St Petersburg ATTRACTIONS See all

Peterhof Palace and Garden (Petrodvorets)

Petrhof (Петерго́ф) or “Peter’s yard” is considered the fountain capital of the world and is in the eyes of any visitor, an absolute gem of environs in St. Petersburg. Consisting of 64 fountains, 255 sculptures not to mention the Grand Palace ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 88 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Montri N

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Very nice tour guide! Good English, explaining all the history.
Thank you!

Doing what: Peterhof Grand Palace and Gardens Tour with Neva Boat Ride

Neil S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Our tour guide, Anastasia, was superb. Her knowledge of the places we visited and the background of everywhere we went in St Petersburg was exceptional. Her willingness to make requested modifications to our itinerary was greatly appreciated.

Doing what: 2-Day Private City Tour of St Petersburg

Branislav S Slovakia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Peterhof is must in Petersburg! But reserve for the whole trip more time because within the given time is only fast track! Visiting the Grand Palace is a bit marching tour be prepared for it. You will go through really beautiful rooms but in quite speedy mode because is it small and so many people want to see it. The gardens are really nice and great! You can spend there hours next time I will do so!

Doing what: Peterhof Grand Palace and Gardens Tour with Neva Boat Ride

ronnie h

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

pick ups punctual. good guide. definitely recommend

Doing what: 2-Day St. Petersburg Sightseeing Experience with Round-Trip Airport Transfers

Peter T

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Our tour guide Valerika was very informative and made the tour a lot of fun. If you are going to do this tour, I would recommend that you ask for her. Ps after the tour finished, she kindly dropped us of at our next destination the Russian Museum and she also recommended an excellent nearby cafe for lunch. Great Service.

Doing what: Small-Group Early Access Tour to Peterhof Grand Palace and Gardens from St Petersburg

Shirley H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

This was money well spent. Our guide, Alexis, was very knowledgeable and knew her history inside and out. Andrew our driver was very efficient and the car was very comfortable. My friend and I were there for four days and the 2 day tour was perfect and exactly what we wanted. We would have never been able to figure out how to get to all the places on our own. The crowds this time of year are a nightmare so it was VERY nice not to have to worry about how to buy tickets or how to get to each place. Alexis and Andrew took great car of us. I would highly recommend this tour especially if you only have a few days.

Doing what: 2-Day Private City Tour of St Petersburg

zute

3 star rating: Worth doing
June 2016

The problem with this tour is the Early Access. When you arrive at Peterhof, the guide negotiates with other tour groups already in line to get you in before them. As a result, you are placed in front of a stampede of other tour groups that rush you through the palace. So I don't really remember much of the palace. After exiting the palace, the guide does take time to walk to all the amazing water fountains around the grounds. Thus, I would recommend people taking the hydrofoil from the Hermitage to Peterhof then buy tickets. You could then go through the palace at your own pace. Note that the fountains begin flowing and are at their peak at 10AM, since their water supply is stored prior to that and ultimately dumps into the sea.

Doing what: Small-Group Early Access Tour to Peterhof Grand Palace and Gardens from St Petersburg

Hanneke C

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
June 2016

Building and parc of amazing beauty!
But...
Too many people! No time to look at things or to read the explanations.
The quide was ok but the guards in the museum chased us throug the building like cattle.

Doing what: Half Day Tour of Peterhof (Petrodvorets)

MrsW2nd

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

Our guides Anastacia and Boris were lovely - so friendly and accommodating. The tours were informal and not to heavy on the details unless we wanted to know more. Our car was comfortable and spacious. We got to see everything that we wanted to see. Lunches were simple but traditional and filling. This tour has a LOT of walking so wear comfortable shoes , but well worth the money to have that private experience. Thank you

Doing what: 2-Day Private City Tour of St Petersburg

Nancy L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

Highly recommend. Our driver, Boris, and guide, Misiurkeeva, were excellent. We were picked up after visiting sites promptly. Misiurkeeva gave individual attention and was very knowledgeable. We saw or did everything listed on tour. No waiting for buses. Again, highly recommend.

Doing what: 2-Day Private City Tour of St Petersburg

Douglas M New Zealand

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

Anna was an excellent guide. We were the only people on the tour. We had early access to Peterhof before the tour groups and it was great to have the time to appreciate the rooms. We left the palace in time to see the fountains being turned on and performing to music. We then enjoyed walking around the beautiful gardens.

Doing what: Small-Group Early Access Tour to Peterhof Grand Palace and Gardens from St Petersburg

Ellen G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

A great day with a great tourguide, Elijah Ilya. He had a very keen sense of humor and was quite knowledgeable about Russian history, politics and culture. Answered every question. I might have wanted a bit more time to just wander the gardens, but I assume we had to make the 1:15 hydrofoil boat back to St. Petersburg. As with all the tour guides I have had with Viator, Elijah was so informative and truly provided us with a great experience learning about Russia.

Doing what: Peterhof Grand Palace and Gardens Tour with Neva Boat Ride

Marco P

4 star rating: Recommended
April 2016

Lida was an excellent tour guide for both the drive to Peterhof, Russian history as well as the interior of Peterhof room by room, the Russian Royal Family and of course the grounds of Peterhof. Wow!

Doing what: Half Day Tour of Peterhof (Petrodvorets)

Esin K United Kingdom

4 star rating: Recommended
February 2016

I know the highlight of this tour is the garden and fountains. Winter does not allow to see this. However, we were lucky that the statues in the garden were not covered. This, I do believe that it is still well worth to see the palace and garden. It is also well worth the trip while we were informed about history and surrounding by our guide Lida.

Doing what: Half Day Tour of Peterhof (Petrodvorets)

Wanley D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

Great tour. Totally worth it.

Doing what: Peterhof Grand Palace and Gardens Tour with Neva Boat Ride

Mary K

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

Our guide met us at our hotel and we had a driver to take us the hour ride to the Grand Palace. The driver was friendly and excellent and so was our guide for the day. It was a crazy day with lots of people getting into the place but our guide walked us through with no problems.

Doing what: Peterhof Grand Palace and Gardens Tour with Neva Boat Ride

Julie E

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

We visited on a day that Peterhof was closed. Since we had tickets, we were permitted entry. WOW!!! No tourists and the palace almost to ourselves. I could not have requested a better guide. The day was perfect. Highly Recommend!!

Doing what: Half Day Tour of Peterhof (Petrodvorets)

Shaun R

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2015

The tour company, Marina Wilson Tours, and our guide, Valeria, were both professional and courteous. Hotel pick-up and drop-off was handled without problem. This is a must-visit site while in St Petersburg and has many interesting fountains and gardens. Early entry did not seem necessary for this site at this time of year and the amount of time at this location seemed a little short. We seemed to miss some relaxing time enjoying the gardens and grounds this location does not seem impossible to navigate without the help of a guide. Also, during September the site was preparing for the closing ceremony and the main fountain offered little for photographic opportunity because of scaffolding and lighting arranged around the main attraction.

Doing what: Small-Group Early Access Tour to Peterhof Grand Palace and Gardens from St Petersburg

Jen

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2015

Although it was a rushed, it was still fabulous. We would have liked a bit more time for photo's but overall, it was good. Our guide pointed out things of interest during the car ride to Peterhof, then it was a relaxing boat ride back to the city afterwards so you get to see St Petersburg from the water. I'm sure there's cheaper ways of seeing the palace at Peterhof, but when time is precious, this is a good option.

Doing what: Peterhof Grand Palace and Gardens Tour with Neva Boat Ride

andrek

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

Excellent private tour. Everything worked fine, guide was very good!

Doing what: Private Tour: Peterhof Palace in St Petersburg

Valerie A T

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

Fantastic tour of Peterhof Grand Palace! A word about the taxi driver, he was really cute :
Our tour guide Ilya was great helpful, spoke good English, and was very attentive and knowledgeable! The boat ride back via hovercraft was interesting as well and certainly worth every cent! Thank you again!

Doing what: Peterhof Grand Palace and Gardens Tour with Neva Boat Ride

shailesh s

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

Excellant Guide, Perfect Arrangements,We are now Viator fans.

Doing what: Peterhof Grand Palace and Gardens Tour with Neva Boat Ride

TERENCE T

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

The Guide was very helpful and showed us lots of intersting sites.
She also helped by knowing where to access the venue and ensure that we did not have to queue for a long time, we also managed to view special events when they happened rather than miss them.

Overall we were very pleaed with the tour of Peterhof and would use Viator again.

Thanks
Terry and Jenny Thirlwell

Doing what: Half Day Tour of Peterhof (Petrodvorets)

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message