having a knowledgable guide is e key .

Doing what: Peterhof Grand Palace and Gardens Tour with Neva Boat Ride

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2013

A must see. Our guide was very knowledgable.

Doing what: Peterhof Grand Palace and Gardens Tour with Neva Boat Ride

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
August 2013

This interpreter was very good, but we had to ride with a large group to the location and then had to wait for the large group to go in and only then, we had our small group.
I was disappointed on that the whole ride to Peterhof the tour guide spoke in Russian only.

Doing what: Half Day Tour of Peterhof (Petrodvorets)

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2013

Fun and amazing and informative = great tour! Guide was interesting and added insights to tsarist personalities and historical context. Convenient hotel pick up and early (uncrowned) admission. Hydrofoil is a fun and scenic way to travel.

Doing what: Peterhof Grand Palace and Gardens Tour with Neva Boat Ride

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2013

This trip was an special experience.I had the privilege to be the only one with your excellent guide.
A powerful intellectual personality she took me all over the imperial Russia history.
Thank you, Leta.

Doing what: Peterhof Grand Palace and Gardens Tour with Neva Boat Ride

3 star rating: Worth doing
July 2013

I gave this one more star than our Catherine's Palace tour because the management mistake was not as severe. On this tour, again the guide was excellent but we (5 of us) paid extra to be picked up at our hotel and dropped off at our river cruise ship. Our guide had not been told by his management office to take us to our ship. He had no idea where the shipped was docked and we got lost twice trying to find it. He was very angry with his office for not giving him this information. Again, the tour was great, management was not.

Doing what: Half Day Tour of Peterhof (Petrodvorets)

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
July 2013

Guide was excellent. Too long a trip. You see similar homes in St Petersburg.

Doing what: Peterhof Grand Palace and Gardens Tour with Neva Boat Ride

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2013

The tour agents messed up. They did not take us in side the palace. They gave excuse that they could not buy the ticket for forigeners. Also, there was no boat ride.

Doing what: Peterhof Grand Palace and Gardens Tour with Neva Boat Ride

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2013

The palace and the grounds, particularly the cascades, were spectacular! Unfortunately, the same cannot be said of the tour guide, whose communication skills were sadly lacking.

Doing what: Half Day Tour of Peterhof (Petrodvorets)

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2013

This was a very worthwhile trip - we were fortunate to have a guide and driver to ourselves. The palace was very crowded with tour groups, unfortunately this is what you have in most popular places in St Petersburg!
Still we thoroughly enjoyed the palace and grounds and also enjoyed the hydrofoil back to St Petersburg.
The only down side was that you are on your own once you have left the hydrofoil, public transport is not the easiest - taxis tend to rip you off, buses are unreliable and the underground downright scary so in our case we were forced to walk a considerable distance back to our hotel - the option of a ride back to our hotel would have been great.

Doing what: Peterhof Grand Palace and Gardens Tour with Neva Boat Ride

3 star rating: Worth doing
June 2013

The guide was 45 mins late in collecting us from the hotel and no phone call received to keep us informed. Long diversion to collect some other guests from the port.
Once we were on our way everything was fine. Igor was very knowledgeable and polite and the Palace is magnificent. The delays meant that was no time to get a drink, something to eat or to visit the shop or stroll through the gardens, it also meant we arrived back too late to do other things ourselves.

Doing what: Peterhof Grand Palace and Gardens Tour with Neva Boat Ride

3 star rating: Worth doing
June 2013

This was a great opportunity to see a spectacular piece of St Petersburg's history. The tour group was small (just the six of us) and the guide and driver were very friendly and helpful. Lida was well informed so gave us lots of good information. The only downside was it was a bit short. The others on the tour were from a cruise ship and there was a delay in them getting clearance to leave the ship. This had the unfortunate effect of cutting short our time at Peterhof as they needed to head back to complete the rest of their schedule in the afternoon and we had only booked Peterhof. An extra 30-40 minutes at the gardens would have been appreciated.

Doing what: Half Day Tour of Peterhof (Petrodvorets)

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message