This fertile patch of paradise north of Sydney is one of Australia’s prime wine-growing and gourmet-food producing regions. Lushly carpeted with vineyards and dotted with historic country towns, it’s a popular tourist region attracting holidaying ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 41 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

What a view of Sydney and the Hunter Valley Region. We will be back.

Doing what: Hunter Valley Luncheon Tour by Helicopter

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

the hunter valley tour we were on was excellent and really value for money. the guide and driver, Paul was a chatty chap and had a great knowledge of the city's history and geographical features. highly recommended!

Doing what: Hunter Valley Wine Tasting Day Tour from Sydney

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

We had a small group (about a dozen people) so we fit nicely into a mini-van. Our driver pointed out interesting sites and landmarks on the drive to and from the Hunter Valley and on the way back we even saw a 'mob' of kangaroos out in a field. The wineries themselves were excellent; my husband and I both enjoyed the wonderful variety of reds and whites, especially the shiraz and shiraz blends. Lunch was fine and included a glass of red and white with the meal. Very enjoyable trip and no complaints at all.

Doing what: Hunter Valley Wine Tasting Day Tour from Sydney

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

This was a wonderful day in the Hunter Valley and worth the price of the tour. I highly recommend it. It included hotel pick up and drop off which makes transport easy. We went to 5 different vineyards throughout the day tasting wines. The third stop is where we ate lunch. The food was yummy and I gobbled it all down. They pour you about 4 sips of wine but you taste about 10 different types of wine so by lunch I was really enjoying myself and the food did absorb the alcohol. It was a fun day.One of the places had a cheese shop so I got some cheese and water crackers and brought them to the hotel with me to have a snack through the rest of my stay in Sydney. I wish I had gotten more cheese so that I would have had some to take with me on the plane for the long trip home.

Doing what: Hunter Valley Wine Tasting Day Tour from Sydney

Denise C
United Kingdom

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

I have highly recommended the tour, because once we actually did it, it was an amazing tour of the Hunter Valley and 3 of its boutique wineries, and the free lunch venue offered the opportunity of a little bit of shopping in small bespoke outlets. I would however, also recommend that the pick up details are made very clear to the company as we were left behind on our first attempt at this trip as they had us down as being picked up from another hotel. We did manage to reschedule our itinerary to fit in the trip a week later.

Doing what: Small-Group Hunter Valley Wine and Cheese Tasting Tour from Sydney

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2014

I really loved Hunter Valley Wine Tour. We had beautiful weather; I adored the boutique wineries we visited, each stop was very different and educational. Also Mark our driver was fantastic. He was knowledgeable and friendly, which made the entire tour that much more enjoyable!

Doing what: Small-Group Hunter Valley Wine and Cheese Tasting Tour from Sydney

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2014

Really enjoyed this small group trip to Hunter valley. Our guide Scott was very knowledgable and because we visited smaller wineries it was much more personal . The animal park on the way was good because we got to go in before it officially opened. The only down side was the weather as it poured with rain but luckily not until after the animal park

Doing what: Hunter Valley Wineries and Wilderness Small-Group Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2014

We rate this experience very highly. Seeing Sydney from the air is a great way to get orientated.
Hunter Valley and restaurant were fantastic.
We were picked up early and easily. Staff along the way were very friendly and others we met were hilarious.
I would do this again and recommend this to others.

Doing what: Hunter Valley Luncheon Tour by Helicopter

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2013

Excellent tour! 11 hours in total but well worth it. So much wine to sample and so much information given with each taste. Each winery was better than the last! Our bus driver was great, gave great information on the way to the Hunter Valley and toned it down when we were all so tired on the way back.

Doing what: Hunter Valley Wine Tasting Day Tour from Sydney

Cat
USA

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2013

Fantastic tour and great day out! Our guide was fun and full of knowledge about the places we visited, and every part of the tour was just wonderful. You are driven around in a really nice van with free wifi and water. The first stop, at the Reptile Park is misnamed as you get so much more than just reptiles - you can meet and pet a koala, hand-feed kangaroos, pet a snake and the best part - you get there before the park even opens to the general public and other tour groups! And it only gets better during the second part of the tour. Lots of great wine tastings at the some of the smaller, more intimate wineries in Hunter Valley with your small group, so it doesn't feel rushed or like you aren't learning anything about the wines. I highly recommend this tour if you want a nice day out wine tasting without the big groups of people, and little hint of luxury.

Doing what: Hunter Valley Wineries and Wilderness Small-Group Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2013

A fantastic tour to the Hunter Valley. The wineries were fabulous and the lunch was very good. The beer tasting, at an extra $15 was also great. The bus ride is quite a long one though. Highly recommended.

Doing what: Hunter Valley Wine Tasting Day Tour from Sydney

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2013

What a wonderful, wonderful tour!
Our tour guide Mark was lovely, funny and knowledgeable in one. He took us to three excellent wineries (each one was so different and yet I found something I loved in each one). We also quickly visited a cheese factory and had lunch at the Hunter Valley Gardens. :)

Doing what: Small-Group Hunter Valley Wine and Cheese Tasting Tour from Sydney

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2013

really enjoyed the day.the bus driver was so friendly and really knew his stuff about the hunter valley.a great way to learn about the region for first timers to the valley.the lunch was also delicious plenty of food for everyone and there is an option of beer tasting at lunch time for an extra 15 dollars which i would recommend.it was so hot the day we went so bring plenty of water when your having sips of wine during the day in the summer as its easy to get dehydrated.it does take a while to get to the hunter valley from sydney but its worth the travel.the two main wineries we visited were lindemans and mcguigans and stopped for lunch in bewteen.enjoyed the wine tasting they keep it simple and dont over complicate it.

Doing what: Hunter Valley Wine Tasting Day Tour from Sydney

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2011

This was a wonderful tour that helped acquaint me with the wines of Hunter Valley. The tour guide/van driver picked me up at the appointed time at my hotel and was a knowledgeable and entertaining guide for the entire 9 hour trip to several wineries, wild animal park and a delightful lunch.

Doing what: Hunter Valley Wineries and Wilderness Small-Group Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2010

If you like big bold red wines, the Hunter Valley is it! I try to get up to the Hunter Valley once or twice a year (to stock up the wine cellar!). There are so many wineries in the Hunter Valley, it is hard to know where to start... My personal favourite is Saddlers Creek Wines, on Marrowbone Rd - I'm such a fan, I've been a member of their wine club for about the last 9 years.

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message