St Petersburg ATTRACTIONS See all

St Petersburg Cruise Port

St Petersburg was founded by Peter the Great in the 1700s to serve as a window to the west. With its imperial history and magnificent architecture, it is often considered one of the most beautiful cities in Russia. The Port of St Petersburg is the ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 31 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Kyriacos
United Kingdom

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

Our guide, Elena was excellent, very knowlegeable, she looked after us very well. St Petersburgh was fantastic and we will return. Our best wishes and thanks to Elena

Doing what: St Petersburg Shore Excursion: Small-Group Pushkin, Peterhof and Metro Station Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

Everything from start to finish was first class our guide Jayne's knowledge of St Petersburg was like an encyclopedia worth every penny and more.

Doing what: St Petersburg Shore Excursion: Small-Group Pushkin, Peterhof and Metro Station Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

Our tour guide Elaina was fantastic. She was very knowledgable, friendly, energetic, and enthusiastic! We were able to see all the attractions without fighting through the crowds. We sampled local cuisine and she arranged for us to attend the ballet even at the last moment. We had a wonderful time!

Doing what: St Petersburg Shore Excursion: 2-Day City Highlights and Pushkin Private Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

Perfect tour!! Our tour guide Kate spoke perfect English and was incredibly knowledgeable. Our driver Yuri was very professional and the van was immaculate. Kate organized a perfect tour with our limited time and even managed to squeeze in a few extras. I can't say enough, we had an amazing time. Kate selected local restaurants for lunch (at our request) so we could sample all the local food. I would not hesitate to book again.

Doing what: St Petersburg Shore Excursion: 2-Day City Highlights and Pushkin Private Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

From the first minute of our prompt pick up our tour was fantastic. Our driver got us quickly and efficiently to each place, and our guide was excellent. Her knowledge about the places we visited was outstanding and she quickly recognised our particular interests and tailored our tour to suit. Her efficiency in avoiding queues, and having us in the right place at the right time ensured that we got the absolute most from our time in St. Petersburg. As older tourists, we appreciated her ability to find places to sit whenever suitable, toilets when needed and the pace set. Our guide and driver made an excellent team. We would thoroughly recommend this private tour. Considering comments from our fellow passengers on our cruise regarding their experiences, we feel our experience was more than worth the cost of the tour.

Doing what: St Petersburg Shore Excursion: 2-Day City Highlights and Pushkin Private Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

Guide was terrific, tour covered the highlights of beautiful St Petersburg, we would recommend this for anyone that is in St Petersburg for two days.

Doing what: St Petersburg Shore Excursion: 2-Day City Highlights and Pushkin Small-Group Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

Lets start by saying that our one day excursion with MarieRose Tours, tour guide Lita, was absolutely wonderful. Can't say enough good things. We got off to a somewhat rocky start, though, when Lita was late to meet us at dockside, and none of the local phone numbers seemed to work. While I was on hold with Viator, somebody in Nevada, Lita showed up. From then on, it was wonderful! Basically, we had a private tour, with a very fluent English speaking local, who obviously knew one heck of a lot about the places and people involved in St. Petersburg's colorful history. My somewhat limited mobility was a slight problem, but we worked through it.
We weren't overwhelmed with the lunch provided, going to an Italian restaurant in St. Petersburg, where it was a major consultation to get a refill of a glass of drinking water, wasn't wonderful. Something more Russian would have been a bit better, but that memory pales compared to the rest of the day. 9 hours of nonstop beauty and history were simply wonderful, and Lita made it happen. First stop was the sphinxes of Amenhotep III, on the banks of the Neva. From there to the Spit of Vasilevsky Island, then on to the Peter and Paul Fortress. From there to the Church on Spilled Blood, and then to St. Isaac's Cathedral, and to the State Hermitage Museum. Then the not so memorable lunch, and a stop at a souvenir shop, and in the after lunch hours, a cruise on the canals and the Neva River, for a view of St. Petersburg from the water. Unfortunately, the cruise we got on was Russian language only, but Lita filled in as best she could. From there back to the ship. The architecture of the city is astounding. One totally impressive piece of Neo-classic architecture, overwhelmed by another a short distance away. And on, and on, and on. For beauty, the city rivals Paris in my experience, with the added benefit of no Parisians! In character, I'd say that Peter the Great succeeded in making a city which rivals Amsterdam. A great day!

Doing what: St Petersburg Shore Excursion: Sightseeing Tour Including Peter and Paul Fortress, Hermitage Museum and Cruise

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

Excellent tour, guide and driver very friendly. Tour guide waited for everyone to catch up with her before explaining area we were at and very knowledgeable about history of all the places we visited. She was very approachable and would answer any question asked, even if it was a personal one. Would highly recommend this tour.

Doing what: St Petersburg Shore Excursion: 2-Day City Highlights and Pushkin Small-Group Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

This tour was absolutely fantastic!!! Our guide and driver were both very accommodating. We ended up being the only two people in his group for the day so the guide went at our pace and even took us to a few extra stops since we had time. As always, I knew booking on Viator that the tour would be exactly what we wanted.

Doing what: St Petersburg Shore Excursion: Sightseeing Tour Including Peter and Paul Fortress, Hermitage Museum and Cruise

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

A terrific way to see Peterhof and Catherines's Palace. Our guide Lida was delightful, extremely well studied and her excellent English made our day a day to remember. I would highly recomend this tour.

Doing what: St Petersburg Shore Excursion: Imperial Residence Tour with Catherine Palace and Peterhof

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2013

as both Palaces are located south of city center it is very efficient to combine the tour to the palaces; well organised tour; very positive: we had a private tour (guide, driver and we two). With Margarita we had a very good guide (excellent English, avoiding crowds, always on time, presenting her personal highlights to the tourist, gives a lot of extra information regarding life in Russia).

Doing what: St Petersburg Shore Excursion: Imperial Residence Tour with Catherine Palace and Peterhof

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2013

Had an amazing tour, our tour leader was fantastic and full of information. We Highly Recommend this tour !!

Doing what: St Petersburg Shore Excursion: City Tour with Hermitage Museum and Peterhof

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2013

st Petersburg was as beautiful as advertised, our guide was wonderful, loved the tour

Doing what: St Petersburg Shore Excursion: Small-Group City Tour with Hermitage Museum and Boat Ride

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2013

Our guide, Lena, was exceptional!! She was very knowledgeable and very easy to understand. As we drove through the city, she explained what the buildings or statues were. She answered all of our questions without hesitation. She had a great sense of humor and knew how to get into most tour sites without a long wait!!
Our only complaint was our lunch! The tour description says: "enjoy a classic Russian lunch in an elegant restaurant". Well, the lunch was in a basement cafe and far from elegant. The main dish was served lukewarm. We had a salad, chicken and pasta, bread and a piece of cake, I felt that they were not prepared for us. And, we really expected something more classic. Our friends who took a tour through the cruise line said they went to a really nice restaurant and had an excellent lunch. We were very disappointed. Also, we realize it wasn't Lena's decision.
I used Viator for 3 tours in Paris last year and was very happy with them, which is why I suggested Viator to my friends for this trip. Just don't promise what you cannot deliver.

Doing what: St Petersburg Shore Excursion: City Tour with Hermitage Museum and Peterhof

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message