Taipei, the capital and largest city in Taiwan, has everything you’d want from a big city: monuments and museums, a buzzing nightlife, a rich food culture, easy transportation and some of Asia’s best shopping. Most travelers who come to Taiwan use ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 140 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

Highly recommed !!The spectacular landscape of Taroko Gorge is an absolute must see if you're visiting Taiwan.This 13 hrs tour was well worth the time. Good trip and guide. Josephine is knowledgeable and entertaining. Very well organized full day trip by the Tour Company from Taipei.

Doing what: Taroko Gorge Full-Day Tour from Taipei

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

Friendly, knowledgeable and very helpful tour guide and driver. The village was interesting, charming and well worth a visit when in Taipei. Highly recommend for a half day outing. Very well organized trip by Edison Tour Company from Taipei.

Doing what: Chiufen Village (Jiufen) and Northeast Coast Half-Day Tour from Taipei

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

Our day tour was awesome!!! We saw Taipei 101, Bao and Confucius temple, and the changing of the guards! Truly an amazing family adventure.

Doing what: Taipei Layover Tour: Private City Sightseeing with Round-Trip Airport Transport

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

We (6 active adults) were met at our rented apartment in Taipei by our guide, Clint Liang. He put us in to two taxis to get to the train station. We enjoyed seeing the countryside while riding on the comfortable train. Taroko Gorge is beautiful! We enjoyed the beach on the Pacific Ocean-small pebble beach. I have now waded on each side of the Pacific Ocean-Taiwan East Coast and US West Coast. Walking the trail up the river gave us a little exercise and a chance to try the local fermented small rice beverage-low alcohol content- the natives produce. No air pollution like Taipei.
We stayed in the Just Sleep Hotel in Huilen. It is very comfortable! Tea and coffee maker in the room and plenty of space. Very welcome after sharing a small apartment with 6 people. We all enjoyed having a bit of privacy and our own space. There was good variety at breakfast-Asian, European, and American breakfast options.
The lunches, native people specialties, were delicious and huge!
Our friend's birthday was the day after this trip. Clint surprised us with a birthday cake for him! We did not arrange it. We ate it in the hotel lobby and shared with other guests. So fun!

Being new to the night markets in Taiwan, we especially enjoyed having a knowledgable guide teach us about our options. We walked through the entire market as he explained various foods then split off to get our own. Clint helped those who wanted help. One of our members is vegetarian. She found good options. This night market had a large variety of healthy, not just fried options. My husband and I shared an oyster omelet-small oysters and egg placed on sautéed greens, then soup made from from hand selecting a variety of ingredients-greens, mushrooms, dumplings, seafood-placed in a basket, and then cooked by the soup maker. Lots of fresh juice stands. The juice made as you watch.
Clint is the best guide! He took photos for us and gave us the thumb drive to have!

Doing what: 2-Day Private Taroko Gorge Trip from Taipei

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2015

It turned out to just be me and m very knowledgeable guide, Kelly. Although had there been more people I don't think it would have mattered as they keep group sizes small. Kelly changed the tour a little to suit me but also the weather as it had been reported it was due to get worse throughout the day. Kelly was very caring and had bought a bottle of water for me, and kept checking if I needed to drink or use the WC at various places we visited. I saw a lot of Taipei during the day and enjoyed doing it via various methods of transport. I would recommend this to anyone who visits Taipei, but unlike me do it at the start of your visit as you can get a sense of the city.

Doing what: Taipei in Motion: City Day Tour by Bike, Metro and Foot

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2015

The guide was excellent, good English and knowledgeable. Shared a number of interesting thoughts. The village was interesting, charming and well worth a visit when in Taipei. Highly recommend for a half day outing.

Doing what: Chiufen Village (Jiufen) and Northeast Coast Half-Day Tour from Taipei

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

This tour is a long day , but well worth it. First we took a flight, then a bus. The sights driving thru Taroko drive are amazing, and our knowledgable guide made such interesting commentary along the way. We had a very good lunch at a nice hotel before continuing our trip. The return to Taipei was by train, which was very relaxing after a busy day of seeing the sights.

Doing what: Taroko Gorge Full-Day Tour from Taipei

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

Although the weather was rainy, this was still a very enjoyable and interesting tour to go outside the city, and see some of the beautiful countryside outside of Taipei, were residents often go on weekends.

Doing what: Chiufen Village (Jiufen) and Northeast Coast Half-Day Tour from Taipei

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

We had a small group with a very knowledgable and bright tour guide who really knows Taipei..English speaking and was easy to understand and very anxious to engage and answer questions!

Doing what: Taipei Half-Day City Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

Our tour guide was friendly and informative. Although he could have introduced more about the history of Taipei during the trip. We nearly forgot to arrange our pick up and they still answered our phone call in the late evening.
It was a very convenient way to visit the must-see places in Taipei!

Doing what: Taipei Half-Day City Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

This tour was wonderful; the transfer to the airport and the plane ride to Hualien went seemlessly and the tour coach was very comfortable. Our guide Josephine spoke very good English and was a font of knowledge for all that we passed, and more.
Taroko Gorge is wonderful, and I was pleased to have been able to experienced some of it by foot, listening to the cicadas and the river. The walks were very easy if you are fit, would have loved to have spent more time walking (although there had been a rockfall on the first 'hike' so could not have gone further). The area around the lunch stop was very interesting, although we didn't get enough time to really explore the temples.
Lunch at the Silks Palace Hotel was delicious and exceeding my expectations.
Picked up some nice Mango Cakes from the cake factory and a visit to the marble factory was interesting. The beach was ok; we were all quite hot and tired and I would preferred to have started home as its a nearly 3hr long train ride back to Taipei.
However, I lost my phone on the beach, only realised at the train station and Josephine went beyond the call of duty to get me back to the beach to rescue my phone, before a mad dash and several frantic phone calls to the train station ticket office to get us onto another train! (Many thanks!! :D)
(If there was a tiny single thing I could add would be a roll of toilet paper on the tour bus as almost all toilets had no paper - take note).
A brilliant day out with a very kind and helpful guide, fantastic memories and photos, highly recommended.

Doing what: Taroko Gorge Full-Day Tour from Taipei

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

Small village perched on mountainside with narrow alleys with shops selling mostly rubbish.
It was still better than Taipei markets, with a couple of very nice Tea Houses.
Good half day trip

Doing what: Chiufen Village (Jiufen) and Northeast Coast Half-Day Tour from Taipei

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

An excellent trip and one I'd recommend anyone visiting Taipei to take - amazing scenery and a very engaging and enthusiastic guide. The inclusive lunch at a very nice hotel was also very welcome after all the walking

Doing what: Taroko Gorge Full-Day Tour from Taipei

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

We really enjoyed the half-day tour of Taipei. Edison Travel Services was well-organised and responded quickly to any pre-travel queries. Our guide was knowledgable and friendly, and spoke good English. He was patient and accommodating throughout the tour. It's a lot to fit into a few hours, and the Grand Palace Museum isn't really done justice in such a short visit, but it is a great introduction to Taiwan, and a good overview of important points of interest for those with limited travel time.

Doing what: Taipei Half-Day City Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

This is an absolute "must-do" if you are in Taipei! I contemplated other ways to go about seeing Taroko Gorge and I am so glad we went with this option. The process of flying there and taking the train back was perfectly timed and the early wake up time for the flight was definitely worth it. The tour guide Josephine was excellent, very energetic and attentive to the needs of the group. The lunch definitely exceeded my expectations for a meal served on a group trip. It wasn't your typical touristy establishment and the food was delicious. One thing I will say is that the marble factory was overpriced (which I know the tour guide/company can't really control). I loved some of the things I saw but I passed because of the price. I found them for significantly less at another location so I am glad I waited. Overall we were very pleased with this trip and I would recommend to those looking for an escape from the city and wanting to experience the beautiful nature that Taiwan has to offer.

Doing what: Taroko Gorge Full-Day Tour from Taipei

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

Overall a very nicely organized tour of Taroko Gorge, but beware that it's a tiring trip. However, at least on the way back to Taipei you can snooze (it's about a 2 1/2 hour train ride back). Our tour guide, Jane (I think), was excellent - full of information and her English was impeccable (as was her Japanese as well). The lunch was very good as well and they were very accommodating to folks with certain diet requirements. Definitely a must see if you get the chance to visit Taiwan. If I had to nitpick anything - would by-pass the trip to see the ocean (a beach is a beach is a beach) and spend the extra 20 minutes or so at the Eternal Springs (pictured at the left). The time allotted was too short if one wants to climb up to see the 2nd or 3rd Pagodas on the hill.

Doing what: Taroko Gorge Full-Day Tour from Taipei

Anonymous

Anonymous

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2014

We had 8 hours a connecting flight via TPE to BKK and it turned out to be the best 8 hours I had throughout the entire journey! I've seen so much and learnt so much about Taipei from this tour within limited time. My guide was amazing and I definitely want to see more of Taiwan! Thank you Viator to make it possible!

Doing what: Taipei Layover Tour: Private City Sightseeing with Round-Trip Airport Transport

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2014

Nice trip to get out of Taipei for a few hours

Doing what: Northern Coast Half-Day Tour including Yehliu Park from Taipei

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2014

The tour started out with the driver coming into the hotel lobby to pick me up and bring me, and one other person, to meet the rest of the tour at another hotel downtown. Very easy! Walter, the tour guide, was fantastic. He was very knowledgable and funny and was able to connect with our diverse group from all different regions and cultures. The tour allowed for ample time to both explore with the group and on our own. The tour did not take the full amount of time, but I guess they build in for traffic as we saw a lot on the way back. I would recommend this tour to others visiting Taipei!

Doing what: Northern Coast Half-Day Tour including Yehliu Park from Taipei

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2014

Great half day tour to a perfect start of sight seeing of Taipei. We enjoyed the tour very much and the tour guide was very helpful.

Doing what: Taipei Half-Day City Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2014

Jiufen was a perfect half day tour to take from Taipei. The views along the ocean are gorgeous. I highly recommend getting through the Jiufen tourist area and spend more time tasting the various teas. It was a fun way to spend the afternoon.

Doing what: Chiufen Village (Jiufen) and Northeast Coast Half-Day Tour from Taipei

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2014

Mongolian bbq dinner was very good but i think it is only for the foreigner who booked this tour because when we came back the following day we were not allowed to dine and we were not able to go to the top of taipei 101 because of long line and we dont have much time to line up

Doing what: Taipei Night Tour including Mongolian BBQ Dinner

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2014

This tour is a great opportunity to experience Taroko gorge as a day trip from Taipei. The east cost of Taiwan is stunningly beautiful and should not be missed. The tour guide Josephine is very energetic and really brings the place alive.

Doing what: Taroko Gorge Full-Day Tour from Taipei

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

Wow, we loved this trip! Our guide, Danny, was very knowledgeable and enjoyable. The ride to the Northeast Coast is breathtaking. This was by far, our most favorite activity in Taipei. I highly recommend this tour to all visitors. Great way to spend your afternoon.

Doing what: Chiufen Village (Jiufen) and Northeast Coast Half-Day Tour from Taipei

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message