In this age of seat belts and air bags, a rickety ride on a much-loved San Francisco cable car is an anachronistic thrill. Indeed, cable cars may not be the most practical means of transportation, but in San Francisco, a cable car ride is a ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 33 Reviews Add your review

Certiļ¬ed reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2014

Fantastic trip the driver was informative and showed great attention to detail. Spoke to all on board bus with respect. Guides in Canberra were just so informative and knowledgable it made the tours easy. The war memorial is very emotional and parliament house is beautiful. Stunning views everywhere

Doing what: Canberra Day Trip from Sydney

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2014

I thought the tour was excellent. It's a long day with the travel time but I found even the transfer time entertaining with informative commentary along the way. As an introduction to Canberra, I wasn't disappointed in the slightest. I would recommend this tour to anyone who has a spare day to get out of Sydney and see the nation's capital.

Doing what: Canberra Explorer: Australia's Capital City Tour from Sydney

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2014

This Tour to Canberra was awesome, totally recommend it. Especially the guided tour by local guide Bernard in the National gallery.

Doing what: Canberra Explorer: Australia's Capital City Tour from Sydney

Heather
Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2013

Fantastic and are planning to go back to Canberra to spend more time exploring as the tour gave a taste of what is on offer.

Doing what: Canberra Explorer: Australia's Capital City Tour from Sydney

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2013

Really enjoyed the trip to Canberra, it was a long day but well worth the price.
Neil was an excellent driver and a very personable man.
The guided tours at the War Museum and Monument were excellent, as was the Gallery. Parliament House was a little bit rushed once inside, I feel the guide spent too much time outside Parliament. Once inside she spent too much time talking about the marble and where it was from, instead of other more interesting subjects.. Especially as we were short on time. There was no time to buy any souvenirs., I think that when the guide knows that it is just a day trip the commentary could be shortened. I do however intend to return to Canberra in the future. I really did enjoy the trip and would recommend it to everyone. Thank you to Neil.

Doing what: Canberra Explorer: Australia's Capital City Tour from Sydney

Dnice
Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2012

its a long bus ride to Canberra from Sydney but our driver made it very enjoyable and interesting, well done Jules. The tour of Memorial was great but need more time to appreciate it. Enjoyed Parliament house tour and guides were very informative. Gallery was same as other galleries wonderiul pieces of art and some that looked like a 3 yr old did it.

Doing what: Canberra Day Trip from Sydney

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2012

The tour guide was wonderful. Canberra had so much to offter than I was expecting. The capital was just beautiful. The tour guides did a great job of explaining Australia's coming to story. This was a really sobering tour and I just loved it!

Doing what: Canberra Day Trip from Sydney

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2011

This was by far a fantastic trip. I highly recommend to anyone who wants to take in breathtaking views. This tour included the War Memorial which is the best I've ever seen, the Canberra Art Museum, and of course ACT Parliament House.

Doing what: Canberra Day Trip from Sydney

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2011

As a visitor from Ireland Australia is completely different to any other European country but this is my 4th visit here and I love it. I had wanted to visit Canberra before but this time I was determined to make it. The online booking was very straightforward and I'm not young! But it all went through easily and I had no problem. Confirmation was very quick. The trip itself was excellent. Slightly late with the pick up but no panic. The coach was very comfortable, the driver informative without over doing it and there were snack/meal stops on the way - not too long or short and there was a video to watch on the return journey. The tour at Canberra was well organised and timed to perfection - the guide was excellent and full of interesting facts,figures and info. I don't know how she remembered it all! Overall I really enjoyed it, and feel I got fantastic value and would definitely use the company again.

Doing what: Canberra Explorer: Australia's Capital City Tour from Sydney

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2010

Extremely well organized. Both the Driver and the guide were outstanding. and enough time given for the visit in Canberra.

Doing what: Canberra Explorer: Australia's Capital City Tour from Sydney

Joanne S
Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2010

Was a great informative trip, a long day and plenty to see and do. Was explained that it was a snapshot, so wasn't disappointed when we had a time limit. Would highly recommend this to anyone who wants to see the main points of Canberra.

Doing what: Canberra Explorer: Australia's Capital City Tour from Sydney

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2009

I have been to Canberra before, but it was awhile back when I was in primary school. My boyfriend and I decided that since we were holidaying in Sydney, to take a visit to Canberra. It was his first trip to Australia, so it made sense to take him to our nation's capital. He loved it! I loved it! The tour group was great. Everyone was from all over the world! The tour guide/bus driver was fantastic! He was very knowledgeable and friendly, and did a great job coordinating everything. This was definitely a worthwhile tour!

Doing what: Canberra Day Trip from Sydney

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2008

This is really a good value for the money. I came to Australia for the first time and really wanted to have a tour which would give me a detailed guided tour to Canberra. This trip to Canberra is definitely what I was looking for; it gave me everything and covered every aspect of Canberra I was looking for. Most importantly, I loved the way our guide explained everything to us in a very nice and patient manner. I will surely recommend this tour to my friends, and it is a great value of the money. I would like to thank Viator for this memorable trip to Canberra.

Doing what: Canberra Day Trip from Sydney

4 star rating: Recommended
April 2014

It was a nice relaxed trip. A bit long, but John our driver stopped both en-route and on the return for a break. The first stop was at the Veteran's Memorial. There we met our local tour guide for the day who was very informative. This is one of the most spectacular monuments we have seen. It was impossible to see the entire facility in the 1.5 hours allotted, but it gave a good insight into the commitment of the men and women who fought for both Australia and in other conflicts around the world. The monument also has a restaurant that was rather expensive and not that good. If you plan on eating lunch that day, the monument is the only stop for food, with the exception of a bakery rest stop en-route to Canberra.
The second stop was the National Gallery of Art. This was a large collection of art from around the world with a nice assortment of Aboriginal contributions.
The third stop was the new Parliament Building. The Australians invested a lot of time and money into planning this large structure that houses both houses of the parliament. Since most legislative centers like Washington DC are housed in the original capitol buildings, it was interesting to see how the Australians have made this facility both modern and in keeping with the styles of the past. Following we drove by most of the embassies located close to the parliament.
The trip does consume one entire day, but well worth it. On the way back we stopped at the number one rated bakery in state. It was deserving of its honors.

Doing what: Canberra Explorer: Australia's Capital City Tour from Sydney

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2013

My husband and I enjoyed this trip as we had never been to Canberra. The trip out and back took up the bulk of the day so tours were quite short though worth the visit. We really wanted to see the War Memorial and that didn't disappoint. Squeezed in a 30 minute stop at one of the Art Galleries, as not enough time, then to Parliament House. Totally agree with comments made by another recent visitor in March 2013. We are planning another trip to Canberra next year so this trip was well worth the time and money spent. Thanks also to our drive, Neil. Well done.

Doing what: Canberra Explorer: Australia's Capital City Tour from Sydney

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message