• USD ($)
  • English
Taipei, the capital and largest city in Taiwan, has everything you’d want from a big city: monuments and museums, a buzzing nightlife, a rich food culture, easy transportation and some of Asia’s best shopping. Most travelers who come to Taiwan use ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 101 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2014

Great half day tour to a perfect start of sight seeing of Taipei. We enjoyed the tour very much and the tour guide was very helpful.

Doing what: Taipei Half-Day City Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2014

Jiufen was a perfect half day tour to take from Taipei. The views along the ocean are gorgeous. I highly recommend getting through the Jiufen tourist area and spend more time tasting the various teas. It was a fun way to spend the afternoon.

Doing what: Chiufen Village (Jiufen) and Northeast Coast Half-Day Tour from Taipei

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2014

Mongolian bbq dinner was very good but i think it is only for the foreigner who booked this tour because when we came back the following day we were not allowed to dine and we were not able to go to the top of taipei 101 because of long line and we dont have much time to line up

Doing what: Taipei Night Tour including Mongolian BBQ Dinner

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2014

This tour is a great opportunity to experience Taroko gorge as a day trip from Taipei. The east cost of Taiwan is stunningly beautiful and should not be missed. The tour guide Josephine is very energetic and really brings the place alive.

Doing what: Taroko Gorge Full-Day Tour from Taipei

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

Wow, we loved this trip! Our guide, Danny, was very knowledgeable and enjoyable. The ride to the Northeast Coast is breathtaking. This was by far, our most favorite activity in Taipei. I highly recommend this tour to all visitors. Great way to spend your afternoon.

Doing what: Chiufen Village (Jiufen) and Northeast Coast Half-Day Tour from Taipei

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

Fun experience. Guide very knowledgeable and humorous. Good way to be introduced to Taipei.

Doing what: Taipei Half-Day City Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

Great way to begin a visit to Taipei in a cold evening with a nice buffet dinner. It was foggy to be able to see Taipei from the top of 101, but enjoyed the window shopping. Had a lot of fun in the night market.
The guide arranged a special visit to Longshan Temple before closing and safe return to the hotel.

Doing what: Taipei Night Tour including Mongolian BBQ Dinner

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2013

I had an incredible time on the Taroko Gorge Full-Day Tour because the sights that we saw were amazing and beautiful, but, mostly, because our tour guide, Josephine, made the tour so wonderful. She grew up in that area of Taiwan, so there is no tour guide who knows more about Taroko Gorge and the surrounding area than she does. More than that, Josephine is loads of fun and very gregarious and friendly. Best of all, she laughed at all of my corny jokes and had some of her own! She and I became great buddies on the tour since I sat up in front of the van with her! Josephine goes the extra mile to help out the people on the tour. For example, I needed to get stamps for the postcards that I was writing, so she made a special trip to the post office and accompanied me to help me buy the stamps. When the tour was over, and we were leaving on the train to return back to Taipei, she chased me down on the train platform to return my hat to me, which I forgot! She is special and amazing! I would highly recommend this tour to anyone going to Taiwan. The gorge and sights on this tour are not to be missed. Make sure that Josephine is your tour guide, since she'll make sure that you have a great time (don't settle for anyone else or second best)!

Doing what: Taroko Gorge Full-Day Tour from Taipei

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2013

I'd love to take several days and hike/camp/bike around and through Taroko Gorge, but failing that, this tour is DEFINITELY the best way to see the really stunning Taroko Gorge in just one day from Taipei. There was a great combination of hiking, busing, history, nature, food (very nice lunch!), and insider views from our guide, who grew up in the region. Amazing value for money when you consider a plane flight and 2.5 hour train ride home (be prepared, get some food before you board!) are included. I would recommend this for anyone. Wish my kids could have joined me!

Doing what: Taroko Gorge Full-Day Tour from Taipei

Sharon B
Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2013

A good short tour of Taipei . Very friendly and helpful guide if you don't know much about Taipei. The change of Guard and Museum very impressive. The guides also able to let us know at what time we would be picked up for other tours we had booked.

Doing what: Taipei Half-Day City Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2013

I booked this tour and went on it with my daughter. We had a great experience. We were picked up at our hotel at 6:00 a.m. and taken to the airport where we caught a plane to Hualien and met our guide for the rest of the day, the very vivacious Josephine. She spoke four languages: English, Japanese, Mandarin and Taiwanese, and kept up a spirited and lively chatter through out the trip. We got lucky with the weather, which was perfect. The bus made many short stops along road so we could take pictures and short hikes to see the spectacular features of the gorge and also visit some shrines. After a few hours we had a nice relaxing coffee break, where I picked up a cute little souvenir for one of my daughters, and then shortly after that we stopped and had a fabulous lunch at a fancy hotel. Before lunch we were given a half an hour or so to explore the nearby area. Near the hotel is a shrine, way up high, that my daughter and I climbed up many stairs to reach. It was beautiful, and I worked up quite a sweat. After lunch we went back to town to catch the train, and along the way stopped at a sweets/food/gift shop and a marble factory which had a lot of jade and marble for sale. We didn't buy anything, but there was plenty to look at, and lots of samples to taste at the sweets shop. At the end of the trip we stopped at a beach, but by then the weather had changed, and it was windy and raining, so that part got cut a little short. Of course, one can't control the weather. Up to that point though, the weather was fantastic. The train trip was two and one half hours back to Taipei, so be sure to pack a snack to enjoy on the longish trip back. We ate sushi triangles that we got at 7-11. Once back, tour guides met us at the station and dropped us back at the hotel. It was a long and satisfying day. Very fun. Well worth the price.

Doing what: Taroko Gorge Full-Day Tour from Taipei

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2013

This tour was my favorite during the two weeks I was in Taiwan. The gorge is amazing and the meal provided was exceptional in a beautiful location. The flight from Taipei to get to the east coast offered wonderful views of the mountain range and coastline.

Doing what: Taroko Gorge Full-Day Tour from Taipei

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2013

Super convenient and great way to see the best of Taipei. Tour was small with only 7 of us and we had our own driver and guide. Took about 4+ hours to complete and was an excellent option for us.

Doing what: Taipei Half-Day City Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2013

My wife and I were satisfied with the tour. It went off without a hitch, pick-up was on-time, flight left on-time, bus was waiting, tour guide was very good. Enough time was allotted to each stop for us to explore and not feel rushed. The gorge is impressive in its own way, not to be compared with deep canyons. The scenery in the gorge was very nice, even with the inclement weather. The Chinese meal was very good. The train ride back to Taipei was comfortable, and we were delivered back to our hotel with a van. Altogether the 14-hour day was well worth it.

Doing what: Taroko Gorge Full-Day Tour from Taipei

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2013

Happy times made by our Tour Lead Josephine. Edison Travel provides pick-up and drop-off in Taipei City. Josephine was there to collect us in Hua Lien Airport and arranged our tour and timing impeccably. Loved the last minute lunch changed to sample local aboriginal cuisine.

Doing what: Taroko Gorge Full-Day Tour from Taipei

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message