Unlike Moscow's red bricks and onion domes, St Petersburg's network of canals and Baroque and Neoclassical architecture give the city a European flavor. Get a taste for this sophisticated city with this three-day itinerary.   Day 1: Grand ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 368 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

agatha m

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

This was a really good tour of an enormous beautiful palace and its beautiful small palace neighbor. Catherine's palace and park are huge and show the size and wealth of the Russian state under the tsars. And their construction, and reconstruction after WW II is impressive, a Western European treasure in the East. Very well run, with an intelligent guide filling in the history.

Doing what: Small-Group Catherine Palace and Pavlovsk Palace Tour from St Petersburg

Joy B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

Excellent trip with a brilliant guide Lida-she was knowledgeable, interesting and funny!
The Catherine Palace is wonderful.

Doing what: Tour of Pushkin (Tsarskoye Selo) and Catherine Palace

billysremac

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

The organization was excellent. A guide Elena and a driver were very pleasant. Elena was very knowledgeable and ready to answer all my questions.

Doing what: Grand Tour of St Petersburg

Jaydo

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

Learning about Russian history and the history of Vodka was fun. I've never been a fan of Vodka - and still am not - but I thoroughly enjoyed the museum and the tastings. I thoroughly enjoyed the glass of Chardonnay outside in the sunshine from their bar/restaurant afterwards :-

Doing what: Russian Vodka Museum Tour in St Petersburg

Christine G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

Thoroughly enjoyed the tour. Best way to see the city in a short time. Our guide was very knowledgable and shared many interesting insights into the city and the culture. We would recommend the tour to anyone wanting to understand the history of St Petersburg.

Doing what: Grand Tour of St Petersburg

Elizabeth H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

This experience lived up to our high hopes and Guide Lida was exceptional. No matter what we asked she was able to answer in an extraordinarily well informed way. Highly recommend this tour.

Doing what: Tour of Pushkin (Tsarskoye Selo) and Catherine Palace

Elizabeth C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

This was a really worthwhile tour. We had plenty of time to see everything with a very pleasant knowledgeable guide. If you are coming in on a cruise ship or ferry, you don't need a visa. I hope very much to take another tour with this company when I come back to St Petersburg.

Doing what: Private Tour: Peter and Paul Fortress in St Petersburg

Dmytro H

4 star rating: Recommended
May 2016

The tour was very good and our guide Olga possesses great knowledge of Hermitage, its history and the jewels of its collection. The only minor hiccup was with the special entrance tickets that the guide could have had before the tour started.
Private tour provides by far better experience when compared to the group tours.

Doing what: Small-Group St Petersburg Hermitage Museum Tour with Skip-the-Line Entry and Summer Early Access

Sonja B

4 star rating: Recommended
May 2016

This tour was very informative and truly enhanced my visit to Saint Petersburg.

However, 8 hours is almost too little to fit everything in. It didn't help that we wasted time waiting around for our tickets as another guide had mistakenly taken ours. This meant we were quite pressed for time towards the end and had to rush through the Hermitage Museum. Furthermore, as I had evening plans, I didn't have the flexibility to stay longer myself.

The lunch was okay, but for my vegetarian colleague the only option was plain rice with a slice of cucumber and tomato. This is something that needs to be considered - potentially there could be questions when booking regarding diet needs?

All in all, I would definitely recommend this tour for those not staying very long in Saint Petersburg.

Doing what: Grand Tour of St Petersburg

Rodger G

4 star rating: Recommended
May 2016

We found the tour to be good and very interesting. The guide was pleasant and knowledgeable. The driver drove safely and dropped us off at convenient locations. It would have been better to do Pavlovsk Palace last so more time was spent at the Catherine Palace.

Doing what: Tour of Pushkin (Tsarskoye Selo) and Catherine Palace

Gabi R

4 star rating: Recommended
May 2016

Excellent tour, highly recommended. Elena was very knowledgable, friendly and articulate. She managed to get us into some rooms before any other visitors, resulting in a feeling of having the place to ourselves.

Doing what: Small-Group St Petersburg Hermitage Museum Tour with Skip-the-Line Entry and Summer Early Access

Fulvio B

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
May 2016

...it was a great experience and we were lucky to have our guide and not being in a large group. There were many tourists.

Doing what: Tour of Pushkin (Tsarskoye Selo) and Catherine Palace

Fulvio B

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
May 2016

A great show! Maybe Russian Buffet Dinner is not correct....it is more a Cocktail, Reception with Finger Foods....There was enough to eat and drink.

Doing what: Folklore Show 'Feel Yourself Russian' with Russian Buffet Dinner

Fulvio B

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
May 2016

Nothing went wrong....it was a great tour with an excellent guide!

Doing what: Grand Tour of St Petersburg

Edward H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

This is an excellent tour if one wishes to see four historic churches plus the Hermitage Museum with ease, but it is a grueling 8-hour tour with an overload of information. Tour guide Lidea was excellent and had a wealth of information as she took my daughter and I around Saint Petersburg. I'd prefer to see these sites over two days, but am very happy we were able to experience as much of Saint Petersburg as we did in one day.

Doing what: Grand Tour of St Petersburg

Carol A

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Irina was a delight. We enjoyed our tour with her enormously and the 3 hours flew by. She was enthusiastic, knowledgeable and easy to talk to. Her tour provided an overview and orientation which one needs in coming to grips with the vast Hermitage plus her deeper discussion on particular highlights was interesting and filled with insights we otherwise would not have been aware of. This was a terrific tour and we couldn't have had a better guide. TY, Irina.

Doing what: Small-Group St Petersburg Hermitage Museum Tour with Skip-the-Line Entry and Summer Early Access

John

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

We met our guide Anastasia in Palace Square at 6pm. Brilliant start - our guide is called Anastasia! It was just the 3 of us so we had a very informative walking tour. This tour was brilliant and for a young guide to be that knowledgeable about the Revolution and Soviet times was a real achievement. Anastasia was brilliant. For this tour to be of value you would really need to have some interest and knowledge of the topic up front because it almost becomes a two way discussion on a massive topic. I did learn some things I was previously unaware of - I highly recommend this tour.
One point - on the descriptions I read before booking the tour - I read that we met in Lenin Square at Finland Station where Lenin arrived etc and that on the tour we saw The Big House KGB and also visited a Soviet Cafe so I was surprised that my on line booking gave instructions to meet at Palace Square. On our tour we did not go to The Big House or a Soviet cafe. But of course we saw other things like Pravda offices and we did visit the flame shown in the picture. I think maybe there are two tours? You could not possibly visit Lenin Square, The Big House, and Palace Square storming of Winter Palace in one walking tour. Anyway it does not matter. You can visit later whatever interests you after. THIS TOUR WAS EXCELLENT AND OUR GUIDE ANASTASIA WAS BRILLIANT.

Doing what: Communist Walking Tour of St Petersburg

Rebecca P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

I was fortunate enough to be the only person who booked the tour on the day, and they were happy to let the tour go ahead. My tour guide was lovely and knowledgeable. Catherine Palace was absolutely spectacular, by far the most extravagant palace I and #39;ve seen in Europe. Highly recommend

Doing what: Small-Group Catherine Palace and Pavlovsk Palace Tour from St Petersburg

Maureen G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Very good tour with just the right amount of information. Our guide was very knowledgeable and made our visit interesting.

Doing what: Tour of Pushkin (Tsarskoye Selo) and Catherine Palace

Jessica W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Great tour with a fabulous guide - highly recommend

Doing what: Grand Tour of St Petersburg

Clive J

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Really interesting tour and well worth while. Anastasia was knowledgable and it is interesting to talk to someone living in St Petersburg about current times and politics. Do take this tour.

Doing what: Communist Walking Tour of St Petersburg

Timo A

4 star rating: Recommended
April 2016

Very nice tour, approximatately 3, 5 hours. Very nice Guide Ms. L. Pick up from the hotel. We were the only ones three person, like private tour.

Maybe 5 hours shouls be better, because the is so much to see.

Very good operator!

Doing what: Grand Tour of St Petersburg

Rachel F

4 star rating: Recommended
April 2016

The Grand Tour that we did in Saint Petersburg was great. Our tour guide gave us a detailed history of the city and getting around via car was helpful so we could see everything in a small space of time.

Doing what: Grand Tour of St Petersburg

Edward H

3 star rating: Worth doing
April 2016

A long and rigorous tour with an overland of information. Four churches plus the Hermitage Museum was too much for one day, and I wish we could have split the day into two separate tours. Our guide was knowledgable, professional, and friendly and insisted we experience all aspects of the tour despite the fact it was only my daughter and myself. I'm glad that I took this tour, but did return to the hotel exhausted both physically and mentally.

Doing what: Grand Tour of St Petersburg

Timo A

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
April 2016

Very friendly quide and chaffeur. Pick up from the hotel, english speaking excellent quide, good van. We like it very much.

Doing what: Grand Tour of St Petersburg

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message