Many of the fine Australian wines served at Sydney's world-class restaurants and wine bars are sourced from New South Wales' famous Hunter Valley vineyards. The Hunter Region is around 150km (95 miles) north of Sydney, and it produces some of ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 179 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

Friendly and informative guide. Good wine

Doing what: Small-Group Hunter Valley Wine and Cheese Tasting Tour from Sydney

Lucy
United Kingdom

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

We were the only two people on the tour so had a private tour.
The visit to the animal sanctuary was amazing. We were brought a baby alligator to touch and a koala - just for our tour. We were also given tea and cake.
On to the Hunter valley again we were the only two in the small winery. At Mount View we ate cheese and crackers and sampled some amazing wines. The girl even gave us wines not usually for tasting as there was only two of us. No pressure to buy. But we did and found it was very reasonably priced. 15 a bottle upwards.
The second tour was a larger winery which was also very quite we went in August on a weekday - Bimbagim. The guy behind the bar was funny and friendly. It did not feel awkward that there was only the two of us. He even took some photographs for us with the back drop of the Hunter Valley.
We then travelled for our lunch about 1pm feeling very full of wine. The place for lunch is also a brewery. The beers and ciders were good. We also got a large glass of red and white table wine on the table each.
The food was delicious.
I do have one thing that could have been improved. Our tour guide was very knowledgeable, friendly and very, very chatty the whole journey however it would have been nice if we could have eaten our lunch as a couple. As this was a bit awkward especially since he was sharing our food.

Doing what: Hunter Valley Wineries and Wilderness Small-Group Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

Excellent tripand the wine tasting in hunter valley.

Doing what: Small-Group Hunter Valley Wine and Cheese Tasting Tour from Sydney

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

WE had a great time on this tour. Our guide, Rafael, was friendly, informative, and helpful. He really made this tour very special We enjoyed the time at the reptile park....enjoyed the animals very much, especially the kangaroos!
Each winery had their own high points.....the tastings were delicious....the servers were generous with their time and tastings.
We were very impressed with the entire day. Thank you so much!!

Doing what: Hunter Valley Wineries and Wilderness Small-Group Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

What a great Tour. The Small Group size was perfect and our guide was personable, knowledgable, and informative on many subjects including the history of Hunter Valley Vineyards and Wines. He also provided wonderful scenic commentary during the 2 hour drive from Sydney to Hunter Valley which made the time fly by and well spent.

Doing what: Small-Group Hunter Valley Wine and Cheese Tasting Tour from Sydney

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

Boom!
This tour is for anyone who would like information on wine grown in Hunter Valley. I had never been to a wine tasting. Our host was amazingly knowledgable and polite. He drove us to a winery where we learned so much about wine! The animals and the wine and the food were absolutely perfect!

Doing what: Hunter Valley Wineries and Wilderness Small-Group Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

The Australia Reptile Park was a really special experience...and they had many animals other than reptiles too! The koala and kangaroos were adorable and friendly. The spider exhibit was also very cool. The winery tours were great we went to one boutique winery and one larger winery and lunch was excellent. I highly recommend this tour! Excellent value for the price.

Doing what: Hunter Valley Wineries and Wilderness Small-Group Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Tyler was outstanding and gave us the perfect amount of attention and time to do each wine tasting and also very friendly. He gave us much info about Australia that we could never have gained on our own. Plus, being from the U.S., we did not feel comfortable driving in Australia. The wildlife park was a definite highlight of our whole trip and will not be forgotten! Wine tasting was substantial with a great lunch at the end. We just wish we could buy these wines here in the states!

Doing what: Hunter Valley Wineries and Wilderness Small-Group Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

I loved the freindly staff at Mount Veiw, the wines were delicous and the views were amazing. I enjoyed visiting the reptile park, But I must say, the thing that made this tour the best was our super friendly, smart and charming tour guide, Rapheal Pall. He was the absolute best!!

Doing what: Hunter Valley Wineries and Wilderness Small-Group Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

A long but wonderful day. The 3 vineyards/wineries we visited were all very different and the wine also very different despite the close proximity to each other. Learnt a lot on this trip not only about the Hunter Valley and its wines but also the wine industry in Australia.

Doing what: Best Hunter Valley Wine Tasting Day Tour from Sydney

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

Excellent. We had a wonderful driver/guide who even took us on a dirt road near a winery at dusk to see
kangaroos in the wild. Exciting since we saw 2 males boxing each other plus at least 100 hopping around.
Much better than in a sanctuary. The wineries offered some good wines and all in all it was a great all day trip. Wine lovers will enjoy this trip for sure.

Doing what: Best Hunter Valley Wine Tasting Day Tour from Sydney

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

The tour was fantastic! The best part was Sasha our tour guide. She was wonderful, knowledgeable and entertaining. The wineries selected were very nice and lunch was terrific! Very nice tour van and great that there were only 10 of us. I highly recommend this tour. Cheers, Lisa and Elisabeth

Doing what: Small-Group Hunter Valley Wine and Cheese Tasting Tour from Sydney

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

we had a good day the wineries very good and the wine very very good

Doing what: Hunter Valley Wineries and Wilderness Small-Group Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2015

Stopped at 3 wineries for tastings and education. All presentations were very good. Tastings were extensive, at least 6 different wines at each stop. The lunch was at a Brew Pub and was family style Italian. It rivaled any fine restaurant in the area.

Doing what: Best Hunter Valley Wine Tasting Day Tour from Sydney

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2015

The tour was long in terms of the bus ride there and back. Visited four wineries and the wine flowed freely. Lunch could have been much better---small café for 80 or so people. Should have just gone to lunch on our own. Bus driver was knowledgeable and had special things to share. Actually drove into a field so we could see kangaroos up-close in the wild. Good wine and great tour.

Doing what: Best Hunter Valley Wine Tasting Day Tour from Sydney

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2015

Had a great time! Guide was wonderful wineries where all good choices?

Doing what: Best Hunter Valley Wine Tasting Day Tour from Sydney

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

Amazing experience! Very nice guide and beautiful views. Wines tastes good.

Doing what: 2-Day Hunter Valley Small-Group Eco-Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

Really enjoyed this trip. The coach driver ( John ) was great- really looked after us and was very friendly. He really could not have done more to make my day so special. Great wine tasting especially at Draytons and Mc Guigans. Highly recommended

Doing what: Best Hunter Valley Wine Tasting Day Tour from Sydney

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

The all day tour was as described on the webpage and it was excellent. Our tour guide, Adam really made our day. He was knowledgeable, friendly stayed with us throughout the day although he did not join us for all the wine tastings we had. Our tour bus held about 26 people so we never had a problem getting off or on the coach and everyone got back on time.
We had 4 tastings and presentations plus lunch. At the McGuigan's Winery we had samples from 11 bottles but fortunately each sample was small.
All in all a cracking day out in the Hunter Valley.

Doing what: Best Hunter Valley Wine Tasting Day Tour from Sydney

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2014

Great day out. Our driver/guide, Mina, was knowledgeable and good fun.
Everything worked well. The wine tasting was excellent with no pressure to buy. A recommended tour for adults with a plentiful supply of booze.

Doing what: Best Hunter Valley Wine Tasting Day Tour from Sydney

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

Excellent day out. We visited four wineries, each in lovely locations and beautifully maintained and presented. Interesting and informative talks and descriptions at each tasting session, and lots of LOVELY samples to try. Really nice lunch, and even more wines to try. Could have happily done the same trip the next day again (and the next, and next, and next etc.) if my liver would have let me. It really does not matter whether you are a wine expert, a keen learner or a novice, this is a day out to enjoy.

Doing what: Best Hunter Valley Wine Tasting Day Tour from Sydney

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

If you like food and wine then this is a great tour for you! Although I didn't find a lot of wines that I absolutely loved, the experience was amazing. It was really well paced and the food was delicious!! Hunter valley is a beautiful place!

Doing what: Hunter Valley Wineries and Wilderness Small-Group Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

I loved this, too. So much wine!. We got to taste a lot of wine. The minimum was 2 at the place we ate lunch. We typically tasted about 8 wines at each stop. The wines themselves were very good and not sold outside the US. I would recommend this trip, too. It's a good way to get to the valley without having to drive yourself. Important if you're from a country that drives on the opposite side of the road. I would recommend this trip for wine lovers.

Doing what: Best Hunter Valley Wine Tasting Day Tour from Sydney

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

The tour was great. Cameron our guide was great. He did a great job. How come lindemens wine are so expensive there. They only cost 7.00 in the us

Doing what: Best Hunter Valley Wine Tasting Day Tour from Sydney

Susan Lim
Singapore

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

The wine tasting was good and with a lot of good wine, will recommend to all my friends.

Doing what: Best Hunter Valley Wine Tasting Day Tour from Sydney

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message