Insider's Guide to Sydney

Major attractions, tips and our top things to see and do.

Get the
Inside Scoop

Privacy Policy

Call (888) 651-9785

Sydney ATTRACTIONS See all

Featherdale Wildlife Park

Cuddle a koala, handfeed a kangaroo, and watch penguins waddle at Featherdale Wildlife Park, just 40 minutes from central Sydney. Celebrating Australia’s unique animals and birds, Featherdale presents all kind of native fauna in a natural bush ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 194 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Hrushikesh J

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

It was a great outdoor experience!. Our journey started on a cold and grey morning but the weather cleared out as we ventured into the Blue Mountains. The mist gradually cleared and we were able to see the Three Sisters. The tour itinerary was perfectly spaced out and the tour guide/driver Peter provided useful nuggets of information throughout the entire journey. He also had a great sense of humour and there was never a dull moment. We had requested for vegetarian meals and we were happy with the choices offered for both breakfast and lunch. The stopover locations and restaurant choices were good. We were a small group of 16 people and the 18 seater bus was just perfect. The only let down was Featherdale Wildlife Park which did not live up to our expectations. While we got to see the Kangaroos, Koalas and Penguins up close, the park is definitely not in the same league as other national parks worldwide. I also did not enjoy watching the exotic Australian birds housed in small cages. The return journey is quite relaxing cruise on Parramatta River to return to Sydney and provides scenic views of Harbour Bridge and Opera House. We had used AATKings for the Great Ocean Road trip at Melbourne and we are extremely happy with both the experiences

Doing what: Blue Mountains Day Trip and River Cruise

Danielle B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Fantastic trip! The Featherdale Wildlife Park was amazing with close up encounters with kangaroos, wallaroos, wallabies, koalas and wombats. The guide was very knowledgable and friendly. The Blue Mountains were gorgeous and we had a couple of nice hikes. Would definitely recommend this experience!

Doing what: Small-Group Blue Mountains Day Trip from Sydney with River Cruise

Patana T

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

It was a great day. Brad, our guide and drive did a great job with his fun narration and kept us laugh entire time. Blue Mountain is stunning. I love seeing animals at Featherdale Wildlife where we can actually touch those wallabies, kangaroos, and koala bears. When we arrived at Sydney on Fantasia cruise ship, the Sydney Opera House had just begun the laser and light display. That gave the perfect and memorable ending.

Doing what: Blue Mountains Day Trip and River Cruise

Boi Kui C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Brad the driver and tour guide was perfect. He was patient with everyone and made sure we all are safe and had a great time. Brad was very informative and everyone enjoyed his introduction as we were on the way to see the beautiful and breath taking blue mountains and the 3 sisters.
The trip to the Featherdale Park was perfect too. We had a chance to touch the koala, kangaroos and watched the cute Penguins so closely. My son and I really enjoyed this trip and will definitely recommended anyone who wants to visit the Blue Mountains. Lunch was so so.

Doing what: Blue Mountains Nature and Wildlife Day Tour from Sydney

Margaret H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Fabulous day, hit Featherdale Wildlife Park before the crowds. Excellent guide who shared his knowledge and insights. Small group made it easier to explore.

Doing what: Blue Mountains Deluxe Small Group Eco Tour from Sydney

alefiyah.master

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

The Blue Mountains day trip was amazing! Our tour guide, Nigel, was knowledgeable, funny, and a great person to spend the day with. Our group initially had 12 people, but 10 of those people cancelled. The local tour oeprator decided to take us anyway instead of cancelling on us!
Our day started with Featherdale Wildlife Park, then to Blue Mountains and the Three Sisters, scenic hikes, followed by lunch at a cute place called the Conservation Hut, another scenic view, and then the ferry home. The places we were taken had amazing views and we were higher up than the cable car ride which costs 40, which I'm happy Nigel told us wasn't worth doing.
I'm so pleased with everything we did that day and that we decided to go with this smaller company and smaller group rather than those huge buses of 50-80 people. I can't recommend this enough - one of the best things we did in Sydney!

Doing what: Small-Group Blue Mountains Day Trip from Sydney with River Cruise

Joan S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Most enjoyable! Loved Featherdale wallaby and kangaroo park and the river cruise was lovely with the city lights! Would definitely recommend this trip.

Doing what: Blue Mountains Day Trip and River Cruise

Joy B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

We spent a very enjoyable day in the Blue Mountains in March. Our driver was very friendly and looked after everyone well. We had a lovely lunch, included in the price. I wasn't really looking forward to the visit to Featherdale Wildlife Park as I'm not particularly fond of zoos but it was surprisingly enjoyable. The cruise back to Sydney was great and I would recommend this option.

Doing what: Blue Mountains Day Trip and River Cruise

Jason C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

Having read on the UNESCO World Heritage Sites, I knew about the Blue Mountains, but that didn't prepare me for how much I enjoyed this tour. You get to spend a lot of time on the ground in the Blue Mountains and at the Featherdale Zoo. From our first glimpse of the Blue Mountains through the bus, you'll be excited to get there. You will be able to recognize the Blue Mountains as soon as it comes into view. We got to pet a koala, a kangaroo and a wallaby at the zoo. Our tour guide made the experience that much better. He was great. Funny little guy who couldn't stop talking about how much he loves kangaroo.

After being in Sydney for a few days, this will break the monotony of walking through one of the most scenic cities you'll ever visit. I know that isn't much of a shove to get you outside of the city, but this will be an amazing addition to what will become one of your favorite destinations in the world.

Doing what: Blue Mountains Nature and Wildlife Day Tour from Sydney

William M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

The tour was perfect just what we wanted. Our guide, Smokey, was incredibly entertaining....a modern day Crocodile Dundee. We knew we had to see more of Sydney than the city, and were blown away by this scenic area 90 minutes away. It was screaming windy and showery, so the gondola was a little extra excitement. The stop at Featherdale Wildlife Park was one of the highlights for us, providing some neat up close and personal interactions with a koala. The boat ride back to Circular Quay beat the heck out of the Friday afternoon traffic.

Doing what: Blue Mountains Day Trip and River Cruise

Mollie A

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

A wonderful tour of the Blue Mountains. Enjoyed the Scenic views and Featherdale Park. Smokie was an awesome tour guide.

Doing what: Blue Mountains Day Trip and River Cruise

Sara B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

This tour is well worth the cost. A convenient way to get out of Sydney. Scenic World was a fantastic time, though we recommend doing the tram down into the forest and train back up--shorter lines. Featherdale was delightful and we touched a koala! Bus pick up/drop off does take awhile.

Doing what: Blue Mountains Nature and Wildlife Day Tour from Sydney

Mark B USA

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2016

Great trip. Featherdale was great animal experience.

Doing what: Blue Mountains Day Trip and River Cruise

mommydawg

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2016

Was only allowed about an hour at Featherdale which is NOT enough time. Otherwise, a good tour. Our guide Smoky was a real kick. Extremely knowledgeable in every aspect of the tour and surrounds.

Doing what: Blue Mountains Day Trip and River Cruise

Chris N

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2016

Our tour was fabulous! Our guide,Sheldon,was wonderful! He was on time,professional, and very informative. The trip was exactly as described.The views of the Blue Mountains, specifically the Three Sisters, were stunning. The Scenic World train ride was such fun! The views were incredible! Our trip to Featherdale was great! We were able to see and touch Koalas and Kangaroos! We saw more Koalas at Featherdale than at Taronga Zoo in Sydney. I would highly recommend this tour! You will be happy and thrilled. Make sure you book the return to Sydney via the boat cruise! Otherwise it will take you longer to return to Sydney via coach bus.

Doing what: Blue Mountains Day Trip and River Cruise

Mary L E

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2016

Awesome experience! Our guide was extremely knowledgable and kept us informed the entire trip. The views were spectacular, even with partly cloudy skies and visiting Featherdale, while reminding one of a zoo was an experience we'll remember for a while. I didn't expect to get so up close to the kangaroos so I was pleased! I'd recommend this trip for anyone who wants to get out of the city for a day! And did I mention the views of Sydney on the return boat trip? Worth the line at the dock,

Doing what: Blue Mountains Day Trip and River Cruise

Kenneth H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2016

Excellent tour. The guide was knowledgeable and helpful. Thanks for giving us the opportunity to experience this enormous natural beauty. Featherdale Wildlife Park was a lifetime memory. The stop at the Olympic site was special and the the boat ride home down the River back to Sydney was a fitting end to a very special day.

Doing what: Blue Mountains Day Trip and River Cruise

cdusmjrn

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2016

Well worth the time and money to take a day trip from Sydney. From the stop in Leura for coffee and pastry to the boat ride down the river to Sydney we enjoyed every minute. The sanctuary at Featherdale was outstanding and saved us a trip to the zoo in Sydney-even got to pet a Koala. Great value-don't miss it.

Doing what: Blue Mountains Day Trip and River Cruise

Pete United States of ... 

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2016

Smokey outdid himself on this 10 hour tour! This was the first of our six tours in Sydney and New Zealand and by far the most memorable. Smokey was not only extremely knowledgeable about the Maori, the fauna and flora of New Zealand, and the early settlers of Sydney, but he was also humorous, enthusiastic, and efficient. He wasted no time in getting us onto all three rides at Scenic World and explained how to make the most of our time viewing the native animals of Australia at Featherdale Wildlife Center. The day was topped off with a cruise along the Parramatta River with magnificent views of the Sydney Harbor Bridge and Opera House as we entered Sydney Harbor. Finally, we appreciated Smokey's additional stops for magnificent views in the Blue Mountains and around Olympic Park.

Doing what: Blue Mountains Day Trip and River Cruise

Stephen O

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2016

Great tour. It was very organized. The tour guide, David, was professional and informative. Featherdale Wildlife park is not to be missed!

Doing what: Blue Mountains Nature and Wildlife Day Tour from Sydney

gezkeller

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

A MUST DO!!!
The scenery was impeccable at Blue Mountains!!! Enjoyed the rides there too!
We had a lot of interaction with the kangarooshand fed them and wallabies,
touched and posed with the koalas and saw more Aussie animals than our
trip and private tour at Sydney Taronga Zoo. Had I known that, I would have
deleted visiting Sydney Taronga Zoo. Featherdale Wildlife Park might be
a smaller zoo but we came for the kangaroos, wallabies, koalas and other
awesome Australian animals!!!
Only downside of this tour though was the lunch. Don't include that in your
package as it was not good. The burger tasted like meatloaf!!!
Just get your own lunch in the area.

Doing what: Blue Mountains Nature and Wildlife Day Tour from Sydney

John Z

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

The day started ominously with rain and fog. Our guide, Paul, made the trip to the Blue Mountains interesting with light-hearted, yet informative, banter the entire way. We had access to the Scenic Wonder rides which provided three separate experiences to various areas of the park. Although visibility was nil, we enjoyed walking through the rain forest and listening to the various birds, especially the lyrebird, a masterful mimic. We found the gift shop here to be one of the most reasonably priced in all of Australia. We stopped at the cultural center at the Three Sisters viewing area, where we were told that on a clear day we could even see the Eiffel Tower. Ha! We had a satisfying lunch in Leura and then it was off to Featherdale. We had a great experience with koala, kangaroos, wallabys, cassowary, buggles, wombats, penguins, crocs, and a myriad of birds. A very well-run sanctuary and the high point for my wife. Paul gave us an informative ride through the Olympic Park area and humorously outlined the competitive relationship of Australia and New Zealand. Again, kudos to our guide, Paul, who went above and beyond to accommodate the needs and limitations of 30 passengers.

Doing what: Blue Mountains Nature and Wildlife Day Tour from Sydney

Amy L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

Henry, our guide, was wonderful, knowledgeable, very helpful, directing us to alt. ferry when the rivercruise sold out. Featherdale wildlife reserve - our highlight, seeing the animals upclose and so many. We opted for pre-purchase lunch.Tasty and allowed us more time to windowshop in Leura.

Doing what: Blue Mountains Nature and Wildlife Day Tour from Sydney

Susan C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

Tour guide/bus driver very knowledgeable and professional. Enjoyable day. After doing Sydney on our own for 3 days it was nice to take this tour and to be taken care of. Our first stop in Leura included morning tea. We chose cappuccinos and raisin toast, which hit the spot and then we did a little shopping afterwards. We had 30 minutes to walk amongst the shops and peruse the storefronts. Next stop was the 3 Sisters. We enjoyed all 3 events, the Skyway tram with the glass floor, the steepest cable ride, and the walkway. We then had lunch which was outstanding. I had a goat cheese tart and my husband had a trout dish. Lunch included coffee, tea, or a soft drink and a delicious dessert. The Featherdale Wildlife Park was outstanding. We hand fed kangaroos, petted sheep and goats, watched Dingos and Tasmanian Devils eat lunch, as well as learn about their behavior, and took a picture with a Koala Bear. Finally our day ended with a scenic cruise back to Sydney harbor. A full day and outstanding!

Doing what: Blue Mountains Day Trip and River Cruise

Michael Z

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2015

I had taken this excursion 2 years ago on my first trip to Sydney and enjoyed it so much it was definitely something worth doing again.

Easy pickup from the hotel--the first time was right to my door, this time I had to walk a block to the Hilton from the Park Regis. If this is your pickup spot, check with the concierge to make sure whether the bus will be arriving at the George Street or Pitt Street entrance. In my case it was at the Pitt Street door, though the concierge at the Park Regis said when making the confirmation phone call the day before to be at the George Street door. Not a big deal in any event, but make sure your bases are covered.

The coach was very comfortable, and with its high floor and huge windows it gives great views for just looking at or taking photos along the way. The drive was excellent, giving good commentary along the way as well as quiet time for napping, which I noticed several other passengers doing.

Scenic point is nice, if you are just going to go for a walk along the trails, you can grab a coffee from the restaurant and sip on that.
Echo Point has closer views of the valley and Three Sisters.
Ask your bus driver at Echo Point to point out to you where the road builder memorial is, as it is a little bit off the beaten path. On my first visit the bus parked nearly right along side it this time we were parked by the gift shop and if you don't know the memorial is there, you will miss it.
Leura is fantastic. A quaint little town with the many types of shops and restaurants along the street, as well as a Woolworths grocery store in case you want to buy some snacks that aren't available in a restaurant.
Featherdale Wildlife Park is wonderful. Well laid out, relaxed, lots of opportunities for photos and interactions with some of the animals.

By all means, put this on your To Do list. :-

Doing what: Blue Mountains Nature and Wildlife Day Tour from Sydney

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message