Sydney ATTRACTIONS See all

Hunter Valley

This fertile patch of paradise north of Sydney is one of Australia’s prime wine-growing and gourmet-food producing regions. Lushly carpeted with vineyards and dotted with historic country towns, it’s a popular tourist region attracting holidaying ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 57 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Cruiser Craig

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

What an enjoyable day tour from Sydney to a beautiful valley with an informative guide/driver, a tour of Hope Winery with ample wine tasting, a delicious lunch with rather mediocre wine pairings, a visit to McGuigans Winery with AMPLE tasting, some mediocre, some very good. Excellent opportunity to taste, rate, and learn about Australian wines. The stop at the end of the day at the boutique village of Hunter Valley Gardens with its overpriced souvenirs was thankfully short. We enjoyed briefly walking around but that stop could have been skipped. Nevertheless highly recommended tour!

Doing what: Hunter Valley Wine Tasting Day Tour from Sydney

Laurence M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

It was a great way to see the wine country and also the animals and reptiles.

Hunter Valley was superb and the group of 7 was just the right size. Not only did we learn about wine and wildlife but it was a great exposure to how beautiful that part of Australia was.

Our guide, Lindsay, was knowledgeable and courteous and paced the trip perfectly.

If you don't have much time, as we did, this tour is a great use of it.

Doing what: Hunter Valley Wineries and Wilderness Small-Group Tour

Melanie R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

The trip started with our lovely driver John, who was a great touring guide and new lots of stuff.
The food was great, really big lunch.
The wine tasting itself was interesting too because after more then 10 different wine, I knew what I like and what I didn't like.

I would say, if you want to see Hunter Valley, please don't be shy and book this tour.

Thank you John

Doing what: Hunter Valley Wine Tasting Day Tour from Sydney

Ewa C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

This was a great trip to the beautiful Hunter Valley! We received a lot of interesting information from "Mount View Estate" winery manager. I bought a soft fruity wine called "Cerisse" with cherry flavour in it. Most wineries were placed in a gorgeous scenery. Hope estate has astonishing view from the balcony where we had our delicious lunch. This is a great tour for a foodie! We visited a vodka distillery where we tried caramel vodka, chilli vodka and mango liquor. We also visited cheese factory where some unusual cheeses are made. I recommend buying blue cheese and pesto feta and some flavoured olive oils and papaya dressing from one of the wineries. You just can't get stuff like that in shops. This was a small group tour and our driver made a very pleasant atmosphere.

Doing what: Hunter Valley Wine Tour including Gourmet Lunch, Cheese, Chocolate, and Distillery Tastings

Lucy United Kingdom

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

We were the only two people on the tour so had a private tour.
The visit to the animal sanctuary was amazing. We were brought a baby alligator to touch and a koala - just for our tour. We were also given tea and cake.
On to the Hunter valley again we were the only two in the small winery. At Mount View we ate cheese and crackers and sampled some amazing wines. The girl even gave us wines not usually for tasting as there was only two of us. No pressure to buy. But we did and found it was very reasonably priced. 15 a bottle upwards.
The second tour was a larger winery which was also very quite we went in August on a weekday - Bimbagim. The guy behind the bar was funny and friendly. It did not feel awkward that there was only the two of us. He even took some photographs for us with the back drop of the Hunter Valley.
We then travelled for our lunch about 1pm feeling very full of wine. The place for lunch is also a brewery. The beers and ciders were good. We also got a large glass of red and white table wine on the table each.
The food was delicious.
I do have one thing that could have been improved. Our tour guide was very knowledgeable, friendly and very, very chatty the whole journey however it would have been nice if we could have eaten our lunch as a couple. As this was a bit awkward especially since he was sharing our food.

Doing what: Hunter Valley Wineries and Wilderness Small-Group Tour

Lixin Z

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

Excellent tripand the wine tasting in hunter valley.

Doing what: Small-Group Hunter Valley Wine and Cheese Tasting Tour from Sydney

John M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

What a great Tour. The Small Group size was perfect and our guide was personable, knowledgable, and informative on many subjects including the history of Hunter Valley Vineyards and Wines. He also provided wonderful scenic commentary during the 2 hour drive from Sydney to Hunter Valley which made the time fly by and well spent.

Doing what: Small-Group Hunter Valley Wine and Cheese Tasting Tour from Sydney

Joseph C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

Boom!
This tour is for anyone who would like information on wine grown in Hunter Valley. I had never been to a wine tasting. Our host was amazingly knowledgable and polite. He drove us to a winery where we learned so much about wine! The animals and the wine and the food were absolutely perfect!

Doing what: Hunter Valley Wineries and Wilderness Small-Group Tour

richvin

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

A long but wonderful day. The 3 vineyards/wineries we visited were all very different and the wine also very different despite the close proximity to each other. Learnt a lot on this trip not only about the Hunter Valley and its wines but also the wine industry in Australia.

Doing what: Hunter Valley Wine Tasting Day Tour from Sydney

LauraB

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

This was a fun trip with a great guide who eagerly shared the history of Sydney and the Hunter Valley development with us. Great selection of different places to visit with time for a bit of shopping thrown in. We did this the day after we arrived so it was helpful to adjust to time change and kept us moving after a long flight from Canada.

Doing what: Small-Group Hunter Valley Wine and Cheese Tasting Tour from Sydney

William M USA

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2015

It was a great day and we fully enjoyed the trip to Hunter Valley.

Doing what: Hunter Valley Wine Tasting Day Tour from Sydney

Iain B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

The all day tour was as described on the webpage and it was excellent. Our tour guide, Adam really made our day. He was knowledgeable, friendly stayed with us throughout the day although he did not join us for all the wine tastings we had. Our tour bus held about 26 people so we never had a problem getting off or on the coach and everyone got back on time.
We had 4 tastings and presentations plus lunch. At the McGuigan's Winery we had samples from 11 bottles but fortunately each sample was small.
All in all a cracking day out in the Hunter Valley.

Doing what: Hunter Valley Wine Tasting Day Tour from Sydney

Jessica T

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

If you like food and wine then this is a great tour for you! Although I didn't find a lot of wines that I absolutely loved, the experience was amazing. It was really well paced and the food was delicious!! Hunter valley is a beautiful place!

Doing what: Hunter Valley Wineries and Wilderness Small-Group Tour

Siong Min L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

What a view of Sydney and the Hunter Valley Region. We will be back.

Doing what: Hunter Valley Luncheon Tour by Helicopter

Grace F

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

the hunter valley tour we were on was excellent and really value for money. the guide and driver, Paul was a chatty chap and had a great knowledge of the city's history and geographical features. highly recommended!

Doing what: Hunter Valley Wine Tasting Day Tour from Sydney

Marsha W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

We had a small group (about a dozen people) so we fit nicely into a mini-van. Our driver pointed out interesting sites and landmarks on the drive to and from the Hunter Valley and on the way back we even saw a 'mob' of kangaroos out in a field. The wineries themselves were excellent; my husband and I both enjoyed the wonderful variety of reds and whites, especially the shiraz and shiraz blends. Lunch was fine and included a glass of red and white with the meal. Very enjoyable trip and no complaints at all.

Doing what: Hunter Valley Wine Tasting Day Tour from Sydney

Sylvia B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

This was a wonderful day in the Hunter Valley and worth the price of the tour. I highly recommend it. It included hotel pick up and drop off which makes transport easy. We went to 5 different vineyards throughout the day tasting wines. The third stop is where we ate lunch. The food was yummy and I gobbled it all down. They pour you about 4 sips of wine but you taste about 10 different types of wine so by lunch I was really enjoying myself and the food did absorb the alcohol. It was a fun day.One of the places had a cheese shop so I got some cheese and water crackers and brought them to the hotel with me to have a snack through the rest of my stay in Sydney. I wish I had gotten more cheese so that I would have had some to take with me on the plane for the long trip home.

Doing what: Hunter Valley Wine Tasting Day Tour from Sydney

Denise C United Kingdom

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

I have highly recommended the tour, because once we actually did it, it was an amazing tour of the Hunter Valley and 3 of its boutique wineries, and the free lunch venue offered the opportunity of a little bit of shopping in small bespoke outlets. I would however, also recommend that the pick up details are made very clear to the company as we were left behind on our first attempt at this trip as they had us down as being picked up from another hotel. We did manage to reschedule our itinerary to fit in the trip a week later.

Doing what: Small-Group Hunter Valley Wine and Cheese Tasting Tour from Sydney

Sabrina M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2014

I really loved Hunter Valley Wine Tour. We had beautiful weather; I adored the boutique wineries we visited, each stop was very different and educational. Also Mark our driver was fantastic. He was knowledgeable and friendly, which made the entire tour that much more enjoyable!

Doing what: Small-Group Hunter Valley Wine and Cheese Tasting Tour from Sydney

Carol P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2014

Really enjoyed this small group trip to Hunter valley. Our guide Scott was very knowledgable and because we visited smaller wineries it was much more personal . The animal park on the way was good because we got to go in before it officially opened. The only down side was the weather as it poured with rain but luckily not until after the animal park

Doing what: Hunter Valley Wineries and Wilderness Small-Group Tour

R. A. D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2014

We rate this experience very highly. Seeing Sydney from the air is a great way to get orientated.
Hunter Valley and restaurant were fantastic.
We were picked up early and easily. Staff along the way were very friendly and others we met were hilarious.
I would do this again and recommend this to others.

Doing what: Hunter Valley Luncheon Tour by Helicopter

Wendy L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2013

Excellent tour! 11 hours in total but well worth it. So much wine to sample and so much information given with each taste. Each winery was better than the last! Our bus driver was great, gave great information on the way to the Hunter Valley and toned it down when we were all so tired on the way back.

Doing what: Hunter Valley Wine Tasting Day Tour from Sydney

Cat USA

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2013

Fantastic tour and great day out! Our guide was fun and full of knowledge about the places we visited, and every part of the tour was just wonderful. You are driven around in a really nice van with free wifi and water. The first stop, at the Reptile Park is misnamed as you get so much more than just reptiles - you can meet and pet a koala, hand-feed kangaroos, pet a snake and the best part - you get there before the park even opens to the general public and other tour groups! And it only gets better during the second part of the tour. Lots of great wine tastings at the some of the smaller, more intimate wineries in Hunter Valley with your small group, so it doesn't feel rushed or like you aren't learning anything about the wines. I highly recommend this tour if you want a nice day out wine tasting without the big groups of people, and little hint of luxury.

Doing what: Hunter Valley Wineries and Wilderness Small-Group Tour

Kym G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2013

A fantastic tour to the Hunter Valley. The wineries were fabulous and the lunch was very good. The beer tasting, at an extra $15 was also great. The bus ride is quite a long one though. Highly recommended.

Doing what: Hunter Valley Wine Tasting Day Tour from Sydney

Alexandra G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2013

What a wonderful, wonderful tour!
Our tour guide Mark was lovely, funny and knowledgeable in one. He took us to three excellent wineries (each one was so different and yet I found something I loved in each one). We also quickly visited a cheese factory and had lunch at the Hunter Valley Gardens. :)

Doing what: Small-Group Hunter Valley Wine and Cheese Tasting Tour from Sydney

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message