• USD ($)
  • English
This fertile patch of paradise north of Sydney is one of Australia’s prime wine-growing and gourmet-food producing regions. Lushly carpeted with vineyards and dotted with historic country towns, it’s a popular tourist region attracting holidaying ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 36 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Denise C
United Kingdom

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

I have highly recommended the tour, because once we actually did it, it was an amazing tour of the Hunter Valley and 3 of its boutique wineries, and the free lunch venue offered the opportunity of a little bit of shopping in small bespoke outlets. I would however, also recommend that the pick up details are made very clear to the company as we were left behind on our first attempt at this trip as they had us down as being picked up from another hotel. We did manage to reschedule our itinerary to fit in the trip a week later.

Doing what: Small-Group Hunter Valley Wine and Cheese Tasting Tour from Sydney

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2014

I really loved Hunter Valley Wine Tour. We had beautiful weather; I adored the boutique wineries we visited, each stop was very different and educational. Also Mark our driver was fantastic. He was knowledgeable and friendly, which made the entire tour that much more enjoyable!

Doing what: Small-Group Hunter Valley Wine and Cheese Tasting Tour from Sydney

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2014

Really enjoyed this small group trip to Hunter valley. Our guide Scott was very knowledgable and because we visited smaller wineries it was much more personal . The animal park on the way was good because we got to go in before it officially opened. The only down side was the weather as it poured with rain but luckily not until after the animal park

Doing what: Hunter Valley Wineries and Wilderness Small-Group Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2014

We rate this experience very highly. Seeing Sydney from the air is a great way to get orientated.
Hunter Valley and restaurant were fantastic.
We were picked up early and easily. Staff along the way were very friendly and others we met were hilarious.
I would do this again and recommend this to others.

Doing what: Hunter Valley Luncheon Tour by Helicopter

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2013

Excellent tour! 11 hours in total but well worth it. So much wine to sample and so much information given with each taste. Each winery was better than the last! Our bus driver was great, gave great information on the way to the Hunter Valley and toned it down when we were all so tired on the way back.

Doing what: Hunter Valley Wine Tasting Day Tour from Sydney

Cat
USA

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2013

Fantastic tour and great day out! Our guide was fun and full of knowledge about the places we visited, and every part of the tour was just wonderful. You are driven around in a really nice van with free wifi and water. The first stop, at the Reptile Park is misnamed as you get so much more than just reptiles - you can meet and pet a koala, hand-feed kangaroos, pet a snake and the best part - you get there before the park even opens to the general public and other tour groups! And it only gets better during the second part of the tour. Lots of great wine tastings at the some of the smaller, more intimate wineries in Hunter Valley with your small group, so it doesn't feel rushed or like you aren't learning anything about the wines. I highly recommend this tour if you want a nice day out wine tasting without the big groups of people, and little hint of luxury.

Doing what: Hunter Valley Wineries and Wilderness Small-Group Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2013

A fantastic tour to the Hunter Valley. The wineries were fabulous and the lunch was very good. The beer tasting, at an extra $15 was also great. The bus ride is quite a long one though. Highly recommended.

Doing what: Hunter Valley Wine Tasting Day Tour from Sydney

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2013

What a wonderful, wonderful tour!
Our tour guide Mark was lovely, funny and knowledgeable in one. He took us to three excellent wineries (each one was so different and yet I found something I loved in each one). We also quickly visited a cheese factory and had lunch at the Hunter Valley Gardens. :)

Doing what: Small-Group Hunter Valley Wine and Cheese Tasting Tour from Sydney

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2013

really enjoyed the day.the bus driver was so friendly and really knew his stuff about the hunter valley.a great way to learn about the region for first timers to the valley.the lunch was also delicious plenty of food for everyone and there is an option of beer tasting at lunch time for an extra 15 dollars which i would recommend.it was so hot the day we went so bring plenty of water when your having sips of wine during the day in the summer as its easy to get dehydrated.it does take a while to get to the hunter valley from sydney but its worth the travel.the two main wineries we visited were lindemans and mcguigans and stopped for lunch in bewteen.enjoyed the wine tasting they keep it simple and dont over complicate it.

Doing what: Hunter Valley Wine Tasting Day Tour from Sydney

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2011

This was a wonderful tour that helped acquaint me with the wines of Hunter Valley. The tour guide/van driver picked me up at the appointed time at my hotel and was a knowledgeable and entertaining guide for the entire 9 hour trip to several wineries, wild animal park and a delightful lunch.

Doing what: Hunter Valley Wineries and Wilderness Small-Group Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2010

If you like big bold red wines, the Hunter Valley is it! I try to get up to the Hunter Valley once or twice a year (to stock up the wine cellar!). There are so many wineries in the Hunter Valley, it is hard to know where to start... My personal favourite is Saddlers Creek Wines, on Marrowbone Rd - I'm such a fan, I've been a member of their wine club for about the last 9 years.

Anonymous

Anonymous

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2009

A nice way to see Hunter Valley that allows you to sample the wine without worrying about having to have a designated driver.

Doing what: Hunter Valley Wine Tasting Day Tour from Sydney

Tze Yi K
Singapore

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2008

This was the highlight of our 9-day honeymoon in Australia! I have not the foggiest how much wine we gobbled up but our taste buds were extremely satisfied throughout the whole trip.

The driver / tour guide really made all the difference to the trip with his great sense of humour and stories. We had another similar day tour in Barossa Valley, Adelaide, with another tour operator a few days later and did not have the same enjoyable experience as we had at Hunter Valley. I also recommend this for those who prefer a smaller tour group to the big coach tours. Pricing would most likely be cheaper than the private tours which I have been on a previous trip and you would receive similar experiences.

The morning trip to Calga Springs Sanctuary was a refreshing and delightful experience for us. Something not to be missed if you visit Australia! Many thanks for making our trip a great one!

Doing what: Hunter Valley Wineries and Wilderness Small-Group Tour

Anonymous

Anonymous

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2007

This was the second time I did this tour and it was as amazing as the first time. The driver/guide gave excellent, entertaining commentary on the way to the Hunter Valley. The tour of the first winery was interesting, however I would have liked to have less time for lunch here, and more time at the second winery as we did not have enough time to do any cheese tasting there. The village shops at Hunter Valley Gardens are a great end to the day!

Doing what: Hunter Valley Wine Tasting Day Tour from Sydney

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2006

My official review: This was a really fun tour. Our guide was really knowledgeable about Australian history, which made the drive out to the Hunter Valley educational and interesting. We stopped at an animal reserve to see kangaroos and other native animals, which was cool. The wineries we visited were great and we learned a ton about Australian wine.
My non-official review: I loved Coopers so much that I shipped out a case of their wine. Seriously. Everyone on the tour was like, crazy American girl shipping out cases of wine.

Doing what: Hunter Valley Wineries and Wilderness Small-Group Tour

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message