With its Georgian sandstone buildings, narrow alleyways, historic pubs, and regenerated warehouses, The Rocks is one of Sydney’s oldest and most popular precincts. Set back from Circular Quay, it was one of the earliest parts of Sydney to be ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 27 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Jan

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

This was absolutely the best. Our guide, VIckie, was wonderful and very knowledgable. She went above and beyond what we expected. We loved the Rocks so much that we went back the next day and visited some local pubs. Would recommend this to others! Jan

Doing what: The Rocks Walking Tour: the Original Guided Walking Tour of The Rocks

Miki

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Very interesting tour as it roams around the narrow streets and alley ways of The Rocks whilst learning the history and significant events that shaped it into the iconic place that it is today.

Doing what: The Rocks History and Pub Walking Tour

DEBORAH R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2016

The Rocks history was very interesting and our tour guide was very knowledgeable. The pub we stopped at for dinner was where the locals go and the food was excellent. The beer selections our guide recommended were perfect. My husband and I were the only one on this 3 hour tour and so glad that it was not cancelled!!

Doing what: The Rocks History and Pub Walking Tour

Genaro V

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2016

This walking tour is most educational as it tackled the history of Australia and our tour guide Tony Hutchinson is entertaining and thorough with his historical accounts as he traversed us to the streets and thoroughfare of the Rocks. We have a great time...worth every penny. Thank you.

Doing what: The Rocks History and Pub Walking Tour

Susan M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2016

The Rocks walking tour is a must do if you come to Sydney. More so if you are a history buff. There were lots of information provided by our excellent tour guide Vickie. So that we have an idea how The Rocks looked like before, our tour guide carried old photos of the settlement and showed them to each and every one of us as we stop at a particular destination. We had enough time to ask questions and also to take photos. Make sure to wear comfortable shoes and be ready to climb up and down the Argyle Stairs.

Doing what: The Rocks Walking Tour: the Original Guided Walking Tour of The Rocks

aldosue

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

Fantastic night out. Gregg our guide who also owns the company was a wealth of information about Sydney and the Rocks area. Visited 3 interesting bars along the way and had a drink at each and a bit of a history lesson thrown in about the pubs we visited. Would highly recommend this tour to everyone.

Doing what: The Rocks Pub Walking Tour

Denzil

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

was knowledgeable knowing the history of and around Rocks , i was lucky as i was the only person on this tour , Allison my guest was just excellent and explained in detail about all the different sites visited . i would definitely recommend this tour if you don't mind walking around and exploring.

Doing what: Sydney Guided Walking Tour

Dean and Evelia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

Great way to spend the evening! The Rocks is a very interesting and fun part of Sydney.

Doing what: The Rocks History and Pub Walking Tour

Judith T

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

This was absolutely the best way to see Sydney for we who hadn't been before. We didn't actually feel the need to get off at all, it was too good to leave. Took a lot of photos and had enough time at each place to see all we needed that day.
The following day we did a tour of the Harbour and visited the Maritime Museum and The Rocks.and knew where we were going.
Thanks again. It was nice to hear Paul Makin doing the commentary, and good that it is available to other languages.

Doing what: Sydney and Bondi Hop-on Hop-off Tour

Barry S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2014

Excellent introduction to the history of Sydney and the area around the Rocks. Small group -- there were 8 of us and the length of the trip was just right. The tour worked well for us as this was our first visit to Sydney.

Doing what: Sydney Guided Walking Tour

Keith S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2012

We had a great time in Sydney. The hop on hop bus was wonderful we got to see lots of Sydney. It was easy to find and to use. We have a beautiful time at the Rocks on Sunday and really enjoyed the market.

Doing what: Sydney and Bondi Hop-on Hop-off Tour

Hj Mohd Z

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2012

A fantastic way to see Sydney in a day ( 24 hr ticket ).We really enjoy our lunch of fresh fish and chip at Bondi Beach.The weather was a bit cold and windy on the deck of the bus.We stopped at The Rocks,Opera House,and Bondi Beach.Sydney was raining heavily the next day.We recommend strongly to first time visitors who have few days to stay in Sydney.

Doing what: Sydney and Bondi Hop-on Hop-off Tour

Ernesta D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2012

A very pleasant experience which my Italian friends loved as well. We stopped in Bondi and then continued with the next bus, then we did the same at the Rocks and we enjoyed the freedom of been able to do just that. Very good drivers and coordinators, all careful to give us a very good experience. To be highly recommended.

Doing what: Sydney and Bondi Hop-on Hop-off Tour

Robert S United Kingdom

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2011

Excellent tour with a knowledgeable and entertaining guide who gave some real insights into the history of The Rocks. I'd recommend this one strongly

Doing what: Sydney Guided Walking Tour

Barbara O

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2011

Colin gave us a lot of interesting information and made the history of The Rocks come alive for us. I'd highly recommend the walking tour to anyone.

Doing what: Sydney Guided Walking Tour

DEAN W Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2010

An excellent way to see the Sydney CBD,Bondi,and travel thru' some of Sydney's most expensive real estate. I would recommend this to anybody visiting Sydney,in fact,it's the sort of tour one should do when visiting any city. The only complaint was the lack of clear signage to identify the appropriate bus stop at The Rocks.This was where we intended to first engage the bus and we had to ring the helpline to identify it's approximate location.While waiting for th ebus there were 3 other groups who also looked very unsure as to whether they were in th eright spot.Other stops along the way were better signed.

Doing what: Sydney and Bondi Hop-on Hop-off Tour

David T USA

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2010

Wow, what a great experience! We would have missed so many wonderful sights had we not booked 48 hours on this amazing tour one day would not have been enough. The Sydney tour took us to numerous places where the free city shuttle didn't go. We enjoyed it so much that we took one complete 90 min. tour before we started to hop off and on to see specific sights Sydney Opera House, the Rocks, etc., and it was definitely dependable. At the conclusion of the 2nd day we took the entire tour again, and enjoyed every minute of it we selected the top outdoor seats the entire time - it was the best way to truly see the sights and get lots of great camera shots. We also took the Bondi Beach tour, and it was fantastic. Our trip to Sydney was complete because of this tour bus, and we would highly recommend it!!! Additionally, the tour bus drivers were extremely nice, helpful, and super accommodating.

Doing what: Sydney and Bondi Hop-on Hop-off Tour

Simon C Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2010

Fascinating journey through the rocks.

Doing what: Sydney Guided Walking Tour

Joyce S Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2009

This tour was wonderful. We took the guided walk on a beautiful cool, sunny day, and our guide was friendly, enthusiastic and helpful. Our 2-hour walk took in the main sights of the Rocks, the Harbour Bridge and the Opera House but also managed to fit in the Botanic Gardens and a few 'off the beaten track' spots and tips I would have never found otherwise. We were in a small group, and the information was intelligently delivered and entertaining. It was a perfect way to introduce myself to Sydney and get my bearings with the help of a local. Overall, a great value tour that comes highly recommended.

Doing what: Sydney Guided Walking Tour

Anonymous

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2006

You truly have not experienced Sydney unless you have gone on a cycling tour (7 hours worth in fact). Our guide was fantastic. His knowledge of the past, present and future of Sydney gets a gold star in my book. Areas covered included Manly Beach, North Head, The Rocks, Observatory Hill, Cockle Bay, Piers, Harbour Bridge, Hyde Park, Financial District, Botanical Gardens, you name it we saw it. The views throughout the entire tour were amazing! Bicycles and helmets were in great shape. The Manly Beach Wharf restaurant was chic and trendy, a nice place for a champagne and lunch. We even got souvenir hats at the end of the trip. We definitely would not have gotten the lay of the land if we hadn't booked this tour.

Doing what: Sydney Bike Tours

Brian W

4 star rating: Recommended
March 2016

Great tour of The Rocks...Louise was fantastic! Only suggestion is one more pub stop as part of the tour, preferably before dinner.

Doing what: The Rocks History and Pub Walking Tour

Anne-Marie G

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2015

It was a great tour were you learn about the history of alcool trought the history of Australia. It's also cool that you have the possibility to choose the wine that you want to choose and you have a lot of choice and the possibility to add tasting taste fees ablies but still...! And be sure that you have good shoes because you walk trought the Rocks for a wile. But, enjoy! :

Doing what: The Rocks History and Pub Walking Tour

Jennifer M

4 star rating: Recommended
April 2014

Great way to see lots of Sydney. Two things I'd recommend: don't pre-book, decide on the morning you want to do a tour; and if it's raining, just stick to the Sydney tour and keep Bondi for a dry day. We booked our tour before we got to Sydney and chose a Sunday because we'd heard about the Bondi Markets (unfortunately we didn't hear about The Rocks Markets until it was too late). It rained all day. Due to the bad weather the Bondi markets were nothing exciting and minimal and we were disappointed to have missed The Rocks markets (which were undercover and looked like they would've been great) because we tried to cram too much into one day. On a positive, it was great with all the commentary. Even in the rain (it wasn't cold, just annoying) it was fun to be up top - and make sure you buy a plastic poncho from the young lad selling them - my 'single use' poncho lasted me three days of touring and wet weather haha. All in all, get on the bus to see lots of this amazing place.

Doing what: Sydney and Bondi Hop-on Hop-off Tour

Elodie D

4 star rating: Recommended
March 2014

Great little tour. Guide was well documented and she had a lot to say about the Rocks and convicts. I'd recommend to do this tour when you arrive to get your bearings and also a good introduction to Sydney.

Doing what: Sydney Guided Walking Tour

Ken B

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2011

We thoroughly enjoyed the opportunity to see Sydney from a different perspective. Nothing but admiration for the people who run it. Excellent care and good historical knowledge, particularly in the Rocks area. Just 2.5 small hills to negotiate over the four hours, but we are both around 60years, of average fitness, and had no difficulties.

Doing what: Sydney Bike Tours

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message