Insider's Guide to Sydney

Major attractions, tips and our top things to see and do.

Get the
Inside Scoop

Privacy Policy

Call (888) 651-9785

The east coast of Australia acts as a 'whale highway' for humpback whales, which, from May to December, cruise close to Sydney's shore on their annual migration. During this time, you are virtually guaranteed to see humpbacks, dolphins, other sea ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 148 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Stephanie G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

Amazing... Loved every second. Even towards the end of migration we managed to spot 3/4 different mammals. Steer clear if you suffer with sea sickness though.

Doing what: Sydney Whale-Watching Cruise Including Lunch

Alex U

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

Very enjoyable, lived up to all my expectations. Saw several whales

Doing what: Sydney Eco Whale Watching Small Group Cruise

Stella R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

I highly recommend this trip, we had a guide called biggles who was fantastic and certainly knew where to go and see the whales, he was very knowledgeable. The barbecue lunch was very nice, a very well organised trip

Doing what: Sydney Whale-Watching Cruise Including Lunch

Caroline W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

What a fantastic experience! The crew was professional, the food was good, and the weather was beautiful. Most importantly, the crew cares deeply about the whales. Our commentator was incredibly knowledgeable and, while they always worked to get us a good view, safety of the whales was of utmost importance. Thanks for a fantastic day!

Doing what: Sydney Whale-Watching Cruise Including Lunch

Penny P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

Saw a pod of a mother with 2 babies! Lots of scenery besides.

Doing what: Sydney Whale-Watching Cruise

Sarah G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

Guide was informative and friendly, thoroughly enjoyed every minute and well worth the money

Doing what: Sydney Whale-Watching by Speed Boat

Gary G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

Excellent nice guys good boat at least 5 different whales including mother and calf

Doing what: Sydney Whale-Watching Cruise

Thi Quynh Ngan N

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

Absolutely excellent experience. Highly recommended !

Doing what: Sydney Whale-Watching Cruise

bramers

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

Nice tour - unfortunately the whales didn't cooperate, but that's life. I'd take it again anyway!

Doing what: Sydney Whale-Watching Cruise Including Lunch

Steve

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

Really fun, definitely worth it, so exciting to see the whales. Very relaxing.

Doing what: Sydney Eco Whale Watching Small Group Cruise

Vincent L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

The cruise was filled with first-rate information. And the guides were attentive to finding whales to watch but stayed with them for a considerable time so that we could really experience seeing them.

Doing what: Sydney Whale-Watching Cruise

Laura P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

The tour was simply amazing!
Our guide was extremely nice and since it was very windy that day, he also offered us to go on a day with less wind.
The speedboat ride itself was fun too, but I would recommend to bring chewing gum if you get seasick easily.
All in all: awesome tour, I would definitely do it again!

Doing what: Sydney Whale-Watching by Speed Boat

andrew r

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

Very enjoyable and good value for money

Doing what: Sydney Whale-Watching Cruise

Penny L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

Very informative and the whales are magnificent

Doing what: Sydney Whale-Watching Cruise Including Lunch

shahril r

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

Great whale watching, the boat very near and manage to capture the biggest creature in the sea

Doing what: Sydney Whale-Watching Cruise

Elke S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

Great trip!!

Doing what: Sydney Whale-Watching Cruise

jjfisher406

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

Unbelievable tour. Our guide, Biggles, was extremely knowledgeable about whales and kept us informed the whole tour. We saw many whales and had an enjoyable lunch.

Doing what: Sydney Whale-Watching Cruise Including Lunch

Ashley M L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

Awesome! The ride out was a little rough but we saw whales the whole time once we left the harbor!

Doing what: Sydney Whale-Watching Cruise

David Y

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

We had a great afternoon on the Katrina. Tony is a great guy, knowledgeable, relaxed and a good host. We saw one whale and would have liked to see more but on the way back we saw a big pod of dolphins many of which came up to, and beside, the boat. There was no strict time or hurry to get back and we had the boat to ourselves, which was a bonus. It is such a better way to go out to sea than on those large crowded boats. We will go out again with Tony in the Spring.

Doing what: Sydney Eco Whale Watching Small Group Cruise

Alexander S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

Great tour, I took some great pictures of humpback whales, highly recommended.

Doing what: Sydney Whale-Watching Cruise Including Lunch

OZYMIKE2 Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

We had a great time,the crew were very good and very informative,the information they gave us in relation to the migration of the whales made the journey very exciting and interesting.We saw a lot of whales,large and small and one of them put on a great show for us.I highly recommend this tour to everyone who is interested in seeing the whales.Thank you Captain Cook Tours and Viator.

Doing what: Sydney Whale-Watching Cruise

Vic

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

These guys care about the whales, but still got plenty of whale viewing. Great day out!

Doing what: Sydney Whale-Watching Cruise Including Lunch

Laureen T

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

Excellent trip. Definitely recommend it. Knowledgeable staff and whale sightings made this trip great.

Doing what: Sydney Whale-Watching Cruise

David W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

It is excellent tour for me, and have a good service as well.

Doing what: Sydney Whale-Watching Cruise

Darryl M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

This tour was amazing!

Doing what: Sydney Whale-Watching Cruise Including Lunch

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message