• USD ($)
  • English
With its Georgian sandstone buildings, narrow alleyways, historic pubs, and regenerated warehouses, The Rocks is one of Sydney’s oldest and most popular precincts. Set back from Circular Quay, it was one of the earliest parts of Sydney to be ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 15 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2014

Excellent introduction to the history of Sydney and the area around the Rocks. Small group -- there were 8 of us and the length of the trip was just right. The tour worked well for us as this was our first visit to Sydney.

Doing what: Sydney Guided Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2012

We had a great time in Sydney. The hop on hop bus was wonderful we got to see lots of Sydney. It was easy to find and to use. We have a beautiful time at the Rocks on Sunday and really enjoyed the market.

Doing what: Sydney and Bondi Hop-on Hop-off Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2012

A fantastic way to see Sydney in a day ( 24 hr ticket ).We really enjoy our lunch of fresh fish and chip at Bondi Beach.The weather was a bit cold and windy on the deck of the bus.We stopped at The Rocks,Opera House,and Bondi Beach.Sydney was raining heavily the next day.We recommend strongly to first time visitors who have few days to stay in Sydney.

Doing what: Sydney and Bondi Hop-on Hop-off Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2012

A very pleasant experience which my Italian friends loved as well. We stopped in Bondi and then continued with the next bus, then we did the same at the Rocks and we enjoyed the freedom of been able to do just that. Very good drivers and coordinators, all careful to give us a very good experience. To be highly recommended.

Doing what: Sydney and Bondi Hop-on Hop-off Tour

Robert S
United Kingdom

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2011

Excellent tour with a knowledgeable and entertaining guide who gave some real insights into the history of The Rocks. I'd recommend this one strongly

Doing what: Sydney Guided Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2011

Colin gave us a lot of interesting information and made the history of The Rocks come alive for us. I'd highly recommend the walking tour to anyone.

Doing what: Sydney Guided Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2010

The rocks has a very historic charm to it and one great way to see it is by the horse and carriage ride. We started the day with the horse and carriage ride, walked through the markets and then had lunch at pancakes on the rocks. Great day all round.

DEAN W
Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2010

An excellent way to see the Sydney CBD,Bondi,and travel thru' some of Sydney's most expensive real estate. I would recommend this to anybody visiting Sydney,in fact,it's the sort of tour one should do when visiting any city. The only complaint was the lack of clear signage to identify the appropriate bus stop at The Rocks.This was where we intended to first engage the bus and we had to ring the helpline to identify it's approximate location.While waiting for th ebus there were 3 other groups who also looked very unsure as to whether they were in th eright spot.Other stops along the way were better signed.

Doing what: Sydney and Bondi Hop-on Hop-off Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2010

Wow, what a great experience! We would have missed so many wonderful sights had we not booked 48 hours on this amazing tour one day would not have been enough. The Sydney tour took us to numerous places where the free city shuttle didn't go. We enjoyed it so much that we took one complete 90 min. tour before we started to hop off and on to see specific sights Sydney Opera House, the Rocks, etc., and it was definitely dependable. At the conclusion of the 2nd day we took the entire tour again, and enjoyed every minute of it we selected the top outdoor seats the entire time - it was the best way to truly see the sights and get lots of great camera shots. We also took the Bondi Beach tour, and it was fantastic. Our trip to Sydney was complete because of this tour bus, and we would highly recommend it!!! Additionally, the tour bus drivers were extremely nice, helpful, and super accommodating.

Doing what: Sydney and Bondi Hop-on Hop-off Tour

Simon C
Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2010

Fascinating journey through the rocks.

Doing what: Sydney Guided Walking Tour

Joyce S
Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2009

This tour was wonderful. We took the guided walk on a beautiful cool, sunny day, and our guide was friendly, enthusiastic and helpful. Our 2-hour walk took in the main sights of the Rocks, the Harbour Bridge and the Opera House but also managed to fit in the Botanic Gardens and a few 'off the beaten track' spots and tips I would have never found otherwise. We were in a small group, and the information was intelligently delivered and entertaining. It was a perfect way to introduce myself to Sydney and get my bearings with the help of a local. Overall, a great value tour that comes highly recommended.

Doing what: Sydney Guided Walking Tour

4 star rating: Recommended
April 2014

Great way to see lots of Sydney. Two things I'd recommend: don't pre-book, decide on the morning you want to do a tour; and if it's raining, just stick to the Sydney tour and keep Bondi for a dry day. We booked our tour before we got to Sydney and chose a Sunday because we'd heard about the Bondi Markets (unfortunately we didn't hear about The Rocks Markets until it was too late). It rained all day. Due to the bad weather the Bondi markets were nothing exciting and minimal and we were disappointed to have missed The Rocks markets (which were undercover and looked like they would've been great) because we tried to cram too much into one day. On a positive, it was great with all the commentary. Even in the rain (it wasn't cold, just annoying) it was fun to be up top - and make sure you buy a plastic poncho from the young lad selling them - my 'single use' poncho lasted me three days of touring and wet weather haha. All in all, get on the bus to see lots of this amazing place.

Doing what: Sydney and Bondi Hop-on Hop-off Tour

4 star rating: Recommended
March 2014

Great little tour. Guide was well documented and she had a lot to say about the Rocks and convicts. I'd recommend to do this tour when you arrive to get your bearings and also a good introduction to Sydney.

Doing what: Sydney Guided Walking Tour

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
July 2013

somewhat disappointing. what is the point of online booking if you need to go to the Rocks for tickets before being able to board. bus stations are not marked. e.g. on hickson rd near the bridge, we waited good 30 mins there before calling the ticket office to be told we should keep waiting "somewhere at the hotel". obviously the buses do not go every 15 mins as claimed. and for some reason we needed to change the perfectly functional bus half way in. the tour content is fairly limited for adults, but the child channel is great. overall, I'd say it is not worth the fairly high price it costs.

Doing what: Sydney and Bondi Hop-on Hop-off Tour

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
December 2011

The walking tour was the first of several tours I booked to show a US guest around Sydney. Thankfully all the other tours have been fabulous. The walking tour was an embarrassment. My US guest was dumbfounded. The guide knew very little and couldn’t answer basic questions, such as what historic buildings were that he led us past on Bridge St. He strained to see what was written on one building’s entrance then jokingly replied “Public Entrance”. No-one found it funny that he had no idea what the major building was (on the corner of Bridge and Macquarie Streets). He pointed out the masts of a tall ship obscured by another boat; it was only about 20 steps away and we thought we would walk up to see it. Not so, he took us up steps away from it. Later he kept talking about “the designer” of the Sydney Opera House. I told him it was Jorn Utzon and he said “oh that’s it”. From the tour details, we expected to “visit the site where Mission Impossible II was filmed”; “see where the plague ran rampant in The Rocks”; “hear of the World War II battle in Sydney harbor” but none were even mentioned. Frankly, it was appalling. The guide seemed to know very little and we felt he could have done with a few Google searches before doing the tour. No-one tipped him for good reason. Later, we went on a Captain Cook cruise and my guest said “I’ve learnt more in the first 5 minutes than 2 hours on the tour this morning”. Very disappointing. Never again.

Doing what: Sydney Guided Walking Tour

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message