Many of the fine Australian wines served at Sydney’s world-class restaurants and wine bars are sourced from New South Wales’ famous Hunter Valley vineyards. The Hunter Region is around 150km (95 miles) north of Sydney, and it produces some of ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 132 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

We had a small group (about a dozen people) so we fit nicely into a mini-van. Our driver pointed out interesting sites and landmarks on the drive to and from the Hunter Valley and on the way back we even saw a 'mob' of kangaroos out in a field. The wineries themselves were excellent; my husband and I both enjoyed the wonderful variety of reds and whites, especially the shiraz and shiraz blends. Lunch was fine and included a glass of red and white with the meal. Very enjoyable trip and no complaints at all.

Doing what: Hunter Valley Wine Tasting Day Tour from Sydney

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

This was a wonderful day in the Hunter Valley and worth the price of the tour. I highly recommend it. It included hotel pick up and drop off which makes transport easy. We went to 5 different vineyards throughout the day tasting wines. The third stop is where we ate lunch. The food was yummy and I gobbled it all down. They pour you about 4 sips of wine but you taste about 10 different types of wine so by lunch I was really enjoying myself and the food did absorb the alcohol. It was a fun day.One of the places had a cheese shop so I got some cheese and water crackers and brought them to the hotel with me to have a snack through the rest of my stay in Sydney. I wish I had gotten more cheese so that I would have had some to take with me on the plane for the long trip home.

Doing what: Hunter Valley Wine Tasting Day Tour from Sydney

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

Fabulous tour guides, wealth of knowledge. Beautiful wines and experience overall. Must absolutely do.

Doing what: Hunter Valley Wine Tasting Day Tour from Sydney

Denise C
United Kingdom

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

I have highly recommended the tour, because once we actually did it, it was an amazing tour of the Hunter Valley and 3 of its boutique wineries, and the free lunch venue offered the opportunity of a little bit of shopping in small bespoke outlets. I would however, also recommend that the pick up details are made very clear to the company as we were left behind on our first attempt at this trip as they had us down as being picked up from another hotel. We did manage to reschedule our itinerary to fit in the trip a week later.

Doing what: Small-Group Hunter Valley Wine and Cheese Tasting Tour from Sydney

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2014

We did this the second day of our trip and met some really fun people. Paul was our tour guide and was very funny. The first winery had the most beautiful views and ambiance and we ended the day with a wonderful lunch. Couldn't have been better!

Doing what: Hunter Valley Wineries and Wilderness Small-Group Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2014

Had a fantastic day, tour was great, driver was extremely friendly and had a lot of knowledge about the wineries and the region. The day of our tour they had a lot of people delayed and there ended up only being 4 of us on it, they still took us which was great as they possibly would have run at a loss for the day. I totally recommend this tour.

Doing what: Small-Group Hunter Valley Wine and Cheese Tasting Tour from Sydney

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2014

I really loved Hunter Valley Wine Tour. We had beautiful weather; I adored the boutique wineries we visited, each stop was very different and educational. Also Mark our driver was fantastic. He was knowledgeable and friendly, which made the entire tour that much more enjoyable!

Doing what: Small-Group Hunter Valley Wine and Cheese Tasting Tour from Sydney

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2014

I cannot praise this trip highly enough. Our guide Rae was brilliant, not only was she highly informative and professional, she was also great company and really good fun. The wine tasting at three separate winerys was exceptionally well organised, lunch was lovely and we were well looked after. I just wish I still had it all to look forward to again. They even managed to lay on a group of wild Kangaroos. Our group age range was 21 - 77 and we all had a great day. Well done Viator especially Rae.

Doing what: Small-Group Hunter Valley Wine and Cheese Tasting Tour from Sydney

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2014

Very enjoyable day, Mark the tour guide and driver was extremely informative, friendly, and efficient. The wineries visited were all different, and interesting in their wine philosophies. Our companions were from various countries: U.K., Austria, Scotland, NZ (us), and even a couple from Queensland. A very worthwhile day out.

Doing what: Small-Group Hunter Valley Wine and Cheese Tasting Tour from Sydney

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2014

From start to finish this was an excellent tour. Our guide kept us entertained with the perfect mix of local facts/information and personal opinions/experiences. I would highly recommend this tour to anyone who loves wine, cheese and chocolate!

Doing what: Hunter Valley Wineries and Wilderness Small-Group Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2014

Really enjoyed this small group trip to Hunter valley. Our guide Scott was very knowledgable and because we visited smaller wineries it was much more personal . The animal park on the way was good because we got to go in before it officially opened. The only down side was the weather as it poured with rain but luckily not until after the animal park

Doing what: Hunter Valley Wineries and Wilderness Small-Group Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2014

excellent tour, visited some very good wineries . got told some very interesting facts about wine and how it is made, also tasted some great wines!!!, met some interesting people on this tour. if you like wine you will like this tour, also driver / guide was very friendly

Doing what: Small-Group Hunter Valley Wine and Cheese Tasting Tour from Sydney

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2014

We had a wonderful time. The wineries we visited were lovely and had beautiful atmospheres . We enjoyed all the wine tastings, and the fabulous yummy lunch. Also the beer tastings. We meet very nice people on our tour and enjoyed seeing the local scenery on the way to and from wineries. It was a Fun day.

Doing what: Hunter Valley Wine Tasting Day Tour from Sydney

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2014

Wonderful day. Great driver who was very knowledgeable and included everyone. The wineries were great to visit with awesome tastings.

Doing what: Hunter Valley Wine Tasting Day Tour from Sydney

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2014

Amazing trip. John our guide was very knowledgeable. The stop to see koalas and kangaroo made us feel like we were kids again. The cheese, wine, food and chocolate were perfect! Thank you Viator!

Doing what: Hunter Valley Wineries and Wilderness Small-Group Tour

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message