Many of the fine Australian wines served at Sydney's world-class restaurants and wine bars are sourced from New South Wales' famous Hunter Valley vineyards. The Hunter Region is around 150km (95 miles) north of Sydney, and it produces some of ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 213 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

tiffchen1124

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

Jim was a great tour guide who kept us entertained throughout the trip. The selection of a large commercial winery, smaller winery, and a boutique winery was great for experiencing what is on offer at the Hunter Valley. Although the cheese tasting wasn't as elaborate as the wine tasting, I still ended up buying some of the cheese that was sampled. Lunch was provided which was a nice surprise.

Doing what: Small-Group Hunter Valley Wine and Cheese Tasting Tour from Sydney

Robert D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Excellent trip to the Hunter Valley. Our coach driver was very informative and very amusing. A thoroughly enjoyable day with an excellent selection of wines to taste and a more than ample lunch included,

Doing what: Hunter Valley Wine Tasting Day Tour from Sydney

George M T

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

We really enjoyed our wine and cheese tasting tour with Nigel. He made it a great experience, answered all our questions, and a good view of life in NSW and the areas we passed through and the wineries we visited, and we met some really nice people on our tour. Going on a small group tour lets you meet other people but also you get a more personalized tour. Enjoyed all the wineries, and the cheese. Great day. Learned things about wine and wine making I didn't know and we got to drink some really good wine.

Doing what: Small-Group Hunter Valley Wine and Cheese Tasting Tour from Sydney

valerie b

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

This tour was a great tour for a couple of reasons. I now know I prefer small group tours, the guide was very pleasant to be with. The wineries we visited were hospitable and generous with their wine selections. Lunch was included. We ate at Leogate Winery and it was exceptional. Highly recommend!

Doing what: Hunter Valley Wineries and Wilderness Small-Group Tour

Claude I

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2016

Not only did we taste great wines at three wineries and have a delicious lunch at the Hunter Valley Resort, we got to see kangaroos on the loose at Hope Estates winery. Beautiful area and good wines.

Doing what: Hunter Valley Wine Tasting Day Tour from Sydney

Jane Jamie H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2016

Paul was an amazing guide!! He was extremely knowledgeable and moved us through the activities in a way that allowed us just enough time at each spot without feeling rushed. It was wonderful to be able to see the animals/reptiles at the park just as it was opening, and the wine tastings were all enjoyable. Thank you, Paul!

Doing what: Hunter Valley Wineries and Wilderness Small-Group Tour

jimmyz

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2016

As expected, knowledgeable guide, great wine and scenery!!

Doing what: Hunter Valley Wineries and Wilderness Small-Group Tour

Janice J

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2016

We really enjoyed this tour. It was a great introduction to Australia after arriving the day before. Not too exhausting and we saw a couple of wild kangaroos at the wine vineyard.

Doing what: Hunter Valley Wineries and Wilderness Small-Group Tour

Frank

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2016

This was a very enjoyable tour through AATKings. After picking us up from our hotel we did a short tour of Sydney before heading out to Hunter Valley. The bus driver Tom was very informative as we made our way up to the wineries. He made the trip very entertaining with his comments and his wit. The first winery Hope gave us a tour of the operations as we tasted several wines. They also had a brewery with several kinds of beer to sample for a price. Interestingly, there was a stage on their property used for concerts with acts such as Rod Stewart, Bruce Springsteen and the Rolling Stones performing in the past. Kangaroos could be seen hoping on the property.
We had a very delicious lunch at the second winery where a couple of glasses of wine were served during lunch. Again, there was a brewery at this location and various kinds of beer could be purchased.
The third winery McGuigan gave us a sample of six to eight types of wine. The presentation was terrific and the wines were very good.
I would recommend this trip to anyone who enjoys a good time and a relaxing day visiting several wineries.

Doing what: Hunter Valley Wine Tasting Day Tour from Sydney

Snow Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2016

Wonderful day out, with a very knowledgeable and fun driver thanks Jim! Tasted some wonderful wines and took some home too. Comfy ride, good company, fine wines and some tasty morsels all helped make the day.

Doing what: Small-Group Hunter Valley Wine and Cheese Tasting Tour from Sydney

Yau Hing Y

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2016

Steve, the guide, was great! The wines were interesting too because some of them are quite rare, eg chambourcin, and/or aren and #39;t sold outside the wineries. This is definitely one tour I and #39;ll consider signing up for again and again!

Doing what: Small-Group Hunter Valley Wine and Cheese Tasting Tour from Sydney

Diane S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

This tour was enjoyable and well worth the cost. Our tour guide was great, giving us a lot of information about the area, the wines were good and the wilderness park was fun.

Doing what: Hunter Valley Wineries and Wilderness Small-Group Tour

KEL50

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2015

Outstanding small group allowing to listen and ask questions along the way...Visited two wineries and had a fantastic lunch at a private resort.

Doing what: Hunter Valley Wineries and Wilderness Small-Group Tour

Richard T

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2015

Great guide, lovely wines, great scenery.

Doing what: Hunter Valley Wine Tasting Day Tour from Sydney

HSIAO YI K

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2015

It's very good taste wine tour and lovely day.

Doing what: Small-Group Hunter Valley Wine and Cheese Tasting Tour from Sydney

Diane F United States of ... 

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

The tour was excellent except for the mix-up in our pick-up . The driver had a different time than we had in our voucher and we missed the bus and had to take a cab to eventually meet him. Also during the wine tasting which was done very well, we would have liked to have some crackers and/or cheese to go along with the wine. You are tasting several different wines during the trip and the addition of some crackers/bread and or cheese would be appreciated.

Doing what: Hunter Valley Wine Tasting Day Tour from Sydney

Cruiser Craig

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

What an enjoyable day tour from Sydney to a beautiful valley with an informative guide/driver, a tour of Hope Winery with ample wine tasting, a delicious lunch with rather mediocre wine pairings, a visit to McGuigans Winery with AMPLE tasting, some mediocre, some very good. Excellent opportunity to taste, rate, and learn about Australian wines. The stop at the end of the day at the boutique village of Hunter Valley Gardens with its overpriced souvenirs was thankfully short. We enjoyed briefly walking around but that stop could have been skipped. Nevertheless highly recommended tour!

Doing what: Hunter Valley Wine Tasting Day Tour from Sydney

Laurence M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

It was a great way to see the wine country and also the animals and reptiles.

Hunter Valley was superb and the group of 7 was just the right size. Not only did we learn about wine and wildlife but it was a great exposure to how beautiful that part of Australia was.

Our guide, Lindsay, was knowledgeable and courteous and paced the trip perfectly.

If you don't have much time, as we did, this tour is a great use of it.

Doing what: Hunter Valley Wineries and Wilderness Small-Group Tour

Melanie R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

The trip started with our lovely driver John, who was a great touring guide and new lots of stuff.
The food was great, really big lunch.
The wine tasting itself was interesting too because after more then 10 different wine, I knew what I like and what I didn't like.

I would say, if you want to see Hunter Valley, please don't be shy and book this tour.

Thank you John

Doing what: Hunter Valley Wine Tasting Day Tour from Sydney

Milts

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

Wine became our coffee during this day but I can't help to say that I loved it! Wines here were really great and the lunch we had was awesome.

Doing what: Hunter Valley Wineries and Wilderness Small-Group Tour

patty Hong Kong

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

Needless to say, this tour by AAT Kings is well-organised and worth the money. Stephen, the driver/guide has extensive knowledge of history of the vineyards visiting. We tasted some good wines that are exclusively sold at the cellar door. Time is adequate for exploring each vineyard leisurely and we can't do it ourselves without joining this tour

Doing what: Hunter Valley Wine Tasting Day Tour from Sydney

SIEW HENG T

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

Friendly and informative guide. Good wine

Doing what: Small-Group Hunter Valley Wine and Cheese Tasting Tour from Sydney

Lucy United Kingdom

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

We were the only two people on the tour so had a private tour.
The visit to the animal sanctuary was amazing. We were brought a baby alligator to touch and a koala - just for our tour. We were also given tea and cake.
On to the Hunter valley again we were the only two in the small winery. At Mount View we ate cheese and crackers and sampled some amazing wines. The girl even gave us wines not usually for tasting as there was only two of us. No pressure to buy. But we did and found it was very reasonably priced. 15 a bottle upwards.
The second tour was a larger winery which was also very quite we went in August on a weekday - Bimbagim. The guy behind the bar was funny and friendly. It did not feel awkward that there was only the two of us. He even took some photographs for us with the back drop of the Hunter Valley.
We then travelled for our lunch about 1pm feeling very full of wine. The place for lunch is also a brewery. The beers and ciders were good. We also got a large glass of red and white table wine on the table each.
The food was delicious.
I do have one thing that could have been improved. Our tour guide was very knowledgeable, friendly and very, very chatty the whole journey however it would have been nice if we could have eaten our lunch as a couple. As this was a bit awkward especially since he was sharing our food.

Doing what: Hunter Valley Wineries and Wilderness Small-Group Tour

Lixin Z

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

Excellent tripand the wine tasting in hunter valley.

Doing what: Small-Group Hunter Valley Wine and Cheese Tasting Tour from Sydney

Leonard T

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

WE had a great time on this tour. Our guide, Rafael, was friendly, informative, and helpful. He really made this tour very special We enjoyed the time at the reptile park....enjoyed the animals very much, especially the kangaroos!
Each winery had their own high points.....the tastings were delicious....the servers were generous with their time and tastings.
We were very impressed with the entire day. Thank you so much!!

Doing what: Hunter Valley Wineries and Wilderness Small-Group Tour

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message