• USD ($)
  • English

St Petersburg ATTRACTIONS See all

Pushkin (Tsarskoye Selo)

The former residence of the imperial family Tsarskoye Selo (Ца́рское Село) or Tsar’s Village, is now one of Russia’s most significant cultural heritage sites. Comprising of the Alexander and Catherine Palaces and Parks, the site shares a historical ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 68 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

Very nice, oppulece at the maximum expresion.

Doing what: Tour of Pushkin (Tsarskoye Selo) and Catherine Palace

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2014

Lida provided an excellent tour of Puskin and Catherine's Palace. Since it is about a one-hour drive from St. Peterburg, she pointed out key monuments and areas along the way to maximize our understanding of the area. Good command of English.

Doing what: Tour of Pushkin (Tsarskoye Selo) and Catherine Palace

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2014

It is a tip to Catherine Palace; Pushkin (Tsarskoye Selo) is actually not part.of the tour, not sure why it is included n the tour name.
We liked the tour: the palace is magnificent and the grounds are great.

Doing what: Tour of Pushkin (Tsarskoye Selo) and Catherine Palace

3 star rating: Worth doing
June 2014

We did this tour on a very busy day and had to wait at various stages to move through the palace - although the Amber room is quite something, one had to walk through it so quickly that you cannot really see it all and no pictures allowed inside! I visited Peterhof the day before and expected a bit more from this tour. Although our guide was quite knowledgeable, he did not share as much with us as the other tour guides. If I have to choose between Catherine Palace and Peterhof, I would choose Peterhof.

Doing what: Tour of Pushkin (Tsarskoye Selo) and Catherine Palace

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
June 2014

We were met on-time by our tour guide and left the city for our tour of Pushkin and Catherine Palace. Our tour guide was very friendly, knowledgeable and eager to help us. However, as we approached our first destination, it was obvious that our driver did not know where to go. The driver and tour guide were frantically conversing in Russian, constantly making phone calls and driving in circles. We saw the same railroad station, intersections and buildings several times. There were even signs in both Russian and English which said "To the Palaces" marked with arrows, but the driver would turn in the opposite direction. Our tour guide explained to us that the driver had never done this route before and sincerely apologized to us fro the delay. We were not concerned or upset, as long as we would see what we had come there to see. After 45 minutes to an hour of driving in circles, we finally found the correct entrance to our first sight. Our tour guide was very nice to us, and knew extremely much about the history and architecture of the palaces we were visiting. However, we felt very rushed, as we had lost so much time because of the unfamiliarity of the driver with the area. We spent very little time outdoors in the park, even though it was on of the most beautiful days you could imagine weather-wise. When we went to the Catherine Palace, I told the guide that I had wanted to visit the Amber Room there for over 20 years. When we came to the Amber Room, there were quite a few people inside and it would require many minutes to really visit properly. However, after less than a minute our guide rushed us out of the room. Again, upon exiting the palace we spent little time outdoors. We were taken to the car and then brought back to our hotel. The entire trip lasted 4 1/2 hours instead of the advertized 5 hours. Also, at least 45 minutes was wasted by driving around Pushkin in circles. We loved our guide, but I was sorely disappointed by spending so little time in the Ambe

Doing what: Tour of Pushkin (Tsarskoye Selo) and Catherine Palace

4 star rating: Recommended
May 2014

I could visit both of Catherine Palace and Pavlovsk in Pushkin. It was great experience for me and I enjoyed very much.

Doing what: Tour of Pushkin (Tsarskoye Selo) and Catherine Palace

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2014

Guide very informative, personable and proficient. Everything we had hoped for in a tour of Catherine Palace.

Doing what: Tour of Pushkin (Tsarskoye Selo) and Catherine Palace

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2014

Only 4 of us in the group. Fantastic palace, very few visitors. We were in the amber room on our own. Made going in February seem a good decision. Great guide, Catherine.

Doing what: Tour of Pushkin (Tsarskoye Selo) and Catherine Palace

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

Was excellent. Guide Dasha was very good. Helped us bypass long lines. Was very good. Price was excellent, too.

Doing what: Tour of Pushkin (Tsarskoye Selo) and Catherine Palace

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

Great day with our tour guide Dasha.
Everything went as expected.

Doing what: Tour of Pushkin (Tsarskoye Selo) and Catherine Palace

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2013

Our guide was great... even got us in early and because of this, nearly every room was empty (except for the Amber room) which made the experience very cool.
The weather was pretty bad, and threatening to ruin our walk around the grounds... the guide suggested that we could do another palace if this was the case... but then told us the full price of it... Seemed a little tacky to say, "walk around in the rain or Shell out an additional 70 bucks." The second tour was offered at that price online, and all members of our group had opted to skip it... That being said... The Catherines Palace was fabulous.

Doing what: Tour of Pushkin (Tsarskoye Selo) and Catherine Palace

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2013

Our fabulous guide, Lida was very knowledgeable, clear and generous in being happy to respond to further questions as we went along. The whole tour was very time efficient, well organised and a great pleasure. Thank you.

Doing what: Tour of Pushkin (Tsarskoye Selo) and Catherine Palace

JOANNE S
Australia

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
November 2013

Tour was ok. We were the only 2 people on the day. Guide got us through quickly, however didn't give enough time for photos. I believe she was just looking for an early afternoon as she had been quiet busy previously. Was rushed.

Doing what: Tour of Pushkin (Tsarskoye Selo) and Catherine Palace

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2013

The tour was very professionally very well organised and we are happy we did it. Our tour guide, Lisa, was dot on time and gave us all the details. The Palace was beautiful especially the Ballroom and the Amber Room. Would recommend to all visiting St Petersburg.

Doing what: Tour of Pushkin (Tsarskoye Selo) and Catherine Palace

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message