One of Sydney's top attraction, Taronga Zoo is home to over 4,000 animals, featuring native Australian wildlife as well as rare animals from around the world. Located in Mosman, on the shores of Sydney Harbour, Taronga Zoo's inhabitants have ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 366 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Sarah B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

The 3 day hop on hop off ferry was great, not only did we get to see the harbour but we got off and toured anything we wanted to see when we wanted. 3 days was more than enough to see everything at a pace that suited us. Taronga zoo has to be the best zoo in Australia, well worth going even if you've been to a dozen zoos already.

Doing what: 3-Day Sydney Harbour Hop-On Hop-Off Cruise Pass Including Taronga Zoo Entry

Peter G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

Amazing day. The zoo keeper and the 6 other customers in our group were all lovely people. Behind the scenes it certainly was. Excellent zoo with magnificent views of Sydney.

Doing what: Sydney Taronga Zoo General Entry Ticket and Wild Australia Experience

Eulalie C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Amazing zoo to view some of the well-known animals in Australia: koalas, kangaroos and tasmanian devils! Also one of the zoo with the nicest views of Sydney. The place can get crowded in the afternoon so try getting there early. The gondola ride, included with the ticket is really nice!

Doing what: Sydney Taronga Zoo General Entry Ticket

Shelagh W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Absolutely brilliant day. Zoo is excellent and travelling to and from on the ferry just adds to the whole experience.

Doing what: Sydney Harbour Cruise with Taronga Zoo Entry Ticket

Charles V

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

The Australia experience made the Zoo trip for us. The behind the scenes looks into how the zoo works and closer contact with some animals was the best part.

Doing what: Sydney Taronga Zoo General Entry Ticket and Wild Australia Experience

Clark C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

The behind the scenes actually, behind the cages part of the tour was wonderful. The keepers train the animals to respond to visitors, but never force them to do so. They are allowed to familiarize themselves at their own pace. The Bilbies sp? were especially adorable in this regard.

Only disappointing part of tour was that the Sky Safari was closed for maintenance.

The round trip ferry ride from the Circular Quay to Taronga was also a good deal with views of the bridge and Opera House.

Doing what: Sydney Taronga Zoo General Entry Ticket and Wild Australia Experience

George S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

A great way to get to and from the zoo. The zoo is spectacular!

Doing what: Sydney Harbour Cruise with Taronga Zoo Entry Ticket

mark w

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

It was an amazing experience. The zoo keeper we toured the Australian section of the zoo and behind the scenes was very knowledgeable , friendly, and allowed us for much interaction with the animals. The zoo itself is beautifully designed, easy to navigate, with wonderful, innovative, and educational shows. The views of Sydney are stunning

Doing what: Sydney Taronga Zoo General Entry Ticket and Wild Australia Experience

Donna W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Paul was the best zookeeper/guide I have ever met, giving our whole group a very amazing and unforgettable experience. 3

Doing what: Sydney Taronga Zoo General Entry Ticket and Wild Australia Experience

Bethany G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

The Taronga zoo is a must do in Sydney! By far the best zoo I and #39;ve ever been to! My personal favorite was the wallaby and kangaroo exhibit, they roam and will come up to you, if you and #39;re lucky you get to pet one! Only complaint is the cruise should have more transport times available. Great value!

Doing what: Sydney Harbour Cruise with Taronga Zoo Entry Ticket

Neil B. L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

This was an amazing tour! You really do get a behind the scenes look at the beautiful Taronga Zoo. This is a must for anyone visiting the Zoo. One of my favorite things in Sydney!

Doing what: Sydney Taronga Zoo General Entry Ticket and Wild Australia Experience

Mike B USA

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Tour was excellent! Guides are volunteers at the zoo, so the tour operator is the zoo. You get close up access to many animals and can actually touch some, but not koala bears unfortunately. The tour guides work at the info booth when they are not touring, so they are very knowledgeable about the zoo. This tour is shorter than the other one, but it takes you only to the Australian animals. You can see elephants anywhere, so why waste extra time walking around this very large and hilly zoo? By the way, the 90 minute tour was really 135 minutes for us, and the guide walked my wife and I to several other animal venues and showed us how to exit after the tour was over.

Doing what: Sydney Taronga Zoo's Australian Animals Tour and Sky Safari

Geraldine D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2016

Myself and my two teenage daughters went to the zoo. Viator is great we did not have to wait on any line for tickets. Also our ticket included the overhead ride from the ferry stop to the front entrance. This was great because you got to see the zoo from up above. There are so many animals to see. They are laid out nicely. The best thing was that some exhibits you can walk through the exhibit right next to the animals. This was the best zoo we had ever gone to. Lots to see. Many paths to follow. You can spend a whole day. A must see when you go to Sydney.

Doing what: Sydney Taronga Zoo General Entry Ticket

Rachel H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2016

Wonderful tour. It starts out going the opposite direction of the zoo entrance. Focus is on Australian native animals which is nice. Our guides love of animals was apparent. Several opportunities to get up close to different varieties of animals. We spent Christmas Day on the tour - one I will never forget.

Doing what: Sydney Taronga Zoo General Entry Ticket and Wild Australia Experience

Sandra O

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2016

The gold tour of the Zoo was amazing. We had two superb guides, Barbara and Gordon, who took us behind the scenes and introduced us personally to many of the inhabitants. Also included was a visit to the kitchen where much of the food was prepared. It is the best way to really understand and appreciate how much work goes into running it and how much they do to support endangered species. An absolute must. The only downside was the ski safari was closed for maintenance but it did not detract from our enjoyment.

Doing what: Sydney Taronga Zoo's Australian Animals Tour and Sky Safari

Ron

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2016

This is an absolutely great way to spend a day! The zoo is very well planned, beautifully maintained, and has a spectacular view of the city of Sydney across the harbor. The opportunity to walk among many of the animals is special, and the guided tours are hugely informational. We recommend this zoo trip to people of all ages!

Doing what: Sydney Taronga Zoo General Entry Ticket and Wild Australia Experience

Susan V

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2016

This is a wonderful Tour. My husband and I along with our closest friends took this tour and we all agreed, it could not have been better. We had two knowledgeable ladies escorting around the Zoo. We were able to go behind the scene and get up-close with some of the animals. We learned about each animal and because there were only 4 of us, were able to ask questions. Do yourself a favor and book this tour.

Doing what: Sydney Taronga Zoo's Australian Animals Tour and Sky Safari

William M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2016

Fabulous tour - great zoo keeper guide - really got to understand the Oz fauna as never before. Wonderfully organized and easy for my wife who has some mobility issues. Highly recommend.

Doing what: Sydney Taronga Zoo General Entry Ticket and Wild Australia Experience

sarak1807

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2016

The gentleman was very knowledgeable to all the animals and runnings of the zoo. It was great to be able to see behind the scenes of the zoo kitchen and the ability to get up close and personal with some of the animals. Will recommend to anyone.

Doing what: Sydney Taronga Zoo General Entry Ticket and Wild Australia Experience

kathryn i

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2016

We had two lovely volunteers show us around the zoo and got up, personal with wallabies, an emu, and koalas. They were able to spot the nocturnal animals in the exhibits, took us to the bird show, and we were given time to see anything else we wanted on our own.
Great experience if you have limited time to spend.

Doing what: Sydney Taronga Zoo's Australian Animals Tour and Sky Safari

Madeleine H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2016

we have a great time! it was really wonderful, the Guide was so kind and friendly, we were really delighted to spend a day in the ZOO. Great Time, thanks

Doing what: Sydney Taronga Zoo's Australian Animals Tour and Sky Safari

grandma2

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2016

Excellent small group behind the scenes tour. Our guides, Doug and Lorraine made it special. Lorraine was so helpful in taking pictueres. We Wes able to pet the kangaroos but couldn't touch the koalas even though we were close enough. Beautiful zoo.

Doing what: Sydney Taronga Zoo's Australian Animals Tour and Sky Safari

Patricia L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2016

The tour was absolutely wonderful and we had a great time learning about the different animals. We will highly recommend the zoo tour!

Doing what: Sydney Taronga Zoo General Entry Ticket and Wild Australia Experience

Brian E

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2016

This tour provides a wonderful experience meeting Australian animals in a way not usually available to visitors. Being able to have your photo with kolas and feeding kangaroos were undoubtably highlights of the tour.
Vanessa, our guide was able to share here deep knowledge and passion gained as a keeper at the zoo and is a great communicator. I will definitely bring other overseas visitors in the future. Thanks Vanessa and Taronga Zoo.

Doing what: Sydney Taronga Zoo General Entry Ticket and Wild Australia Experience

Susan J

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2016

Fabulous experience - finding the departure Iocation for the boat was easy and the boat ride was fun and interesting. The zoo was great.

Doing what: Sydney Harbour Cruise with Taronga Zoo Entry Ticket

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message