While the city of Taipei offers enough to keep you occupied on a lengthy holiday, it’s worthwhile to escape the seemingly endless sprawl of skyscrapers and the hurried pace of taxis and scooters everywhere and experience other parts of Taiwan. If ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 17 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

The tour was wonderful and especially good with a small group. The tour guide was knowledgeable and humourous. My sister and I had a wonderful trip and will most likely choose Viator again for our next local half day trip.

Doing what: Chiufen Village (Jiufen) and Northeast Coast Half-Day Tour from Taipei

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

Highly recommed !!The spectacular landscape of Taroko Gorge is an absolute must see if you're visiting Taiwan.This 13 hrs tour was well worth the time. Good trip and guide. Josephine is knowledgeable and entertaining. Very well organized full day trip by the Tour Company from Taipei.

Doing what: Taroko Gorge Full-Day Tour from Taipei

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

With a combination of plane, automobile and train, it's a long day trip, but well worth it. Stunning scenery, an enthusiastic, knowledgeable guide, and to top it off an excellent inclusive lunch. Thoroughly recommended.

Doing what: Taroko Gorge Full-Day Tour from Taipei

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

Small village perched on mountainside with narrow alleys with shops selling mostly rubbish.
It was still better than Taipei markets, with a couple of very nice Tea Houses.
Good half day trip

Doing what: Chiufen Village (Jiufen) and Northeast Coast Half-Day Tour from Taipei

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2014

My husband and I enjoyed the tour very much. The tour guide is very knowledgeable and we would like to recommend this sight seeing day trip to anyone.

Doing what: Taroko Gorge Full-Day Tour from Taipei

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2014

This tour is a great opportunity to experience Taroko gorge as a day trip from Taipei. The east cost of Taiwan is stunningly beautiful and should not be missed. The tour guide Josephine is very energetic and really brings the place alive.

Doing what: Taroko Gorge Full-Day Tour from Taipei

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2012

What an amazing half-day trip from Taipei! I was part of a small group and was really able to enjoy the trip and spent good time on each stop. The view of Keelung from the monastery was great! The highlight of the trip were the incredible rock formations at Yehliu Geopark and in spite of the tremendous number of tourists at the time, the trip was well worth it! The coastline views were spectacular! A tour not to be missed,

Doing what: Northern Coast Half-Day Tour including Yehliu Park from Taipei

Cuiting L
Singapore

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2012

Good day trip. Not too rushed but was hoping for more time at some places. Overall, good but would have loved for the places to be opened though. Some were closed because of natural events. Nevertheless, still highly recommended.

Doing what: Taroko Gorge Full-Day Tour from Taipei

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2011

Fantasic tour, well worth the price. I'd definitely recommend this day trip to anyone touring Taipei. The tour is run by a local agency, Edison. They pick you up at your designated hotel at 6am, they take care of your flight there, lunch (which was quite good), scenic train ride back, and drop you off back at the hotel 7:30pm. Our tour guide Josephine was alot of fun, mixing humor with info. I love her "rule breaking" attitude. The only minor complaint I have is that the tour felt a little rushed; wish we could spend another 30 mins at the gorge and 30 mins less at the marble factory. Ending the tour at the beach was quite nice as well. I went in mid Nov, and even though it rained for a part of the day, the scenery was absolutely breath-taking regardless.

Doing what: Taroko Gorge Full-Day Tour from Taipei

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2010

As everyone already says some parts are a little rushed and the marble factory could be excluded, but for what it is I really enjoyed it. For a day trip it is worth the money, and if it is the only way for you to see the Taroko Gorge, you should do it. It would be hard to screw up any trip to the gorge, it is beautiful.

Doing what: Taroko Gorge Full-Day Tour from Taipei

Kristy Y
Australia

4 star rating: Recommended
May 2010

Well organised tour. Relaxing day out. Flying down to Hualien helped cut down travelling time and therefore maximised time spent at taroko gorge. Perhaps less time spent for morning tea and at the marble factory would allow more leisurely stroll to the eternal spring shrine. An enjoyable and hassle-free day trip to see the Taroko Gorge nevertheless.

Doing what: Taroko Gorge Full-Day Tour from Taipei

Anonymous

Anonymous

4 star rating: Recommended
March 2007

Beautiful gorge! Good day trip. Bad sales attempt of jade items by bus operator. We were led into his shop and had to go through sales discussions.

Doing what: Taroko Gorge Full-Day Tour from Taipei

3 star rating: Worth doing
January 2015

It was okay, nothing spectacular. The guide seemed helpful enough but I felt like there was a lot left to be desired. Perhaps because it was only a half day trip, also i don't particularly like looking in shops that sell the same things. Some highlights would be the food at the market and that its quite picturesque at some points.

Doing what: Chiufen Village (Jiufen) and Northeast Coast Half-Day Tour from Taipei

3 star rating: Worth doing
December 2014

The full day trip is definitely worth doing, as there is not alot of 'attractions' in Taipei. It is a whole day out, starting from around 6am until 7.30pm. The Gorge is amazing, but i felt we did not get enough time to actually take in the beauty as we were moved from one spot to the next. I would have preferred more walking and hiking, than a quick picture before we moved on! Cut out the time-filling marble factory and sweet shop and you would probably have the right amount of time at the gorge itself. Also i was annoyed that i purchased this tour from Viator and the next week it was discounted by 25%.

Doing what: Taroko Gorge Full-Day Tour from Taipei

3 star rating: Worth doing
June 2013

The gorge is beautiful and our guide was very knowledgeable and friendly, however I would much prefer to spend more time actually looking at the gorge and way less time stopping in at cafe's and gift shops. I guess if you are making all of the effort to do a day trip to the gorge, you would expect to spend more time being able to look at it and explore. We got stuck in by a rockfall which was exciting and thankfully had the added advantage of cutting our trip to the marble factory short and took the stop in at the last cake shop off the itinerary altogether. The marble factory is an unnecessary "extra" to the trip.
The lunch was amazing!
All in all, I think if I was to go back to the gorge I would hire a car and do it myself, but if you are short on time, this is a good option. Just expect to spend an equal amount of time (or more) looking at shops, cafe's etc as you do looking at the gorge.

Doing what: Taroko Gorge Full-Day Tour from Taipei

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message