Taiwan ATTRACTIONS See all

Danshui (Tamsui)

During the nineteenth century, the seaside village of Danshui was Northern Taiwan’s busiest shipping and commerce port. Today, it’s known for its European architecture, delicious seafood and stunning sunsets. The Danshui area was settled by the ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 62 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

If you are coming to Taipei and have a short time to see the city, this tour is your best option. Gordon was an excellent tour guide and even though we were 2 people, they did not cancel the tour and it was like a private tour of heaven! The places they take you are the most must-see venues like Taipei 101, Longshan Temple, Chiang Kai Shek Memorial Hall and many other places. Gordon also made us taste the local delicasies in a Michelin one-star restaurant, famous for traditional taiwanese food. It was the greatest tour I have ever attended!

Doing what: Ultimate Taipei Sightseeing Tour

iggy
United States of America

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Ting was awesome !!!

Doing what: Ultimate Taipei Sightseeing Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

If you don't have much time in Taipei or want a taste of what this beautiful city has on offer this tour is a must! I have been in many tours throughout Asia however the quality of this tour was outstanding, Kelly was the best tour guide ever! She was very knowledgeable, friendly and funny :)

Doing what: Ultimate Taipei Sightseeing Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

This was a fantastic tour and my tour guide, Tai, was the best! I loved how diverse the tour was allowing us to see a tremendous variety of sites. And truly, Tai was a great guide. He was very informative, knew his history and freely answered all our questions. Even on a dreary day Taipei is exciting place to be.

Doing what: Ultimate Taipei Sightseeing Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Excellent tour,was almost 10 hours. Fiona our guide was very knowledgeable and has a great personality. Highly recommended.

Doing what: Ultimate Taipei Sightseeing Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

This tour was amazing!

Doing what: Ultimate Taipei Sightseeing Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Our tour guide, Jett, was AWESOME!!! He was so knowledgable and very courteous. He went out of his way to make sure we were comfortable the entire day. He had a very full itinerary and made sure he showed us everything we needed to see in Taipei. I would highly recommend this one day tour of Taipei if you're planning a trip this way. And I suggest you request my main man Jett to be your tour guide!

Doing what: Ultimate Taipei Sightseeing Tour

JWY
Netherlands

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

A very good tour - if you have little time, this tour gives you all the highlights of this city in one day.
Jacqueline

Doing what: Ultimate Taipei Sightseeing Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

My Taiwan Tours is just amazing!! All in all, one if the best tour companies I have ever dealt with. We did 2 tours with them. This tour was efficiently conducted and delightful. Steve, our tour guide, was just beyond belief. Best tour guide ever!!! He made the tour so great we wished it was even longer. What a great way to see Taipei. The hotel pick up service is an added bonus too.

Doing what: Ultimate Taipei Sightseeing Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

This tour was exceptional because the tour guide Miss Ting made very special effort in keeping the group engaged and interested during all of the sight seeing and historical and cultural stories. This tour operator also was kind enough to provide cold bottled water! Very thoughtful gesture and much appreciated. This is a rather long tour so be ready to pace yourself. The highlight for us was the visit to the museum and the viewing of the selected important pieces and artifacts.

Doing what: Ultimate Taipei Sightseeing Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

Awesome tour - Tai our guide was great

Doing what: Ultimate Taipei Sightseeing Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

This tour was awesome - even in the pouring rain and our Guide 'Kurt' even managed to include some extras experiences as we were a small group. We are very experienced travelers and this was one of the best city sightseeing tours I have done anywhere in the world. No trip to Taiwan is complete without this tour.

Doing what: Ultimate Taipei Sightseeing Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

Great day exploring Taipei! Really felt like I got to see the city and the guide was great. Highly recommend for a short stay in Taipei.

Doing what: Ultimate Taipei Sightseeing Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

The tour was amazing!! Learn alot of the history of danshui!! The tour guide is friendly and generous! 10 out of 10 would visit again!!

Doing what: Danshui in One Day: History, Food and Night Market Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2015

Mark, our guide, was wonderful! He answered our questions and brought a multitude of resources to our tour - using his iPad, a map of Taiwan, and many other things to help explain the unique history of Danshui.

Doing what: Danshui in One Day: History, Food and Night Market Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2015

This was an excellent tour by My Taiwan Tour! It was just me and my mom on this tour in a nice sedan car, which was awesome because it felt like a private tour. Some other agencies typically cancel if they dont have at least 4 people. But this - this was an indulgence!

My tour guide, Steve, was absolutely fantastic and I would highly recommend him! Steve took us to all the highlights with a great deal of explanation of Taiwans history and landmarks. He was also very knowledgeable on US pop culture and had a great sense of humor, which made the 10 hour tour an absolute joy for both me and my mom.

This was the first and only taiwan tour Ive been on, so Im not sure if it was the Company or Steve, but this tour is in a whole other class of its own. The car felt like a luxury car with water and Taiwan treats as parting gifts!!! Awesome!. Steve was extremely attentive always offered to take pictures for us and made sure our restroom needs were met! Never once did we feel rushed! And the tour hit all the must-see places in a day! The experience was like no other tour - my mom said she felt like a queen!

Doing what: Ultimate Taipei Sightseeing Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2015

Great Tour, Saw pretty much must of the main attractions Taipei has to offer in one day and finished it off at Shilin night Market. Our Tour Guide Michael was great and informative. He definitely knows his city :

Doing what: Ultimate Taipei Sightseeing Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2015

This tour was amazing!

Doing what: Ultimate Taipei Sightseeing Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2015

Excellent introduction to Taipei. Our guide, Steven, was amazing! A wealth of knowledge about the history of Taiwan made for a great day where even the drive between locations turned into learning opportunities.

This is not a detailed tour of the many locations. And there are many, trust me!!! It is a quick introduction to various aspects of Taipei so you can return on your own to those places that you'd like to explore in greater detail.

Lots of walking and lots of steps - healthy!!! Bring comfortable shoes :)

I heartily recommend this tour, especially if it's your first time in Taipei. Our particular group consisted of two people and Steven so we went around in a car which made it even more personal and engaging.

Thank you Steven for a wonderful day in this lovely city.

Doing what: Ultimate Taipei Sightseeing Tour

Jocelyn R
United States of America

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2015

This full day tour is packed with lots to see and historical background. Our guide, James, was pleasant, polite and took care of all our needs. I highly recommend this tour because of its flexibility with scheduling and the interesting tourist sites visited. Taipei 101 is a must see!

Doing what: Ultimate Taipei Sightseeing Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2015

This tour is a bit off the beaten path but well worth it. Danshui -- or Tamshui as it is written most anywhere, including on the metro -- is a really nice are of Taipei with a lot of beautiful scenery, fascinating history and delicious food. Our tour guide Mark was very friendly, informed, and took really good care of us for the day. The "snack" that's included in the trip (described on this page as fish ball soup I believe) was very good but very filling, so make sure to save some room for it. Otherwise make sure to be wearing comfortable walking shoes, have your camera at the ready and be prepared to sample a lot of delicious treats! Looking back I wish that we had stayed in the area for the night so don't hesitate to tell Mark (or whoever your tour guide is) that you want to part ways in Danshui.

Doing what: Danshui in One Day: History, Food and Night Market Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

This was my first tour upon arriving in Taipei, and a fine introduction. The best part was my guide, Ching-Ling. This lady was very friendly and knowledgable. She was waiting for me with a sign which had my name on it. We had a wonderful afternoon, and I got to try some of the typical food and the bubble tea. She is a good representative of her city and country!

Doing what: Danshui in One Day: History, Food and Night Market Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

This tour really gives you a good, basic overview of the major attractions ot Taipei. We stopped for lunch at Taipei 101, but the trip to the top was not included on this tour. I went back and did this part on my own the next day, which gave me much more time to enjoy the view.

Doing what: Ultimate Taipei Sightseeing Tour

Tim B
Philippines

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

This is the real Taipei 101. If you are visiting Taiwan with limited time, this tour is all you need and its worth the money. Ask for Kelly for your guide and Mr.Lo - the best driver in Taiwan. Both are very knowledgable, accomodating and eager to show the best of Taiwan.

Doing what: Ultimate Taipei Sightseeing Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

Excellent tour

Doing what: Ultimate Taipei Sightseeing Tour

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message