Taiwan ATTRACTIONS See all

Sun Moon Lake

Located in central Taiwan, Sun Moon Lake is one of the only natural lakes in the country and arguably the most beautiful. Lalu Island divides the lake in two, with one part resembling a moon and the other the sun, giving it its name. The hiking ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 167 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Wilson W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

It was really excellent, especially the best tour guide Eric. He is the best tour guide we have ever had in all of our trips up to now.
Wilson Wong-Ching/ Irma Lau de Wong

Doing what: 5-Day Best of Taiwan Tour from Taipei: Sun Moon Lake, Taroko Gorge, Kaohsiung and Taitung

kyawmlwin

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

I thoroughly enjoyed this trip. Initially, I was not sure about my decision since I had to pay more since I am a solo traveler and they had to put me in a single room. But it turned out to be an excellent one. The trip was very well organized. Our guide Lenny was friendly and very resourceful. Hotels were excellent especially the first and last nights. I have already recommended this trip to my other friends and family.

Doing what: 5-Day Best of Taiwan Tour from Taipei: Sun Moon Lake, Taroko Gorge, Kaohsiung and Taitung

Christina C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

Amazing tour. Very lovely area. The hotel and city were a lot of fun. Nothing special about Lukang. They put you on a train to come back. Ours was delayed but they were waiting for us in Taipei. No problems. Well worth it and would definitely recommend it.

Doing what: 2-Day Tour of Sun Moon Lake, Puli and Lukang from Taipei

Bonnie C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2015

Wonderful experience. Issac Lee was an outstanding tour guide. We really got to appreciate the beauty of the Island.

Doing what: 5-Day Best of Taiwan Tour from Taipei: Sun Moon Lake, Taroko Gorge, Kaohsiung and Taitung

Ravi C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2015

Our tour guide Eric was fantastic! Everything was well organized, we stayed at the very best hotels, and saw the highlights of the island. We were extremely pleased.

Doing what: 5-Day Best of Taiwan Tour from Taipei: Sun Moon Lake, Taroko Gorge, Kaohsiung and Taitung

Dave N

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

My wife and I have a great time. Michael, our tour guide was great. It was a small 'bus', with lots of room. The bus makes frequent enough stops for bathroom and snacks, and the food is generally not expensive.
It rained part of the tour, but it was expected, so we packed accordingly. The hotels are very nice with friendly staff, especially at Sun Moon Lake. There is quite a bit of driving on this tour, as these areas are 'remote'. The tour is 'short', but it gives you a taste of the mountain region of Taiwan.

Doing what: 3-Day Tour of Sun Moon Lake, Puli, Lukang and Alishan National Scenic Area from Taipei

Flavio F

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

The hotels are really 5stars, good tour guide and a lot to see and experience.
My only complain: the tour was bilingual where it should have been only in english. Anyway, 5 star rating deserved despite have of the time I had to listen to a chinese explanation.

Doing what: 5-Day Best of Taiwan Tour from Taipei: Sun Moon Lake, Taroko Gorge, Kaohsiung and Taitung

shiang

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

Great tour! Our tour guide Alan and bus driver Mr. Chen were fantastic. Mr. Chen was very accommodating with his driving. Alan was very knowledgeable about the area in regards to food, attractions and much more. He was also very funny and made everyone very comfortable. The days were well planned with a lot of time reserved for leisure and exploring the area. I would go again if i could!

Doing what: 5-Day Best of Taiwan Tour from Taipei: Sun Moon Lake, Taroko Gorge, Kaohsiung and Taitung

Jennifer S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

This is an excellent tour was well worth the money. We got to see many beautiful sights and stayed in 5 star hotels. Our tour guide Tony Lin was friendly and knowledgeable about the major cities in Taiwan and may provide additional info for some of the local cities. The schedule is a bit tight, but provides a good glimpse into the highlights of Taiwan. The hotels were excellent and the food tasty. We would recommend this tour to our friends.

Doing what: 5-Day Best of Taiwan Tour from Taipei: Sun Moon Lake, Taroko Gorge, Kaohsiung and Taitung

inga

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Absolutely LOVED our trip. Our tour guide Mike and driver were the best. I was so looking forward to Alisha National Park and was not disappointed with the Cherry blossoms and the 1000 year old cypress trees. Driving and stopping in tiny towns was truly amazing and more people who go there for business should take more time away and explore Taiwan. Will recommend Mike to all our friends and thank you Viator for making this possible.

Doing what: 3-Day Tour of Sun Moon Lake, Puli, Lukang and Alishan National Scenic Area from Taipei

Michal B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Jeżeli ktoś wybiera się na Tajwan i chce zobaczyć wyspę w pigułce- musi wziąć udział w tej wycieczce. Mnóstwo wyjątkowych miejsc, ciekawe opowieści pilota oraz komfortowe warunki podróży. Jeżeli możecie- proście i pilota Tony'ego. Wyjątkowo sympatyczny gość :

Doing what: 5-Day Best of Taiwan Tour from Taipei: Sun Moon Lake, Taroko Gorge, Kaohsiung and Taitung

Neville H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

This was a very worthwhile experience. Our guide Eric was very efficient and pleasant with good knowledge and sense of humour.
The Hotels were all excellent and truly 5 star.

Doing what: 5-Day Best of Taiwan Tour from Taipei: Sun Moon Lake, Taroko Gorge, Kaohsiung and Taitung

Joseph P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

This tour was terrific. The pacing was busy but not frenetic. Lenny, our guide, was very informative. The hotels were all superb. It was a great way to see the highlights of Taiwan in short time span. I definitely recommend it.

Doing what: 5-Day Best of Taiwan Tour from Taipei: Sun Moon Lake, Taroko Gorge, Kaohsiung and Taitung

hartono888

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

This guided tour is the best. Our tour guide Alan Chou is very knowledgeable about the places we visited. His narrative is very clear and up to date. How I know? Because I checked the information on line while sitting in the bus. His timing for stops and breaks along the way is just perfect.

Doing what: 5-Day Best of Taiwan Tour from Taipei: Sun Moon Lake, Taroko Gorge, Kaohsiung and Taitung

Andre E Canada

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

Excellent tour all round. Many interesting sights and locations. Top class hotels. Excellent guide. Very good value for money. Highly recommended.

Doing what: 5-Day Best of Taiwan Tour from Taipei: Sun Moon Lake, Taroko Gorge, Kaohsiung and Taitung

Yvonne E

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

I loved this tour. Long days in the bus, but the 5 star hotels at the end of the day were extordinaryly good. The taroko gorge is the highlight. Well worth taking this tour.

Doing what: 5-Day Best of Taiwan Tour from Taipei: Sun Moon Lake, Taroko Gorge, Kaohsiung and Taitung

sjwright474

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

We highly recommend this awesome tour. We have always traveled independently and usually have a rule of spending a minimum of two nights in one location. However, we decided we wanted to see a lot in a short time and not drive, and this tour really met that goal. We stayed at the hotels outlined in the itinerary and they were lovely. Our guide Daniel spoke excellent English and was very personable and shared his knowledge of the sites. He kept us on track without making us feel too rushed. The tour bus was brand new. Our driver was excellent. If you like a beautiful hike and don't mind getting up at 5:30, the 2.1 Km BaiYang trail head in Taroko Gorge is ten minutes by foot from the hotel. It's easy to squeeze in before breakfast and 9 AM departure.

Doing what: 5-Day Best of Taiwan Tour from Taipei: Sun Moon Lake, Taroko Gorge, Kaohsiung and Taitung

Julie S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

Excellent!! Viator.com is awesome and beyond expectation regarding booking a tour outside of U.S. Viator.bom's customer service is superior than any others. The trip is the best of the Taiwan tours. Only suggstion is to provide a newer buses if possible.

Doing what: 5-Day Best of Taiwan Tour from Taipei: Sun Moon Lake, Taroko Gorge, Kaohsiung and Taitung

jocelyn susanti k

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

Best tour ever! This is the 9th organized tour I've done and it is clearly the best one. The hotels were all 5star, especially the one at Sun Moon Lake. Our tour guide Lenny was such a sweetheart. He was witty, knowledgeable, and clearly very passionate about his home country. He made sure to allow plenty of time at each tour stops and never rushed us at all. This tour is a MUST see! And make sure to ask for Lenny!

Doing what: 5-Day Best of Taiwan Tour from Taipei: Sun Moon Lake, Taroko Gorge, Kaohsiung and Taitung

RICO M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

The tour guide was very proficient in English and knowledgeable of the sites visited. The hotel choices were very good!

Doing what: 3-Day Tour of Sun Moon Lake, Puli, Lukang and Alishan National Scenic Area from Taipei

Joshua C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

Great trip! Accomplished my goal of seeing a large part of the country with variety. I was able to see the city sites as well as plenty of the natural beauty of the country.

Doing what: 5-Day Best of Taiwan Tour from Taipei: Sun Moon Lake, Taroko Gorge, Kaohsiung and Taitung

Dorothy W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

Lenny is a fantastic tour guide...the best we have ever had. Hotels very nice.

Doing what: 5-Day Best of Taiwan Tour from Taipei: Sun Moon Lake, Taroko Gorge, Kaohsiung and Taitung

Sylvia P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

This was an excellent tour! Great mix of temples, enjoying the beautiful scenery of the lake, trying different foods, and learning about the history of Taiwan. Tour guide was also great. Would definitely do it again.

Doing what: 2-Day Tour of Sun Moon Lake, Puli and Lukang from Taipei

wrandall

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

Absolutely fantastic tour to introduce you to such a beautiful country. Our tour guide was Tony Li, he was amazing, very knowledgeable, offered suggestions for great places to eat, took photos and organised transportation at end of tour. Driver was brilliant. Hotels were 5 star and great sights!

Doing what: 5-Day Best of Taiwan Tour from Taipei: Sun Moon Lake, Taroko Gorge, Kaohsiung and Taitung

Shu Jun N

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2015

Highly recommended tour and David the tour guide is very knowledgeable and friendly, he takes your preference into account. The hotels at both sun moon lake and chiayi are really good with delicious breakfast. All of the scenic spots are very beautiful

Doing what: 3-Day Tour of Sun Moon Lake, Puli, Lukang and Alishan National Scenic Area from Taipei

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message