Insider's Guide to Sydney

Major attractions, tips and our top things to see and do.

Get the
Inside Scoop

Privacy Policy

Call (888) 651-9785

Sydney ATTRACTIONS See all

Featherdale Wildlife Park

Cuddle a koala, handfeed a kangaroo, and watch penguins waddle at Featherdale Wildlife Park, just 40 minutes from central Sydney. Celebrating Australia’s unique animals and birds, Featherdale presents all kind of native fauna in a natural bush ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 181 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Sara B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

This tour is well worth the cost. A convenient way to get out of Sydney. Scenic World was a fantastic time, though we recommend doing the tram down into the forest and train back up--shorter lines. Featherdale was delightful and we touched a koala! Bus pick up/drop off does take awhile.

Doing what: Blue Mountains Nature and Wildlife Day Tour from Sydney

Mark B USA

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2016

Great trip. Featherdale was great animal experience.

Doing what: Blue Mountains Day Trip and River Cruise

mommydawg

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2016

Was only allowed about an hour at Featherdale which is NOT enough time. Otherwise, a good tour. Our guide Smoky was a real kick. Extremely knowledgeable in every aspect of the tour and surrounds.

Doing what: Blue Mountains Day Trip and River Cruise

Chris N

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2016

Our tour was fabulous! Our guide,Sheldon,was wonderful! He was on time,professional, and very informative. The trip was exactly as described.The views of the Blue Mountains, specifically the Three Sisters, were stunning. The Scenic World train ride was such fun! The views were incredible! Our trip to Featherdale was great! We were able to see and touch Koalas and Kangaroos! We saw more Koalas at Featherdale than at Taronga Zoo in Sydney. I would highly recommend this tour! You will be happy and thrilled. Make sure you book the return to Sydney via the boat cruise! Otherwise it will take you longer to return to Sydney via coach bus.

Doing what: Blue Mountains Day Trip and River Cruise

Mary L E

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2016

Awesome experience! Our guide was extremely knowledgable and kept us informed the entire trip. The views were spectacular, even with partly cloudy skies and visiting Featherdale, while reminding one of a zoo was an experience we'll remember for a while. I didn't expect to get so up close to the kangaroos so I was pleased! I'd recommend this trip for anyone who wants to get out of the city for a day! And did I mention the views of Sydney on the return boat trip? Worth the line at the dock,

Doing what: Blue Mountains Day Trip and River Cruise

Kenneth H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2016

Excellent tour. The guide was knowledgeable and helpful. Thanks for giving us the opportunity to experience this enormous natural beauty. Featherdale Wildlife Park was a lifetime memory. The stop at the Olympic site was special and the the boat ride home down the River back to Sydney was a fitting end to a very special day.

Doing what: Blue Mountains Day Trip and River Cruise

cdusmjrn

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2016

Well worth the time and money to take a day trip from Sydney. From the stop in Leura for coffee and pastry to the boat ride down the river to Sydney we enjoyed every minute. The sanctuary at Featherdale was outstanding and saved us a trip to the zoo in Sydney-even got to pet a Koala. Great value-don't miss it.

Doing what: Blue Mountains Day Trip and River Cruise

Pete United States of ... 

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2016

Smokey outdid himself on this 10 hour tour! This was the first of our six tours in Sydney and New Zealand and by far the most memorable. Smokey was not only extremely knowledgeable about the Maori, the fauna and flora of New Zealand, and the early settlers of Sydney, but he was also humorous, enthusiastic, and efficient. He wasted no time in getting us onto all three rides at Scenic World and explained how to make the most of our time viewing the native animals of Australia at Featherdale Wildlife Center. The day was topped off with a cruise along the Parramatta River with magnificent views of the Sydney Harbor Bridge and Opera House as we entered Sydney Harbor. Finally, we appreciated Smokey's additional stops for magnificent views in the Blue Mountains and around Olympic Park.

Doing what: Blue Mountains Day Trip and River Cruise

Stephen O

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2016

Great tour. It was very organized. The tour guide, David, was professional and informative. Featherdale Wildlife park is not to be missed!

Doing what: Blue Mountains Nature and Wildlife Day Tour from Sydney

gezkeller

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

A MUST DO!!!
The scenery was impeccable at Blue Mountains!!! Enjoyed the rides there too!
We had a lot of interaction with the kangarooshand fed them and wallabies,
touched and posed with the koalas and saw more Aussie animals than our
trip and private tour at Sydney Taronga Zoo. Had I known that, I would have
deleted visiting Sydney Taronga Zoo. Featherdale Wildlife Park might be
a smaller zoo but we came for the kangaroos, wallabies, koalas and other
awesome Australian animals!!!
Only downside of this tour though was the lunch. Don't include that in your
package as it was not good. The burger tasted like meatloaf!!!
Just get your own lunch in the area.

Doing what: Blue Mountains Nature and Wildlife Day Tour from Sydney

John Z

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

The day started ominously with rain and fog. Our guide, Paul, made the trip to the Blue Mountains interesting with light-hearted, yet informative, banter the entire way. We had access to the Scenic Wonder rides which provided three separate experiences to various areas of the park. Although visibility was nil, we enjoyed walking through the rain forest and listening to the various birds, especially the lyrebird, a masterful mimic. We found the gift shop here to be one of the most reasonably priced in all of Australia. We stopped at the cultural center at the Three Sisters viewing area, where we were told that on a clear day we could even see the Eiffel Tower. Ha! We had a satisfying lunch in Leura and then it was off to Featherdale. We had a great experience with koala, kangaroos, wallabys, cassowary, buggles, wombats, penguins, crocs, and a myriad of birds. A very well-run sanctuary and the high point for my wife. Paul gave us an informative ride through the Olympic Park area and humorously outlined the competitive relationship of Australia and New Zealand. Again, kudos to our guide, Paul, who went above and beyond to accommodate the needs and limitations of 30 passengers.

Doing what: Blue Mountains Nature and Wildlife Day Tour from Sydney

Amy L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

Henry, our guide, was wonderful, knowledgeable, very helpful, directing us to alt. ferry when the rivercruise sold out. Featherdale wildlife reserve - our highlight, seeing the animals upclose and so many. We opted for pre-purchase lunch.Tasty and allowed us more time to windowshop in Leura.

Doing what: Blue Mountains Nature and Wildlife Day Tour from Sydney

Susan C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

Tour guide/bus driver very knowledgeable and professional. Enjoyable day. After doing Sydney on our own for 3 days it was nice to take this tour and to be taken care of. Our first stop in Leura included morning tea. We chose cappuccinos and raisin toast, which hit the spot and then we did a little shopping afterwards. We had 30 minutes to walk amongst the shops and peruse the storefronts. Next stop was the 3 Sisters. We enjoyed all 3 events, the Skyway tram with the glass floor, the steepest cable ride, and the walkway. We then had lunch which was outstanding. I had a goat cheese tart and my husband had a trout dish. Lunch included coffee, tea, or a soft drink and a delicious dessert. The Featherdale Wildlife Park was outstanding. We hand fed kangaroos, petted sheep and goats, watched Dingos and Tasmanian Devils eat lunch, as well as learn about their behavior, and took a picture with a Koala Bear. Finally our day ended with a scenic cruise back to Sydney harbor. A full day and outstanding!

Doing what: Blue Mountains Day Trip and River Cruise

Michael Z

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2015

I had taken this excursion 2 years ago on my first trip to Sydney and enjoyed it so much it was definitely something worth doing again.

Easy pickup from the hotel--the first time was right to my door, this time I had to walk a block to the Hilton from the Park Regis. If this is your pickup spot, check with the concierge to make sure whether the bus will be arriving at the George Street or Pitt Street entrance. In my case it was at the Pitt Street door, though the concierge at the Park Regis said when making the confirmation phone call the day before to be at the George Street door. Not a big deal in any event, but make sure your bases are covered.

The coach was very comfortable, and with its high floor and huge windows it gives great views for just looking at or taking photos along the way. The drive was excellent, giving good commentary along the way as well as quiet time for napping, which I noticed several other passengers doing.

Scenic point is nice, if you are just going to go for a walk along the trails, you can grab a coffee from the restaurant and sip on that.
Echo Point has closer views of the valley and Three Sisters.
Ask your bus driver at Echo Point to point out to you where the road builder memorial is, as it is a little bit off the beaten path. On my first visit the bus parked nearly right along side it this time we were parked by the gift shop and if you don't know the memorial is there, you will miss it.
Leura is fantastic. A quaint little town with the many types of shops and restaurants along the street, as well as a Woolworths grocery store in case you want to buy some snacks that aren't available in a restaurant.
Featherdale Wildlife Park is wonderful. Well laid out, relaxed, lots of opportunities for photos and interactions with some of the animals.

By all means, put this on your To Do list. :-

Doing what: Blue Mountains Nature and Wildlife Day Tour from Sydney

Phoenix K

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2015

Our group of 6 did the tour in NOV. Although drizzly with low ceilings and fog prevented some of the sightseeing, it was overall a good time. Our bus driver/tour guide was friendly and knowledgeable as well. Echo point's rail, skyway and cable way are optional rides which cost 15? per ride or 30? for unlimited rides. With 6 in my group, age ranged from 30s to 60s, we didnt think running from cable to cable was a good idea given the 1hr we had to enjoy the scenery. We hiked down the path 40 min and spent the 15 ride back up, conveniently, to the gift shop and the 20 min we had remaining it worked perfect for us. I highly recommend purchasing the lunch option as there is not enough time for you to run off the bus and find your own food and run back to the bus. Featherdale zoo was, of course, the highlight because of the koala and kangaroo picture opportunities. The zoo was also the shortest time allotted for the tour so as soon as you get off the bus, BOOK IT, to the long line to take pics with the Koala, pet its leg and spend the last 15 min you have for pictures with the kangaroo and gift shop. Unlike here in the USA, where some service industry person is holding out a tip jar shaking it in front of your face, some Aussies and internet blogs say NOT to tip in Australia. As we returned to our hotels, our bus driver/ tour guide met every group outside of the bus shook everyone's hand, with pleasant farewells. Is this where we slip him a tip?, we thought. Who doesnt enjoy some extra cash, right?! I wont disclose if we did or didnt. We were tourist doing our tourist thing.

Doing what: Blue Mountains Nature and Wildlife Day Tour from Sydney

Maurice A

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

featherdale wildlife park is the best. best contact with animals and photos that I got all month.

Doing what: Blue Mountains Nature and Wildlife Day Tour from Sydney

louise

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

It was an amazing day. We had perfect weather. The views of the Three Sisters were awesome. We got to ride the skyway cable, the cable car and the railway. Walked the longer scenic path which took only about 30 minutes or so, a bit of a climb back up the path to catch the railway. With the tour, we were able to ride as often as we liked. The railway car was pretty cool. Lunch was good. Got to feed kangaroos and pet koalas at the Featherdale Wildlife Park. Time provided at each stop was more than adequate.

Doing what: Blue Mountains Day Trip and River Cruise

Fred S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

Henry, our guide, gave excellent information about our tour and Australia in general. The Featherdale Wildlife Park was wonderful. Lunch was a great. I recommend this tour.

Doing what: Blue Mountains Day Trip and River Cruise

Julie W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

WOW is not enough to describe this tour. A full day trip crammed with lots to do and see. Our driver was Jools was excellent, friendly, knowledgeable and witty. The Blue Mountains are awesome enough said. Scenic World was brilliant Skyway, cableway and railway are a must and the Featherdale with the Koalas and kangaroos was brilliant. The cruise back at the end was awesome as the sun was setting. Morning tea and lunch was great quality. Five star and value for money.

Doing what: Blue Mountains Day Trip and River Cruise

carlosabreurj

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

Definetely a mustsee attraction! In scenic world park, youd better buy the tickets for the cables, so you can take beautiful photos from the park, and you can go through the park easily and quickly. In Featherdale Park, the best was the meet and greet with the koala, and feeding the kangaroos. Really really great!

Doing what: Blue Mountains Nature and Wildlife Day Tour from Sydney

Melissa M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

This tour was by far my most favorite part of my trip to Australia! The coach picked me up close to my hotel, and the driver/tour guide was so well versed/knowledgeable. The tour starts at the Blue Mountains and ends at the Featherdale Wildlife Preserve. Every single aspect of this tour was simply amazing. I highly recommend this to anyone visiting the Sydney area.

Doing what: Blue Mountains Nature and Wildlife Day Tour from Sydney

Daniel F

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

First of all the special thanks for Mark our driver for such pleasant trip!
Its a big benefit to arrive early to Featherdale Wildlife Park when this park is almost empty.
Mark took us to the hidden and not overcrowded cliff to view the spectacular Jamison Valley and it was just exciting!
Fantastic tour that is a MUST for everyone that is visiting Sydney for the first time.

Doing what: Small-Group Blue Mountains Day Trip from Sydney with River Cruise

Shelby M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Paul, our guide and van driver, was prompt in picking us up, friendly and knowledgeable. We choose this tour for its small size. It turned out that there were only six of us. Paul gave us a little extra time at Featherdale Wildflife Park which is a wonderful place. Fortunately, the weather was beautiful and we were able to see and experience all the sights. Lunch was good. We really enjoyed visiting the Blue Mountains Botanic Garden but wish there had been more time. A visit to Scenic World might be worthwhile but then there might be less time at Featherdale or a visit to the botanic garden.

Doing what: Blue Mountains Deluxe Small Group Eco Tour from Sydney

David A

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

great tour guide and great tour went to featherdale and got to pet kangaroos and koalas and then went to blue mountains where i just kept riding the scenic railway lol. i rode all 3 skyway, walkway, and railway but after the first 2 i just kept riding the railway and the scenery was great too

Doing what: Small-Group Blue Mountains Day Trip from Sydney with River Cruise

Jennifer M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

It was a grey rainy day, but the view of the Blue Mountains and falls were beautiful, the Aboriginal performance different and interesting, found a great little quilt shop in Leura, petted a koala at Featherdale, and enjoyed the cruise back to CBD. A tour with varied and cool things to do.

Doing what: Blue Mountains Nature and Wildlife Day Tour from Sydney

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message