• USD ($)
  • English
Unlike Moscow's red bricks and onion domes, St Petersburg's network of canals and Baroque and Neoclassical architecture give the city a European flavor. Get a taste for this sophisticated city with this three-day itinerary.   Day 1: Grand ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 190 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
July 2014

The guide was good...knowledgeable and personable in general. However, she complained about the long drive to Novgorod which was somewhat dampening since we were excited to see countryside and the dachas.The driver on the other hand was terrible...they hired a cab and the driver drove too fast, got a speeding ticket and caused a fender-bender. If you have to use this tour company (it was the only option for Novgorod), be firm about a decent driver. Otherwise, use a different operator.

Doing what: Novgorod Small-Group Tour from St Petersburg

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

Alex Walker, our guide, gave us an outstanding thorough private tour of St. Petersburg. A combination of car and walking, we spent 8 hours learning all about this special city. Since Alex is also a history teacher, his knowledge was extensive and insightful, providing the significance of key events and important monuments in Peter the Great's city. Excellent English.

Doing what: Grand Tour of St Petersburg

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

This was the WOW! factor of our recent visit to St Petersburg - I never realised how huge this attraction was until we saw hundreds of people lining the banks of the canal to watch the bridges go up. And not to mention the number of boats on the water as well. Definitely worth while and we had a lovely guide - her English was amazing and she shared some fascinating stories with us. Will want to do this again some day!

Doing what: Midnight St Petersburg Cruise: Drawbridges and Canals

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

This was definitely one of the highlights of our visit. Just loved the whole experience. The dancers were just amazing and I would recommend it anytime. The buffet dinner is not really a dinner, but rather just some finger snacks, but we were there for the show, not really to eat, so did not mind at all.

Doing what: Folklore Show 'Feel Yourself Russian' with Russian Buffet Dinner

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

Very nice, oppulece at the maximum expresion.

Doing what: Tour of Pushkin (Tsarskoye Selo) and Catherine Palace

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2014

Lida provided an excellent tour of Puskin and Catherine's Palace. Since it is about a one-hour drive from St. Peterburg, she pointed out key monuments and areas along the way to maximize our understanding of the area. Good command of English.

Doing what: Tour of Pushkin (Tsarskoye Selo) and Catherine Palace

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2014

It is a tip to Catherine Palace; Pushkin (Tsarskoye Selo) is actually not part.of the tour, not sure why it is included n the tour name.
We liked the tour: the palace is magnificent and the grounds are great.

Doing what: Tour of Pushkin (Tsarskoye Selo) and Catherine Palace

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2014

The tour itself was great however it was a bit confusing finding where to get onto the boat and the time it started was much later than indicated. However, with that said it was an awesome experience and am glad I got to see white nights and the bridges!

Doing what: Midnight St Petersburg Cruise: Drawbridges and Canals

3 star rating: Worth doing
June 2014

We did this tour on a very busy day and had to wait at various stages to move through the palace - although the Amber room is quite something, one had to walk through it so quickly that you cannot really see it all and no pictures allowed inside! I visited Peterhof the day before and expected a bit more from this tour. Although our guide was quite knowledgeable, he did not share as much with us as the other tour guides. If I have to choose between Catherine Palace and Peterhof, I would choose Peterhof.

Doing what: Tour of Pushkin (Tsarskoye Selo) and Catherine Palace

3 star rating: Worth doing
June 2014

Aside from a rocky start,Tour Operator "Moscow Free Tours" never showed up at designated meeting location, even though the tour was in St. Petersburg. After tracking the guide for one entire day thanks to the Hotel assistance due to language barrier we finally got to go on the midnight cruise. Beautiful, that's all I can tell you, beautiful.

Doing what: Midnight St Petersburg Cruise: Drawbridges and Canals

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
June 2014

We were met on-time by our tour guide and left the city for our tour of Pushkin and Catherine Palace. Our tour guide was very friendly, knowledgeable and eager to help us. However, as we approached our first destination, it was obvious that our driver did not know where to go. The driver and tour guide were frantically conversing in Russian, constantly making phone calls and driving in circles. We saw the same railroad station, intersections and buildings several times. There were even signs in both Russian and English which said "To the Palaces" marked with arrows, but the driver would turn in the opposite direction. Our tour guide explained to us that the driver had never done this route before and sincerely apologized to us fro the delay. We were not concerned or upset, as long as we would see what we had come there to see. After 45 minutes to an hour of driving in circles, we finally found the correct entrance to our first sight. Our tour guide was very nice to us, and knew extremely much about the history and architecture of the palaces we were visiting. However, we felt very rushed, as we had lost so much time because of the unfamiliarity of the driver with the area. We spent very little time outdoors in the park, even though it was on of the most beautiful days you could imagine weather-wise. When we went to the Catherine Palace, I told the guide that I had wanted to visit the Amber Room there for over 20 years. When we came to the Amber Room, there were quite a few people inside and it would require many minutes to really visit properly. However, after less than a minute our guide rushed us out of the room. Again, upon exiting the palace we spent little time outdoors. We were taken to the car and then brought back to our hotel. The entire trip lasted 4 1/2 hours instead of the advertized 5 hours. Also, at least 45 minutes was wasted by driving around Pushkin in circles. We loved our guide, but I was sorely disappointed by spending so little time in the Ambe

Doing what: Tour of Pushkin (Tsarskoye Selo) and Catherine Palace

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2014

Good tour. City looks different at night. Lots of info

Doing what: St Petersburg by Night: City Sightseeing Tour

4 star rating: Recommended
May 2014

I could visit both of Catherine Palace and Pavlovsk in Pushkin. It was great experience for me and I enjoyed very much.

Doing what: Tour of Pushkin (Tsarskoye Selo) and Catherine Palace

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message