This rocky 13-hectare island in the heart of Port Jackson is as rich in history as it is in sandstone. Once home to an explosives store and later a convict stockade, Goat Island has housed the Sydney Water Police and even served as a film set. What ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 14 Reviews Add your review

Certiļ¬ed reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

Fabulous experience! Great fun to be on the tall ship, informative guide for the tour and a delicious lunch.
Goat Island was a treat, would recommend to all

Doing what: Sydney Harbour Cruise and Goat Island Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

We had a wonderfu time. The tour guide Colin was outstanding and very informative. He had lots of history and trivia about Goat Island. The lunch was fine also.

Doing what: Sydney Harbour Cruise and Goat Island Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

We loved the tall ship cruise to Goat Island!!.... The crew we're fantastic, the island was interesting and the food and service we're great. Terrific value (in August)... We will do the twilight cruise wen next in Sydney..,.

Doing what: Sydney Harbour Cruise and Goat Island Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

Highly recommended... interesting piece of Sydney's history. Goat Island was good, but what made this experience great was being on a tall ship and the depth of knowledge of our wonderful guide Esther. She was also hilarious and very witty. Excellent value for money.

Doing what: Sydney Harbour Cruise and Goat Island Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2014

i bought the tour as a present for my husband for his birthday and we had a wonderful day. The tour guide (I can't remember his name) was excellent and made the history of Goat Island come alive. The food was better than my expectations and cruising around the Harbour on a lovely autumn day whilst we had lunch was a perfect experience .

Doing what: Sydney Harbour Cruise and Goat Island Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2013

Fantastic cruise and tour! Goat Island was very interesting and our guide was excellent!!

Doing what: Sydney Harbour Cruise and Goat Island Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2013

My Sister Dee and I have to say our experience of the Sydney Harbour Cruise and Goat Island Walking Tour was most enjoyable. The Captain of the boat, Guides and Bar staff were great. The food and drinks on the Island along with the guided tour was excellent. Money well spent. Thank you!!!

Doing what: Sydney Harbour Cruise and Goat Island Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2013

Viator has done it again. I have used them quite often and have never been let down and this trip to Goat Island was no exception. The weather was great, the ferry trip most pleasant, especially the round the harbour tour on the way back and the meal tasty and plentifull. It was a pleasant unhurried walk and our guide was cheerfull, informative and obliging to all ages and abilities, including as two quite young grandchildren. The history of the Island was well narrated and the views were superb. I would reccomend this tour to any visitors to Australia, if only for the views, as well as Sydneysiders just wanting to catch up on the history of the early settlement of Sydney Harbour. A most enjoyable experience.

Doing what: Sydney Harbour Cruise and Goat Island Walking Tour

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2014

The tour started on a bleak overcast Sydney morning aboard a "pirate" ship (without the pirates who were gearing up for the next tour). The tour was interesting and worthwhile. I enjoyed walking through the sometimes precarious rookery the gulls made along one part of the walk. I had never seen gull chicks before and I enjoyed that until a mum or dad gull swooped me. My umbrella came in handy there. The tragic history surrounding our early settlement of Sydney was brought home as we walked around Goat Island. It is something we should remember as without the early settlers, convicts and free alike we would not be able to enjoy such a wonderful city like Sydney and our country.

Doing what: Sydney Harbour Cruise and Goat Island Walking Tour

Chris G
Australia

4 star rating: Recommended
November 2014

Excellent trip, especially if you're a visitor to Sydney and /or interested in some of Sydney's history. On a boat with great views of the western end of the harbour, (from Goat Is to Fort Dennison) a glass or two of wine and a good lunch coupled with a really interesting tour of Goat Island - a great way to spend a day in Sydney.

Doing what: Sydney Harbour Cruise and Goat Island Walking Tour

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2014

We were early and felt a little confused on where to find the boat - made sense a little later when the tall ship arrived, however. Bit crowded, but we got a good seat so it was still enjoyable. Pretty good service from friendly staff. Very knowledgeable guide once we got out to the island. Really not that much to see on Goat Island, but Brendan did a good job explaining an interesting piece of Sydney's history. Do wish they would have told us that our vessel was leaving while we were at the island, as we had left personal items onboard. It returned to pick us up with our items intact, but would have been nice to know their plan. Would have been nice if the main sail had been up as well - might have just ended up in the way, but also might have provided a little shade.

Doing what: Sydney Harbour Cruise and Goat Island Walking Tour

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2014

Lovely trip on a tall ship around Sydney harbour with a visit to Goat Island and lunch included. The crew on the ship worked very hard and our guide Brendan was excellent.

Doing what: Sydney Harbour Cruise and Goat Island Walking Tour

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2013

Was a fabulous experience, however, we left late which meant we overlapped with following tour and also made our tour of Goat Isl. shorter and hurried. Aslo I was at the end of the que and there was no food left eg potato salad etc! When I enquired I was told "Sorry we don't have any more!" Disappointing. The Harbour Cruise was wonderful and a glass of champagne made it better.

Doing what: Sydney Harbour Cruise and Goat Island Walking Tour

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
December 2014

Goat Island was interesting but was far too long and seemed to drag on.
I would have preferred and expected the tall sails like in the advertising to have the sails out.
Would of liked more time sailing around the Harbour as a sightseeing trip as I was expecting by the advertising.
Did enjoy the ship and drinks
We had small children in our group and had to sit in sun on ship as the shaded area was over crowded.
The weather was beautiful and sunny which made the Harbour cruise relaxing overall.

Doing what: Sydney Harbour Cruise and Goat Island Walking Tour

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message