• USD ($)
  • English

St Petersburg ATTRACTIONS See all

St Petersburg Cruise Port

St Petersburg was founded by Peter the Great in the 1700s to serve as a window to the west. With its imperial history and magnificent architecture, it is often considered one of the most beautiful cities in Russia. The Port of St Petersburg is the ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 24 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

Guide was terrific, tour covered the highlights of beautiful St Petersburg, we would recommend this for anyone that is in St Petersburg for two days.

Doing what: St Petersburg Shore Excursion: 2-Day City Highlights and Pushkin Small-Group Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

Lets start by saying that our one day excursion with MarieRose Tours, tour guide Lita, was absolutely wonderful. Can't say enough good things. We got off to a somewhat rocky start, though, when Lita was late to meet us at dockside, and none of the local phone numbers seemed to work. While I was on hold with Viator, somebody in Nevada, Lita showed up. From then on, it was wonderful! Basically, we had a private tour, with a very fluent English speaking local, who obviously knew one heck of a lot about the places and people involved in St. Petersburg's colorful history. My somewhat limited mobility was a slight problem, but we worked through it.
We weren't overwhelmed with the lunch provided, going to an Italian restaurant in St. Petersburg, where it was a major consultation to get a refill of a glass of drinking water, wasn't wonderful. Something more Russian would have been a bit better, but that memory pales compared to the rest of the day. 9 hours of nonstop beauty and history were simply wonderful, and Lita made it happen. First stop was the sphinxes of Amenhotep III, on the banks of the Neva. From there to the Spit of Vasilevsky Island, then on to the Peter and Paul Fortress. From there to the Church on Spilled Blood, and then to St. Isaac's Cathedral, and to the State Hermitage Museum. Then the not so memorable lunch, and a stop at a souvenir shop, and in the after lunch hours, a cruise on the canals and the Neva River, for a view of St. Petersburg from the water. Unfortunately, the cruise we got on was Russian language only, but Lita filled in as best she could. From there back to the ship. The architecture of the city is astounding. One totally impressive piece of Neo-classic architecture, overwhelmed by another a short distance away. And on, and on, and on. For beauty, the city rivals Paris in my experience, with the added benefit of no Parisians! In character, I'd say that Peter the Great succeeded in making a city which rivals Amsterdam. A great day!

Doing what: St Petersburg Shore Excursion: Sightseeing Tour Including Peter and Paul Fortress, Hermitage Museum and Cruise

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

Excellent tour, guide and driver very friendly. Tour guide waited for everyone to catch up with her before explaining area we were at and very knowledgeable about history of all the places we visited. She was very approachable and would answer any question asked, even if it was a personal one. Would highly recommend this tour.

Doing what: St Petersburg Shore Excursion: 2-Day City Highlights and Pushkin Small-Group Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

This tour was absolutely fantastic!!! Our guide and driver were both very accommodating. We ended up being the only two people in his group for the day so the guide went at our pace and even took us to a few extra stops since we had time. As always, I knew booking on Viator that the tour would be exactly what we wanted.

Doing what: St Petersburg Shore Excursion: Sightseeing Tour Including Peter and Paul Fortress, Hermitage Museum and Cruise

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

A terrific way to see Peterhof and Catherines's Palace. Our guide Lida was delightful, extremely well studied and her excellent English made our day a day to remember. I would highly recomend this tour.

Doing what: St Petersburg Shore Excursion: Imperial Residence Tour with Catherine Palace and Peterhof

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2013

as both Palaces are located south of city center it is very efficient to combine the tour to the palaces; well organised tour; very positive: we had a private tour (guide, driver and we two). With Margarita we had a very good guide (excellent English, avoiding crowds, always on time, presenting her personal highlights to the tourist, gives a lot of extra information regarding life in Russia).

Doing what: St Petersburg Shore Excursion: Imperial Residence Tour with Catherine Palace and Peterhof

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2013

Had an amazing tour, our tour leader was fantastic and full of information. We Highly Recommend this tour !!

Doing what: St Petersburg Shore Excursion: City Tour with Hermitage Museum and Peterhof

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2013

st Petersburg was as beautiful as advertised, our guide was wonderful, loved the tour

Doing what: St Petersburg Shore Excursion: Small-Group City Tour with Hermitage Museum and Boat Ride

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2013

Our guide, Lena, was exceptional!! She was very knowledgeable and very easy to understand. As we drove through the city, she explained what the buildings or statues were. She answered all of our questions without hesitation. She had a great sense of humor and knew how to get into most tour sites without a long wait!!
Our only complaint was our lunch! The tour description says: "enjoy a classic Russian lunch in an elegant restaurant". Well, the lunch was in a basement cafe and far from elegant. The main dish was served lukewarm. We had a salad, chicken and pasta, bread and a piece of cake, I felt that they were not prepared for us. And, we really expected something more classic. Our friends who took a tour through the cruise line said they went to a really nice restaurant and had an excellent lunch. We were very disappointed. Also, we realize it wasn't Lena's decision.
I used Viator for 3 tours in Paris last year and was very happy with them, which is why I suggested Viator to my friends for this trip. Just don't promise what you cannot deliver.

Doing what: St Petersburg Shore Excursion: City Tour with Hermitage Museum and Peterhof

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2013

Really good tour, the guide was very informative with fluent English. We saw all the main sights in St Petersburg in 1 full day tour. Would recommend

Doing what: St Petersburg Shore Excursion: City Tour with Hermitage Museum and Peterhof

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2013

it was a wonderful experience and we wish we had can have more time but just way too much things to see and will return again next time and highly recommended. The driver and the tour guild were both so nice and friendly. Thank you.

Doing what: St Petersburg Shore Excursion: Sightseeing Tour Including Peter and Paul Fortress, Hermitage Museum and Cruise

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2013

Again the guide was wonderful. As on the other tour not only did she share her wonderful city, but a little bit of how her life worked. It was great.

Doing what: St Petersburg Shore Excursion: City Tour with Hermitage Museum and Peterhof

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2014

This was a fantastic tour with our spritely, upbeat tour guide Tatianna. Due to the heavy rains the hydrofoils were not running so we had to take a bus to Peterhof which gave us less time there. The grounds with all the beautiful fountains and gardens were gorgeous (even more beautiful than Versailles in my opinion). We didn't have to wait in line when we got to Pushkin which was awesome. Catherine's palace was amazing, but extremely crowded so we didn't have barely any time to shop in the gift stores which was unfortunate. The only reason I didn't give the tour 5 stars was because we were expecting to tour a metro station, but this wasn't included on our tour. We asked our guide about half way through when we would go to the Metro and she said that most people don't want to do that so we wouldn't be going. We were slightly disappointed and realized at the end we would never have had time to do this portion of the tour so I don't think this should be included in the title as it is very misleading. The rest of the tour was so great that we were able to overlook it though.

Doing what: St Petersburg Shore Excursion: Small-Group Pushkin, Peterhof and Metro Station Tour

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2013

Our guide Alex was very frienldy, patient and knowledgeable and gave us all the information we needed to enjoy this tour without overdoing it. There is so much to take in as the tour moves quite quickly from place to place. There was a good mix of churches,palaces, museums and scenic river cruising and we thoroughly enjoyed the day. The only criticism I have is that we were told at the immigration hall at the port that our paperwork would not get us through and that we needed a ship's tour ticket to get off the ship. This was not true and needs to be made clear to customers. We had some anxious moments waiting to see how we would get through and were only accepted when we showed our ship's tour ticket. for a later time.

Doing what: St Petersburg Shore Excursion: Sightseeing Tour Including Peter and Paul Fortress, Hermitage Museum and Cruise

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2013

The tour was great but nearly didn't happen! I received a document which contained a barcode which I printed off. It said that we needed to confirm our booking with Marie Rose travel, the local contact. The email address did not work so I phoned the number given - from England. All I got was an fax machine.
I went to the Marie Rose website and found a different number to phone. I spoke to a Russian girl who told us our places were already confirmed. I told her that I had the ticket with the barcode - but did I need anything else?. She assured me I didn't.
However, when we disembarked the ship at St Petersburg I presented the paper and was shouted at by the local customs as our paper was not the correct one. My friend and I were commanded to sit on a bench like naughty schoolgirls and told to wait.
The guide was at another ship terminal it appeared but was contacted and she arrived to where we were. Meanwhile a chap at customs had printed off another document which was needed and belatedly we linked up with our guide.
On return home I still can't find this ticket to print off!!!
The tour was good and did all the things it promised. Lida, our guide was very good - in The Hermitage she selected a range of exhibits rather than trying to trail us round all day. She spoke good English and was knowledgeable about her city.
Other private tours were taken on the metro which I would have loved - but maybe you could include that on future tours.
In future I think these private tours offer more than the shipboard excursions which are pricey and ensure that the participants queue up for ages, whereas we were able to jump the queues at the attractions. I would therefore search around for a perfect tour next time I go on a cruise.

Doing what: St Petersburg Shore Excursion: Small-Group City Tour with Hermitage Museum and Boat Ride

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message