• USD ($)
  • English
While the city of Taipei offers enough to keep you occupied on a lengthy holiday, it’s worthwhile to escape the seemingly endless sprawl of skyscrapers and the hurried pace of taxis and scooters everywhere and experience other parts of Taiwan. If ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 11 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2014

My husband and I enjoyed the tour very much. The tour guide is very knowledgeable and we would like to recommend this sight seeing day trip to anyone.

Doing what: Taroko Gorge Full-Day Tour from Taipei

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2014

This tour is a great opportunity to experience Taroko gorge as a day trip from Taipei. The east cost of Taiwan is stunningly beautiful and should not be missed. The tour guide Josephine is very energetic and really brings the place alive.

Doing what: Taroko Gorge Full-Day Tour from Taipei

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2012

What an amazing half-day trip from Taipei! I was part of a small group and was really able to enjoy the trip and spent good time on each stop. The view of Keelung from the monastery was great! The highlight of the trip were the incredible rock formations at Yehliu Geopark and in spite of the tremendous number of tourists at the time, the trip was well worth it! The coastline views were spectacular! A tour not to be missed,

Doing what: Northern Coast Half-Day Tour including Yehliu Park from Taipei

Cuiting L
Singapore

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2012

Good day trip. Not too rushed but was hoping for more time at some places. Overall, good but would have loved for the places to be opened though. Some were closed because of natural events. Nevertheless, still highly recommended.

Doing what: Taroko Gorge Full-Day Tour from Taipei

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2011

Fantasic tour, well worth the price. I'd definitely recommend this day trip to anyone touring Taipei. The tour is run by a local agency, Edison. They pick you up at your designated hotel at 6am, they take care of your flight there, lunch (which was quite good), scenic train ride back, and drop you off back at the hotel 7:30pm. Our tour guide Josephine was alot of fun, mixing humor with info. I love her "rule breaking" attitude. The only minor complaint I have is that the tour felt a little rushed; wish we could spend another 30 mins at the gorge and 30 mins less at the marble factory. Ending the tour at the beach was quite nice as well. I went in mid Nov, and even though it rained for a part of the day, the scenery was absolutely breath-taking regardless.

Doing what: Taroko Gorge Full-Day Tour from Taipei

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2010

As everyone already says some parts are a little rushed and the marble factory could be excluded, but for what it is I really enjoyed it. For a day trip it is worth the money, and if it is the only way for you to see the Taroko Gorge, you should do it. It would be hard to screw up any trip to the gorge, it is beautiful.

Doing what: Taroko Gorge Full-Day Tour from Taipei

Kristy Y
Australia

4 star rating: Recommended
May 2010

Well organised tour. Relaxing day out. Flying down to Hualien helped cut down travelling time and therefore maximised time spent at taroko gorge. Perhaps less time spent for morning tea and at the marble factory would allow more leisurely stroll to the eternal spring shrine. An enjoyable and hassle-free day trip to see the Taroko Gorge nevertheless.

Doing what: Taroko Gorge Full-Day Tour from Taipei

Anonymous

Anonymous

4 star rating: Recommended
March 2007

Beautiful gorge! Good day trip. Bad sales attempt of jade items by bus operator. We were led into his shop and had to go through sales discussions.

Doing what: Taroko Gorge Full-Day Tour from Taipei

3 star rating: Worth doing
June 2013

The gorge is beautiful and our guide was very knowledgeable and friendly, however I would much prefer to spend more time actually looking at the gorge and way less time stopping in at cafe's and gift shops. I guess if you are making all of the effort to do a day trip to the gorge, you would expect to spend more time being able to look at it and explore. We got stuck in by a rockfall which was exciting and thankfully had the added advantage of cutting our trip to the marble factory short and took the stop in at the last cake shop off the itinerary altogether. The marble factory is an unnecessary "extra" to the trip.
The lunch was amazing!
All in all, I think if I was to go back to the gorge I would hire a car and do it myself, but if you are short on time, this is a good option. Just expect to spend an equal amount of time (or more) looking at shops, cafe's etc as you do looking at the gorge.

Doing what: Taroko Gorge Full-Day Tour from Taipei

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
September 2011

My colleague and I have booked the trip to see some of Hualiens`s beautiful nature and locations during a short day trip.

Pro`s: Taroko`s and Hualien`s nature, get a first impression of aborigine lifestyle. To see the landscape it is definitely worth to do this trip.

Con`s: However the tour became more and more unpleasant, as we noticed that it was actually a guided shopping trip. Stopping at a few little cafes (including souvenir shop) was totally ok for us. But we did not like it, that for example the announcement of a "free piece of sticky rice cake (Mochi)" was not a lesson about local food, but just another stop at a store where you just were allowed to try a tiny piece in order to buy several whole packages. Only a shop, no info at all. Same was for the marble "factory". Here you did not see the preparation of marble jewellery or statues, but a huge show room for overpriced marble products. Coincident, that just when we arrived about 8-10 shop assistents were rushing to make us buy some stuff? One small bracelet of jade 350 Euros, btw. "Stroll at the beach" means stop at a stone beach for about 10min. People who are looking forward to see the sea will be disappointed, as it is just enough time to hurry to the water to take a quick picture. The aborigine food was good (except a very bitter soup), but the portion was quite small. Better take some sandwich with you.

As a summary most of the time we spent at locations, where you can buy something. Usually there you can do hardly anything else. If you are non-Chinese or non-Japanese, you won`t get much info about aborigine life or marble producing. While the Chinese shop assistants are talking and explaining all the time, the tour guide will drop some word occasionally; she is a nice person though.

The way back by train was really exhausting, as it takes ages to get back to TPE City, because the train is so slow.

I saw that most of the visitors gave a very positive feedback, however my colleague and me felt cheated from some point. If you spend already money for an all-inclusive trip, you also want some cultural information and not spend money at every stop.

Doing what: Taroko Gorge Full-Day Tour from Taipei

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
September 2013

on my day trip, there was typhoon happening 1 day before. it means you know the damage and that we can not enter the Taroko. instead of telling us the truth, you let us spend a whole day there with the stupid things. We chose this tour just only we want to go inside the Taroko. Really disappointed,

Doing what: Taroko Gorge Full-Day Tour from Taipei

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message