Unlike Moscow's red bricks and onion domes, St Petersburg's network of canals and Baroque and Neoclassical architecture give the city a European flavor. Get a taste for this sophisticated city with this three-day itinerary.   Day 1: Grand ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 279 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

Knowledgeable friendly guide. Catherine palace is a must to see especially the amber room. Pavlosk palace which came as an additional option for the tour was also well worth the visit.

Doing what: Tour of Pushkin (Tsarskoye Selo) and Catherine Palace

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

We were v. impressed. Our guide, Elena, had extensive knowledge of Russian culture, history and religion, which she told us about during the journey + tour. Novgorod was a truly fascinating place - particularly the wooden architecture museum that gave glimpses into the origins. Definitely recommend.

Doing what: Novgorod Small-Group Tour from St Petersburg

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

Our tour was well conducted by our guide Helen. Given that we were the only people on the tour we received exceptional and personalised information and service. The only negative was that it was a bit rushed as we did not get enough time to explore the beautiful gardens as we needed to be at the pier for our return trrip to St Petersburg.

Doing what: Peterhof Grand Palace and Gardens Tour with Neva Boat Ride

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

This tour was very well delivered by our guide Catherine. There were 6 people oon the tour. Catherine ensured we had ample time at each location for photos, questions etc. The information provided was extensive and very informative.

Doing what: Grand Tour of St Petersburg

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

Excellent tour of the city Would do this as a first tour when traveling to St Petersburgh so u can focus on the intesting things the rest of the tour Excellent guide

Doing what: Grand Tour of St Petersburg

Doug Y
Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

This was a bit more pricey than your average tour, but we felt it was well worth it. We travelled there by limo with a driver and guide. Roman was a fabulous guide so knowledgeable about absolutely everything and quite charming. He also enabled us to skip the lines not just outside but in numerous places inside.
Catherine Palace is quite stunning. Room after room leaves you gasping and drooling, culminating in the famous Amber Room, which absolutely lives up to its hype. The grounds are also worth a visit in their own right.
For not much more we added the Pavlovsky Palace, which I'd recommend everyone to do. Again stunning room after stunning room, but quite different from Catherine Palace.
A truly memorable day.

Doing what: Tour of Pushkin (Tsarskoye Selo) and Catherine Palace

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

This was an excellent way to start our stay in St. Petersburg.
Paris, which we have visited several times was our favorite city, but it has been replaced by St. Petersburg, which is even more beautiful.
The tour guide was excellent and the people in St. Petersburg are very friendly.

Doing what: Grand Tour of St Petersburg

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

We had a wonderful trip yesterday. We would like to thank the tour guide who was very knowledgeable and patient. We learnt a lot from him. The driver was also very friendly.

Doing what: Tour of Pushkin (Tsarskoye Selo) and Catherine Palace

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

Our guide Roman was excellent. His English was perfect and his knowledge of the Palaces and the tsars and tsarinas was outstanding.It was quite a long day but one we will never forget. At the end it was like saying goodbye to a friend

Doing what: Tour of Pushkin (Tsarskoye Selo) and Catherine Palace

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

Very worth it to skip the lines which were VERY long and the museum building itself, as well as the collection is very impressive. The guide has a set route - so if you are interested more or less in something in particular, plan extra time to go back and view things on your own. Also - the impressionist/post-impressionist collection has been moved to a different building which is not part of this tour.

Doing what: Small-Group St Petersburg Hermitage Museum Tour with Skip-the-Line Entry and Summer Early Access

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

Lida was a fantastic tour guide who provided great information and insights, and made the entire day a lot of fun. Highly recommend this tour.

Doing what: Grand Tour of St Petersburg

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2015

We enjoyed our tour and our guide was excellent. Our only problem was booking the tour. We chose a particular date since we only had one available day in St Petersburg and were then booked on a different day. It was sorted out but not ideal since we only found out by email - a text would have been a more reliable form of communication.

Doing what: Small-Group St Petersburg Hermitage Museum Tour with Skip-the-Line Entry and Summer Early Access

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2015

Really interesting way to see some of the key sights in SP - also - it's good to know that you do get to go inside the Church of the Spilled Blood - even though that's not clear from the description.

Doing what: Small-Group St Petersburg City Highlights Tour Including Peter and Paul Fortress and Church of the Savior on Spilled Blood

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2015

A good way to see a slice of the 'real Russia' - lots of history in this city and my guide did a good job reviewing the highlights of Russian history.

It is a good option if you have extra time - but if you are short on time, there is more than enough to see in St. Petersburg itself...

Doing what: Novgorod Small-Group Tour from St Petersburg

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2015

Interesting tour of the two palaces- but make sure you also go to the other palace with all the fountains. The Catherine palace is a reconstruction as the original was almost completely destroyed in the war. The highlight is definitely the amber room.

Doing what: Small-Group Catherine Palace and Pavlovsk Palace Tour from St Petersburg

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

Very engaged and helpful guide; fantastic event thanks to beautiful blue sky

Doing what: Midnight St Petersburg Cruise: Drawbridges and Canals

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

Our guide Elena Arsenova was extraordinary and very efficient.
Superb tour.

Doing what: Small-Group St Petersburg Hermitage Museum Tour with Skip-the-Line Entry and Summer Early Access

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

Great museum. Unfortunately, I missed the tour my own fault.

Doing what: Small-Group St Petersburg Hermitage Museum Tour with Skip-the-Line Entry and Summer Early Access

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

Short tour. Not much to see, but the guide Irina was very knowledgeable and enthusiastic.

Doing what: Private Tour: Peter and Paul Fortress in St Petersburg

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

Guide was very helpful. The original date we choose meant that we would only see Catherine's Palace but we were alerted and could choose an alternative date. Both palaces are well worth seeing and going with a tour is much easier than trying to organise by yourself.

Doing what: Small-Group Catherine Palace and Pavlovsk Palace Tour from St Petersburg

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

Roman was a great guide! We got to see a local church before heading to Catherine Park / Palace. He was a very knowledgable guide and favorite part was that when we were done with our official tour my husband had asked if there was a good place to buy some souvenirs. There was the basic touristy stuff on the palace grounds, but Roman also recommended a local Pushkin 2nd-hand store where you can sometimes find old relics from the Soviet era. So we went there and was an awesome experience! Way more memorable than buying touristy stuff.

Doing what: Tour of Pushkin (Tsarskoye Selo) and Catherine Palace

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

Our tour guide Roman from Marie Rose tours was wonderful. So full of knowlege about the area and palace.
It was a pleasure to spend the day with him.

Doing what: Tour of Pushkin (Tsarskoye Selo) and Catherine Palace

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

Petershof is fascinating and beautiful. It was great to go with a small group and get to skip the lines. The ride back to St. Petersburg on the hydrofoil was a treat. The tour guide was knowledgeable on the history of both St. Petersburg- which he commented on as we drove through on the way to Petershof. I'm glad we booked a tour rather than try to do this on our own.

Doing what: Peterhof Grand Palace and Gardens Tour with Neva Boat Ride

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

It was an excellent tour, it was very informative .tour guides were very friendly and knowledgeable.

Doing what: Grand Tour of St Petersburg

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message