Unlike Moscow's red bricks and onion domes, St Petersburg's network of canals and Baroque and Neoclassical architecture give the city a European flavor. Get a taste for this sophisticated city with this three-day itinerary.   Day 1: Grand ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 356 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

agatha m

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

This was a really good tour of an enormous beautiful palace and its beautiful small palace neighbor. Catherine's palace and park are huge and show the size and wealth of the Russian state under the tsars. And their construction, and reconstruction after WW II is impressive, a Western European treasure in the East. Very well run, with an intelligent guide filling in the history.

Doing what: Small-Group Catherine Palace and Pavlovsk Palace Tour from St Petersburg

Dmytro H

4 star rating: Recommended
May 2016

The tour was very good and our guide Olga possesses great knowledge of Hermitage, its history and the jewels of its collection. The only minor hiccup was with the special entrance tickets that the guide could have had before the tour started.
Private tour provides by far better experience when compared to the group tours.

Doing what: Small-Group St Petersburg Hermitage Museum Tour with Skip-the-Line Entry and Summer Early Access

Edward H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

This is an excellent tour if one wishes to see four historic churches plus the Hermitage Museum with ease, but it is a grueling 8-hour tour with an overload of information. Tour guide Lidea was excellent and had a wealth of information as she took my daughter and I around Saint Petersburg. I'd prefer to see these sites over two days, but am very happy we were able to experience as much of Saint Petersburg as we did in one day.

Doing what: Grand Tour of St Petersburg

Carol A

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Irina was a delight. We enjoyed our tour with her enormously and the 3 hours flew by. She was enthusiastic, knowledgeable and easy to talk to. Her tour provided an overview and orientation which one needs in coming to grips with the vast Hermitage plus her deeper discussion on particular highlights was interesting and filled with insights we otherwise would not have been aware of. This was a terrific tour and we couldn't have had a better guide. TY, Irina.

Doing what: Small-Group St Petersburg Hermitage Museum Tour with Skip-the-Line Entry and Summer Early Access

John

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

We met our guide Anastasia in Palace Square at 6pm. Brilliant start - our guide is called Anastasia! It was just the 3 of us so we had a very informative walking tour. This tour was brilliant and for a young guide to be that knowledgeable about the Revolution and Soviet times was a real achievement. Anastasia was brilliant. For this tour to be of value you would really need to have some interest and knowledge of the topic up front because it almost becomes a two way discussion on a massive topic. I did learn some things I was previously unaware of - I highly recommend this tour.
One point - on the descriptions I read before booking the tour - I read that we met in Lenin Square at Finland Station where Lenin arrived etc and that on the tour we saw The Big House KGB and also visited a Soviet Cafe so I was surprised that my on line booking gave instructions to meet at Palace Square. On our tour we did not go to The Big House or a Soviet cafe. But of course we saw other things like Pravda offices and we did visit the flame shown in the picture. I think maybe there are two tours? You could not possibly visit Lenin Square, The Big House, and Palace Square storming of Winter Palace in one walking tour. Anyway it does not matter. You can visit later whatever interests you after. THIS TOUR WAS EXCELLENT AND OUR GUIDE ANASTASIA WAS BRILLIANT.

Doing what: Communist Walking Tour of St Petersburg

Rebecca P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

I was fortunate enough to be the only person who booked the tour on the day, and they were happy to let the tour go ahead. My tour guide was lovely and knowledgeable. Catherine Palace was absolutely spectacular, by far the most extravagant palace I and #39;ve seen in Europe. Highly recommend

Doing what: Small-Group Catherine Palace and Pavlovsk Palace Tour from St Petersburg

Maureen G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Very good tour with just the right amount of information. Our guide was very knowledgeable and made our visit interesting.

Doing what: Tour of Pushkin (Tsarskoye Selo) and Catherine Palace

Jessica W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Great tour with a fabulous guide - highly recommend

Doing what: Grand Tour of St Petersburg

Clive J

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Really interesting tour and well worth while. Anastasia was knowledgable and it is interesting to talk to someone living in St Petersburg about current times and politics. Do take this tour.

Doing what: Communist Walking Tour of St Petersburg

Timo A

4 star rating: Recommended
April 2016

Very nice tour, approximatately 3, 5 hours. Very nice Guide Ms. L. Pick up from the hotel. We were the only ones three person, like private tour.

Maybe 5 hours shouls be better, because the is so much to see.

Very good operator!

Doing what: Grand Tour of St Petersburg

Rachel F

4 star rating: Recommended
April 2016

The Grand Tour that we did in Saint Petersburg was great. Our tour guide gave us a detailed history of the city and getting around via car was helpful so we could see everything in a small space of time.

Doing what: Grand Tour of St Petersburg

Edward H

3 star rating: Worth doing
April 2016

A long and rigorous tour with an overland of information. Four churches plus the Hermitage Museum was too much for one day, and I wish we could have split the day into two separate tours. Our guide was knowledgable, professional, and friendly and insisted we experience all aspects of the tour despite the fact it was only my daughter and myself. I'm glad that I took this tour, but did return to the hotel exhausted both physically and mentally.

Doing what: Grand Tour of St Petersburg

Timo A

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
April 2016

Very friendly quide and chaffeur. Pick up from the hotel, english speaking excellent quide, good van. We like it very much.

Doing what: Grand Tour of St Petersburg

Jane C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2016

Tour guide was prompt, friendly and knowledgeable.

I asked lots of random (not always communist related) questions which he was happy to answer.

Great tour!

Doing what: Communist Walking Tour of St Petersburg

JWM K

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2016

Irina knew a lot about de history off the Hermitage and his owners. She was very helpfull and knew all the answers to our questions. We highly recommend this guide.

Doing what: Small-Group St Petersburg Hermitage Museum Tour with Skip-the-Line Entry and Summer Early Access

anne h

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2016

Really one of the best days of travel during my trip to Russia. I traveled in mid March so there were very, very few tourists basically empty at both the Catherine Palace and Pavlovsk Palace. My tour guide, Irina Kazantseva, was absolutely wonderful. She was extremely knowledgeable described in detail the histories and intricacies of the settings and added a great deal of personal history about the palace's occupants. Catherine Palace is quite stunning glistening gold interiors and mirrors. Pavlovsk Palace is more refined and filled with beautiful works of art. You miss out on the gardens in winter but gain in no hordes of people. There is also an excellent gift shop nearby where you can purchase high quality, Russian handicrafts. The tour was booked through Viator...highly recommended! Also, Thank you to Irina excellent guide!

Visited March 2016

Doing what: Small-Group Catherine Palace and Pavlovsk Palace Tour from St Petersburg

Tina V

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

Absolutely fabulous tour of Pushkin and Catherine Palace! Lida was a most charming and informative guide and I thoroughly recommend this company! Thank you!

Doing what: Tour of Pushkin (Tsarskoye Selo) and Catherine Palace

Trina S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

This was the best tour I have taken through Viator because Elena the tour guide was amazing! I have taken probably 20 tours through Viator in various countries, yet this topped the list. I signed up for the full 8 hour tour. I was the only person on the tour. We had our own driver who drove us from site to site. This helped immensely since it was so cold out. Elena was the most knowledgeable guide I have found to date. She knew a ton of information about each site and could answer all of my questions. The churches are amazing. The lunch was tasty. And the Hermitage was incredible. I am not a huge museum/art girl, but Elena's knowledge brought the art to life. I felt like the day flew by and was sad to see it come to an end. St. Petersburg is a beautiful city and this tour will give you a great overview of the main sites.

Doing what: Grand Tour of St Petersburg

Mary Jo B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

It was great with a very animated, enthusiastic guide.

Doing what: Communist Walking Tour of St Petersburg

Sandra and Karl F

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2015

This was wonderful. the company did everything and more to ensure that our tour of the Hermitage was just wonderful. We had the staircase to ourselves-a wonder! they even arranged tickets for us to see the iInoressionists which are now house in a separate building. I couldn't praise them more. Well worth while.

Doing what: Small-Group St Petersburg Hermitage Museum Tour with Skip-the-Line Entry and Summer Early Access

Sandra and Karl F

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2015

Well worthwhile- a must to do. this company did it well

Doing what: Tour of Pushkin (Tsarskoye Selo) and Catherine Palace

Sandra and Karl F

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2015

Good to do to as an introduction to your vist to St Petersburg to familiarise yourself superficially with the city.

Doing what: Grand Tour of St Petersburg

Sandra and Karl F

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2015

O.K. WE were only two people with the tour guide.

Doing what: Neva River Sightseeing Cruise in St Petersburg

Graciela P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

Very good tour. As there are not so many visitors as when you visit Peterhof we enjoy more the visit to the palace and Pushkin

Doing what: Tour of Pushkin (Tsarskoye Selo) and Catherine Palace

LD007

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

great tour plan on spending a whole day here it and #39;s huge and worth every minute. the tour guild was awesome and make this tour A+

Doing what: Small-Group St Petersburg Hermitage Museum Tour with Skip-the-Line Entry and Summer Early Access

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message