• USD ($)
  • English
Taronga Zoo's inhabitants have habitats with views overlooking Sydney Harbour, with especially prized panoramas being nabbed by the giraffes. The zoo's lively program of events includes sleepovers, daily presentations, animal encounters, and ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 76 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

Great tour at a great zoo! Our zookeeper tour guide Sean was knowledgeable, friendly, and handled pouring rain with humor and a guest in a wheelchair with kindness. We were able to get up close with koalas, kangaroos, etc and even met the royal bilby George! I would highly recommend the tour if you want to get a bit closer to some of the animals and be able to speak to a zookeeper. After included treats, we spend the day at the wonderful Taronga Zoo! Take the ferry over from Circular Quay and make sure to take the Sky Safari at the Zoo.

Doing what: Sydney Taronga Zoo General Entry Ticket and Wild Australia Experience

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

We started our tour at the Taronga Zoo. We went there by ferry at wharf 6 in Circular Quay. For us to be at the main entrance of the zoo, we were directed to the cable car ride upon reaching the wharf. We follow the nos. 1-9 on the suggested dotted line and we see to it not to miss the Australian walk were the saw the koalas and the kangaroos. We were also able to watch the seal show at 11am. We were finished at 12:30pm going back to Circular by ferry. The next attraction that we visited was the Opera House. It was TRULY an amazing experience. We finished before 4pm and walked back to wharf 6 for the ferry ride going to Darling Harbour for the Sealife. We were not so impressed on our last destination but good enough to cover 3 attractions in one day.

Doing what: Sydney Attraction Pass Including Taronga Zoo, Sydney Opera House, SEA LIFE Sydney Aquarium

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2014

This tour was so much fun! We arrived in Sydney from Virginia USA, a little jet-lagged, but ready for an adventure! Took the ferry from wharf 2 at Circular Quay, only a couple minutes walk from our hotel. Our first views of the Opera House, the bridge and harbor was amazing! We arrived at Taronga wharf, took the Sky Safari gondola for a ride high above the zoo grounds, getting a great view of the elephants. The ride ends at the top of the zoo entrance. A nice thing was they put one family, per gondola. We had a 2pm appointment so we had time to have lunch, then visit some of the other areas of the zoo. Met the zookeeper, a very pleasant young lady, at the information booth for our private tour of the Australian section of the zoo. We were a total of 5 people. Our guide was very informative and so passionate about the animals and her job! The highlight for me was the Koalas, so adorable, and unusually active that day, since they sleep for 20 hours of each day! One came down on the ground and was running from tree to tree, and in another area there was 2 small, 1 year old, koalas together. Our guide let us pat them on the side of their bodies. I definitely wanted to take one home with me! We visited "Gussie" the owl, and got to feed her. She was fed a whole baby chicken, didn't take her long to devour it. Our guide picked up a spiny echidna, and we got to touch it, also fed it live worms, it eats with a long snout. We visited many behind-the-scene areas, including a kitchen where food is prepared and weighed for each animal. Fed a wallaby, visited kangaroos and many other animals. At the end of the tour we had a coke and muffin at the Cafe Harbourview and were given a small gift. A beautiful peacock was walking around freely in the cafe area! The zoo closed at 5pm so we still had time to visit other areas after the tour. The giraffes have an awesome view of the harbor! Too many things to see and not enough time! We will just have to return someday! Loved it all!

Doing what: Sydney Taronga Zoo General Entry Ticket and Wild Australia Experience

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2014

It is convenient for our trip to Taronga zoo without problems.

Doing what: Sydney Harbour Cruise with Taronga Zoo Entry Ticket

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2014

Great family day out at Taronga Zoo. We caught the ferry from Circular Quay to the Zoo. When getting off the ferry, don't get on the bus, get the cablecar which takes you right across the top of the zoo to the entrance, gives you great views of the zoo and also the City. You can book to have your photos take with the Koala's etc for $20 AUD, the kids loved it.

Doing what: Sydney Taronga Zoo General Entry Ticket

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2014

This was a superb opportunity to get up close and personal with the Australian animals at Taronga Zoo. The guides were knowledgeable and helpful. We were able to get close to koalas and kangaroos as well as to see and touch some lizards. The views from the zoo are great. The variety of animals was also terrific. I highly recommend this tour and the zoo.

Doing what: Sydney Taronga Zoo's Australian Animals Tour and Sky Safari

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2014

We loved the hop on hop off ferry. The Taronga Zoo was an added bonus. Highly recommend for getting around the popular areas of Sydney.

Doing what: 3-Day Sydney Harbour Hop-On Hop-Off Cruise Pass Including Taronga Zoo Entry

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2014

This was one of the highlights of my trip to Sydney. The zookeeper was friendly and knowledgable, as part of our tour we had an opportunity to see many of the Australian native animals up close and personal. The koalas were my favorite! The Taronga Zoo is a must see and this tour is the cherry on top.

Doing what: Sydney Taronga Zoo General Entry Ticket and Wild Australia Experience

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2014

The pass is well worth getting and can save quite a bit of money. I used mine to visit Taronga Zoo which was brilliant. You can spend the whole day there as there is so much to do and see. I used the pass next at the Aquarium. Finally I did the Sky Tower and paid a little extra to do the Sky Walk.

Doing what: Sydney Attraction Pass Including Taronga Zoo, Sydney Opera House, SEA LIFE Sydney Aquarium

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2014

We, a 'mature' couple, wished to combine our Taronga visit with an introductory experience of the Aboriginal relationship with Nature.

We were very lucky that the tour 'group' was made up of just us two, and that we even got two guides! We were surprised that our lady guide didn't look the least Aboriginal to us, with green eyes and blond hair, but she told us that she did have some Aboriginal blood through a grandparent and thus regarded herself as such - interesting information already at the greetings stage!

Our two guides did a very good job at keeping our ears and eyes wide open during the tour. In fact, the most rewarding part was actually ourlong and adlibbed conversation during the concluding coffee brake, which lasted a good half hour over the tour schedule.

So, a most rewarding visit in spite of the drizzling weather and an excellent enticement for seeking more knowledge about Australia's original inhabitants and their close relationship with Nature.

Doing what: Small-Group Nura Diya Aboriginal Discovery Tour at Taronga Zoo

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2014

I booked this tour for my mom, sister, niece and myself when we went to Australia on a tour that included Sydney, Queensland then Melbourne for the Australia Open Tennis Tournament. This experience at the Taronga Zoo was incredible! We had a small group of 7 people and the tour guide, one of the zoo keepers, Jenn. We got up close to several of Australia's unique animals including koalas, wallabies, and a bilby! Our guide was friendly and informative. Afterwards we were able to take in the rest of the zoo. I highly recommend this experience!

Doing what: Sydney Taronga Zoo General Entry Ticket and Wild Australia Experience

Ange
Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2014

Smooth and ever so easy. The cruise from Circular Quay across the harbour was fantastic. A great way to start your day at Taronga Zoo. Arriving at the zoo meant a short walk to the waiting bus or chair lift to the top main entrance. Enter from the top and meander your way down the zoo as it's on a hill. The zoo itself is fantastic. Built into the side of a hill, the enclosure seem real at times especially the marine area. The best though was the elephant enclosure, up close and personal.

Doing what: Sydney Harbour Cruise with Taronga Zoo Entry Ticket

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2014

Spectacular and informative about opera house.
Taronga Zoo is a must see with very friendly staff.

Doing what: Sydney Attraction Pass Including Taronga Zoo, Sydney Opera House, SEA LIFE Sydney Aquarium

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2014

Our tour guide, Tim, made the tour of Taronga Zoo very interesting and exciting. His ability to engage all of us, from ages 11 to 52, was remarkable. His first hand knowledge of the history of the zoo and the animals was a bonus for us. We were able to get close to many of the animals and feed them! My children are still talking about our visit as the highlight of our trip to Australia.

Doing what: Sydney Taronga Zoo General Entry Ticket and Wild Australia Experience

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2014

It was a very exciting tour with my wife to the Taronga Zoo starting with a morning boat cruise from the Sydney Harbour to the Zoo and taking a ride in the Sky Safari Gondola up the mountain and seeing lot of animals and took beautiful pictures for our life time memory.

Doing what: Sydney Harbour Cruise with Taronga Zoo Entry Ticket

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message