St Thomas ATTRACTIONS See all

Mangrove Lagoon

St. John might have the lion’s share of the Virgin Islands’ natural attractions, but the extraordinary concentration of flora and fauna in St. Thomas’ Mangrove Lagoon makes it a top eco-tourism destination. Small kayak groups thread through the ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 34 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Sildana T

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

If you take this tour, add the hike portion, You will not regret it.

Doing what: St Thomas Mangrove Lagoon Kayak and Snorkel Tour

Gerard V

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

This was a great experience and well worth the cost. We were even offered and accepted the optional 30 minute nature hike when we called to check-in the previous day. That said, and although it might have been an unusually hectic day, we our group of 6 were shuffled around for over an hour and a half while the busloads of cruise ship passengers were being sorted out and set off with their guides. Since we were staying at a resort on the island I suppose they assumed we could wait - not having to get back to a ship. Even after the cruise ship passengers boarded their kayaks and set out with their guides we were still asked to wait for another group that was supposedly tied up in traffic. In the end it all turned out for the best as the late group never showed up thus affording us a private tour for our group of six. Our guide, John, was very informative and attended to all our needs. He led us out to a great snorkeling spot and identified many of the tropical fish for us. John even extended our kayak trek back to the landing after our snorkel stop. The only advice I would give to others is to book your tour on a day when there are no or few cruise ships in port.

Doing what: St Thomas Mangrove Lagoon Kayak and Snorkel Tour

Theresa M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

Guide was wonderful. Was awesome!! Can't wait to do it again. Beautiful.

Doing what: St Thomas Mangrove Lagoon Kayak and Snorkel Tour

fike28 United States of ... 

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2015

Very professional and informative. Laid back and easy to do. Excellent gear, great for the entire family. Parking is tight so try and car pool.

Doing what: St Thomas Mangrove Lagoon Kayak and Snorkel Tour

Deborah F

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2015

This was the highlight of our cruise! The staff are so welcoming, helpful, and patient! My husband and I had never Kayaked before and it was fun. Snorkeling was a wonderful experience and very easy. The optional hike was easy and quite informational. We would highly recommend this adventure.

Doing what: St Thomas Mangrove Lagoon Kayak and Snorkel Tour

Jonathan C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

Amazing experience!! We saw an octopus, sting rays, barracudas, and beautiful fish while getting a great nature lesson! Highly recommended!

Doing what: St Thomas Mangrove Lagoon Kayak and Snorkel Tour

Cara T United States of ... 

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

The whole tour was excellent--the locations gave us a private and natural experience and the locations for kayaking and then snorkeling were picturesque. The guides were awesome especially Jai who was so upbeat, welcoming hello my beautiful people! and so proud of his island and it's beauty. He spent extra time with the kids in the water and on the crab island where an area of the ground and even trees were covered in red-claw hermit crabs, explaining the creatures we were seeing. We really appreciated his hospitality, do this tour!

Doing what: St Thomas Mangrove Lagoon Kayak and Snorkel Tour

Mark B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

We had a great time with Brenda!! The tour was fun and we actually enjoyed learning. Brenda was friendly, efficient and VERY knowledgable! Thank you so much for a great Kayaking / Snorkel trip!!

Doing what: St Thomas Mangrove Lagoon Kayak and Snorkel Tour

Carrie F

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

I booked this tour not wanting to go, because I have a fear of the ocean and sea creatures. But everyone in my group wanted to do it so I followed along. And I'm SO SO SO glad I did! The kayake adventure is thru the mangroves and does feel like your in the ocean at all, rather a lake or stream.

Doing what: St Thomas Mangrove Lagoon Kayak and Snorkel Tour

Ellen C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

Took my 12 and 16 year old daughters. Terrific guide and wonderful experience.

Doing what: St Thomas Mangrove Lagoon Kayak and Snorkel Tour

Lloyd D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

Our tour guide Nathan was great and very informative about the local plants on the hike and the aquatic life. We saw many species of fish some invertebrates too.
The only thing I didn't like is being an experienced snorkeler I did not like being told to leave my fins behind.

Doing what: St Thomas Mangrove Lagoon Kayak and Snorkel Tour

David B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

Very nice for first time/novice kayak-ers. All the staff was very friendly and helpful. Thx Jodi!

Doing what: St Thomas Mangrove Lagoon Kayak and Snorkel Tour

Anthony S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

This was a great experience. The staff all took good care of me, which was much appreciated as I am a senior single traveler. I was paired in a kayak by a delightful young lady who was a new member of the guide staff. She ensured that we could keep up with the rest of the group in a quite lengthy passage from the dock to the snorkeling site. The lead guide was very informative at the several sites along the way and the snorkeling was good near the entrance to the lagoon. The experience of being surrounded by thousands of baby fish around the mangrove roots was unique.

Doing what: St Thomas Mangrove Lagoon Kayak and Snorkel Tour

Katiemo

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

This was my favorite part of my trip to St. Thomas! The mangrove lagoon was beautiful to kayak through as we made our way to Cas Cay. We walked/hiked to a blow hole with tide pools and our guides pointed out marine life. Afterwards, we snorkeled and saw tons of different fish and even a sting ray. Overall, this was a really great experience and the guides were very knowledgeable and friendly. Definitely something I would try again on my next visit to the island.

Doing what: St Thomas Mangrove Lagoon Kayak and Snorkel Tour

Loan K N

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2014

I wanted to do this again every day I was on the island. Laura Lee was knowledgeable, funny, and an all around delightful tour guide. Our entire group of seven had a great time kayaking and snorkeling with the fish and jellies. Don't miss this tour!

Doing what: St Thomas Mangrove Lagoon Kayak and Snorkel Tour

Lance F

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

Our tour guide Tyler was awesome. He knew everything about the islands history and it's animals and plants. The water was amazingly clear and the fish were plentiful. The best excursion that we took by far. A must do while you are on the island!!

Doing what: St Thomas Mangrove Lagoon Kayak and Snorkel Tour

Kay P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2013

Well worth the cost. Our guide was very knowledgeable and conversational throughout the tour. Enjoyed the experience and recommend this tour to everyone.

Doing what: St Thomas Mangrove Lagoon Kayak and Snorkel Tour

susan m

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2013

We had a great time, both of our guides were well informed about the enivornment and the surround areas.

Doing what: St Thomas Mangrove Lagoon Kayak and Snorkel Tour

Berito

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2013

We scheduled this tour for our first morning of a week long stay on St Thomas. I'm so glad we did this first! Great equipment, fantastic snorkeling, and our guide, Chris, absolutely made our tour. His passion for conservation and education was infectious, and he gave us great suggestions for snorkeling spots for the rest of our trip.

Doing what: St Thomas Mangrove Lagoon Kayak and Snorkel Tour

John L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2013

Had a great time it was all we hoped for and more. Learned lots and had fun.
Highlight of the trip and definitely recommend this adventure.

Doing what: St Thomas Mangrove Lagoon Kayak and Snorkel Tour

Kelsey L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2013

We had a great time on this tour! Our tour guide, Travis, was awesome and made our experience very fun and interesting. I would definitely recommend them to anyone traveling to St Thomas!!

Doing what: St Thomas Mangrove Lagoon Kayak and Snorkel Tour

Joyanne P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2013

Amazing! Only 6 of us on the tour. So glad we chose the hike, also, Learned alot of interesting facts. Zulu was our guide. He did a great job teaching us to snorkel. Very professional. One of our highlights of the trip was this tour.

Doing what: St Thomas Mangrove Lagoon Kayak and Snorkel Tour

Jennifer L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2012

This trip was so awesome and fun! Travis and Chris were very knowledgeable, informative, and helpful. Because of the overall wonderful experience, it is something we would definitely do again if we ever return to the Virgin Islands!

Doing what: St Thomas Mangrove Lagoon Kayak and Snorkel Tour

Steven P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2012

My wife and I had an awesome time. It was just the 2 of us and our guide. He was very knowledgeable about the plants and wildlife. The snorkeling was pretty good as we saw several different species of fish.

Doing what: St Thomas Mangrove Lagoon Kayak and Snorkel Tour

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message