Taronga Zoo's inhabitants have habitats with views overlooking Sydney Harbour, with especially prized panoramas being nabbed by the giraffes. The zoo's lively program of events includes sleepovers, daily presentations, animal encounters, and ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 75 Reviews Add your review

Certiļ¬ed reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

Good value way to explore Sydney and Darling Harbour with frequent ferries available. Taronga Zoo was a full day visit. We were impressed by the number of animals and the well appointed and spacious enclosures. The combined ticket means you can arrive by ferry and step almost straight on to the cable car which is a fun way to reach the entrance.

Doing what: 3-Day Sydney Harbour Hop-On Hop-Off Cruise Pass Including Taronga Zoo Entry

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

This is a really good trip and a good way of seeing the harbour during the day. Taronga Zoo is amazing, the seal and bird shows brilliant and of course the location and scenery breathtaking

Doing what: Sydney Harbour Cruise with Taronga Zoo Entry Ticket

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

the cruise was scenic and relaxing, with the lovely crew lady giving us the tour as we passed by landmarks. i'd advise getting to taronga zoo earlier than we did we caught the 1.30pm boat and reached taronga at 2pm. 2 to 5pm is NOT ENOUGH time to walk around the zoo without rushing! the zoo is huuuugggee! sadly the sky gondola was out of order and we had to take the bus up to the top and walk our way down which is easier than viewing the zoo by climbing upwards.

the ride back from the zoo, we took the stop at darling harbour which was great as we could do more stuff from there rather than returning to where we started out from circular quay.

Doing what: Sydney Harbour Cruise with Taronga Zoo Entry Ticket

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

Booking through Viator was a much cheaper option than booking directly through Taronga. The price included the ferry across which had some witty commentary! I have no hesitation in recommending a day at the zoo and I strongly recommend booking through Viator as you will make a saving.

Doing what: Sydney Harbour Cruise with Taronga Zoo Entry Ticket

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

This was a fantastic tour!! Our guide was phenomenal and the tour allowed us to get some incredible experiences at the zoo. The group was small and the tour was information packed. Truly a special way to experience Taronga Zoo and have some very memorable experiences up close and personal with the animals.

Doing what: Sydney Taronga Zoo General Entry Ticket and Wild Australia Experience

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2015

Best trip we have ever done. We booked a VIP ticket, which gave us a cable car ride, and a 2 hour guided tour with a zookeeper. I am so sorry by I cant remember the zoo keepers name, but he was brilliant. we went to see the Kangaroos, we gave the koalas breakfast, we also saw all the Australian animals. This trip was the best we have ever done. well done Taronga Zoo

Doing what: Sydney Taronga Zoo General Entry Ticket and Wild Australia Experience

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

The wild Australia experience was excellent. Being able to touch some of the animals and get closer to others really added to the whole trip to Taronga zoo.

Doing what: Sydney Taronga Zoo General Entry Ticket and Wild Australia Experience

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

Great tour at a great zoo! Our zookeeper tour guide Sean was knowledgeable, friendly, and handled pouring rain with humor and a guest in a wheelchair with kindness. We were able to get up close with koalas, kangaroos, etc and even met the royal bilby George! I would highly recommend the tour if you want to get a bit closer to some of the animals and be able to speak to a zookeeper. After included treats, we spend the day at the wonderful Taronga Zoo! Take the ferry over from Circular Quay and make sure to take the Sky Safari at the Zoo.

Doing what: Sydney Taronga Zoo General Entry Ticket and Wild Australia Experience

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2014

This tour was so much fun! We arrived in Sydney from Virginia USA, a little jet-lagged, but ready for an adventure! Took the ferry from wharf 2 at Circular Quay, only a couple minutes walk from our hotel. Our first views of the Opera House, the bridge and harbor was amazing! We arrived at Taronga wharf, took the Sky Safari gondola for a ride high above the zoo grounds, getting a great view of the elephants. The ride ends at the top of the zoo entrance. A nice thing was they put one family, per gondola. We had a 2pm appointment so we had time to have lunch, then visit some of the other areas of the zoo. Met the zookeeper, a very pleasant young lady, at the information booth for our private tour of the Australian section of the zoo. We were a total of 5 people. Our guide was very informative and so passionate about the animals and her job! The highlight for me was the Koalas, so adorable, and unusually active that day, since they sleep for 20 hours of each day! One came down on the ground and was running from tree to tree, and in another area there was 2 small, 1 year old, koalas together. Our guide let us pat them on the side of their bodies. I definitely wanted to take one home with me! We visited "Gussie" the owl, and got to feed her. She was fed a whole baby chicken, didn't take her long to devour it. Our guide picked up a spiny echidna, and we got to touch it, also fed it live worms, it eats with a long snout. We visited many behind-the-scene areas, including a kitchen where food is prepared and weighed for each animal. Fed a wallaby, visited kangaroos and many other animals. At the end of the tour we had a coke and muffin at the Cafe Harbourview and were given a small gift. A beautiful peacock was walking around freely in the cafe area! The zoo closed at 5pm so we still had time to visit other areas after the tour. The giraffes have an awesome view of the harbor! Too many things to see and not enough time! We will just have to return someday! Loved it all!

Doing what: Sydney Taronga Zoo General Entry Ticket and Wild Australia Experience

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2014

It is convenient for our trip to Taronga zoo without problems.

Doing what: Sydney Harbour Cruise with Taronga Zoo Entry Ticket

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2014

Great family day out at Taronga Zoo. We caught the ferry from Circular Quay to the Zoo. When getting off the ferry, don't get on the bus, get the cablecar which takes you right across the top of the zoo to the entrance, gives you great views of the zoo and also the City. You can book to have your photos take with the Koala's etc for $20 AUD, the kids loved it.

Doing what: Sydney Taronga Zoo General Entry Ticket

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2014

This was a superb opportunity to get up close and personal with the Australian animals at Taronga Zoo. The guides were knowledgeable and helpful. We were able to get close to koalas and kangaroos as well as to see and touch some lizards. The views from the zoo are great. The variety of animals was also terrific. I highly recommend this tour and the zoo.

Doing what: Sydney Taronga Zoo's Australian Animals Tour and Sky Safari

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2014

We loved the hop on hop off ferry. The Taronga Zoo was an added bonus. Highly recommend for getting around the popular areas of Sydney.

Doing what: 3-Day Sydney Harbour Hop-On Hop-Off Cruise Pass Including Taronga Zoo Entry

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2014

This was one of the highlights of my trip to Sydney. The zookeeper was friendly and knowledgable, as part of our tour we had an opportunity to see many of the Australian native animals up close and personal. The koalas were my favorite! The Taronga Zoo is a must see and this tour is the cherry on top.

Doing what: Sydney Taronga Zoo General Entry Ticket and Wild Australia Experience

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2014

We, a 'mature' couple, wished to combine our Taronga visit with an introductory experience of the Aboriginal relationship with Nature.

We were very lucky that the tour 'group' was made up of just us two, and that we even got two guides! We were surprised that our lady guide didn't look the least Aboriginal to us, with green eyes and blond hair, but she told us that she did have some Aboriginal blood through a grandparent and thus regarded herself as such - interesting information already at the greetings stage!

Our two guides did a very good job at keeping our ears and eyes wide open during the tour. In fact, the most rewarding part was actually ourlong and adlibbed conversation during the concluding coffee brake, which lasted a good half hour over the tour schedule.

So, a most rewarding visit in spite of the drizzling weather and an excellent enticement for seeking more knowledge about Australia's original inhabitants and their close relationship with Nature.

Doing what: Small-Group Nura Diya Aboriginal Discovery Tour at Taronga Zoo

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2014

I booked this tour for my mom, sister, niece and myself when we went to Australia on a tour that included Sydney, Queensland then Melbourne for the Australia Open Tennis Tournament. This experience at the Taronga Zoo was incredible! We had a small group of 7 people and the tour guide, one of the zoo keepers, Jenn. We got up close to several of Australia's unique animals including koalas, wallabies, and a bilby! Our guide was friendly and informative. Afterwards we were able to take in the rest of the zoo. I highly recommend this experience!

Doing what: Sydney Taronga Zoo General Entry Ticket and Wild Australia Experience

Ange
Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2014

Smooth and ever so easy. The cruise from Circular Quay across the harbour was fantastic. A great way to start your day at Taronga Zoo. Arriving at the zoo meant a short walk to the waiting bus or chair lift to the top main entrance. Enter from the top and meander your way down the zoo as it's on a hill. The zoo itself is fantastic. Built into the side of a hill, the enclosure seem real at times especially the marine area. The best though was the elephant enclosure, up close and personal.

Doing what: Sydney Harbour Cruise with Taronga Zoo Entry Ticket

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2014

Our tour guide, Tim, made the tour of Taronga Zoo very interesting and exciting. His ability to engage all of us, from ages 11 to 52, was remarkable. His first hand knowledge of the history of the zoo and the animals was a bonus for us. We were able to get close to many of the animals and feed them! My children are still talking about our visit as the highlight of our trip to Australia.

Doing what: Sydney Taronga Zoo General Entry Ticket and Wild Australia Experience

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2014

It was a very exciting tour with my wife to the Taronga Zoo starting with a morning boat cruise from the Sydney Harbour to the Zoo and taking a ride in the Sky Safari Gondola up the mountain and seeing lot of animals and took beautiful pictures for our life time memory.

Doing what: Sydney Harbour Cruise with Taronga Zoo Entry Ticket

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2014

What a wonderful morning we had at the Taronga Zoo! We got to be up close and personal with a kolala, a wallaby, an echidna, a glider, a platypus, and a bilby. We also toured the inner workings of the zoo. Wonderful, enthusiastic keeper guides. A once in a lifetime experience. Highly recommended. Well worth the expense.

Doing what: Sydney Taronga Zoo General Entry Ticket and Wild Australia Experience

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

It was a very wonderful opportunity to know more about the wild species from Australia, if you are coming from the other side of the world, this tour is the best choice to visit the Taronga Zoo. Do not forget to visit the other attractions of the zoo, it is a wonderful place, I love it!!!!!

Doing what: Sydney Taronga Zoo General Entry Ticket and Wild Australia Experience

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

We loved out Cruise around Sydney Harbour it was fantastic being able to experience Sydney from the water. When we got to the Taronga Zoo the sky lift was so much fun the kids loved it and the Zoo was brilliant such an amazing setting awesome views of the Harbour and the animals and the different habitat enclosures were second to non. Our children just loved the whole day and they just loved the kids section and the playground. A fantastic day over all and definitely one we would do again if we went back to Sydney.

Doing what: Sydney Harbour Cruise with Taronga Zoo Entry Ticket

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

I think the best part of the trip was the cruise which allowed for fantastic picture taking opportunities of the Sidney skyline and Opera House. The Taronga Zoo is set up with a delightful lift ride to the top of the zoo and a winding road leading to clearly marked exhibits all the way down to the bottom and back to the ferry. I enjoyed it and would highly recommend it.

Doing what: Sydney Harbour Cruise with Taronga Zoo Entry Ticket

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

The backstage tour of the Taronga Zoo was a highlight of our time in Sydney and well worth the ticket price.

Doing what: Sydney Taronga Zoo General Entry Ticket and Wild Australia Experience

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

I had a great time doing the Wild Australia Experience at Taronga Zoo. Elli, our keeper, was very friendly and did her best to make sure that we had a chance to see every animal on the tour, and interact with a few too! The Zoo is lovely and they do a great job in taking care of their animals.

Doing what: Sydney Taronga Zoo General Entry Ticket and Wild Australia Experience

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message