Sydney ATTRACTIONS See all

Sydney Opera House

The Sydney Opera House is Australia's pre-eminent cultural center. Famous for its cutting-edge architecture, the building's series of white-tiled sails jut into the harbor at Bennelong Point, perched on a platform of pink granite. The iconic ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 287 Reviews Add your review

Certiļ¬ed reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

Very very good tour, and Nick was awesome (our tour guide). Really nice to get a history of the opera house, and even though we didn't get to watch a rehearsal, at least we got lots of trivia and explanations about the things we saw. One of the best expenses we had during our stay in Sydney.

Doing what: Sydney Opera House Guided Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

Interesting tour, knowledgeable guide. Great to see the Opera House from a different perspective and to learn about the back story of its construction and development.

Doing what: Sydney Opera House Guided Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

Going at 9 AM Sunday morning is the way to go. We shared the tour with one other couple and our guide was very knowledgeable and fun. We learned a lot and enjoyed every bit of the tour. My wife even got to sing briefly on the opera stage!

Doing what: Sydney Opera House Guided Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

This is a very early morning tour starting at 7:00 am so keep that in mind when booking. My husband and I took this tour along with about 10 others. We had a great guide and learned so much about the history and most importantly about Jorn Utzun, the Danish Artchitect who was the winner of the international competition to build a national opera house at Bennelong Point, Sydney in 1957 and how it went for him. We were surprised by the story. The opera house is really special and I had no idea it was a multi venue showing art center. There are 5 stages that you will visit and each one was designed for a specific venue. We learned that the tiles on the outside were made in Sweden and are self washing. We did not get into the area where the props were as there was some work welding going on and it was a safety issue. We did get to visit the green room. I can't remember why, but we were treated to our breakfast on the outside patios overlooking the Sydney Harbor Bridge. It doesn't get much better than that. Take the tour and have a great time. We did.

Doing what: Sydney Opera House Guided Backstage Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

Outstanding, Well worth the money. There were only 6 in our tour, so it was a very intimate group. Our guide made the Opera House come alive.

Doing what: Sydney Opera House Guided Backstage Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

A very informative tour of the Opera House. It was so interesting with a very friendly guide. The taster we ordered was a wonderful culinary experience. We recommend this tour

Doing what: Sydney Opera House Guided Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

this was great-the tour guide was very knowledgable and the opera was great. the dinner was fancy-

Doing what: Sydney Opera House and Opera Australia Dinner Package

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

Our guide was excellent. Learnt so much about the Opera House. Wel worth doing.

Doing what: Sydney Opera House Guided Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

Very Worthwhile to see the inside foyers and music halls and listen to a good presentation about the Opera House.

Doing what: Sydney Opera House Guided Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

Great tour! I learned a lot about the architect and building of the Opera House.

Doing what: Sydney Opera House Guided Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

Finding out where to pick up the various passes was a challenge, but we got it done. Everything we did was exceptional. The Sydney Opera House tour was captivating we had great guide, and compared with others' experiences we did very, very well. The Taronga Zoo is definitely worth more time than we had -- you should have at least 2 hours and 4 would be better. The hop-on-hop-off ferry was informative and cooling on a warm day.

Doing what: Sydney Attraction Pass Including Taronga Zoo, Sydney Opera House, SEA LIFE Sydney Aquarium

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

Madam Butterfly was beautifully done. For all the hoopla the Opera House seating is uncomfortable.

Doing what: Opera Performance at the Sydney Opera House

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

The best tour ever! Steve was an amazing tour guide. Everything I would expect from a Viator Tour. Informative, fun and just a delightful experience. I have been to Sydney 3 times and this was the first time I decided to do this tour because my 13 year old daughter was with me and had a report due on the Sydney Opera House. The history came alive with the stories you won't find in any books and to be there and experience standing on stage....absolutely a priceless memory.

Doing what: Sydney Opera House Guided Backstage Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

Excellent tour guide. The Opera House was amazing and well worth the visit.

Doing what: Sydney Opera House Guided Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

Beautiful sound/orchestra and singers in great balance. Lovely venue. Lovely opera.
Couldn't be better!

Doing what: Opera Performance at the Sydney Opera House

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

Was really good, the tour was interesting and the dinner was delicious. The opera wasn't my thing but definantly worth the money

Doing what: Sydney Opera House and Opera Australia Dinner Package

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

A wonderful tour, we were fortunate in thatwe were able to experience part of a symphony rehearsal. We learned how the building were constructed and the historical significance of the Opera house.

Doing what: Sydney Opera House Guided Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

Outstanding walking tour of the Opera House. Couldnt have been more pleased with this hour long tour with a guide. Highly recommend this if you are interested in this iconic building and it history from conception to completion.

Doing what: Sydney Opera House Guided Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

Excellent guide and we recommend this tour to anyone rather an opera fan or not. It is the interior architecture and building of this iconic structure that is so informative. We have already recommended
this tour to several people on our vacation. Sorry I can't remember our guide's name but he was so interesting and quite theatrical in his presentation. Worth every penny spent on this tour.

Doing what: Sydney Opera House Guided Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

The tour of both the Opera House and the Concert Hall was interesting and given by a very good guide. The dinner at the Aria Restaurant was very well prepared and the service was excellent. The Ballet was wonderful - the house was sold out and the costumes and dances were magnificent. It was well worth the time and cost.

Doing what: Sydney Opera House and Australian Ballet Dinner Package

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

Great tour and easy to join a tour right after we arrived Sydney and walked to opera house. Great picture view of the bridge and climbers too!

Doing what: Sydney Opera House Guided Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

This was an amazing experience from start to finish! The tour guide was very knowledgable about the opera house complex and patiently answered all questions. She personally walked me to the Aria Restaurant where I experienced a fabulous meal. The opera was fantastic.

Doing what: Sydney Opera House and Opera Australia Dinner Package

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

Great tour. Our tour guide was very knowledgeable and excited about being able to show us the Opera House. The breakfast was great - a few options to choose from, and everybody in our group enjoyed their selections. The guide gave suggestions for activities, shows to see, and restaurants based on what we wanted to do in Sydney. It was cool to see the Opera House behind the scenes - something not a lot of people get to do!

Doing what: Sydney Opera House Guided Backstage Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

Well worth the cost. We used it for the Opera House tour, Taronga Zoo, Hop On/Off harbor cruise, barracks museum and National Maritime Museum, all top attractions.

Doing what: Sydney Attraction Pass Including Taronga Zoo, Sydney Opera House, SEA LIFE Sydney Aquarium

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

Our guide was great. We learned a lot about the various props, stages, and some info about the Opera stars.
The breakfast was good as well.

Doing what: Sydney Opera House Guided Backstage Tour

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message