Sydney ATTRACTIONS See all

Sydney Harbour Bridge Pylon Lookout

In addition to the Bridge Climb, there is a cheap alternative to get the famous view from the top of town on the Sydney Harbour Bridge–the Pylon Lookout. The bridge walkway leads to the South East Pylon and to the entrance of the lookout, from ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 9 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2014

This is one fabulous experience that everyone should do.....if you can't climb the bridge due to physical reasons, but other family members can, you can go up the pylon and watch them from there. Fabulous views and wonderful people to take care of you.

Doing what: Sydney BridgeClimb

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2013

MUST DO WHILE IN SYDNEY!! Well worth every cent!! Bret was our tour guide and I must say he was THE BEST!! The person I went and did this with is extremely scared of heights. Bret did all he could do to make sure he calmed his nerves to make sure he had a good time. TWO THUMBS UP TO BRET!!

As far as the price, I thought it was reasonable. It included the use of all equipment. One photo of the group while on top of the bridge. The baseball cap they give you to wear plus any additional hats you want to take home. And, free admission to the Pylon Towers.

As far as the climb itself, there are two parts that are scary. The first and last leg to get up to the actual bridge. The stairs were like at a 90 degree angle. That's quite a steep climb! I'm not scared of heights, but man, there were times I got scared!! Once on the bridge, it wasn't bad at all. Incline was small with railings to protect you. The views of the city were amazing!! Even though I did the 3 o'clock tour, I could only imagine what it would have looked like taking the twlight or night tour!! Once you're on top of the bridge, take advantage of the 8 second video clip they offer to take of you!! IT'S FREE AT THE END. They give you link to have it sent to your e-mail address. As mentioned before, they give you a free small photo of the group with a cardboard frame. Purchasing additional photos are quite costly. I think it was like $75 for three photos. So, take advantage of that video clip!!!

HIGHLY RECOMMENDED TO DO AT LEAST ONCE IN YOUR LIFE!!!

Doing what: Sydney BridgeClimb

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2012

The card is very much worth it. We didn't do all of the things we wanted to and we still saved money. We bought the 3 day pass. The problem was that some of the tours are half day tours, so it takes away much of your time. Do the bus tour of the city, Bondi etc.. I'm not a bus tour guy, but they give you a good idea of the city. Also the bus driver let us off at the Sydney Eye, so it saved time. The jet boat was wet and a lot of fun but nothing like the one in Queenstown NZ. The Opera House Tour is a must. The travel option is a toss up. It looked convenient but I don't know if it saved money. The bridge pylon seemed to give every bit as good a view as the bridge climb but $200 less.

Doing what: Sydney Attraction Pass Including Taronga Zoo, Sydney Opera House, SEA LIFE Sydney Aquarium

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2010

We bought the 7 day Sydney card with transportation for myself, my husband and our 22 month child. We recommend doing it as it is a great way to get your moneys worth! Here is what we did in 7 days: Day 1) Picked up card in Darling Harbour, walked around there and went to the Wildlife World, then took the afternoon bus tour and rode the ferry back from Manly beach. We also went up in the tower. Day 2) Opera House Tour in Circular Quay, Jet Boat tour only one of us since one had to stay with the child, and Sydney Museum. We also walked around the Rocks Day 3) Zoo, and the Jet Boat tour Day 4), Blue Mountains, Explorer Bus and Scenic World, then when we got back we did the Aquarium. Day 5) Paddy's Markets, Powerhouse Museum, Hyde Barracks Museum and National Maritime Museum as well as the Queen Victoria Building Day 6) Susannah Place Museum, Harbor Bridge Pylon Lookout Day 7) Royal Gardens Park, New South Wales Art Gallery. It was a busy time and we were still able to meet friends for lunch and dinner and hang out in the parks and enjoy.

Doing what: Sydney Attraction Pass Including Taronga Zoo, Sydney Opera House, SEA LIFE Sydney Aquarium

Anonymous

Anonymous

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2010

Well worth the purchase! We easily utilized this card well past what the card was worth. Many tours/entry tickets if purchased individually are 25-30 each. If you plan your itinerary correctly you will easily gain from this card. We did an opera house tour, The Rocks Tour, Pylon Bridge Lookout, Wildlife Park visit, Aquarium visit, and cruise. The Aquarium and Sky tower open until around 10 pm so if you are planning your trip do these last on your day pass. Everything else closes at 5 pm or needs to be done during the day.

Doing what: Sydney Attraction Pass Including Taronga Zoo, Sydney Opera House, SEA LIFE Sydney Aquarium

John R
United Kingdom

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2009

This is well worth doing and incredible value for money! We did a tour of the Opera House, Luna Park, Harbour Bridge Pylon, Sydney Tower, Taronga Zoo and Oceanworld amongst others and it saved us so much money. This card is highly recommended!!!!

Doing what: Sydney Attraction Pass Including Taronga Zoo, Sydney Opera House, SEA LIFE Sydney Aquarium

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2012

Great views of the city. Very professionally handled with safety a priority. Bit expensive if you arent from Aussie, Europe or USA. Included in the fare is a free entry voucher to the south pylon, where you can take great pictures.

Doing what: Sydney BridgeClimb

Priya S
Australia

4 star rating: Recommended
May 2010

We took the 1 day smartvisit card without transport. it was a really really good buy & we saved so much with tis fabulous card. we managed to do "the rocks walking tour", pylon lookout, sydney opera house tour & oz jetboating in the morningafternoon. We got ourselves by bus to darling habour by 4.30pm and did the sydney wildlife & sydney aquarium. the day was a bit of a rush but it was all worth with this heavily "subsidised" card! later, we had dinner & went to sydney tower too! please note that the last oztrek show is at 9pm.All in all, i will definitely recommend tis card to anyone,,,,,

Doing what: Sydney Attraction Pass Including Taronga Zoo, Sydney Opera House, SEA LIFE Sydney Aquarium

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
June 2014

This tour is exactly as billed. It is a total experience as they drag it out for 3 hours suiting you up, and practicing, etc. But if you have ever done anything related to climbing this is not much for exciting. You stand up there for a long time, great views but you can't take photos. For the cost, I'd say skip this and pay $13 dollars to go up the Pylon. It is not quite as high but still great views and you can take photos. You'd only need an hour to do this and you'd save a lot of money. If you are looking for a very expensive amusement park like experience do the Bridge Climb...otherwise visit the viewing area at the Pylon.

Doing what: Sydney BridgeClimb

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message