• USD ($)
  • English
The territory north of Stockholm once represented Sweden’s Viking heartland. Their heyday corresponded roughly with the Dark Ages, when they were feared and respected throughout Europe, as far afield as Constantinople. That warrior spirit lives on ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 81 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2014

Very knowledgeable tour guide that took care of everything. Very interesting stops for those interested in Viking history. Also nice to see the countryside around Stockholm. Very pleasant experience!

Doing what: Viking History Day Trip from Stockholm

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2013

Good way to see the country side, and other parts of the country, a good deal.

Doing what: Viking History Day Trip from Stockholm

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2013

This was an excellent tour. There was only 3 of us on the tour and our driver/guide, Urban was very entertaining and informative. He regaled us with stories and ancedotes on the way to the various sites. He would provide us with both an official version of events at the sites, but he would then add to it with his own thoughts and views and this was very interesting and added an extra touch of personalisation to the tour. To be honest, probably due to the very small size of the group, it really did not feel like a tour at all, but more like being taken round the local sites by a knowledgeable friend. The pace was just right and each of the sites visited was interesting and added something to the trip and your knowledge of Viking history. The stop at the farm to enjoy some coffee and cake before walking through the ruins was especially good as i was not expecting to enjoy such hospitality. Sigtuna is a vey nice little town, but maybe it is just a little bit too touristy, but sti very nice . All in all it was a really good tourand although it may seem quite expensive it really is wotrth the money. I just hope they keep the small group formula, as i don'tthink it would work nearly so well if it was scaled up to be a tour catering for a full bus load of passengers as you would miss that personal touch that really makes this tour

Doing what: Viking History Day Trip from Stockholm

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2013

The tour was excellent from beginning to end: excellent guide, tea party lunch, sights, transportation.

Doing what: Viking History Day Trip from Stockholm

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
September 2013

It could be an interesting tour potentially but our tour guide had a very limited knowledge of the viking history on the top of a very limited English

Doing what: Viking History Day Trip from Stockholm

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2013

My wife and I had a great time on this trip. Our guide was very knowledgable and also very funny. We enjoyed all of the stops along the tour and would definitely recommend this tour to others. The fact that it is only small groups makes for a much more personal and enjoyable experience.

Doing what: Viking History Day Trip from Stockholm

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2013

A must do for any one wanting to learn more about Vikings.

Doing what: Viking History Day Trip from Stockholm

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2013

It was wonderful, so informative in a pleasing manner. Our guide, driver was so interesting and thoughtful
would highly recommend this trip to everyone. Well worth the price.

Doing what: Viking History Day Trip from Stockholm

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2013

Tour guide was nice, but not as knowledgeable as we would like

Doing what: Viking History Day Trip from Stockholm

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2013

Enjoyable trip to know more about the viking history.

Doing what: Viking History Day Trip from Stockholm

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
August 2013

ok...lots of history . a bit boring for me... prefer more places than to stand in middle of the road to hear stories though some may like history lessons.

Doing what: Viking History Day Trip from Stockholm

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2013

A unique opportunity to see the country side and visit the places once inhabited by the Vikings Tour was comprehensive and professionally conducted. The guide adds flavor to the tour speaking from the eyes of a local Stockholm inhabitant. Would recommend this tour.

Doing what: Viking History Day Trip from Stockholm

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2013

Our guide Urban gave us a an exceptional private tour of the area around Stockholm, since we were the only ones booked. Our 6 hours turned into 8 hours as we had the chance to explore at a more leisurely pace. One of the highlights that we will long remember was going to a private farm and enjoying refreshments with the owner and learning about her life in rural Sweden. The Uppsala burial mounds and the old Uppsala Church at the site was another memorable part of the day. It was our favorite church in all of the ones we visited around the Baltic. At our stop in the beautiful very ancient town of Sigtuna we had over an hour to explore on our own and eat lunch in a flower filled patio. Then there were the runes and visiting so many sites where they stood, along the road sides, deep in the forest and up on a farmer's hill, We really got a deep sense of the history we were witnessing. This is one tour not to be misses!!!

Doing what: Viking History Day Trip from Stockholm

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message