The territory north of Stockholm once represented Sweden’s Viking heartland. Their heyday corresponded roughly with the Dark Ages, when they were feared and respected throughout Europe, as far afield as Constantinople. That warrior spirit lives on ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 143 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Carolyn B Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

My husband and I were extremely happy with this tour and would highly recommend it. The guide/driver was wonderful, extremely efficient, knowledgeable and courteous. We saw far more than we expected.

Doing what: Viking History Day Trip from Stockholm Including Uppsala

Lee D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

this was a fantastic tour...our guide was very informative and very personable..i highly recommend this tour

Doing what: Viking History Day Trip from Stockholm Including Uppsala

Jeffrey T

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

Excellent guide, Urban is a treasure trove of information and brings the stories and history alive!
More time in Sigtuna would have been nice, as it is a bit rushed to have lunch and walk around the town.

Doing what: Viking History Day Trip from Stockholm Including Uppsala

Lucy M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

Very interesting tour. There were just 5 of us and it was really nice having a small group. The tour was outside of Stockholm so it was so nice to see the Swedish suburbs, which were beautiful. Our guide was very knowledgeable. He was so into the tour that he even stopped by the side of the woods, which was not part of the tour, to show us what ligonberries looked like. They were very close to the ground and there were also wild blueberries growing there. We got a taste of both. I just wish he gave us some time to have photos taken by the ruric stones, but other than that, he was an excellent guide.

Doing what: Viking History Half-Day Tour from Stockholm

Anne

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2015

The guide was fantastic, and the scenery during the drive was great. There was less Viking specific history, and more of an overview of the changing of power throughout Swedish History. Tour was good and I would highly recommend it.

Doing what: Viking History Day Trip from Stockholm Including Uppsala

Esther E

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

Urban was very knowledgeable and made the trip thoroughly enjoyable. He takes you to a few of the Viking Runic stones, you get to see a lot of the Swedish country scene-very beautiful. You also get a nice a Banana cake and sweet apple juice like none you've had in your life when you stop at a farm he seems to know well. A stop at a small town with great little shops and lots of green and water. My only regret is that we didn't tip him more! Must do.

Doing what: Viking History Day Trip from Stockholm Including Uppsala

Veta W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

This was an excellent choice. Urban was an excellent guide and taught us a great deal.

Doing what: Viking History Half-Day Tour from Stockholm

Linnea C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

Really enjoyed the tour, the guide was knowledgeable and funny. Overall it was a fantastic experience.

Doing what: Viking History Day Trip from Stockholm Including Uppsala

John D M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

This is a trip to be highly recommended. We were picked up from our Stockholm hotel at the agreed time in a very comfortable minibus. We were given a tour of many Viking era sites and our guide was both entertaining and very knowledgeable on virtually any subject. We were taken to a farmhouse where we saw the Granby rune stone and were given coffee and warm apple pie. The tour finished with a visit to both old and modern Uppsala. There were many highlights but the burial mounds were not to be missed. We enjoyed our day. The weather could not have been better.

Doing what: Viking History Day Trip from Stockholm Including Uppsala

Clyde P

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2015

I enjoyed the tour a great deal. The guide was very knowledgeable and was willing to answer any and all questions. The weather was a little damp, but did not stop any of the activities. My goal was to learn more about world history in general with the Vikings being an important part of many things that happened in Europe. While I think a longer tour would have been better, given the time I had available, this tour met my goals. I would recommend this tour to anyone that asked.

Doing what: Viking History Half-Day Tour from Stockholm

Truth Teller

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2015

The tour guide was very knowledgeable and had a lot of information, and his English was excellent, but I sometimes struggled to understand his accent which may just be me. You see a lot of runestones, the burial mounds, the cathedral at Uppsala, some little churches, some ruins, the countryside outside Stockholm etc, so its very good if you're on a quick trip

Doing what: Viking History Day Trip from Stockholm Including Uppsala

Deepthi P

3 star rating: Worth doing
September 2015

People with interest in history may do it. For party lovers it may be a time-pass till the night comes ....

Doing what: Viking History Half-Day Tour from Stockholm

kche9836

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
September 2015

Interesting to hear about Viking history however it was pretty much seeing similar things throughout the day - churches and graveyards

Doing what: Viking History Day Trip from Stockholm Including Uppsala

Jody A

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

We enjoyed the trip and the guide!

Doing what: Viking History Day Trip from Stockholm Including Uppsala

Loren W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

We had such a great time! I loved having just the three of us driven to our destinations rather than sitting on a bus with 60 strangers. Our guide was very excellent, helped us with getting in to places without waiting in long lines, gave us tips on where to go, what to see, where to find him after the visits, which direction to turn, etc. He took us to an excellent place for fish and chips and a pint for lunch, and it was very reasonable and the food was delicious. He was very personable, a safe driver, a good conversationalist. All three of us thoroughly enjoyed ourselves. I would definitely use this service again and I recommend it.

Doing what: Viking History Day Trip from Stockholm Including Uppsala

Laura I

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

Great trip wit lots of information. However, you are seeing rocks.... so if you are looking for artifacts, this is not the trip for you go to Oslo viking ship exhibit. This trip does give you history, an idea about the vikings, great coffee stop and lunch in a small village

Doing what: Viking History Half-Day Tour from Stockholm

Jorge R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

Amazing experience and knowledgeable and pleasant tour guide-- highly recommend to anyone visiting Sweden.

Doing what: Viking History Day Trip from Stockholm Including Uppsala

Sharon G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

The tour was excellent and tour guide great. The only issue was that when we bought the tour it was to be 8 hours and go to Upsalla. The tour guide thought it ended in Sigtuna. The other members of the group also believed it went to Upsalla, so the tour guide took us and was very thorough and gracious. But not sure why there was this confusion. All in all it was a very excellent tour and I highly recommend it.

Doing what: Viking History Half-Day Tour from Stockholm

Natasha G

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2015

Being picked up from the hotel is really convenient! The tour guide was very knowledgeable and funny. I'd go again in future...

Doing what: Viking History Half-Day Tour from Stockholm

gofergirl

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

Our tour guide, Urban, was exceptional. He was very knowledgeable and personable. We were supposed to take the half day tour, but ended up switching to the full day tour. I would definitely recommend it. I was a little disappointed that Sigtuna didn't have tourist shops. I had gotten the impression that there would be handicrafts but there were only a few in the tourist info building.

Doing what: Viking History Half-Day Tour from Stockholm

Judith Maxwell M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

This was a fascinating excursion. The tour guide was personable and really knew his history, and we got to see quite a bit of the countryside. The highlight was a visit to a cow farm which has an abundance of runes a lovely morning tea was served to us. I would highly recommend the tour to anyone who has an interest in Viking history or who just wants to get out into the Swedish countryside.

Doing what: Viking History Day Trip from Stockholm Including Uppsala

Mrs_twitter

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

If you want to know about Vikings and the history of this area this is the tour to take. Our guide was full of interesting details and catered the tour to the interests of the group. It opened our eyes to the many artifacts that we bypass every day. The trip through the countryside was also beautiful.

Doing what: Viking History Half-Day Tour from Stockholm

Tatyana G USA

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

Small group. Excellent guide. A lot of very interesting information. They even serve us coffee and homemade pastries, it was a rainy day so it was very kind of them to do that. Great tour!

Doing what: Viking History Half-Day Tour from Stockholm

Stanley C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Very interesting facts and locations. The guide was very knowledgable and interacted nicely with all of us. The stop for a treat was fantastic plus later there was a shopping, look around, and lunch time too.

Doing what: Viking History Day Trip from Stockholm Including Uppsala

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message