• USD ($)
  • English

Taipei ATTRACTIONS See all

Taipei National Palace Museum

The incomparable collection of Chinese art in Taipei's National Palace Museum makes it the city's number one tourist attraction. Many of the exhibits were once displayed in Beijing’s Forbidden City, and were moved to Taiwan in 1933, during the ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 28 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2013

Excellent way to kill 1/2 a day resourcefully. Our flight was at 11:45pm and we had to check out of the hotel room by 12noon. Our 1/2 city tour started at 1pm. The guide was very knowledgable on history of Taiwan. We particularly enjoyed the tour of the museum.

Doing what: Taipei Half-Day City Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2013

The tour was a small group on a van for half a day. The tour guide was knowledgeable and willing to show you things that interested you. The time at the National Museum was too short but would have been too short if the entire half day had been spent there. Now we know it is there and can go back at our leisure.

Doing what: Taipei Half-Day City Tour

Sharon B
Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2013

A good short tour of Taipei . Very friendly and helpful guide if you don't know much about Taipei. The change of Guard and Museum very impressive. The guides also able to let us know at what time we would be picked up for other tours we had booked.

Doing what: Taipei Half-Day City Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2013

We've found city tours helpful to be oriented to any city where we travel. This time we took a Taiwan friend who learned a lot too. My personal highlight was the National Palace Museum. We went back and spent the whole next day! Think of all the treasures of the Chinese emperors in one place. WOW!

Doing what: Taipei Half-Day City Tour

Chris Hord
Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2012

It was a short tour and wish we could spend more time in the museum as it had the most amazing collections. In general, the tour is great and the tour guide is helpful. I am glad that I have joined this tour.

Doing what: Taipei Half-Day City Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2011

This is the fastest way on a tight time schedule
to see the major attractions in Taipei in an unhurried way. Our guide was excellent and full of information. The tour of the National Palace Museum alone saved us a full day if we had done it on our own. I highly recommend this Viator Tour.

Doing what: Taipei Half-Day City Tour

Anonymous

Anonymous

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2010

The tour, which includes the National Palace Museum, is an excellent way of becoming familiar with Taipei. The guide was very informative and highlighted some of the particular treasures in the museum. The tour is useful both for people who have very little time to spend in Taipei as well as for people who want to explore on their own later. The tour companyl is excellent and its focus on taking small groups is a plus.

Doing what: Taipei Half-Day City Tour

Neil T
Singapore

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2010

Excellent tour! Pickup was on time from hotel. The guide was a happy person full of knowledge and talkative, made you feel comfortable. The museum tour was great! Changing of the Guards at the Memorial Hall was fantastic! A great tour well worth the money spent!

Doing what: Taipei Half-Day City Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2008

Great day of sights. For those going to Taiwan you need at least a full half day to do the National Palace Museum alone.

Doing what: Taipei Half-Day City Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2008

Great fun, except we wished to spend a bit longer time at the National Palace Museum. There is so much to see--all the treasures. Can cut down temple visit.

Doing what: Taipei Half-Day City Tour

4 star rating: Recommended
November 2013

Wish that I could stay longer at the National Museum.

Doing what: Taipei Half-Day City Tour

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2013

We had a good time with James's nariation. We saw many good things. We wish we could have seen more in the museum though. The tour was a good value and we will recommend it to our friends.

Doing what: Taipei Half-Day City Tour

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2011

just the right time for a Taipei visit that is non shopping focused; it was informative, well guided and fascinating especially the National Museum

Doing what: Taipei Half-Day City Tour

4 star rating: Recommended
May 2011

This tour had a good coverage of Taipei's main cultural sights but as previous reviews they should spend more time at the Palace Museum as we hardly saw anything at all. It would also be much better to cut out forced stops at tourist traps such as the Handicraft Centre but as all tour operators get commission from the shops to bring tourists there, this is unlikely to happen.

Doing what: Taipei Half-Day City Tour

Marshall D
Australia

4 star rating: Recommended
November 2010

My wife & I really enjoyed this tour which visited a number of places of interest to us & gave us a 'feel' for Taipei on our first visit to the city. The changing of the guard at both the Chiang Kai-Shek Memorial Hall & Martyrs' Shrine was especially interesting, as was the stop at the small Taoist Temple. As mentioned in other reviews, the time spent at the Royal Palace Museum is only enough to whet one's appetite for a return visit. The other stop, at the Chinese Handicraft Centre had the feel of a hard-sell, especially during the 'tea ceremony'. For visitors looking for handicrafts in Taiwan, I would recommend a visit to the Taiwan Handicraft Centre which is much larger & has a superior range of merchandise available. The small bus used on this tour was the only one to have seat belts available for all passengers.

Doing what: Taipei Half-Day City Tour

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message