Located in central Taiwan, Sun Moon Lake is one of the only natural lakes in the country and arguably the most beautiful. Lalu Island divides the lake in two, with one part resembling a moon and the other the sun, giving it its name. The hiking ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 114 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

There was a cancellation on the 5 day tour of Taiwan so I upgraded.
The tour was absolutely wonderful. The guide was very informative and on some of the longer journeys we were shown very interesting DVDs about Taiwan.
The driver was very helpful.
The hotels were outstanding, a pity we couldn't spend more time in them!!
I loved it!

Doing what: 4-Day Tour of Central and Southern Taiwan from Taipei Including Kaohsiung and Sun Moon Lake

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

This tour was well worth the money. We got to see many beautiful sights and stayed in 5 star hotels. Our tour guide Daniel was friendly and knowledgeable about Taiwan. The schedule is a bit tight, but provides a good glimpse into the highlights of Taiwan. The hotels were excellent and the food tasty. We would recommend this tour to our friends.

Doing what: 5-Day Best of Taiwan Tour from Taipei: Sun Moon Lake, Taroko Gorge, Kaohsiung and Taitung

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

We were promptly picked up at our hotel and assembled as a group and quickly moved out on the road. Our guide -- Tony Lim made this trip delightful. His explanations, options, and recommendations were very much appreciated. The price of this tour is a bargain because we really stayed in 5 Star Hotels. There are 3-5 major sites each day and some involve considerable walking and a few had lots of stairs. Each day was very full and we arrived each night at a beautiful hotel. Although Tony recommended the buffets at most hotels, we found the dining room, or nearby restaurants more accommodating to our smaller appetites. We asked for a double bed and got a King Size bed each night. Overall, we would highly recommend this tour to any person of any age if they are in good shape and can walk several KM or a mile and half each day because most days, we did that as a minimum and we are 65, and 74. Wear comfortable shoes and be prepared for some great sightseeing on a very beautiful island. We were fortunate with no rain, but shorts worked every day, and we only changed to dressier wear for dinner and roaming our beautiful hotels. Some hotels offer hot springs, some in your own bathroom. Plan on having a wonderful time, especially if Tony is your guide. If we could go back to only one place, Sun Moon Lake would be first, and Taroko National Park would be second. The temples are amazing and you will see some impressive ones -- and given that this country never was under Communism, they have been well kept up and maintained, some being 300 years old. An eye opening tour, and probably one of the best we have ever taken, and that is said given we travel 3 months each year. A great way to see how pretty Taiwan is and then top it off with a few days in Taipei before going home -- the people are friendly, many speak English, and unlike mainland China, they are polite and we felt safe everywhere we went.

Doing what: 5-Day Best of Taiwan Tour from Taipei: Sun Moon Lake, Taroko Gorge, Kaohsiung and Taitung

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

Excellent trip - outstanding value - no better way to get a flavour of Taiwan. Make no mistake this is a full on tour and you have to keep up to make the most of it. Effectively most of the highlights of Taiwan are covered in just 5 days and this means a strict adherence to the time table. No being late back on the coach is key - listen to the advice your guide gives you - take some humour for the odd difficult moment when mixing with 37 people on a coach really becomes too much. But those moments were rare and we were especially lucky to have Lenny as our guide. In all circumstances he remained calm and professional - he ensured our trip experience was as good as could be and most importantly he made it fun. As only breakfast is included it was important that Lenny made sure that we had access to all levels of food. Each day, he gave us options regarding both Western versus Taiwanese meals and was able to provide choices relating to what people were prepared/able to pay. Icing on the cake was staying in 5* hotels - a delight to have the opportunity to relax and enjoy such wonderfully high levels of comfort. Highly recommend this trip

Doing what: 5-Day Best of Taiwan Tour from Taipei: Sun Moon Lake, Taroko Gorge, Kaohsiung and Taitung

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

This was a truly excellent tour - all 4 of us really enjoyed it.
The hotels were really top - especially the Fleur De Chine and the Silks Palace and our tour guide Peter could not have been better. He really made the difference ! It was great that we were able to hike up to the Pagoda at the Sun Moon lake and to the shrine in the Taroko Gorge. I would recommend it to anyone !

Doing what: 5-Day Best of Taiwan Tour from Taipei: Sun Moon Lake, Taroko Gorge, Kaohsiung and Taitung

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

There should be 6 stars for this tour, the only part I didn't like was the ending! The itinerary was full and amazing. As always there was never enough time to do everything. Some stops I hoped for more/less time, but overall I thought the time allotted for each stop was good. When you stop at the fruit stand, get a mango smoothie. They are the best you will ever eat! As we traveled all over Taiwan, a lot of driving was involved. I think we were never on the bus for more than 2 hours without a stop for food/bathrooms. All facilities stops we made were clean, however keep in mind folks this is Asia. ALWAYS carry toilet paper and hand sanitizer with you, as some of the facilities (mostly on the East Coast) were squatter toilets. The hotels were very comfortable and really nice to stay in. Our tour guide, Daniel, spoke really good English. He went out of his way to make our trip excellent for us. Anyway he could help he did, translating for vendors/staff, adding time when needed to stops, taking pictures, etc. The bus was comfortable and the roads we traveled on were in good condition, some of the roads were very curvy/mountainous so pack motion sickness medicine if needed because this trip is worth it. I would happily do everything all over again if I was given the opportunity. Everything our guide/tour company had control over was well, I highly recommend this tour! Even though it seems expensive, I felt the experience was worth it.

Doing what: 5-Day Best of Taiwan Tour from Taipei: Sun Moon Lake, Taroko Gorge, Kaohsiung and Taitung

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

It was a five starts tour and the quality of the guide had made it works best; Eric has kept us informed and entertained all the time. 3 out of 4 hotels we stayed were wonderful although the meals were experience but we were OK with it. On 17th September it was my birthday and my daughter sent me a bottle of wine from Hong Kong so I would like to open it celebrate with my partner and my Mum over our dinner. The restaurant in the hotel we’re staying wanted to charge us a fee which almost a price of a set meal for some. My partner told Eric about it and he sort it out for us so there is no charge for drinking our wine in the restaurant. We were very pleased and left Eric a “big tip”, which we normally won't. A much smaller tip to the driver as he wasn't customer focus; i.e. he never greet customers, having his phone loudspeaker on high when he playing Candy Crash, and wouldn't left the air-cons running when my Mum (79th year old) staying in the coach as she couldn't join the rest to us for that part of tour and it was 31 C outside.

Doing what: 5-Day Best of Taiwan Tour from Taipei: Sun Moon Lake, Taroko Gorge, Kaohsiung and Taitung

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

Great tour, great tour guide + driver, great country , great food+ hotels, great landscapes and great weather all the time. Every thing great great great, nothing went wrong and I was very happy and have nothing bad to say

I just want to suggest you should do a 6 day instead of 5 and stay 1 more night in Fleur de Chine or Silk hotels so you could at least enjoy more these beautiful places and do some hiking, cycling or just relaxing the day you are not in the bus
Also you should organise the first evening a included commun dinner with all the passengers on a round chinese style table with all the assortment of taiwanese food , the tour guide explaining the food and eating with us. It would be nice to learn to know each other quickly that way
Of course this would be all at additionnal expense but we will spend it anyway...

But like he is now this tour is the best to learn to know Taiwan, highly recommended

Doing what: 5-Day Best of Taiwan Tour from Taipei: Sun Moon Lake, Taroko Gorge, Kaohsiung and Taitung

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

The tour guide Tony was very entertaining and informative, could have done with less temples in first couple of days, with more time at the Hotels which were all five star.
Highlight of trip was Taroko Gorge.

Doing what: 5-Day Best of Taiwan Tour from Taipei: Sun Moon Lake, Taroko Gorge, Kaohsiung and Taitung

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

David and Billy Wong are great guides, enthusiastic and knowledgeable. These guys both found small local vendors where we could really experience the Taiwan charm and goodness. Include the Bullet Train from Kaohsiung to Taipei as an item in the package. The bullet train was amazing.

Doing what: 4-Day Tour of Central and Southern Taiwan from Taipei Including Kaohsiung and Sun Moon Lake

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

Amazing for the price. Our guide, Eric, the driver, the bus, and all the hotels were excellent. Even poor weather for two days couldn't put a damper on this trip. Eric had a wealth of knowledge and great English, I learned a lot about Taiwan, and he even helped me practice some Madarin!

Doing what: 5-Day Best of Taiwan Tour from Taipei: Sun Moon Lake, Taroko Gorge, Kaohsiung and Taitung

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

The tour was wonderful! Lenny, our tour guide, had the perfect personality for one - amiable, knowledgable, and energetic. The hotels were wonderful - I had no experience with 5 star hotels prior to this and find myself a bit spoiled for future trips. The only problem was that the Taroko Gorge was mostly closed because of storm damage so we could only see the smallest part of it. That of course isn't the companies fault and they did try to make up for it with other things.

I had a wonderful time and really recommend this tour to anyone!

Doing what: 5-Day Best of Taiwan Tour from Taipei: Sun Moon Lake, Taroko Gorge, Kaohsiung and Taitung

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

Wonderful tour. Beautiful landscapes. Nice food. Excellent hotels, but the tight schedule does not allow a full enjoyment of the amenities. The tour guide (Peter) is just great.

Doing what: 5-Day Best of Taiwan Tour from Taipei: Sun Moon Lake, Taroko Gorge, Kaohsiung and Taitung

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

The whole trip was well scheduled. And tour guide was excellent, speaking fluent english and taking good care of people in our tour group. All the hotels that we stayed were absolutley awsome. I am very much satisfied with this trip overall.

Doing what: 5-Day Best of Taiwan Tour from Taipei: Sun Moon Lake, Taroko Gorge, Kaohsiung and Taitung

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

The bus is excellent. All hotels are 5-star with hotspring spa. My tour guide was ok.

Doing what: 5-Day Best of Taiwan Tour from Taipei: Sun Moon Lake, Taroko Gorge, Kaohsiung and Taitung

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message