Located in central Taiwan, Sun Moon Lake is one of the only natural lakes in the country and arguably the most beautiful. Lalu Island divides the lake in two, with one part resembling a moon and the other the sun, giving it its name. The hiking ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 152 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

Great tour! Our tour guide Alan and bus driver Mr. Chen were fantastic. Mr. Chen was very accommodating with his driving. Alan was very knowledgeable about the area in regards to food, attractions and much more. He was also very funny and made everyone very comfortable. The days were well planned with a lot of time reserved for leisure and exploring the area. I would go again if i could!

Doing what: Best 5-Day Best of Taiwan Tour from Taipei: Sun Moon Lake, Taroko Gorge, Kaohsiung and Taitung

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

This is an excellent tour was well worth the money. We got to see many beautiful sights and stayed in 5 star hotels. Our tour guide Tony Lin was friendly and knowledgeable about the major cities in Taiwan and may provide additional info for some of the local cities. The schedule is a bit tight, but provides a good glimpse into the highlights of Taiwan. The hotels were excellent and the food tasty. We would recommend this tour to our friends.

Doing what: Best 5-Day Best of Taiwan Tour from Taipei: Sun Moon Lake, Taroko Gorge, Kaohsiung and Taitung

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Absolutely LOVED our trip. Our tour guide Mike and driver were the best. I was so looking forward to Alisha National Park and was not disappointed with the Cherry blossoms and the 1000 year old cypress trees. Driving and stopping in tiny towns was truly amazing and more people who go there for business should take more time away and explore Taiwan. Will recommend Mike to all our friends and thank you Viator for making this possible.

Doing what: Best 3-Day Tour of Sun Moon Lake, Puli, Lukang and Alishan National Scenic Area from Taipei

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Jeżeli ktoś wybiera się na Tajwan i chce zobaczyć wyspę w pigułce- musi wziąć udział w tej wycieczce. Mnóstwo wyjątkowych miejsc, ciekawe opowieści pilota oraz komfortowe warunki podróży. Jeżeli możecie- proście i pilota Tony'ego. Wyjątkowo sympatyczny gość :

Doing what: Best 5-Day Best of Taiwan Tour from Taipei: Sun Moon Lake, Taroko Gorge, Kaohsiung and Taitung

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

This was a very worthwhile experience. Our guide Eric was very efficient and pleasant with good knowledge and sense of humour.
The Hotels were all excellent and truly 5 star.

Doing what: Best 5-Day Best of Taiwan Tour from Taipei: Sun Moon Lake, Taroko Gorge, Kaohsiung and Taitung

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

This tour was terrific. The pacing was busy but not frenetic. Lenny, our guide, was very informative. The hotels were all superb. It was a great way to see the highlights of Taiwan in short time span. I definitely recommend it.

Doing what: Best 5-Day Best of Taiwan Tour from Taipei: Sun Moon Lake, Taroko Gorge, Kaohsiung and Taitung

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

This guided tour is the best. Our tour guide Alan Chou is very knowledgeable about the places we visited. His narrative is very clear and up to date. How I know? Because I checked the information on line while sitting in the bus. His timing for stops and breaks along the way is just perfect.

Doing what: Best 5-Day Best of Taiwan Tour from Taipei: Sun Moon Lake, Taroko Gorge, Kaohsiung and Taitung

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

Excellent tour all round. Many interesting sights and locations. Top class hotels. Excellent guide. Very good value for money. Highly recommended.

Doing what: Best 5-Day Best of Taiwan Tour from Taipei: Sun Moon Lake, Taroko Gorge, Kaohsiung and Taitung

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

I loved this tour. Long days in the bus, but the 5 star hotels at the end of the day were extordinaryly good. The taroko gorge is the highlight. Well worth taking this tour.

Doing what: Best 5-Day Best of Taiwan Tour from Taipei: Sun Moon Lake, Taroko Gorge, Kaohsiung and Taitung

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

We highly recommend this awesome tour. We have always traveled independently and usually have a rule of spending a minimum of two nights in one location. However, we decided we wanted to see a lot in a short time and not drive, and this tour really met that goal. We stayed at the hotels outlined in the itinerary and they were lovely. Our guide Daniel spoke excellent English and was very personable and shared his knowledge of the sites. He kept us on track without making us feel too rushed. The tour bus was brand new. Our driver was excellent. If you like a beautiful hike and don't mind getting up at 5:30, the 2.1 Km BaiYang trail head in Taroko Gorge is ten minutes by foot from the hotel. It's easy to squeeze in before breakfast and 9 AM departure.

Doing what: Best 5-Day Best of Taiwan Tour from Taipei: Sun Moon Lake, Taroko Gorge, Kaohsiung and Taitung

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

Excellent!! Viator.com is awesome and beyond expectation regarding booking a tour outside of U.S. Viator.bom's customer service is superior than any others. The trip is the best of the Taiwan tours. Only suggstion is to provide a newer buses if possible.

Doing what: Best 5-Day Best of Taiwan Tour from Taipei: Sun Moon Lake, Taroko Gorge, Kaohsiung and Taitung

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

Best tour ever! This is the 9th organized tour I've done and it is clearly the best one. The hotels were all 5star, especially the one at Sun Moon Lake. Our tour guide Lenny was such a sweetheart. He was witty, knowledgeable, and clearly very passionate about his home country. He made sure to allow plenty of time at each tour stops and never rushed us at all. This tour is a MUST see! And make sure to ask for Lenny!

Doing what: Best 5-Day Best of Taiwan Tour from Taipei: Sun Moon Lake, Taroko Gorge, Kaohsiung and Taitung

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

The tour guide was very proficient in English and knowledgeable of the sites visited. The hotel choices were very good!

Doing what: Best 3-Day Tour of Sun Moon Lake, Puli, Lukang and Alishan National Scenic Area from Taipei

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

Great trip! Accomplished my goal of seeing a large part of the country with variety. I was able to see the city sites as well as plenty of the natural beauty of the country.

Doing what: Best 5-Day Best of Taiwan Tour from Taipei: Sun Moon Lake, Taroko Gorge, Kaohsiung and Taitung

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

Lenny is a fantastic tour guide...the best we have ever had. Hotels very nice.

Doing what: Best 5-Day Best of Taiwan Tour from Taipei: Sun Moon Lake, Taroko Gorge, Kaohsiung and Taitung

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

This was an excellent tour! Great mix of temples, enjoying the beautiful scenery of the lake, trying different foods, and learning about the history of Taiwan. Tour guide was also great. Would definitely do it again.

Doing what: 2-Day Tour of Sun Moon Lake, Puli and Lukang from Taipei

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

Absolutely fantastic tour to introduce you to such a beautiful country. Our tour guide was Tony Li, he was amazing, very knowledgeable, offered suggestions for great places to eat, took photos and organised transportation at end of tour. Driver was brilliant. Hotels were 5 star and great sights!

Doing what: Best 5-Day Best of Taiwan Tour from Taipei: Sun Moon Lake, Taroko Gorge, Kaohsiung and Taitung

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2015

Highly recommended tour and David the tour guide is very knowledgeable and friendly, he takes your preference into account. The hotels at both sun moon lake and chiayi are really good with delicious breakfast. All of the scenic spots are very beautiful

Doing what: Best 3-Day Tour of Sun Moon Lake, Puli, Lukang and Alishan National Scenic Area from Taipei

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

We took this tour in end Nov early Dec 2014. Really enjoyed it. Well planned and not too rushed. Our tour operator "Walter" was great. Took good care of us and explained things in English and Mandarin. He was very humorous and made our tour memorable. Hotels were very good, clean and comfortable especially first hotel at Sun Moon Lake were we had million dollar views from our window. Breakfast was covered in the package. Lunch and dinner stops recommendations were very good and economically priced.

Doing what: Best 5-Day Best of Taiwan Tour from Taipei: Sun Moon Lake, Taroko Gorge, Kaohsiung and Taitung

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

We found this tour incredibly interesting with some great stop off points and luxurious hotels, but it was made even better by our tour guide, the fabulous Alan Chou and our lovely driver Mr Wang! Alan has a great sense of humour, his command of the English language is excellent and his knowledge of Taiwan is second to none! This tour is a good way of seeing a great deal of Taiwan in a short space of time.

Doing what: Best 5-Day Best of Taiwan Tour from Taipei: Sun Moon Lake, Taroko Gorge, Kaohsiung and Taitung

Jim
Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

Tour was excellent all round for value and coverage and great guide leadership by Lenny. Would certainly recommend to all. We saw all that Taiwan has to offer. Hotels were excellent, as was Lenny. We had a chance to try the Taiwan cuisine and Lenny always ensured that a 7-11 was available for the not so venturous eaters. Well done.

Doing what: Best 5-Day Best of Taiwan Tour from Taipei: Sun Moon Lake, Taroko Gorge, Kaohsiung and Taitung

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

Our guide Alan was really entertaining and informative. It was our first trip to Taiwan and we really enjoyed the 5-day tour. It was every penny well spent! We stayed at Fleur de Chine the first night and there was spring water in our room! Taroko was BEAUTIFUL and Silks Taroko is a lovely hotel - they had an outdoor pool facing the cliffs but unfortunately it was too cold for us to take a dip. Liu Ho night market is wonderful - yummylicious food (the food there was better than Shihlin night market) - do try the cheese clam and the papaya milk. We took a cab from Grand Hi-Lai (about 5-10mins ride, NT$130) and went to Kaohsiung Eye (ferris wheel) - it was super cool! Throughout the journey, Alan would always give us insights on Taiwan's culture, history etc. I give it TWO THUMBS UP!

Doing what: Best 5-Day Best of Taiwan Tour from Taipei: Sun Moon Lake, Taroko Gorge, Kaohsiung and Taitung

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

A wonderful way to see wonderful Taiwan. We would suggest explaining in the tour description that the daily activities include up to 1-hour walks with many stairs to be climbed in typically warm tropical weather. Best for guests who tolerate humid heat well and hike with ease.

Doing what: Best 5-Day Best of Taiwan Tour from Taipei: Sun Moon Lake, Taroko Gorge, Kaohsiung and Taitung

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

We enjoyed all the areas visited. A great guide and fantastic accommodations. Worth every penny. Could not have seen the Island for such a great deal and 5 star accommodations. If you have the time go for it you won't be disappointed.

Doing what: Best 5-Day Best of Taiwan Tour from Taipei: Sun Moon Lake, Taroko Gorge, Kaohsiung and Taitung

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

Fantastic 5 star hotels used throughout ( a 1 night stay room rate at these properties would have cost more than the whole 5 day trip) The Silks hotel at the Karoko gorge was beyond expectation. The east coast part of the tour was the highlight. I am happy we went with the five day tour as the days driving were long (most nights a 8am start with arrivals at hotels after 6pm usually. Keep in mind that because of the large number of mainland Chinese on the tour bus half the commentary will be in Mandarin and half in English. Tips are requested at the end of the tour for the driver and tour guide so be prepared.

Doing what: Best 5-Day Best of Taiwan Tour from Taipei: Sun Moon Lake, Taroko Gorge, Kaohsiung and Taitung

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message