Insider's Guide to Sydney

Major attractions, tips and our top things to see and do.

Get the
Inside Scoop

Privacy Policy

Call (888) 651-9785

Sydney ATTRACTIONS See all

Sydney Harbour Bridge Pylon Lookout

In addition to the Bridge Climb, there is a cheap alternative to get the famous view from the top of town on the Sydney Harbour Bridge–the Pylon Lookout. The bridge walkway leads to the South East Pylon and to the entrance of the lookout, from ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 9 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Angelika S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2016

Die Vorbereitung und Durchführung war seht gut organisiert und professionell. Der Blick ist fantastisch, man vergißt sogar Regen. Dazu bekommt man eine Kappe , ein Foto, ein Video weitere gegen Bezahlung und freinen Eintritt in den Pylon Lookout und Museum.

Doing what: Sydney BridgeClimb

CliffCheryl United States of ... 

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2016

The chance of a lifetime. The guide made us feel very comfortable and at ease. They provide all the equipment and coveralls as well as rain gear if needed. We felt very secure. The difficulty was less than we expected and we had a wonderful time. They stop at several points and take individual pictures as well as a group photo and even a 10 sec video. The group photo and video are free and you can get up to 10 of the other photos on a USB drive for 60 price may change. The views are spectacular and you also get a free ticket to go up the viewing tower that is located in the support pylon.

Doing what: Sydney BridgeClimb

G United Kingdom

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2015

Arrived slightly earlier which meant an earlier tour could be joined. Good instruction, health and safety issues covered very professionally, and friendly guides. The climb including all aspects lasted over 3 hours and was great fun and exhilarating. A great oportunity. The free ticket into the pylon was a bonus.

Doing what: Sydney BridgeClimb

Barb R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2014

This is one fabulous experience that everyone should do.....if you can't climb the bridge due to physical reasons, but other family members can, you can go up the pylon and watch them from there. Fabulous views and wonderful people to take care of you.

Doing what: Sydney BridgeClimb

MarkKen

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2013

MUST DO WHILE IN SYDNEY!! Well worth every cent!! Bret was our tour guide and I must say he was THE BEST!! The person I went and did this with is extremely scared of heights. Bret did all he could do to make sure he calmed his nerves to make sure he had a good time. TWO THUMBS UP TO BRET!!

As far as the price, I thought it was reasonable. It included the use of all equipment. One photo of the group while on top of the bridge. The baseball cap they give you to wear plus any additional hats you want to take home. And, free admission to the Pylon Towers.

As far as the climb itself, there are two parts that are scary. The first and last leg to get up to the actual bridge. The stairs were like at a 90 degree angle. That's quite a steep climb! I'm not scared of heights, but man, there were times I got scared!! Once on the bridge, it wasn't bad at all. Incline was small with railings to protect you. The views of the city were amazing!! Even though I did the 3 o'clock tour, I could only imagine what it would have looked like taking the twlight or night tour!! Once you're on top of the bridge, take advantage of the 8 second video clip they offer to take of you!! IT'S FREE AT THE END. They give you link to have it sent to your e-mail address. As mentioned before, they give you a free small photo of the group with a cardboard frame. Purchasing additional photos are quite costly. I think it was like $75 for three photos. So, take advantage of that video clip!!!

HIGHLY RECOMMENDED TO DO AT LEAST ONCE IN YOUR LIFE!!!

Doing what: Sydney BridgeClimb

Hollie C

4 star rating: Recommended
April 2016

We did the walk at 11.55am at the start of April 2015. The weather was mild. You can not take anything up except glasses but are provided with hats, hankies, fleeces etc.

You need to climb a section of ladders to get on to the bridge but once you are up there it is a very mild incline with is walked at a very slow speed with stopping so plenty of time to enjoy the view. We have done the climb over the O2 in London and the equipment is much better at the Bridge Climb. In hindsight I wished we had done the sunset climb as climb was no where near as strenuous as I thought i.e. like the O2 so there would have been plenty of time to watch the sunset.

You get one group picture included in the cost but as it has strangers on it, it is not really of use to us. The rest of the pictures have to be purchased for an extra cost, which I think is unfair when you pay so much but hey ho!

If you want the views but not the cost of the bridge climb then go up the pylon instead. You get a free ticket included in the bridge climb but from memory I think it was about 20to go up. You do have to walk up a lot of steps to get to the top but once there you have a fab view and can take pictures unlike on the bridge climb.

Doing what: Sydney BridgeClimb

Gary

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2012

Great views of the city. Very professionally handled with safety a priority. Bit expensive if you arent from Aussie, Europe or USA. Included in the fare is a free entry voucher to the south pylon, where you can take great pictures.

Doing what: Sydney BridgeClimb

Andria Y

3 star rating: Worth doing
February 2016

Well organized great views and super informative. The only thing is it may cost a tiny bit more than it's worth. But you do get a hat and free entry to pylon.

Doing what: Sydney BridgeClimb

Cathryn C

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
June 2014

This tour is exactly as billed. It is a total experience as they drag it out for 3 hours suiting you up, and practicing, etc. But if you have ever done anything related to climbing this is not much for exciting. You stand up there for a long time, great views but you can't take photos. For the cost, I'd say skip this and pay $13 dollars to go up the Pylon. It is not quite as high but still great views and you can take photos. You'd only need an hour to do this and you'd save a lot of money. If you are looking for a very expensive amusement park like experience do the Bridge Climb...otherwise visit the viewing area at the Pylon.

Doing what: Sydney BridgeClimb

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message