Taipei, the capital and largest city in Taiwan, has everything you’d want from a big city: monuments and museums, a buzzing nightlife, a rich food culture, easy transportation and some of Asia’s best shopping. Most travelers who come to Taiwan use ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 113 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

Overall a very nicely organized tour of Taroko Gorge, but beware that it's a tiring trip. However, at least on the way back to Taipei you can snooze (it's about a 2 1/2 hour train ride back). Our tour guide, Jane (I think), was excellent - full of information and her English was impeccable (as was her Japanese as well). The lunch was very good as well and they were very accommodating to folks with certain diet requirements. Definitely a must see if you get the chance to visit Taiwan. If I had to nitpick anything - would by-pass the trip to see the ocean (a beach is a beach is a beach) and spend the extra 20 minutes or so at the Eternal Springs (pictured at the left). The time allotted was too short if one wants to climb up to see the 2nd or 3rd Pagodas on the hill.

Doing what: Taroko Gorge Full-Day Tour from Taipei

Anonymous

Anonymous

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2014

We had 8 hours a connecting flight via TPE to BKK and it turned out to be the best 8 hours I had throughout the entire journey! I've seen so much and learnt so much about Taipei from this tour within limited time. My guide was amazing and I definitely want to see more of Taiwan! Thank you Viator to make it possible!

Doing what: Taipei Layover Tour: Private City Sightseeing with Round-Trip Airport Transport

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2014

Nice trip to get out of Taipei for a few hours

Doing what: Northern Coast Half-Day Tour including Yehliu Park from Taipei

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2014

The tour started out with the driver coming into the hotel lobby to pick me up and bring me, and one other person, to meet the rest of the tour at another hotel downtown. Very easy! Walter, the tour guide, was fantastic. He was very knowledgable and funny and was able to connect with our diverse group from all different regions and cultures. The tour allowed for ample time to both explore with the group and on our own. The tour did not take the full amount of time, but I guess they build in for traffic as we saw a lot on the way back. I would recommend this tour to others visiting Taipei!

Doing what: Northern Coast Half-Day Tour including Yehliu Park from Taipei

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2014

The tour started out with the driver coming into the hotel lobby to pick me up and bring me, and one other person, to meet the rest of the tour at another hotel downtown. Very easy! Walter, the tour guide, was fantastic. He was very knowledgable and funny and was able to connect with our diverse group from all different regions and cultures. The tour allowed for ample time to both explore with the group and on our own. The tour did not take the full amount of time, but I guess they build in for traffic as we saw a lot on the way back. I would recommend this tour to others visiting Taipei!

Doing what: Northern Coast Half-Day Tour including Yehliu Park from Taipei

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2014

Great half day tour to a perfect start of sight seeing of Taipei. We enjoyed the tour very much and the tour guide was very helpful.

Doing what: Taipei Half-Day City Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2014

Jiufen was a perfect half day tour to take from Taipei. The views along the ocean are gorgeous. I highly recommend getting through the Jiufen tourist area and spend more time tasting the various teas. It was a fun way to spend the afternoon.

Doing what: Chiufen Village (Jiufen) and Northeast Coast Half-Day Tour from Taipei

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2014

Mongolian bbq dinner was very good but i think it is only for the foreigner who booked this tour because when we came back the following day we were not allowed to dine and we were not able to go to the top of taipei 101 because of long line and we dont have much time to line up

Doing what: Taipei Night Tour including Mongolian BBQ Dinner

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2014

This tour is a great opportunity to experience Taroko gorge as a day trip from Taipei. The east cost of Taiwan is stunningly beautiful and should not be missed. The tour guide Josephine is very energetic and really brings the place alive.

Doing what: Taroko Gorge Full-Day Tour from Taipei

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

Wow, we loved this trip! Our guide, Danny, was very knowledgeable and enjoyable. The ride to the Northeast Coast is breathtaking. This was by far, our most favorite activity in Taipei. I highly recommend this tour to all visitors. Great way to spend your afternoon.

Doing what: Chiufen Village (Jiufen) and Northeast Coast Half-Day Tour from Taipei

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

Fun experience. Guide very knowledgeable and humorous. Good way to be introduced to Taipei.

Doing what: Taipei Half-Day City Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

Great way to begin a visit to Taipei in a cold evening with a nice buffet dinner. It was foggy to be able to see Taipei from the top of 101, but enjoyed the window shopping. Had a lot of fun in the night market.
The guide arranged a special visit to Longshan Temple before closing and safe return to the hotel.

Doing what: Taipei Night Tour including Mongolian BBQ Dinner

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2013

I had an incredible time on the Taroko Gorge Full-Day Tour because the sights that we saw were amazing and beautiful, but, mostly, because our tour guide, Josephine, made the tour so wonderful. She grew up in that area of Taiwan, so there is no tour guide who knows more about Taroko Gorge and the surrounding area than she does. More than that, Josephine is loads of fun and very gregarious and friendly. Best of all, she laughed at all of my corny jokes and had some of her own! She and I became great buddies on the tour since I sat up in front of the van with her! Josephine goes the extra mile to help out the people on the tour. For example, I needed to get stamps for the postcards that I was writing, so she made a special trip to the post office and accompanied me to help me buy the stamps. When the tour was over, and we were leaving on the train to return back to Taipei, she chased me down on the train platform to return my hat to me, which I forgot! She is special and amazing! I would highly recommend this tour to anyone going to Taiwan. The gorge and sights on this tour are not to be missed. Make sure that Josephine is your tour guide, since she'll make sure that you have a great time (don't settle for anyone else or second best)!

Doing what: Taroko Gorge Full-Day Tour from Taipei

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2013

I'd love to take several days and hike/camp/bike around and through Taroko Gorge, but failing that, this tour is DEFINITELY the best way to see the really stunning Taroko Gorge in just one day from Taipei. There was a great combination of hiking, busing, history, nature, food (very nice lunch!), and insider views from our guide, who grew up in the region. Amazing value for money when you consider a plane flight and 2.5 hour train ride home (be prepared, get some food before you board!) are included. I would recommend this for anyone. Wish my kids could have joined me!

Doing what: Taroko Gorge Full-Day Tour from Taipei

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message