Insider's Guide to Sydney

Major attractions, tips and our top things to see and do.

Get the
Inside Scoop

Privacy Policy

Call (888) 651-9785

New Year's Eve in Sydney is always a spectacle to remember. Unlike some other holidays which can be overlooked, avoided, or under-appreciated, the Australians consistently ring-in the New Year with verve. Part of this is due to January ushering-in ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 32 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Benita G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Magnificent. Surely a bucket list item, absolutely lovely evening, fantastic fireworks at 10 and midnight, and just the best way to experience the opera house, certainly!

Doing what: New Year's Eve Opera Gala at the Sydney Opera House

DANIELLE L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2016

Wonderful evening spent in the Sydney Opera
I was able to see the New Year fireworks from the opera. Very nice!

Doing what: New Year's Eve Opera Gala at the Sydney Opera House

Pashin M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

Mind blowing...Lovely performance...The staff members of Opera house were very warm and welcoming as well:...Paashin :

Doing what: New Year's Eve Opera Gala at the Sydney Opera House

Deesalim

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

I cannot tell you how amazing this night was!

Such a wonderful experience, ONCE in a lifetime:

Food was good, drinks were good, loved our time there!

Doing what: Sydney Harbour New Year's Eve Cocktail Cruise

Jennifer C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

It was brilliant and a memory that we will cherish. The whole event was so well organised from beginning to end. The music and the singers were spectacular and could not believe how quickly the evening went. Then to finish off with the tremedous firework display which we enjoyed from the top terrace.

Doing what: New Year's Eve Opera Gala at the Sydney Opera House

Stephen G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

Amazing, great concert and view of fireworks.

Doing what: New Year's Eve Opera Gala at the Sydney Opera House

Richard M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

The opera and the fireworks were wonderful!

Doing what: New Year's Eve Opera Performance at the Sydney Opera House

Grant H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

it was excellent both the service and food

Doing what: New Year's Eve at Sydney Tower 360 Bar and Dining

lodd

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

Best time of my life with my family 2015 would be the best year....

Doing what: Sydney Harbour New Year's Eve Cocktail Cruise

Gladys C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2015

This event opera la boheme at sydney opera house on 12/31 was amazing. I had a glass of champagne before opera. My seat was great. After seeing act 1 and 2 out to balony for fireworks. Then back to act 3 and 4 walk out and see the 10:30 fireworks.

Doing what: New Year's Eve Opera Performance at the Sydney Opera House

G J C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2014

Great cruise - a lifetime experience - just a hassle getting the boat voucher from ATS

Doing what: Sydney Harbour New Year's Eve Cocktail Cruise

Brian R United Kingdom

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2010

The view of the firework display from the ship in the harbour area was awesome. It was difficult to know in which direction to look.

Doing what: Sydney Harbour New Year's Eve Cocktail Cruise

Anonymous

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2010

A once in a lifetime experience, not to be missed.

Doing what: Sydney Harbour New Year's Eve Cocktail Cruise

Brian C

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2016

Excellent experience, excellent boat and the excellent crew. The experience measured up to expectations, the boat surpassed expectations and comparable options and the crew definite got it done that night. Definitely choose this tour if you want a top 5 Sydney NYE experience.

Doing what: Sydney Harbour New Year's Eve Cocktail Cruise

Loriel L

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2015

I wouldn't have wanted to be anywhere else on New Year's eve! The views of the harbour, the fireworks, and the brudge from onboard was second to none. The crew, especially Dan, was friendly and professional. The food was quite good, served to temperature, and plentiful. I say go!!!

Doing what: Sydney Harbour New Year's Eve Cocktail Cruise

Mark B

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2014

It was the best new years Eve that i have ever had. Sydney being one of the most beautiful city's in the world only added to the experience. But you had the added bonus of seeing the fireworks from the water. What a view it was, the show was second to none.
The staff on board were friendly and i were at hand with food and drink, which seemed to be endless. There was a good choice of food and i am sure there would have been something for everyone.
After a bad 2013 i had at least a memorable day to go out on. I had a fantastic time.

Doing what: Sydney Harbour New Year's Eve Cocktail Cruise

SANDRA P

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2011

Absolutely fantastic experience, the band and staff were awesome. Pricey for New Year, but definately the place to be for the fireworks........Champagne and drinks where non stop, food was excellently delivered as canap'es.... Once in a life time experience for us a family of 4; 18 and 20year old children...... Thank you..

Doing what: Sydney Harbour New Year's Eve Tall Ship Dinner Cruise

LUIZ CARLOS O. D Brazil

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2010

I recommend the Sydney Harbour New Years Eve Cocktail Cruise because it is beautiful and terrific, but there is a big problem for me, sometimes the music is too loud. I am not a young man anymore!

Doing what: Sydney Harbour New Year's Eve Cocktail Cruise

Karyn M

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2010

We enjoyed the evening, but had been advised by yourselves that the meal was a seated meal at shared tables. It was a slight disappointment that the meal was actually a buffet meal with space very limited, but enjoyable all the same.

Doing what: Sydney Harbour New Year's Eve Cocktail Cruise

Geert K Oman

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2010

Had a great time, only comments would be too long to queue at the bar for drinks, could have had more servers walking around with bottles of drink. Food was too little in quantity. Gad a couple of samosas and spring rolls all night. Being a vegetarian there was not much choice although I did request vegetarian whilst making the booking. Apart from that, great evening!

Doing what: Sydney Harbour New Year's Eve Cocktail Cruise

David Y USA

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2010

Had a great time. Met some fun people. Syndey harbour from a boat is fantastic. Only thing I would improve is to have more bars on the boat. There was always a huge crowd and wait to get a drink - maybe separating the champagne and wine from the call drinks would have made it better.

Doing what: Sydney Harbour New Year's Eve Cocktail Cruise

K30eel

3 star rating: Worth doing
January 2015

Never got any info about which boat we we're suppose to be on, had to call America for further info. Please make sure you tell others in future as it was very stressful!!
Food and drink on the boat was amazing with fab staff.
The boat for the count down was blocked by another boat right in front.

Doing what: Sydney Harbour New Year's Eve Cocktail Cruise

Kevin C

3 star rating: Worth doing
January 2014

I hope someone is reading this. I saw a few 3-Star reviews of the Bella Vista, but was just glad to get a ticket - I wish I had paid more attention. To view the Sydney New Year's Eve celebration is a must, to do it on a boat in the harbor is perfect, but the Belle Vista left much to be desired. There was plenty of mediocre food and drink, but I stopped eating when I watched not one but 4 male employees leave the bathroom without even attempting to wash their hands (one did grab a paper towel on the way out). Then, during the midnight show, 3 employees walked out on an "off limits" area to view the show and blocked the view of at least a dozen of us. I couldn't get a picture of the bridge without them in it. Oh yeah, we ran into another boat - it wasn't too serious, but where did they learn how to drive? I'm glad we saw the show and survived, but I would not go on this boat.

Doing what: Sydney Harbour New Year's Eve Cocktail Cruise

Marilyn A USA

3 star rating: Worth doing
January 2014

I am so mad I chickened out and did not go. I watched it all from my window. I was afraid I would not be able to get back to my hotel.

Doing what: Sydney Harbour New Year's Eve Tall Ship Dinner Cruise

Marie M USA

3 star rating: Worth doing
January 2011

The harbour point was hard to find, others had just as much difficulty as us. The person of contact wasn't visable, but he started running around so everyone found him. The location of the ship was great, the food was pretty good, the unlimited drinks were good and they didn't make us feel bad since I don't drink. But the 5 hours of Irish folk music really got to me by the end of the nite. It wasn't music to dance by, the 1st hour was alright but after awhile it was annoying. And since every boat was in the harbour we had to wait to dock, unfortunately we were one of the last ones to dock. So sitting in the harbour for an hour, with boat fumes wasn't great. We got back to the dock at 2am. The fireworks were great and considering the view it was very memorable.

Doing what: Sydney Harbour New Year's Eve Tall Ship Dinner Cruise

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message