With more than 40 major beaches lining St Thomas’ shores, how do you decide which to visit? One of the most popular is Sapphire Beach, located on the east end of the island. This area of St Thomas is known for its laid-back atmosphere and is ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 10 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2014

The Tour operator - Sunny Liston - what a great time we had - Sunny made this tour a great experience -
We sang, laughed, were educated about the island and took us to a beautiful beach called sapphire beach -
The sand was white and the views amazing. Every time we came along side another tour bus all their eyes were on us and you could see they were wishing they were on our tour. We would definitely choose Sunny Liston Tours again and recommend our friends and family . A GREAT DAY - THANK YOU AGAIN SUNNY!!!!!

Doing what: Best St Thomas Shore Excursion: Shopping, Sightseeing and Beach Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2014

It was very enjoyable and fun. The only concern that I have that since this was not a Cruise ship sponsored excursion, the cruise line could care less to help us. I didn't know at the time that Sunny Liston tours was my tour guide and our tour was to start at 9 am and he got there around 9:05. So you can image that we were concerned being in a foreign country (probably delayed due to traffic). But he did show and the fun begin. I had a family of 6 from ages 3 to 24 with me. Sunny was great. We had 2 hours of downtown shopping, 2 hours at the beach and rest was tours of the island. Sunny was rocking and playing carribean music and we all were singing all the way up and down the mountain. So hold on!!. it is a open bus with music playing and everyone singing. We had fun!. For the beaches, he gave you 3 choices of Beaches, Megan Bay, Sapphire Beach, and Coco Beach. I recommend the public beaches which are Sapphire and Coco which are free and you could do more there instead of Megan Bay. I went to Sapphire which is beautiful and had more coral. Coco Beach may have more Sand. I would recommend them and it was a very good experience for my family if you want to shop, see, and relax on the island. But on the trip with Sunny, hold on while jamming!

Doing what: Best St Thomas Shore Excursion: Shopping, Sightseeing and Beach Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2014

This was a great tour. I would highly recommend Sonny Liston tours. The views from MountainTop were beautiful. We ended with a trip to Sapphire beach - definitely a great choice. Sonny made it all a lot of fun with the lively music and his singing, as well as being very informative.

Doing what: Best St Thomas Shore Excursion: Shopping, Sightseeing and Beach Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2013

Our was awesome!! Our tour guide was the best; besides giving us an insight on St. Thomas, he had music on, made us sing and laugh the whole time! We were first dropped off for an hour to shop in all these pretty little stores which are quite close to each other. After that, we stopped in some places to have a glance at an amazing view of St. Thomas. Last but not least, we were taken to the beautiful Sapphire beach and had two hours to spend there.I highly recommend this tour (and the Banana Daiquiri, and the Rum Punch in Sapphire Beach )

Doing what: Best St Thomas Shore Excursion: Shopping, Sightseeing and Beach Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2013

This was an excellent excursion in a newer open-air Ford pickup truck that is converted to hold about 18 passengers (these are the most common form of transportation of tourist on the island-- you see them everywhere). We got to learn the history and see the sights of pretty much the entire island of St. Thomas. Our driver Elvis was very knowledgably and made the trip fun by adding music and singing songs. We took several short stops of 5-10 minutes each, a stop of 45 minutes at Mountain Top, and a two hour stop at Sapphire Beach, which was less crowed, more scenic, more coral, and no extra admission cost than the more famous Magens Beach (Elvis let us do a bus vote on which beach to visit-- Sapphire won unanimously). The excursion lasted a bit over six hours total. Since we had about 9 hours in this port, this tour and beach experience made for a perfect day in St. Thomas!

Doing what: Best St Thomas Shore Excursion: Shopping, Sightseeing and Beach Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2012

Had a blast! Was very entertaining and made it so much fun. We sang through out the trip, went to great scenic sites. Didn't have as much time at the beach as we wanted, not because of our guide but because of a very inconsiderate woman who took her time shopping at the gift shop, please be courteous to everyone on the tour. Sapphire beach was great we saw a few iguanas.

Doing what: Best St Thomas Shore Excursion: Shopping, Sightseeing and Beach Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2011

My husband and I recently booked this tour on our cruise to the Caribbean. We had a great time with Sunny and he truly made this a great experience! He gave great commentary about the island and stopped to let us take many great pictures along the entire tour. As mentioned in other reviews, the Banana Daiquiri's are amazing! We chose Sapphire Beach and were not disappointed! The beach was not crowded and the water was beautiful! We rented snorkeling gear and saw a sting ray among other beautiful fish. There is also a small food stand to get a good lunch (burgers $10, fish sandwich $14). I would recommend wearing your swim suit on the tour if you're going to the beach as the restrooms were extremely hot. Overall we were extremely pleased with booking this tour and would highly recommend it.

Doing what: Best St Thomas Shore Excursion: Shopping, Sightseeing and Beach Tour

4 star rating: Recommended
April 2015

We researched excursion options and chose Sunny Liston Tours based on the value and the numerous happy customer reviews. We docked around 8am on March 31st with wonderful weather and 3 hours to kill before our excursion that was slated to start at 11am. We chose the 5 hour shopping, sightseeing and beach excursion and it turned out to be exactly what we expected and more. We took up a few hours by making a beeline to the Sky Ride prior to Sunnys excursion. On our walk back to the ship from the Sky Ride we caught a glimpse of Sunny headed back to the ship. We met him at his truck shortly after we got back and found out we were the only people who chose the 11am start time. He had carried two groups earlier to town to shop, one at 9am and the other at 10am. We chose the 11am time because we aren't much into shopping. We loaded up and left the port a bit early since we had nobody else left to wait for. Once in town Sunny took the time to talk with me about his work, the economy, island life and such. To me, my time and conversation with him was worth way more than a few hours of shopping. We also had time to discuss which beach would be best for snorkeling and in that conversation, he confirmed our pick for the beach best suited for the purpose. Sunny made the sightseeing fun with his antics, music, and singing while making sure we were all involved. Being a fuddy duddy I was impartial to all of the singing to begin with, but by time we were leaving Mountain Top, Sunny and the fun had grown on me. I soon found myself singing Sunday, Monday, ...... Every day of the week, I love you. Sunny dropped each group off at their respected beaches, Magens Bay first, Coki second, then Sapphire Beach last. He told us exactly what time to be ready for our ride back to the ship. His professionalism and fun-loving attitude made this by far the best excursion experience in St. Thomas. I would highly recommend that you see him ASAP.

Doing what: Best St Thomas Shore Excursion: Shopping, Sightseeing and Beach Tour

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2014

We went with tour minibus to north from west side than mountain top .. nice view of Megan Beach and the other small island nearby. Sapphire Beach ( its free) nice beach,you can rent snorkeling ,if you want beach chair too (i didn't rent,just put my towel to under tree). they have shower after swim..Water is very clean.Then returned to ship.It was nice,i like it..Nice Island many high hills and forest,small roads,nice beaches

Doing what: Best St Thomas Shore Excursion: Shopping, Sightseeing and Beach Tour

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2013

Very good guide. Funny and entertaining. Nice views of the island. Beach portion was excellent (Sapphire Beach) good choice.

Doing what: Best St Thomas Shore Excursion: Shopping, Sightseeing and Beach Tour

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message