Think of Swiss food and you’ll probably picture dunking bread into a gooey pot of fondue or sliding a triangle of Toblerone from its ubiquitous Matterhorn–logoed box. Whether your tastes lean towards the sweet or the savory, Switzerland has both ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 122 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Diana M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

This was a wonderful trip. My husband was attending a trade show so I had the day to myself. The coach was comfortable, the guide was informative, the scenery was amazing, the chocolate, cheese, and wine unforgettable.

Doing what: Day Trip to Gruyères including Golden Panoramic Express Train

patricia.wong

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Amazing guide very knowledgable cheese tasting was great
And what can you say about Lindt chocolates very cheap compared to Australia
Then the views from Swiss mountains where amazing lucky I had a warm sunny day

Doing what: Switzerland Mountains, Cheese and Chocolates Tour from Zurich

Lynn D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Tour Guide Marie did an excellent job managing 40 people on this trip which was a full day of activities. Unfortunately the weather wasn and #39;t great whilst we were on the train so visibility was limited in places but didn and #39;t stop us enjoying the day. Chocolate and cheese - what and #39;s not to love?!

Doing what: Day Trip to Gruyères including Golden Panoramic Express Train

bhudson1

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Great trip! This one day tour gives you the opportunity to see the Swiss countryside, enjoy a Swiss tradition - the cheese fondue - as well a chocolates and locally made wine. The addition of the train ride give one the opportunity to see the landscape from a different view. The tour guide, Maggie, was friendly and knowledgeable and made everyone feel welcome. I highly recommend the tour.
Southslope

Doing what: Day Trip to Gruyères including Golden Panoramic Express Train

ADITYA S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

There are actually no words to say for this tour. I must say it was one of the outstanding tours ever undertaken from Geneva, Switzerland.

On the day of the tour, it was raining in Geneva and bit foggy in Gruyeres. So this made the trip more fantastic as the views were awe inspiring. On the first stop to the Chocolate Factory in Broc, the slot timings were specially reserved for us to see the factory. The Audio Guide was fun to hear and the processes in the factory is what one should watch and enjoy. At the end you get to taste lots of chocolate from which, one could decide the chocolates to buy from their official shop. The collection is huge so have some time in hand to do the shopping. Next was an uphill drive to a small city. Upon arrival, walked via car parking garages and then bit uphill to see the local cheese production, specially opened for the trip. The preparation was delicious and the best thing was all the travelers were doing the cooking which was another one of a kind experience. After the tasting it was the visit to the city of Gruyeres, a small town with a castle and splendid mountains to see. Later on, the tour continues to the Montbovon station where one catches the Golden Panoramic Express Train to Montreaux. I kept my eyes open all the time, as it was amazing to see the scenery from the train. After a drink stop at Montreaux, next was a short picture stop at Vevey and then the trip concluded back to Geneva in the evening.

If one is visiting Geneva, do take this tour and am pretty sure one wouldn't regret spending the money on it.

Special thanks to the tour guide Maggie and the bus driver Maurice for making the trip wonderful.

Doing what: Day Trip to Gruyères including Golden Panoramic Express Train

Lynn R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

It was fabulous! The scenery was breathtaking, the chocolate testing scrumptous and the wine tasting was fun too. The tour was a glimpse into small town farming life in Switzerland amid the backdrop of the Swiss Alps. Our tourguide was knowledgable and kept things interesting. Totally recommend for a day tour!

Doing what: Day Trip to Gruyères including Golden Panoramic Express Train

Linda A

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

I have taken many tours over the years and this by far was one of the best. Great tour guide Maria - and chocolate, cheese and wine - and train - it doesn't get much better than that.

Doing what: Day Trip to Gruyères including Golden Panoramic Express Train

Michael D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

Absolutely brilliant and a real taste of Switzerland in a day. Yolanda was an excellent and arresting guide who really knows her stuff about Geneva and Gruyeres, and what can I say about the sights only delicious chocolate factory, fondue and wine, fascinating our journey out of Geneva and memorable Lake Geneva, Gruyeres castle and the panoramic train journey. One of the best tours I have ever been on and I learned so much in one day.

Doing what: Day Trip to Gruyères including Golden Panoramic Express Train

Ilham G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

Excellent. Remarkable sites, outstanding views of the nature and lake. Great time and food in Gruyeres cheese factory. Our guide, Yolanda, luckily the same as in the previous trip to Lausanne, Montreux and Chillon Castle, was just wonderful and perfect. Highly recommended trip, you will have unforgettable views and impressions.

Doing what: Day Trip to Gruyères including Golden Panoramic Express Train

Lauren O United Kingdom

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

I really enjoyed the whole day - Yolonda is so knowledgable about the country and conveys so much during the otherwise down times. The chocolate tour is surprisingly really well done, the cheese farm is fantastic and such a unique experience, and the train was incredible...I personally would've liked more time at the vineyard, but it was already the favorite day of my trip. Highly recommend!

Doing what: Day Trip to Gruyères including Golden Panoramic Express Train

Marlene H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

We had a wonderful day! We especially enjoyed the cheese tasting!

Doing what: Day Trip to Gruyères including Golden Panoramic Express Train

Cheryl L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Maggie our guide was wonderful : Everything from the coach ride to the choc factory visit to the DIY cheese fondue to the village was picturesque and fun! Absolutely relaxing.

Doing what: Day Trip to Gruyères including Golden Panoramic Express Train

Christine A

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

we took 4 viator tours in Geneva and while they were all good this was far and away THE BEST EVER!!!
I would do this tour again in a heart beat. Well worth the money -- a phenomenal family experience. We had 4 children and two grandparents with us. Everyone loved everything -- the cheese, chocolate and wine were all great! Thank you Maggie for a great experience!

Doing what: Day Trip to Gruyères including Golden Panoramic Express Train

Rana M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

What a lovely day! Great views, and amazing tastes of chocolate, cheese and wine. Definitely not to be missed. Also, make sure to pass by the HR Giger Museum Café at Gruyeres for an out of this world experience and unlikely in such a part of Switzerland. The Panoramic Express Train is also so lovely and worth it, shame it could not be longer.

Doing what: Day Trip to Gruyères including Golden Panoramic Express Train

Cindy K

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2015

Loved this all day tour... Lindt Chocolate outlet had great prices, and lots variety, but free samples to taste.. Cheese 'stop' was OK... Not sure the cheese was to my taste, but that was only my personal thought. Others enjoyed. The highlight for me was the mountain.... and views up top.... We could see 4 countries... Switzerland, Austria, Germany and principality of Liechtenstein..... Plus snow !!! And as Australians who don't see snow often ( if at all !!! ) This was magical.. Had lunch at the revolving restaurant which had reasonable prices for Switzerland ... Great bus driver\tour guide.... Overall, I would highly recommended.

Doing what: Switzerland Mountains, Cheese and Chocolates Tour from Zurich

starinriyadh

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

It was a fascinating experience, seeing old town, cheese factory and Lindt chocolates....our Tour guide Annaliza i is very gentle, informative and very accommodating....

Being in the cable car crossing mountain is a breathtaking adventure....and knowing the farmers way of life is very interesting!!!they are hard working people and very impressive.....

Doing what: Switzerland Mountains, Cheese and Chocolates Tour from Zurich

Alison S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

Gallus, our guide was excellent and very knowledgeable. The tour was fantastic, my daughter couldn't stop shaking with excitement at the Chocolate Outlet. Tasting of some chocolates were free and there was a great range and great pricing. The Cheese factory was also great with free tasting platter and great cheeses to purchases, as well as interesting account of cheese making and local traditions. The mountain was amazing, even with a bit of cloud, but we got to see other countries. Fully recommend this tour for all ages.

Doing what: Switzerland Mountains, Cheese and Chocolates Tour from Zurich

smanscher

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

prefect! chocolate and cheese! lots of fun, train was nice.

Doing what: Day Trip to Gruyères including Golden Panoramic Express Train

Yuguang L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

This tour is well organized and you will have some special experience that is hardly available to normal travellers. For example, guided tour in chocolate factory, eating foundue in a local farm as well as a visit to Gruyeres. Moreover, the golden panoramic train is fantastic!

Doing what: Day Trip to Gruyères including Golden Panoramic Express Train

misticat

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

Our guide was a very knowledgeable young lady. Absolutely enjoyed the history, the countryside, and the cheese(entree, fondue and dessert)!! Even got to take a photo with the real "cheese-maker"! Great gruyere cheese! Would recommend to anyone who wants to know/live among the locals! Great gentle people proud of their heritage! The panoramic express has breathtaking views of the mountains and villages.

Doing what: Day Trip to Gruyères including Golden Panoramic Express Train

Alastair W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

Absolutely brilliant! Our guide Antoinette was loads of fun and really knowledgeable about all aspects of the trip.
All aspects of the tour were fantastic, chocolate, cheese and stunning scenery.

Doing what: Day Trip to Gruyères including Golden Panoramic Express Train

Janegmorrison

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

Beautiful and fun. Unfortunately, the weather wasn't great, but it was still beautiful. We enjoyed the chocolate outlet and the cheese. Seeing the countryside was wonderful! I'm sure being on the mountain would have been spectacular had the weather cooperated, but it was still a great trip.

Doing what: Switzerland Mountains, Cheese and Chocolates Tour from Zurich

Trisha B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

Antoinette was an amazing guide; very knowledgeable, professional, and fun. She speaks several languages which was wonderful.
The tours were well laid out. The chocolate factory was divine and the fondue excellent. The panoramic train ride is breathtaking.
Absolutely would suggest this tour for others. It’s small enough so you don’t feel like you’re being herded on/off the bus and you have the opportunity to get to know the other visitors.

Doing what: Day Trip to Gruyères including Golden Panoramic Express Train

Michael B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

Great trip. Loved all the activities..chocolate,cheese,wine tasting,and panoramic train ride. Scenery was spectacular.

Doing what: Day Trip to Gruyères including Golden Panoramic Express Train

Catherine G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2014

Enjoyed the Lindts Factaory store. Yum. Then we had a short visit to the cheese factory. Would have been nice to have a little more time there. At the mountain top, nice and relaxing in the restaurant. Our time in Appenzell was too rainy to realy enjoy the town.

Doing what: Switzerland Mountains, Cheese and Chocolates Tour from Zurich

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message