The territory north of Stockholm once represented Sweden’s Viking heartland. Their heyday corresponded roughly with the Dark Ages, when they were feared and respected throughout Europe, as far afield as Constantinople. That warrior spirit lives on ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 100 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

This tour was an excellent excursion for people looking to explore things outside Stockholm and learn a little bit about Swedish/Viking history. You visit some beautiful and interesting places and get to see the countryside. The stop at the farm/cafe was excellent, and Sigtuna and Uppsala were well worth the visit as well. Urban, our guide, was very friendly and knowledgeable about Sweden and it's history.

I don't usually like group tours, but this one was small enough and paced appropriately that I'm glad I did it. If you're interested enough that you're reading these reviews, I'd say go for it.

Doing what: Viking History Half-Day Tour from Stockholm

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

The tour guide contacted my hotel the day before the tour to confirm his pick up time. He was prompt and friendly. I had never visited Sweden before, and the tour guide provided lots of information about the Vikings as well as an opportunity to ask general questions about the Swedish way of life. I liked seeing Sweden outside of Stockholm.

Doing what: Viking History Day Trip from Stockholm Including Uppsala

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

Loved the tour! Especially if you are traveling with kids!! We were a group of 5, two of which were 9 and 12. We all had a great time and learned a great deal about "old town" and how Vikings were involved with it. Tour a gives you a good senses to how old tow is laid out.

Doing what: Stockholm Viking-Themed Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

Excellent and really enjoyable. Very expensive though so had to be!!

Doing what: Viking History Half-Day Tour from Stockholm

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

On your way to Sigtuna you will stop several times at different Viking sites. You will hear about the history of this places and look at some nice runes. You will stop for coffee and freshly baked pastries.

Both Sigtuna and Uppsala are great and our tour guide was friendly and knowledgeable.

Doing what: Viking History Day Trip from Stockholm Including Uppsala

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

Fabulous guide thanks to Urban, he knew his history very well. My kids enjoyed the countryside and hills to run up and down and all the Viking stories were brought to life. I loved the rune stones and the fresh air.

Doing what: Viking History Day Trip from Stockholm Including Uppsala

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2014

Urban, our tour guide was extremely knowledgeable and interesting. An excellent day!

The van we rode in was not well suited for tours. It was not easy to see out the windows and so the views were abbreviated. we took turns riding in the front seat where the viewing was better.

Doing what: Viking History Day Trip from Stockholm Including Uppsala

larry
Malta

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2014

Informative and very interesting

Doing what: Viking History Half-Day Tour from Stockholm

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2014

Fantastic tour.
The guide, Urban was a little hard to understand on the vans speaker system due to interference. But other than that he was extremely informative and funny.

Doing what: Viking History Half-Day Tour from Stockholm

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2014

Urban is a friendly and knowledgeable guide. Great way to learn about Viking history in a relaxed and enjoyable day trip.

Doing what: Viking History Day Trip from Stockholm Including Uppsala

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2014

The tour was great and the guide was knowledgable. Free hotel pick-up. The only problem was that the van was rather small (because of a small group) which would have been fine but I didn't get to sit next to my husband and we had to sit apart during the trip. That also would have been bearable but the AC was broken on top of that during a particularly hot day which made the ride difficult and uncomfortable.

Doing what: Viking History Half-Day Tour from Stockholm

3 star rating: Worth doing
July 2014

This is a tour for people who really want to know Viking history or for senior citizens. My wife and I booked the half day tour and because there was only one other person, we were upgraded to the full day tour. The booking experience and driver were nice and the company communicated well in email. The tour is mostly sitting in a van and then getting out every 30 minutes for an explanation. The tour van was awkward because the seats were higher than the window so we had to always bend our necks to see through the window. We are only 5 1/2 feet tall. There is a lot of Christian history on the tour which was getting a bit tiring after a while. We did have a nice lunch stop at Sigtuna and a nice ice cream stop before that. The countryside view was nice and Upsala was a decent and quick stopover.

The tour is truly a Viking history tour, it just wasn't that interesting for us. The other passenger (an older woman) seemed to really enjoy the history. It is a cheap getaway from Stockholm, and the tour company and driver were nice.

Doing what: Viking History Half-Day Tour from Stockholm

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
July 2014

I would only do this tour if you had time to spare. It was a long distance to travel and not very much to see. I would rate the guide as average. Had quite a thick accent which made it difficult to understand. Definitely needed a new vehicle. It had NO AIRCONDITIONING which made it very unpleasant to travel in.

Doing what: Viking History Half-Day Tour from Stockholm

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

I can thoroughly recommend this tour as it was great fun and Bertha our guide was very informative. It was a bit of a shame for Bertha as we'd already been on the Ghost Walk and there is some duplication. However she adapted her tour very well and added quite a lot of extra info. We were also lucky in that we witnessed the changing of the guard at the royal palace.

Doing what: Stockholm Viking-Themed Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

This tour was wonderful - lots to see and learn about VIking history and history from other 'more recent' times. Urban was an excellent guide with an amazing knowledge of this era.

Doing what: Viking History Day Trip from Stockholm Including Uppsala

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message