Taipei, the capital and largest city in Taiwan, has everything you’d want from a big city: monuments and museums, a buzzing nightlife, a rich food culture, easy transportation and some of Asia’s best shopping. Most travelers who come to Taiwan use ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 133 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2015

It turned out to just be me and m very knowledgeable guide, Kelly. Although had there been more people I don't think it would have mattered as they keep group sizes small. Kelly changed the tour a little to suit me but also the weather as it had been reported it was due to get worse throughout the day. Kelly was very caring and had bought a bottle of water for me, and kept checking if I needed to drink or use the WC at various places we visited. I saw a lot of Taipei during the day and enjoyed doing it via various methods of transport. I would recommend this to anyone who visits Taipei, but unlike me do it at the start of your visit as you can get a sense of the city.

Doing what: Taipei in Motion: City Day Tour by Bike, Metro and Foot

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2015

The guide was excellent, good English and knowledgeable. Shared a number of interesting thoughts. The village was interesting, charming and well worth a visit when in Taipei. Highly recommend for a half day outing.

Doing what: Chiufen Village (Jiufen) and Northeast Coast Half-Day Tour from Taipei

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

This tour is a long day , but well worth it. First we took a flight, then a bus. The sights driving thru Taroko drive are amazing, and our knowledgable guide made such interesting commentary along the way. We had a very good lunch at a nice hotel before continuing our trip. The return to Taipei was by train, which was very relaxing after a busy day of seeing the sights.

Doing what: Taroko Gorge Full-Day Tour from Taipei

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

Although the weather was rainy, this was still a very enjoyable and interesting tour to go outside the city, and see some of the beautiful countryside outside of Taipei, were residents often go on weekends.

Doing what: Chiufen Village (Jiufen) and Northeast Coast Half-Day Tour from Taipei

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

We had a small group with a very knowledgable and bright tour guide who really knows Taipei..English speaking and was easy to understand and very anxious to engage and answer questions!

Doing what: Taipei Half-Day City Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

Our tour guide was friendly and informative. Although he could have introduced more about the history of Taipei during the trip. We nearly forgot to arrange our pick up and they still answered our phone call in the late evening.
It was a very convenient way to visit the must-see places in Taipei!

Doing what: Taipei Half-Day City Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

This tour was wonderful; the transfer to the airport and the plane ride to Hualien went seemlessly and the tour coach was very comfortable. Our guide Josephine spoke very good English and was a font of knowledge for all that we passed, and more.
Taroko Gorge is wonderful, and I was pleased to have been able to experienced some of it by foot, listening to the cicadas and the river. The walks were very easy if you are fit, would have loved to have spent more time walking (although there had been a rockfall on the first 'hike' so could not have gone further). The area around the lunch stop was very interesting, although we didn't get enough time to really explore the temples.
Lunch at the Silks Palace Hotel was delicious and exceeding my expectations.
Picked up some nice Mango Cakes from the cake factory and a visit to the marble factory was interesting. The beach was ok; we were all quite hot and tired and I would preferred to have started home as its a nearly 3hr long train ride back to Taipei.
However, I lost my phone on the beach, only realised at the train station and Josephine went beyond the call of duty to get me back to the beach to rescue my phone, before a mad dash and several frantic phone calls to the train station ticket office to get us onto another train! (Many thanks!! :D)
(If there was a tiny single thing I could add would be a roll of toilet paper on the tour bus as almost all toilets had no paper - take note).
A brilliant day out with a very kind and helpful guide, fantastic memories and photos, highly recommended.

Doing what: Taroko Gorge Full-Day Tour from Taipei

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

Small village perched on mountainside with narrow alleys with shops selling mostly rubbish.
It was still better than Taipei markets, with a couple of very nice Tea Houses.
Good half day trip

Doing what: Chiufen Village (Jiufen) and Northeast Coast Half-Day Tour from Taipei

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

An excellent trip and one I'd recommend anyone visiting Taipei to take - amazing scenery and a very engaging and enthusiastic guide. The inclusive lunch at a very nice hotel was also very welcome after all the walking

Doing what: Taroko Gorge Full-Day Tour from Taipei

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

We really enjoyed the half-day tour of Taipei. Edison Travel Services was well-organised and responded quickly to any pre-travel queries. Our guide was knowledgable and friendly, and spoke good English. He was patient and accommodating throughout the tour. It's a lot to fit into a few hours, and the Grand Palace Museum isn't really done justice in such a short visit, but it is a great introduction to Taiwan, and a good overview of important points of interest for those with limited travel time.

Doing what: Taipei Half-Day City Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

This is an absolute "must-do" if you are in Taipei! I contemplated other ways to go about seeing Taroko Gorge and I am so glad we went with this option. The process of flying there and taking the train back was perfectly timed and the early wake up time for the flight was definitely worth it. The tour guide Josephine was excellent, very energetic and attentive to the needs of the group. The lunch definitely exceeded my expectations for a meal served on a group trip. It wasn't your typical touristy establishment and the food was delicious. One thing I will say is that the marble factory was overpriced (which I know the tour guide/company can't really control). I loved some of the things I saw but I passed because of the price. I found them for significantly less at another location so I am glad I waited. Overall we were very pleased with this trip and I would recommend to those looking for an escape from the city and wanting to experience the beautiful nature that Taiwan has to offer.

Doing what: Taroko Gorge Full-Day Tour from Taipei

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

Overall a very nicely organized tour of Taroko Gorge, but beware that it's a tiring trip. However, at least on the way back to Taipei you can snooze (it's about a 2 1/2 hour train ride back). Our tour guide, Jane (I think), was excellent - full of information and her English was impeccable (as was her Japanese as well). The lunch was very good as well and they were very accommodating to folks with certain diet requirements. Definitely a must see if you get the chance to visit Taiwan. If I had to nitpick anything - would by-pass the trip to see the ocean (a beach is a beach is a beach) and spend the extra 20 minutes or so at the Eternal Springs (pictured at the left). The time allotted was too short if one wants to climb up to see the 2nd or 3rd Pagodas on the hill.

Doing what: Taroko Gorge Full-Day Tour from Taipei

Anonymous

Anonymous

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2014

We had 8 hours a connecting flight via TPE to BKK and it turned out to be the best 8 hours I had throughout the entire journey! I've seen so much and learnt so much about Taipei from this tour within limited time. My guide was amazing and I definitely want to see more of Taiwan! Thank you Viator to make it possible!

Doing what: Taipei Layover Tour: Private City Sightseeing with Round-Trip Airport Transport

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2014

Nice trip to get out of Taipei for a few hours

Doing what: Northern Coast Half-Day Tour including Yehliu Park from Taipei

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message