The territory north of Stockholm once represented Sweden’s Viking heartland. Their heyday corresponded roughly with the Dark Ages, when they were feared and respected throughout Europe, as far afield as Constantinople. That warrior spirit lives on ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 124 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

Our tour guide, Urban, was exceptional. He was very knowledgeable and personable. We were supposed to take the half day tour, but ended up switching to the full day tour. I would definitely recommend it. I was a little disappointed that Sigtuna didn't have tourist shops. I had gotten the impression that there would be handicrafts but there were only a few in the tourist info building.

Doing what: Viking History Half-Day Tour from Stockholm

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

This was a fascinating excursion. The tour guide was personable and really knew his history, and we got to see quite a bit of the countryside. The highlight was a visit to a cow farm which has an abundance of runes a lovely morning tea was served to us. I would highly recommend the tour to anyone who has an interest in Viking history or who just wants to get out into the Swedish countryside.

Doing what: Viking History Day Trip from Stockholm Including Uppsala

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

If you want to know about Vikings and the history of this area this is the tour to take. Our guide was full of interesting details and catered the tour to the interests of the group. It opened our eyes to the many artifacts that we bypass every day. The trip through the countryside was also beautiful.

Doing what: Viking History Half-Day Tour from Stockholm

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Very interesting facts and locations. The guide was very knowledgable and interacted nicely with all of us. The stop for a treat was fantastic plus later there was a shopping, look around, and lunch time too.

Doing what: Viking History Day Trip from Stockholm Including Uppsala

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

It was a very good experience and the guide is very helpful. The tour is the best part of our visit to Sweden!

Doing what: Viking History Day Trip from Stockholm Including Uppsala

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Timely pickup in a clean bus. Knowledgable guide who spoke English well. Seven interesting stops including very good morning tea and lunch breaks. Highly recommended.

Doing what: Viking History Day Trip from Stockholm Including Uppsala

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2015

Our tour was very good, guide was very informative and was able to answer questions. We saw some wonderful countryside and the weather was great which made it even better. We have always had good
tours booking through this company.

Doing what: Viking History Day Trip from Stockholm Including Uppsala

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2015

The tour was very nice and the guide went above and beyond to show us a lot of viking history in a relatively short time.

Doing what: Viking History Half-Day Tour from Stockholm

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2015

Our tour met our expectations, especially because Urban, our tour guide - a native Swede who spoke perfect English, was our gracious and knowledge-filled host. We enjoyed the Uppsala region and the personal way we were introduced to Viking history. The towns and countryside were lovely. I liked learning to understand the declarations on a couple of the many rune stones, and how local culture, religion, and belief systems evolved over the ages. We loved the hot beverage and delicious homemade snack included as part of tour in Granby, and were unexpectedly charmed by cows while visiting the farm there. Only difficulty was connecting with the local tour operator by phone or email after our arrival in Stockholm. We were very worried they would not know our hotel location for pick up. There needs to be a better message system with English speakers on phone calls. We did try to reach them more than 24 hours ahead as instructed. Finally our hotel desk concierge contacted them and pick up was on time morning of tour.Whew!

Doing what: Viking History Day Trip from Stockholm Including Uppsala

Joseph O
United States of ... 

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2015

Overall I'd give it a thumbs up. I took the Viking History Day Trip from Stockholm including Uppsala. This was the full day tour and not the half day one. It lasted roughly 9 hours from 8:00 to 17:00. Urban was great as our tour guide. There's not a lot of walking but elderly folks may want to skip the ruins in the rocky cow pasture mixed with cow poop. The other stops had more level walking.

My only regret was that we didn't spend any time in Uppsala other than a quick visit to the cathedral. Uppsala is a nice college town and I was looking forward to exploring stores and restaurants, even if only for one hour. The tour description says Lastly, head for new Uppsala, where you have time to explore on your own.... or delve into its charming old quarter and shopping streets. I understand Urban's schedule needs to be felexible based on time at each site and traffic etc.. but I wish I had known we were skipping the walk around Uppsala from the start. Exploring Uppsala was part of my reason for selecting this tour. Also, the 30 minute stop at Stigtuna was a little too short to eat lunch at a restaurant. Some people were able to grab a quick pre-made sandwich at the local grocery store.

So overall I liked it, and would recommend it to others. If you want to walk around Uppsala, I recommend making this known to your guide from the beginning. I automatically assumed it was standard given what the website said.

Doing what: Viking History Day Trip from Stockholm Including Uppsala

3 star rating: Worth doing
June 2015

It was a decent tour. Interesting to see the runes

Doing what: Viking History Half-Day Tour from Stockholm

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
June 2015

disappointed in the tour. not sure what I expected, but this was not it.

Doing what: Viking History Half-Day Tour from Stockholm

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

This tour was amazing our tour guide urban was great and full of knowledge would highly recommend this tour

Doing what: Viking History Half-Day Tour from Stockholm

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

Excellent tour guide for fascinating historical voyage into viking era. Just allow more time in Sigtuna.

Doing what: Viking History Day Trip from Stockholm Including Uppsala

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
May 2015

Start time wrong on Viator's Voucher; bus didn't have live commentary; 1hr wait time between bus and boat; bus windows ridiculously dirty

Summary: Skip the bus tour and just do the extended boat route instead. You'll get better views of the same sites w/ less traffic, less downtime, and less headache

Doing what: Viking History Half-Day Tour from Stockholm

4 star rating: Recommended
April 2015

Good and convenient summarized tour. Many new and interesting experience. Very friendly and well-read guide was able to answer every question. I'm satisfied with the tour.

Doing what: Viking History Half-Day Tour from Stockholm

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

Simply amazing! Our tour guide Eric took us through the history of early Viking life and how they used the rune stones to document events. As we drove around the countryside those stones appeared everywhere, on the sides of the road and even incorporated into the walls of buildings and walls! This then lead to a history lesson of the early church followed by the effects of the reformation. Throw a few kings in the mix, a plague, some wars and you start to get a basic timeline of events in Sweden. It was well worth the time and I would highly recommend it even if you are not a history buff because you can't beat the beauty of the Swedish countryside!

Doing what: Viking History Half-Day Tour from Stockholm

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

The tour was fantastic. The guide was extremely knowledgable and was able to answer a wealth of questions from participants. Absolutely recommend it to anyone interested in history, vikings or simply seeing outside of Stockholm.

Doing what: Viking History Day Trip from Stockholm Including Uppsala

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

Great experience. Brilliant guide with a great general knowledge and engaging personality. I have done Viator tours before and generally have a very good experience, but this one was unique, largely because of the efforts of our guide who imbued very activity with energy and passion. I would recommend the experience highly.

Doing what: Viking History Half-Day Tour from Stockholm

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2014

This tour was amazing!

Doing what: Viking History Half-Day Tour from Stockholm

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

We enjoyed this tour. Our tour guide was very good and funny and made the tour enjoyable. The one and a half hour time frame was perfect. Would definitely recommend this tour.

Doing what: Private Tour: Stockholm Viking History Walking Tour

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2014

Very enjoyable! The group size was small which was nice for a change. I find with large groups, information can often be missed about the point of interest and due to the volume of numbers it can be very rushed. I thought that plenty of time was spent at each point of interest and the guide was extremely informative.

Doing what: Viking History Day Trip from Stockholm Including Uppsala

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2014

Urban was very friendly and knowledgeable. The history of the rune stones was interesting and we were able to see some beautiful countryside in Sweden that we wouldn't have seen otherwise. A really nice, relaxing day.

Doing what: Viking History Half-Day Tour from Stockholm

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
September 2014

This was not worth what i paid for it. Basically you're brought to see a few runestones, a square of stones that we were told was once a local parliment by a river, the foundations of an old longhouse on a farm, where they also give you a piece of cake and some coffee and the ruin of a church. We were left to "explore" Sigtuna for an hour and a half, though that only took me 15 minutes walking very very slowly. For the rest of the time, I sat there twiddling my thumbs. I went on the tour on the assumption that I would be able to see something a bit more significent than I actually did. I didn't really enjoy this, and got irate that I had wasted my money and my time. I would not recommend this trip, a first for me on viator

Doing what: Viking History Half-Day Tour from Stockholm

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message