Sydney ATTRACTIONS See all

Sydney Opera House

The Sydney Opera House is Australia's pre-eminent cultural center. Famous for its cutting-edge architecture, the building's series of white-tiled sails jut into the harbor at Bennelong Point, perched on a platform of pink granite. The iconic ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 200 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2014

Amanda our local guide from opera house was amazing. The tour was informative and Amanda has great sense of humor.. Was really a delightful guided tour with her.5 pm tour is one of the best timing.highly recommended

Doing what: Sydney Opera House Guided Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2014

This was everything I had hoped for and much, much more. As a person who enjoys theater and is fascinated with the Sydney Opera House in general, I was thrilled with the access that we had. Our Tour Guide was extremely knowledgeable and friendly. Even the breakfast in the Green Room was delicious. Definitely do this!

Doing what: Sydney Opera House Guided Backstage Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

While in Sydney in September 2014, I chose to take this tour a week earlier than booked through Viator. The group ticket office at the Opera House had no problem changing the date.

You're not told about the number of stairs until you're on the tour. However, you are given the option of getting a refund. I stayed on the tour with the guide, Amanda after discussing an alternate option.

The pride that Amanda shows in the facility is obvious, and the tour is worth taking. First you're shown a short film about the construction of the Opera House then after seeing a playhouse for Shakespeare productions and the concert hall, you see another film about the architect before the tour ends.

There are no pictures allowed inside the playhouse or the concert hall. That's a shame, because the inlaid wood and walls are a big WOW! factor.

Doing what: Sydney Opera House Guided Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

Very informative tour. Excellent tour guide who was prompt and very friendly. She was knowledgable and all questions were answered. Great way to see the opera house and exclusive VIP access areas!

Doing what: Sydney Opera House Guided Backstage Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

This tour is a great way to see inside the Sydney Opera House rooms. You will hear all about the history of the "house" and funny and entertaining little stories about past events. It's worth the time and money!

Doing what: Sydney Opera House Guided Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

The guide was very informative and passionate about the Sydney Opera House, so much so it was infectious. We chose the time for the tour during the lunch time so the numbers were only 7, yet the earlier tour had 40 people. So, timing is critical if you want a more personalised service.
To meet at the proper tour gathering site was a bit of a challenge ... It wasn't clear so give yourself a bit of time.
Overall, most enjoyable!

Doing what: Sydney Opera House Guided Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

fantastic guide, educational, visual insight was fabulous. we felt like we are in europe amongst 20 something europian tourists. make sure you go when the weather is nice. it was 20 degrees when we went and view from inside out is like you are looking at a postcard. our guide spoke in english but she knew german and mandarin. she always stopped to ask if we had any questions and was very polite. one hour is enough to go around and get informed about opera house and its backstage and how the stages are moved according to specific opera requirements.

Doing what: Sydney Opera House Guided Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

It was the first time that I have ever seen an Opera performances and I am so glad that it was at the Sydney Opera House. I do not think that it can get any better.

Doing what: Opera Performance at the Sydney Opera House

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

On the day in which the tour has been booked, you must go to the Opera House to confirm the NEXT available time/ opening in which you can do the tour. I waited 30 minutes which was okay due to the fact there are several restuarants located directly outside the Opera House in which you can grab lunch or have a drink while you wait. The tour was excellent. I always thought the Opera House was comprised of 1 big Room in which I was amazed to see there are numerous rooms in the Opera House in which each are designed differently based on the intended production within that room - Opera Productions, Plays, Ballet Productions, Seminars, etc. in which you get to visit. You leave this tour with an understanding of the history in building/ design of the Opera House, the costs/ overruns to build this magnificent structure, and how this structure includes, not only Opera, but productions in which they involve/ try to better the community overrall. I enjoyed this Tour very much!

Doing what: Sydney Opera House Guided Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

It was one of the best tours we experienced in Sydney!! Frank, our guide, truly enjoyed showing us the inside of the opera house, and we were even able to observe/listen to a rehearsal session. The tour, due to last one hour, actually went to ninety minutes. We really received a keen insight into the design, and use of the landmark for Sydney Harbor!! Great value and a wonderful opportunity.

Doing what: Sydney Opera House Guided Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2014

I would just like to say that the 'Sydney Opera House Guided Walking Tour' was extremely interesting and the young lady guide was so enthusiastic and so bubbly she was a pleasure to listen to.

I will defiantly recommend this tour.

Doing what: Sydney Opera House Guided Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2014

Just spend the money and do this instead of walking around outside of the Opera House. What a treat getting to see all the different performance rooms. If you are lucky you may see a rehearsal.

Doing what: Sydney Opera House Guided Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2014

This tour was fantastic!! The Sydney Opera House is beautiful!! Our guide was very informative. My husband and I enjoyed this tour very much.

Doing what: Sydney Opera House Guided Walking Tour

JTM
United Kingdom

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2014

the tour guide was very informative and the Opera house spectacular

Doing what: Sydney Opera House Guided Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2014

Fantastic tour with a very knowledgeable guide, provided a real insight into the history and architecture of the opera house, a chance to see behind the scenes, with great views of the Harbour Bridge.

Doing what: Sydney Opera House Guided Walking Tour

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message