Many of the fine Australian wines served at Sydney's world-class restaurants and wine bars are sourced from New South Wales' famous Hunter Valley vineyards. The Hunter Region is around 150km (95 miles) north of Sydney, and it produces some of ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 196 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Diane S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

This tour was enjoyable and well worth the cost. Our tour guide was great, giving us a lot of information about the area, the wines were good and the wilderness park was fun.

Doing what: Hunter Valley Wineries and Wilderness Small-Group Tour

KEL50

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2015

Outstanding small group allowing to listen and ask questions along the way...Visited two wineries and had a fantastic lunch at a private resort.

Doing what: Hunter Valley Wineries and Wilderness Small-Group Tour

Richard T

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2015

Great guide, lovely wines, great scenery.

Doing what: Hunter Valley Wine Tasting Day Tour from Sydney

HSIAO YI K

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2015

It's very good taste wine tour and lovely day.

Doing what: Small-Group Hunter Valley Wine and Cheese Tasting Tour from Sydney

Diane F United States of ... 

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

The tour was excellent except for the mix-up in our pick-up . The driver had a different time than we had in our voucher and we missed the bus and had to take a cab to eventually meet him. Also during the wine tasting which was done very well, we would have liked to have some crackers and/or cheese to go along with the wine. You are tasting several different wines during the trip and the addition of some crackers/bread and or cheese would be appreciated.

Doing what: Hunter Valley Wine Tasting Day Tour from Sydney

Cruiser Craig

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

What an enjoyable day tour from Sydney to a beautiful valley with an informative guide/driver, a tour of Hope Winery with ample wine tasting, a delicious lunch with rather mediocre wine pairings, a visit to McGuigans Winery with AMPLE tasting, some mediocre, some very good. Excellent opportunity to taste, rate, and learn about Australian wines. The stop at the end of the day at the boutique village of Hunter Valley Gardens with its overpriced souvenirs was thankfully short. We enjoyed briefly walking around but that stop could have been skipped. Nevertheless highly recommended tour!

Doing what: Hunter Valley Wine Tasting Day Tour from Sydney

Laurence M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

It was a great way to see the wine country and also the animals and reptiles.

Hunter Valley was superb and the group of 7 was just the right size. Not only did we learn about wine and wildlife but it was a great exposure to how beautiful that part of Australia was.

Our guide, Lindsay, was knowledgeable and courteous and paced the trip perfectly.

If you don't have much time, as we did, this tour is a great use of it.

Doing what: Hunter Valley Wineries and Wilderness Small-Group Tour

Melanie R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

The trip started with our lovely driver John, who was a great touring guide and new lots of stuff.
The food was great, really big lunch.
The wine tasting itself was interesting too because after more then 10 different wine, I knew what I like and what I didn't like.

I would say, if you want to see Hunter Valley, please don't be shy and book this tour.

Thank you John

Doing what: Hunter Valley Wine Tasting Day Tour from Sydney

Milts

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

Wine became our coffee during this day but I can't help to say that I loved it! Wines here were really great and the lunch we had was awesome.

Doing what: Hunter Valley Wineries and Wilderness Small-Group Tour

patty Hong Kong

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

Needless to say, this tour by AAT Kings is well-organised and worth the money. Stephen, the driver/guide has extensive knowledge of history of the vineyards visiting. We tasted some good wines that are exclusively sold at the cellar door. Time is adequate for exploring each vineyard leisurely and we can't do it ourselves without joining this tour

Doing what: Hunter Valley Wine Tasting Day Tour from Sydney

SIEW HENG T

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

Friendly and informative guide. Good wine

Doing what: Small-Group Hunter Valley Wine and Cheese Tasting Tour from Sydney

Lucy United Kingdom

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

We were the only two people on the tour so had a private tour.
The visit to the animal sanctuary was amazing. We were brought a baby alligator to touch and a koala - just for our tour. We were also given tea and cake.
On to the Hunter valley again we were the only two in the small winery. At Mount View we ate cheese and crackers and sampled some amazing wines. The girl even gave us wines not usually for tasting as there was only two of us. No pressure to buy. But we did and found it was very reasonably priced. 15 a bottle upwards.
The second tour was a larger winery which was also very quite we went in August on a weekday - Bimbagim. The guy behind the bar was funny and friendly. It did not feel awkward that there was only the two of us. He even took some photographs for us with the back drop of the Hunter Valley.
We then travelled for our lunch about 1pm feeling very full of wine. The place for lunch is also a brewery. The beers and ciders were good. We also got a large glass of red and white table wine on the table each.
The food was delicious.
I do have one thing that could have been improved. Our tour guide was very knowledgeable, friendly and very, very chatty the whole journey however it would have been nice if we could have eaten our lunch as a couple. As this was a bit awkward especially since he was sharing our food.

Doing what: Hunter Valley Wineries and Wilderness Small-Group Tour

Lixin Z

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

Excellent tripand the wine tasting in hunter valley.

Doing what: Small-Group Hunter Valley Wine and Cheese Tasting Tour from Sydney

Leonard T

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

WE had a great time on this tour. Our guide, Rafael, was friendly, informative, and helpful. He really made this tour very special We enjoyed the time at the reptile park....enjoyed the animals very much, especially the kangaroos!
Each winery had their own high points.....the tastings were delicious....the servers were generous with their time and tastings.
We were very impressed with the entire day. Thank you so much!!

Doing what: Hunter Valley Wineries and Wilderness Small-Group Tour

John M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

What a great Tour. The Small Group size was perfect and our guide was personable, knowledgable, and informative on many subjects including the history of Hunter Valley Vineyards and Wines. He also provided wonderful scenic commentary during the 2 hour drive from Sydney to Hunter Valley which made the time fly by and well spent.

Doing what: Small-Group Hunter Valley Wine and Cheese Tasting Tour from Sydney

Joseph C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

Boom!
This tour is for anyone who would like information on wine grown in Hunter Valley. I had never been to a wine tasting. Our host was amazingly knowledgable and polite. He drove us to a winery where we learned so much about wine! The animals and the wine and the food were absolutely perfect!

Doing what: Hunter Valley Wineries and Wilderness Small-Group Tour

Jill J

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

The Australia Reptile Park was a really special experience...and they had many animals other than reptiles too! The koala and kangaroos were adorable and friendly. The spider exhibit was also very cool. The winery tours were great we went to one boutique winery and one larger winery and lunch was excellent. I highly recommend this tour! Excellent value for the price.

Doing what: Hunter Valley Wineries and Wilderness Small-Group Tour

uamomma

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Tyler was outstanding and gave us the perfect amount of attention and time to do each wine tasting and also very friendly. He gave us much info about Australia that we could never have gained on our own. Plus, being from the U.S., we did not feel comfortable driving in Australia. The wildlife park was a definite highlight of our whole trip and will not be forgotten! Wine tasting was substantial with a great lunch at the end. We just wish we could buy these wines here in the states!

Doing what: Hunter Valley Wineries and Wilderness Small-Group Tour

Gina R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

I loved the freindly staff at Mount Veiw, the wines were delicous and the views were amazing. I enjoyed visiting the reptile park, But I must say, the thing that made this tour the best was our super friendly, smart and charming tour guide, Rapheal Pall. He was the absolute best!!

Doing what: Hunter Valley Wineries and Wilderness Small-Group Tour

richvin

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

A long but wonderful day. The 3 vineyards/wineries we visited were all very different and the wine also very different despite the close proximity to each other. Learnt a lot on this trip not only about the Hunter Valley and its wines but also the wine industry in Australia.

Doing what: Hunter Valley Wine Tasting Day Tour from Sydney

Galeta C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

Excellent. We had a wonderful driver/guide who even took us on a dirt road near a winery at dusk to see
kangaroos in the wild. Exciting since we saw 2 males boxing each other plus at least 100 hopping around.
Much better than in a sanctuary. The wineries offered some good wines and all in all it was a great all day trip. Wine lovers will enjoy this trip for sure.

Doing what: Hunter Valley Wine Tasting Day Tour from Sydney

Elisabeth W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

The tour was fantastic! The best part was Sasha our tour guide. She was wonderful, knowledgeable and entertaining. The wineries selected were very nice and lunch was terrific! Very nice tour van and great that there were only 10 of us. I highly recommend this tour. Cheers, Lisa and Elisabeth

Doing what: Small-Group Hunter Valley Wine and Cheese Tasting Tour from Sydney

lyndat

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

we had a good day the wineries very good and the wine very very good

Doing what: Hunter Valley Wineries and Wilderness Small-Group Tour

Edwin L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2015

Stopped at 3 wineries for tastings and education. All presentations were very good. Tastings were extensive, at least 6 different wines at each stop. The lunch was at a Brew Pub and was family style Italian. It rivaled any fine restaurant in the area.

Doing what: Hunter Valley Wine Tasting Day Tour from Sydney

PICCONE

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2015

The tour was long in terms of the bus ride there and back. Visited four wineries and the wine flowed freely. Lunch could have been much better---small café for 80 or so people. Should have just gone to lunch on our own. Bus driver was knowledgeable and had special things to share. Actually drove into a field so we could see kangaroos up-close in the wild. Good wine and great tour.

Doing what: Hunter Valley Wine Tasting Day Tour from Sydney

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message