Taipei ATTRACTIONS See all

Taipei National Palace Museum

The incomparable collection of Chinese art in Taipei's National Palace Museum makes it the city's number one tourist attraction. Many of the exhibits were once displayed in Beijing’s Forbidden City, and were moved to Taiwan in 1933, during the ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 46 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Serena L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2015

For my husband's first trip to Taiwan I was looking for a day tour of Taipei that would allow us to see most of the city's popular tourist sights before we headed to visit family in Taichung. I picked this tour based on positive reviews and was not disappointed. The tour was intimate - 7 guests, 1 tour guide, 1 driver - and our tour guide, Ting, knowledgeably described local folklore and relevant historic/technical detail for each of the places we visited in fluent English. The stops at Longshan Temple, CKS Memorial, and National Palace Museum were great! The Taipei 101 stop was fine for those who have never been. Some other reviewers expressed disappointment in not being able to go up to the observatory, which is not possible on such a short trip. We returned the next day and spent nearly half a day there! Unfortunately, much of the beauty of Yangminshan, Beitou, and Danshui were lost due to the early sunset during the fall/winter days. Ting provided us each with maps detailing how to return to our individual hotels on the way to Shilin Nigh Market our last stop, which were in English and easy to follow. During the day, she'd asked if we had any plans for the rest of our Taipei stay. When we said we did not, she offered a number of suggestions of what to see/eat/do. By the next morning, my inbox had her original suggestions and more - including detail of what MRT stops to use, what to do at each stop, and a quick map for places without addresses. All in all a great experience! Would recommend it to any first/short-time visitors.

Doing what: Ultimate Taipei Sightseeing Tour

Caroline A

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

So enjoyed my day in Taipei with Ting and our small tour group. I got such a flavor of Taiwan from seeing new Taipei 101 to older neighborhoods, from busy Freedom square to the hot springs areas in the mountains, from dining at famous Din Tai Fung for lunch to street food at the night market. Ting was a wealth of knowledge, also added value with her travelling iPad. She provided us the maximum for our 90 minutes in the museum. Great and very busy day.

Doing what: Ultimate Taipei Sightseeing Tour

Marjorie W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

Gordon was a wonderful tour guide! He is very knowledgeable about all of the stops on the tour, gives great insight on culture, food, customs. He's very willing to take photos too! I loved the Palace Museum, everything!
He even introduced us to his favorite bubble tea! I would highly recommend this tour. We only had 3 people so Gordon tailored the tour to our interests, too!

Doing what: Ultimate Taipei Sightseeing Tour

Alison H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

An absolute whirlwind tour of Taipei but well worth it as I only had two days for sightseeing. The tour guide Scott was excellent and made the day informative as well as making sure we were comfortable . I really enjoyed the National Museum and would have gone back if I had more time in Taipei. The night market was busy with plenty of people who spoke English to help us choose where to eat and what to eat. If you only have a short time in Taipei and know nothing about Taiwan this tour was great - I would go back to Taipei for longer next time as there is so much more to see!

Doing what: Ultimate Taipei Sightseeing Tour

Martin F

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

This tour was amazing! Our tour guide Jet was the best tour guide we ever had. He takes time in explaining everything in the National Museum so that even if most relics were in Mandarin, we were still able to understand and appreciate the tour. He also gave us tips in the tour such as the best location to take a picture of Chang Kai Shek memorial hall and the best spot to see the changing of the guards.

Doing what: Ultimate Taipei Sightseeing Tour

Navnit B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

This tour was exceptional because the tour guide Miss Ting made very special effort in keeping the group engaged and interested during all of the sight seeing and historical and cultural stories. This tour operator also was kind enough to provide cold bottled water! Very thoughtful gesture and much appreciated. This is a rather long tour so be ready to pace yourself. The highlight for us was the visit to the museum and the viewing of the selected important pieces and artifacts.

Doing what: Ultimate Taipei Sightseeing Tour

Michael C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

We were promptly picked up at our hotel in a 7 passenger van and Jane Chao was our guide/escort and did a lovely job. Because it was Saturday, we were able to move from sight to sight. Overall it was a great way to see Taipei and we even got a lesson on how to use the metro. This was most helpful in getting us back to our hotel with minimal cost. Our trip to the National Palace Museum was a highlight, however it is so busy with other tour groups that a guide it the only way one could see it the first time. Next time we will go in the later afternoon on a day when it is open into the evening. The tour gave us a taste in seeing Taipei 101, the 4th tallest building in the world and we came back on our own the next day when the lines were less and the skies clearer and enjoyed looking out over the city. We had been to other night markets, and even if you don't eat their, there are some great photo opportunities. This is a full day's tour extending almost 12 hours if you don't bail out early and certainly a great overview of a wonderful city..

Doing what: Ultimate Taipei Sightseeing Tour

MISS LJ G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

We really enjoyed the half-day tour of Taipei. Edison Travel Services was well-organised and responded quickly to any pre-travel queries. Our guide was knowledgable and friendly, and spoke good English. He was patient and accommodating throughout the tour. It's a lot to fit into a few hours, and the Grand Palace Museum isn't really done justice in such a short visit, but it is a great introduction to Taiwan, and a good overview of important points of interest for those with limited travel time.

Doing what: Taipei Half-Day City Tour

Annie M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2013

Excellent way to kill 1/2 a day resourcefully. Our flight was at 11:45pm and we had to check out of the hotel room by 12noon. Our 1/2 city tour started at 1pm. The guide was very knowledgable on history of Taiwan. We particularly enjoyed the tour of the museum.

Doing what: Taipei Half-Day City Tour

grandpapor

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2013

The tour was a small group on a van for half a day. The tour guide was knowledgeable and willing to show you things that interested you. The time at the National Museum was too short but would have been too short if the entire half day had been spent there. Now we know it is there and can go back at our leisure.

Doing what: Taipei Half-Day City Tour

Sharon B Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2013

A good short tour of Taipei . Very friendly and helpful guide if you don't know much about Taipei. The change of Guard and Museum very impressive. The guides also able to let us know at what time we would be picked up for other tours we had booked.

Doing what: Taipei Half-Day City Tour

Barry S USA

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2013

We've found city tours helpful to be oriented to any city where we travel. This time we took a Taiwan friend who learned a lot too. My personal highlight was the National Palace Museum. We went back and spent the whole next day! Think of all the treasures of the Chinese emperors in one place. WOW!

Doing what: Taipei Half-Day City Tour

Chris Hord Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2012

It was a short tour and wish we could spend more time in the museum as it had the most amazing collections. In general, the tour is great and the tour guide is helpful. I am glad that I have joined this tour.

Doing what: Taipei Half-Day City Tour

William J B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2011

This is the fastest way on a tight time schedule
to see the major attractions in Taipei in an unhurried way. Our guide was excellent and full of information. The tour of the National Palace Museum alone saved us a full day if we had done it on our own. I highly recommend this Viator Tour.

Doing what: Taipei Half-Day City Tour

Anonymous

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2010

The tour, which includes the National Palace Museum, is an excellent way of becoming familiar with Taipei. The guide was very informative and highlighted some of the particular treasures in the museum. The tour is useful both for people who have very little time to spend in Taipei as well as for people who want to explore on their own later. The tour companyl is excellent and its focus on taking small groups is a plus.

Doing what: Taipei Half-Day City Tour

Neil T Singapore

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2010

Excellent tour! Pickup was on time from hotel. The guide was a happy person full of knowledge and talkative, made you feel comfortable. The museum tour was great! Changing of the Guards at the Memorial Hall was fantastic! A great tour well worth the money spent!

Doing what: Taipei Half-Day City Tour

Diane C USA

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2008

Great day of sights. For those going to Taiwan you need at least a full half day to do the National Palace Museum alone.

Doing what: Taipei Half-Day City Tour

Catherine W Hong Kong

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2008

Great fun, except we wished to spend a bit longer time at the National Palace Museum. There is so much to see--all the treasures. Can cut down temple visit.

Doing what: Taipei Half-Day City Tour

logan

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2016

Good tour guide and experience overall. Only complaint is the short time spent at the National Museum. However, it was the last stop and we were given the option to stay for as long as we want. We just had to get transportation back to our hotel. Overall, recommend the tour.

Doing what: Taipei Half-Day City Tour

bbartolin30

4 star rating: Recommended
April 2016

Excellent tour guide! He's so great, shared all his wisdom with us regarding Taiwanese history and culture. This was a great tour if you like something that will give you knowledge, see some major sites and not spend all day. The changing of guards, National Museum you will see specific works there.

I thought I would want to spend more time at the National Museum and almost didn't book this tour due to this. Then I realized that the works we saw were adequate and that I would have to have 1 or 2 full days at the Museum alone to take in all the art there.

Taipei 1/2 day was lovely and recommended.

Doing what: Taipei Half-Day City Tour

Jan

4 star rating: Recommended
April 2016

A good introductory tour. I went back another day to spend more time at Chiang Kai Shek museum and National Palace Museum. Danny our guide was excellent.

Doing what: Taipei Half-Day City Tour

Eric M

4 star rating: Recommended
February 2015

Great, but quick run thru all the best sights in Taipei. Great for families with small kids as the museum stops were short. Tour guide was very accommodating. Coach was a bit dated and smelled of smoke, but that was the only low point in a super tour!

Doing what: Taipei Half-Day City Tour

Johannes K

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2014

Good tour and commentary around the city of Taipei. Especially the guided visit to the Palace Museum was a highlight. The guide explained very well the (bronze) finds on display and the history around them. Recommended!

Doing what: Taipei Half-Day City Tour

Verne C

4 star rating: Recommended
May 2014

Frank our guide was really good. The tour efficiently got us to the locations and just in time to see the major events such as the changing of the guards. We also were lead through the museum very well hitting the highlights.

Doing what: Taipei Half-Day City Tour

Cindy T Le

4 star rating: Recommended
November 2013

Wish that I could stay longer at the National Museum.

Doing what: Taipei Half-Day City Tour

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message