Sydney ATTRACTIONS See all

Hunter Valley

This fertile patch of paradise north of Sydney is one of Australia’s prime wine-growing and gourmet-food producing regions. Lushly carpeted with vineyards and dotted with historic country towns, it’s a popular tourist region attracting holidaying ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 245 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Stephen Wendy W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Fantastic! Amazing! Weather was predicted to be wet, but it was fine and warm, beautiful. We loved the commentary along the way by the driver, who was great. He was warm and conversational with us, and made the day enjoyable. Loved the wineries and the tastings! Thank you!

Doing what: Hunter Valley Wine Tasting Day Tour from Sydney

Carol B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Our small-group Hunter Valley Wine and Cheese tasting tour was a great experience. Steve, our driver and guide, really made the trip fun and interesting.

Doing what: Small-Group Hunter Valley Wine and Cheese Tasting Tour from Sydney

Trina B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Jimmy was fantastic! He was so friendly, warm and welcoming, and made the group totally comfortable with one another right away! It was a long trip, and Jimmy kept int lively with great commentary and stories as well! Food was great, wine was amazing, and this was definitely one of the highlights of our trip to Sydney! Highly recommended!

Doing what: Chef-Led Hunter Valley Gourmet Food and Wine Day Trip from Sydney

Georgia B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

Outstanding! It was so much fun, Chef Jimmy is entertaining, creative and an excellent chef! We were very impressed with his ability to pick sites, serve food from the back of his van, and the wineries that he chose. Two thumbs up!

Doing what: Chef-Led Hunter Valley Gourmet Food and Wine Day Trip from Sydney

tiffchen1124

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

Jim was a great tour guide who kept us entertained throughout the trip. The selection of a large commercial winery, smaller winery, and a boutique winery was great for experiencing what is on offer at the Hunter Valley. Although the cheese tasting wasn't as elaborate as the wine tasting, I still ended up buying some of the cheese that was sampled. Lunch was provided which was a nice surprise.

Doing what: Small-Group Hunter Valley Wine and Cheese Tasting Tour from Sydney

Robert D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Excellent trip to the Hunter Valley. Our coach driver was very informative and very amusing. A thoroughly enjoyable day with an excellent selection of wines to taste and a more than ample lunch included,

Doing what: Hunter Valley Wine Tasting Day Tour from Sydney

George M T

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

We really enjoyed our wine and cheese tasting tour with Nigel. He made it a great experience, answered all our questions, and a good view of life in NSW and the areas we passed through and the wineries we visited, and we met some really nice people on our tour. Going on a small group tour lets you meet other people but also you get a more personalized tour. Enjoyed all the wineries, and the cheese. Great day. Learned things about wine and wine making I didn't know and we got to drink some really good wine.

Doing what: Small-Group Hunter Valley Wine and Cheese Tasting Tour from Sydney

Keith S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

We can not recommend this tour high enough. Jimmy was an excellent tour guide as well as a chef. Day starts at the fish market, later is a stop by the Hawkesberry River for a breakfast that he prepares. There are 3 visits to wineries, each with food that is prepared by Jimmy, and a sushi class as well. What a delightful way to get out of the city, enjoy some scenery, some delicious food, and of course some wonderful wines in the Hunter Valley.

Doing what: Chef-Led Hunter Valley Gourmet Food and Wine Day Trip from Sydney

Miguel R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

We had a lovely experience. The staff were very friendly and provided us with excellent information on the places of destination and things to expect. The crew was very professional and always made us feel at home. The places that we went to were all great. We had lots of wine, laughs, great photos, and pizza too! I would highly recommend to everyone to do a Hunter Valley Wine tour with them. It is worth it.

Doing what: Hunter Valley Wine Tour Including Lunch, Cheese, Chocolate and Distillery Tastings

Siow Lan L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

One of the most enjoyable tour experiences definitely, Sebastian was a fantastic, genuine tourguide and an excellent babysitter note to parents. The whole trip gave a great vibe with a relaxing pace, and the vodka distillery was a plus point! Would have been great to visit the more notable wineries such as Audrey Wilkinson or Scarborough

Doing what: Hunter Valley Wine Tour Including Lunch, Cheese, Chocolate and Distillery Tastings

valerie b

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

This tour was a great tour for a couple of reasons. I now know I prefer small group tours, the guide was very pleasant to be with. The wineries we visited were hospitable and generous with their wine selections. Lunch was included. We ate at Leogate Winery and it was exceptional. Highly recommend!

Doing what: Hunter Valley Wineries and Wilderness Small-Group Tour

Claude I

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2016

Not only did we taste great wines at three wineries and have a delicious lunch at the Hunter Valley Resort, we got to see kangaroos on the loose at Hope Estates winery. Beautiful area and good wines.

Doing what: Hunter Valley Wine Tasting Day Tour from Sydney

Maz

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2016

A not to be missed tour! Fantastic! We had a great tour with Jimmy who was a fabulous host/ chef/ guide / driver! We were picked up on time and enjoyed the early morning visit to the fish market, followed by a delicious freshly cooked 'picnic' breakfast at the Hawksbury River - then a drive through beautiful the countryside to the Hunter Valley for the food and wine wine tasting experience at three boutique wineries. This unique tour was exception and more than fulfilled our expectations.

Doing what: Chef-Led Hunter Valley Gourmet Food and Wine Day Trip from Sydney

Jane Jamie H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2016

Paul was an amazing guide!! He was extremely knowledgeable and moved us through the activities in a way that allowed us just enough time at each spot without feeling rushed. It was wonderful to be able to see the animals/reptiles at the park just as it was opening, and the wine tastings were all enjoyable. Thank you, Paul!

Doing what: Hunter Valley Wineries and Wilderness Small-Group Tour

jimmyz

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2016

As expected, knowledgeable guide, great wine and scenery!!

Doing what: Hunter Valley Wineries and Wilderness Small-Group Tour

Janice J

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2016

We really enjoyed this tour. It was a great introduction to Australia after arriving the day before. Not too exhausting and we saw a couple of wild kangaroos at the wine vineyard.

Doing what: Hunter Valley Wineries and Wilderness Small-Group Tour

Frank

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2016

This was a very enjoyable tour through AATKings. After picking us up from our hotel we did a short tour of Sydney before heading out to Hunter Valley. The bus driver Tom was very informative as we made our way up to the wineries. He made the trip very entertaining with his comments and his wit. The first winery Hope gave us a tour of the operations as we tasted several wines. They also had a brewery with several kinds of beer to sample for a price. Interestingly, there was a stage on their property used for concerts with acts such as Rod Stewart, Bruce Springsteen and the Rolling Stones performing in the past. Kangaroos could be seen hoping on the property.
We had a very delicious lunch at the second winery where a couple of glasses of wine were served during lunch. Again, there was a brewery at this location and various kinds of beer could be purchased.
The third winery McGuigan gave us a sample of six to eight types of wine. The presentation was terrific and the wines were very good.
I would recommend this trip to anyone who enjoys a good time and a relaxing day visiting several wineries.

Doing what: Hunter Valley Wine Tasting Day Tour from Sydney

carolreeves48

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2016

This was a well organised tour and we were picked up by Don the owner of AEA tours.
Our accommodation at Lillyfells was very good. The Scenic railway is a must but very busy. Suggest going after 3pm or early morning to avoid the crowds, Hunter valley was interesting with a few stops at Wineries. Peppers Lodge was also very good. Look our for Kangaroos on the lawn early morning and evening.

Doing what: 3-Day Blue Mountains and Hunter Valley Small-Group Eco-Tour

Snow Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2016

Wonderful day out, with a very knowledgeable and fun driver thanks Jim! Tasted some wonderful wines and took some home too. Comfy ride, good company, fine wines and some tasty morsels all helped make the day.

Doing what: Small-Group Hunter Valley Wine and Cheese Tasting Tour from Sydney

Yau Hing Y

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2016

Steve, the guide, was great! The wines were interesting too because some of them are quite rare, eg chambourcin, and/or aren and #39;t sold outside the wineries. This is definitely one tour I and #39;ll consider signing up for again and again!

Doing what: Small-Group Hunter Valley Wine and Cheese Tasting Tour from Sydney

Diane S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

This tour was enjoyable and well worth the cost. Our tour guide was great, giving us a lot of information about the area, the wines were good and the wilderness park was fun.

Doing what: Hunter Valley Wineries and Wilderness Small-Group Tour

KEL50

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2015

Outstanding small group allowing to listen and ask questions along the way...Visited two wineries and had a fantastic lunch at a private resort.

Doing what: Hunter Valley Wineries and Wilderness Small-Group Tour

Kevin H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2015

Great trip with an amazing start in the Sydney Fish Market. The selected wineries and dishes matched very well. Jimmy was a consummate host with local tips to start our Sydney tour right.

Doing what: Chef-Led Hunter Valley Gourmet Food and Wine Day Trip from Sydney

Richard T

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2015

Great guide, lovely wines, great scenery.

Doing what: Hunter Valley Wine Tasting Day Tour from Sydney

HSIAO YI K

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2015

It's very good taste wine tour and lovely day.

Doing what: Small-Group Hunter Valley Wine and Cheese Tasting Tour from Sydney

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message