Located in central Taiwan, Sun Moon Lake is one of the only natural lakes in the country and arguably the most beautiful. Lalu Island divides the lake in two, with one part resembling a moon and the other the sun, giving it its name. The hiking ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 126 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

We found this tour incredibly interesting with some great stop off points and luxurious hotels, but it was made even better by our tour guide, the fabulous Alan Chou and our lovely driver Mr Wang! Alan has a great sense of humour, his command of the English language is excellent and his knowledge of Taiwan is second to none! This tour is a good way of seeing a great deal of Taiwan in a short space of time.

Doing what: 5-Day Best of Taiwan Tour from Taipei: Sun Moon Lake, Taroko Gorge, Kaohsiung and Taitung

Jim
Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

Tour was excellent all round for value and coverage and great guide leadership by Lenny. Would certainly recommend to all. We saw all that Taiwan has to offer. Hotels were excellent, as was Lenny. We had a chance to try the Taiwan cuisine and Lenny always ensured that a 7-11 was available for the not so venturous eaters. Well done.

Doing what: 5-Day Best of Taiwan Tour from Taipei: Sun Moon Lake, Taroko Gorge, Kaohsiung and Taitung

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

Our guide Alan was really entertaining and informative. It was our first trip to Taiwan and we really enjoyed the 5-day tour. It was every penny well spent! We stayed at Fleur de Chine the first night and there was spring water in our room! Taroko was BEAUTIFUL and Silks Taroko is a lovely hotel - they had an outdoor pool facing the cliffs but unfortunately it was too cold for us to take a dip. Liu Ho night market is wonderful - yummylicious food (the food there was better than Shihlin night market) - do try the cheese clam and the papaya milk. We took a cab from Grand Hi-Lai (about 5-10mins ride, NT$130) and went to Kaohsiung Eye (ferris wheel) - it was super cool! Throughout the journey, Alan would always give us insights on Taiwan's culture, history etc. I give it TWO THUMBS UP!

Doing what: 5-Day Best of Taiwan Tour from Taipei: Sun Moon Lake, Taroko Gorge, Kaohsiung and Taitung

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

A wonderful way to see wonderful Taiwan. We would suggest explaining in the tour description that the daily activities include up to 1-hour walks with many stairs to be climbed in typically warm tropical weather. Best for guests who tolerate humid heat well and hike with ease.

Doing what: 5-Day Best of Taiwan Tour from Taipei: Sun Moon Lake, Taroko Gorge, Kaohsiung and Taitung

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

We enjoyed all the areas visited. A great guide and fantastic accommodations. Worth every penny. Could not have seen the Island for such a great deal and 5 star accommodations. If you have the time go for it you won't be disappointed.

Doing what: 5-Day Best of Taiwan Tour from Taipei: Sun Moon Lake, Taroko Gorge, Kaohsiung and Taitung

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

Fantastic 5 star hotels used throughout ( a 1 night stay room rate at these properties would have cost more than the whole 5 day trip) The Silks hotel at the Karoko gorge was beyond expectation. The east coast part of the tour was the highlight. I am happy we went with the five day tour as the days driving were long (most nights a 8am start with arrivals at hotels after 6pm usually. Keep in mind that because of the large number of mainland Chinese on the tour bus half the commentary will be in Mandarin and half in English. Tips are requested at the end of the tour for the driver and tour guide so be prepared.

Doing what: 5-Day Best of Taiwan Tour from Taipei: Sun Moon Lake, Taroko Gorge, Kaohsiung and Taitung

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

When I first discovered this tour online I was somewhat skeptical. I didn't think it was possible to get a 5-day guided tour with 4 nights in 4-star hotels for less than $600 USD. I took the risk, though, expecting to at least see a large amount of Taiwan for pretty cheap.

The 5-day tour turned out to be unbelievably awesome. My wife and I were able to see much more of Taiwan in 5 days with this tour than we could have twice the time on our own. Our tour guide, Alan, was simply amazing. He spoke perfect English and Chinese, was an excellent leader, and had a great sense of humor. He made sure we were taken care of the entire trip and I feel incredibly grateful for his service.

The tour bus was in excellent condition with comfortable seats, fully functioning A/C, and large windows for a great view on all sides. The driver, Ray, was a true professional behind the wheel and went out of his way to help us with our luggage and deliver us to all locations safe and sound. He ensured that the bus remained clean and in pleasant condition. His ability to navigate through tight curves and canyons was impressive, as well.

Our hotel rooms were fantastic and truly worthy of a 4-star rating. I was not displeased in any way with a single room. Some of the hotels had traditional style hot springs and large swimming pools, large rooms, excellent restaurants, and incredible surrounding scenery.

I highly recommend this trip to anyone wanting to visit Taiwan. Below are some notes concerning the tour that might help future participants:
- The longest "sessions" on the bus were about 2 hours and these were infrequent. The tour guide and driver ensured that we always had free bottled water readily available.
- There are many bathroom breaks and tour stops scattered throughout the tour, but many of the bathrooms had no toilet paper in the stalls. Some had giant rolls on the wall.
- My wife and I only needed about NT$1000-1500 daily to "live comfortably" and eat well

Doing what: 5-Day Best of Taiwan Tour from Taipei: Sun Moon Lake, Taroko Gorge, Kaohsiung and Taitung

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

Very good professional tour guide, fluent in English, very pleasant 5 days together

Doing what: 5-Day Best of Taiwan Tour from Taipei: Sun Moon Lake, Taroko Gorge, Kaohsiung and Taitung

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

There was a cancellation on the 5 day tour of Taiwan so I upgraded.
The tour was absolutely wonderful. The guide was very informative and on some of the longer journeys we were shown very interesting DVDs about Taiwan.
The driver was very helpful.
The hotels were outstanding, a pity we couldn't spend more time in them!!
I loved it!

Doing what: 4-Day Tour of Central and Southern Taiwan from Taipei Including Kaohsiung and Sun Moon Lake

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

This tour was well worth the money. We got to see many beautiful sights and stayed in 5 star hotels. Our tour guide Daniel was friendly and knowledgeable about Taiwan. The schedule is a bit tight, but provides a good glimpse into the highlights of Taiwan. The hotels were excellent and the food tasty. We would recommend this tour to our friends.

Doing what: 5-Day Best of Taiwan Tour from Taipei: Sun Moon Lake, Taroko Gorge, Kaohsiung and Taitung

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

We were promptly picked up at our hotel and assembled as a group and quickly moved out on the road. Our guide -- Tony Lim made this trip delightful. His explanations, options, and recommendations were very much appreciated. The price of this tour is a bargain because we really stayed in 5 Star Hotels. There are 3-5 major sites each day and some involve considerable walking and a few had lots of stairs. Each day was very full and we arrived each night at a beautiful hotel. Although Tony recommended the buffets at most hotels, we found the dining room, or nearby restaurants more accommodating to our smaller appetites. We asked for a double bed and got a King Size bed each night. Overall, we would highly recommend this tour to any person of any age if they are in good shape and can walk several KM or a mile and half each day because most days, we did that as a minimum and we are 65, and 74. Wear comfortable shoes and be prepared for some great sightseeing on a very beautiful island. We were fortunate with no rain, but shorts worked every day, and we only changed to dressier wear for dinner and roaming our beautiful hotels. Some hotels offer hot springs, some in your own bathroom. Plan on having a wonderful time, especially if Tony is your guide. If we could go back to only one place, Sun Moon Lake would be first, and Taroko National Park would be second. The temples are amazing and you will see some impressive ones -- and given that this country never was under Communism, they have been well kept up and maintained, some being 300 years old. An eye opening tour, and probably one of the best we have ever taken, and that is said given we travel 3 months each year. A great way to see how pretty Taiwan is and then top it off with a few days in Taipei before going home -- the people are friendly, many speak English, and unlike mainland China, they are polite and we felt safe everywhere we went.

Doing what: 5-Day Best of Taiwan Tour from Taipei: Sun Moon Lake, Taroko Gorge, Kaohsiung and Taitung

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

Excellent trip - outstanding value - no better way to get a flavour of Taiwan. Make no mistake this is a full on tour and you have to keep up to make the most of it. Effectively most of the highlights of Taiwan are covered in just 5 days and this means a strict adherence to the time table. No being late back on the coach is key - listen to the advice your guide gives you - take some humour for the odd difficult moment when mixing with 37 people on a coach really becomes too much. But those moments were rare and we were especially lucky to have Lenny as our guide. In all circumstances he remained calm and professional - he ensured our trip experience was as good as could be and most importantly he made it fun. As only breakfast is included it was important that Lenny made sure that we had access to all levels of food. Each day, he gave us options regarding both Western versus Taiwanese meals and was able to provide choices relating to what people were prepared/able to pay. Icing on the cake was staying in 5* hotels - a delight to have the opportunity to relax and enjoy such wonderfully high levels of comfort. Highly recommend this trip

Doing what: 5-Day Best of Taiwan Tour from Taipei: Sun Moon Lake, Taroko Gorge, Kaohsiung and Taitung

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

This was a truly excellent tour - all 4 of us really enjoyed it.
The hotels were really top - especially the Fleur De Chine and the Silks Palace and our tour guide Peter could not have been better. He really made the difference ! It was great that we were able to hike up to the Pagoda at the Sun Moon lake and to the shrine in the Taroko Gorge. I would recommend it to anyone !

Doing what: 5-Day Best of Taiwan Tour from Taipei: Sun Moon Lake, Taroko Gorge, Kaohsiung and Taitung

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

There should be 6 stars for this tour, the only part I didn't like was the ending! The itinerary was full and amazing. As always there was never enough time to do everything. Some stops I hoped for more/less time, but overall I thought the time allotted for each stop was good. When you stop at the fruit stand, get a mango smoothie. They are the best you will ever eat! As we traveled all over Taiwan, a lot of driving was involved. I think we were never on the bus for more than 2 hours without a stop for food/bathrooms. All facilities stops we made were clean, however keep in mind folks this is Asia. ALWAYS carry toilet paper and hand sanitizer with you, as some of the facilities (mostly on the East Coast) were squatter toilets. The hotels were very comfortable and really nice to stay in. Our tour guide, Daniel, spoke really good English. He went out of his way to make our trip excellent for us. Anyway he could help he did, translating for vendors/staff, adding time when needed to stops, taking pictures, etc. The bus was comfortable and the roads we traveled on were in good condition, some of the roads were very curvy/mountainous so pack motion sickness medicine if needed because this trip is worth it. I would happily do everything all over again if I was given the opportunity. Everything our guide/tour company had control over was well, I highly recommend this tour! Even though it seems expensive, I felt the experience was worth it.

Doing what: 5-Day Best of Taiwan Tour from Taipei: Sun Moon Lake, Taroko Gorge, Kaohsiung and Taitung

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

It was a five starts tour and the quality of the guide had made it works best; Eric has kept us informed and entertained all the time. 3 out of 4 hotels we stayed were wonderful although the meals were experience but we were OK with it. On 17th September it was my birthday and my daughter sent me a bottle of wine from Hong Kong so I would like to open it celebrate with my partner and my Mum over our dinner. The restaurant in the hotel we’re staying wanted to charge us a fee which almost a price of a set meal for some. My partner told Eric about it and he sort it out for us so there is no charge for drinking our wine in the restaurant. We were very pleased and left Eric a “big tip”, which we normally won't. A much smaller tip to the driver as he wasn't customer focus; i.e. he never greet customers, having his phone loudspeaker on high when he playing Candy Crash, and wouldn't left the air-cons running when my Mum (79th year old) staying in the coach as she couldn't join the rest to us for that part of tour and it was 31 C outside.

Doing what: 5-Day Best of Taiwan Tour from Taipei: Sun Moon Lake, Taroko Gorge, Kaohsiung and Taitung

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message